i remember pb1 and vtec has diff rectifier.. i assume ver s isn't the same as vtec ones. so far vers last time use to have tis batt flat and burnt rectifier but the they had came out a solution for the ver s rectifier with cooling fins. so far vtec has no problem with the rectifier. mine close to 2 years still going strong. coz usually when ur batt flat is because the rectifier is faulty and cause the batt nto to be charge when the engine is running. :0)

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

• Replies 206

CAnnot ...the screw slots are different cos Vtec Rec is at the swingarm there but Ver S , R PB1 are at the left side of the battery.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

I just had a flat battery after 1.5 years. Could not able to start my engine and light getting dim. So I push start to turn on my engine. I set at idle gear, then rammed to about 3000 rpm to check the voltage. I was getting 13.2VDC. I turn off the engine. Next, I removed the recifier and replaced with a new one. As the battery was already flat, it wun be able to start. So I push start again and check the voltage again. I was getting 14.3VDC this time. For a few days after replacing the new recifier, I push start to start my engine as my battery still need charging. After travelling for about 120km by starting this way, I was able to switch on to start my engine. Currently no issue with flat battery but I will still monitor. Just some sharing. If I am not right in some way, or there is a better way, please do let me know. I am willing to learn. Thanks and have a great day ahead :cheer: :cheer:

Jul 1998~ Dec 2007--Super4 Ver S

Dec 2007~ Present --Super4 Spec 3

Yesterday, I had problem starting my bike if I turn on the engine for 3 consecutive cycle. Was it due to the battery not fully charge? Checked my batter with engine off was getting 12VDC. I read saying it should be somewhere 12.8VDC for a charged battery. So I went to charge my battery and was getting at it. I went for a 3 starts again and this time was good. Guess I need to recharge the battery if my recifier flat my battery in the future. By the way, what is the max life span of the battery? Currently, my battery is 1.5 year old. Advice....advice....advice please......thanks so much. :cheer: :cheer:

think i got a problem with batt n rectifier too...recently,my bike is getting harder to start in the morning-(dunno if it is the cold morning tt causes this).but after starting n riding the bike to work for a while..the next time round when i start it was ok(after parking for almost 9 hrs @ my workplc)...

so my questions r...

1) is it the rectifier?? or the battery-batt was change 6mths ago..n the last time this happen,i went to charge the batt n everything was ok... for a while..

2) if i change the batt again,do i need to change the rectifier as well?? cos my cousin riding version S was telling me it's better to do that...so is he right??

YOu have a voltmeter? If you turn off the engine and your battery is reading 12 VDC, your recifier could be the problem lor. If you turn on the engine and at netrual gear, you bring up the RPM to 4K, your battery should be reading above 14VDC but less than 15VDC. That means your recifier is okie. All you need to do is to charge your battery. A fully charge battery will give you reading of around 12.7VDC. That was what I got after I charge. Hope this help. :)

thanks....

i will try what u hve mention...but this morning it was ok when i start the bike..seems a bit 'moody'...

Originally posted by Rk@Mar 9 2005, 06:38 PM

think i got a problem with batt n rectifier too...recently,my bike is getting harder to start in the morning-(dunno if it is the cold morning tt causes this).but after starting n riding the bike to work for a while..the next time round when i start it was ok(after parking for almost 9 hrs @ my workplc)...

so my questions r...

1) is it the rectifier?? or the battery-batt was change 6mths ago..n the last time this happen,i went to charge the batt n everything was ok... for a while..

2) if i change the batt again,do i need to change the rectifier as well?? cos my cousin riding version S was telling me it's better to do that...so is he right??

sell ur bike n change to R6 lah . :cheeky:

Originally posted by Speedpass@Mar 10 2005, 10:39 PM

sell ur bike n change to R6 lah . :cheeky:

hehe...can..

u provide me the cash????

Originally posted by Rk@Mar 10 2005, 10:41 PM

hehe...can..

u provide me the cash????

wait till i kana toto 1st prize . :cheeky:

Hi bros, just chgd my Vtec batt today cos it died on me on the rd. Funny ting is, when the mech took it out, it was a dry cell batt (i thot Vtecs used wet cell - correct me if im wrong).

Voltmeter showed reading of ard 12+ idling and 13 at ard 4.5-5 RPM. Den he tried on a new rectifier and the readings didnt differ much. Concluded that my rectifier was allright.

But how come my voltmeter readings so low? Readings taken are for new wet-cell batt.

Lao Jiaos pls help. Blur newbie here.

Thx in advance for ur replies.

think ur voltmeter not connect directly 2 batt rite?

mostly is connected 2 headlight area.

tat y different reading lor.

mine oso.different reading between multi-meter n voltmeter.

:btw: i not lao jiao.juz happened mine is abt the same lor. :cheeky:

It does not matter on the absolute weight. It depends on how long you

hold it.

If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, we will not be able to carry on as the burden becoming increasingly heavier.

{ Jan 2002~Jul 2003} - phantom 150 [FQ9354J]

{ Jul 2003~Mar 2004} - Bandit V400 GSF400 [FN9088T]

{ Mar 2004~Aug 2005} - Super 4 V S CB400 F3VJ [FQ 647Z] gone with accident on 140805

{Oct 2005 ~ 10yrs times more} - Toyota Corolla Altis [sFZ xxxxx]

dry one becuase you dun need to top up frequently. dry cell also need chemical to add in first before it can be use.

Signal First Before You Brake

I maybe always meowing but sometime i ROAR

SuperFour Biker

Beware of 6350 RPM .................. VTEC .

Posts ALL Rights reserved�.

Reading purpose only. Not for copying or duplicated �.

THE WINGS TO RIDE FREELY

Until today, there was still no problem with my battery after I charge. The recifier was the main fault in the end. Case closed. :)

Originally posted by nyquist2000@Mar 9 2005, 08:31 AM

Yesterday, I had problem starting my bike if I turn on the engine for 3 consecutive cycle. Was it due to the battery not fully charge? Checked my batter with engine off was getting 12VDC. I read saying it should be somewhere 12.8VDC for a charged battery. So I went to charge my battery and was getting at it. I went for a 3 starts again and this time was good. Guess I need to recharge the battery if my recifier flat my battery in the future. By the way, what is the max life span of the battery? Currently, my battery is 1.5 year old. Advice....advice....advice please......thanks so much. :cheer: :cheer:

think battery life span depends on the nos. of crank....

it means how many times you start the bike..........

my 2 cents knowledge :smile:

Originally posted by cb1300@Mar 25 2005, 08:33 PM

think battery life span depends on the nos. of crank....

it means how many times you start the bike..........

my 2 cents knowledge :smile:

wad abt a rectifier life-span?

got a friend s4 rectifier kena stolen in sengkang, his bike also kena acid a few month back.just want to warn u guy about your rectifier being stolen at carpark. so ppl parking at seng kang carpark,pls be careful.

undefined FOREVER-HONDA

Ya,got many bad experiences at SengKang Blk 101 MSCP.Mirrors and helmet kena stolen.Mirrors twice and both sides some more both times.Better to cover.Cos the carpark too enclosed,away from public eyes.

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

my frd worst...his phantom kana burn few yrs back at sengkang too ,try install a alarm...

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

what the F*&%# ??!?!?!!

even rectifier kena stolen?

they have nothing better to do huh

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif