the meter is a gem.

hope the 04R1 can have it too or a maybe a even cyber 1!~

as for the V5 thing,

V4 is good in pickup but if V5 will it be pickup faster than SP2 or higher mid range power? or higher top end?

but seriously i dun think it will be out in 04.

i just wonder, will they be able to reduce the heat of the undertail exhuast anot. i really cannot stand the fact that it will be undertail trend for many years to come.

and guys if ur bike never use engine break, thats mean u always clutch in and brake, will it prevent ur bike from getting noiseier as time goes?

i m testing on it now leh.

so that next time if really buy a class 2, can make sure it can last me a long time like new bike without increasing the noise level.

but got 1 friend said it will damage gear box.

any comments on this issue?

for me the engine will feel slightly rough.

that is due to the coolant system if i am not wrong.

coolant only runs when engine is engaged n on the move.

but if u clutch in, u will not wear off the clutch plate so fast.

so which do u prefer to use???

• Replies 19.4k

Assuming rumors are true, we will see 2 litre bikes from Honda: CBR1000/998RR (in-line 4) and RCV V5 (V5), which would be a better engine?

I've always thought V engines are smoother, for every action, there's an equal and opposite reaction, because of the V configuration, it tends to cancel out the reaction, less engine vibration, yada yada.

But when I asked a mech, he was telling me in-line 4s are smoother. If you're using it on the road, go for in-line, but if you're going on track, go for V engines.

Anyone can do a more in-depth comparison? :?

In my opinion:

Compared to an in-line, the advantages of a V-configuration engine might be:

- More compact dimensions because the cylinders can overlap.

Especially useful for a bike which has limited space.

A more compact engine also allows more cylinders to be squeezed into the same space with the same engine cc. And more cylinders would lead

to smaller cc per cylinder which then improves the refinement characteristics such as less vibration, compared to a bigger cc per cylinder.

This is why some luxury cars have v-engines to improve refinement.

The exception would be the Harleys. They have v-engines but each of the two cylinder has a very big cc. Hence, the engine vibrates a lot and is nosier than an equivalent cc engine with more cylinders.

- Lower center of gravity because the engine height is lower thus

improving bike/car handling

That is why we often see V8,V10, V12 engines used in Ferraris, Lamboes and Formula F1 cars.

The advantages of a inline configuration, as compared to V might be:

- Lower cost to make, hence more competitive selling price.

In the V-configuration, you would need more parts such as double the

number of cam rods because there are two rows of cylinder head instead

of one row.

This is why most mass market commercial cars have in-line engines for practicality.

All things being equal (eg: same engine cc and same tuning), I believe inline engines can be as powerful as v-engines.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

:sorry: for the :offtopic:

RCB RCB.. Sounds obscene... :sweat:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

for me the engine will feel slightly rough.

that is due to the coolant system if i am not wrong.

coolant only runs when engine is engaged n on the move.

but if u clutch in, u will not wear off the clutch plate so fast.

so which do u prefer to use???

er.............................................................................................

from ur point here hor, like all saying clutch in good what.

so u mean if engine brake, engine will be rough and engine brake got what good point u noe?

i cant think of any leh rather than u can ride more relax. (eat snake)

no need always change gear or brake.

hey ppl,

read in the magazines a year back when RCV just came out..i remember reading that the RCV211 got DRY CLUTCH like the ducati and PGM!!

wouldnt it be cool if the 2004 RCB1000 or road version RCV1000 has dry clutch too?? :)

and oso i hope they will do away with the front brake cylinder (a small black rectangular box) style that is on the CBR600rr right now.

i prefer the brake cylinder like the RVF's , CBR929...(most of the present sportsbikes)..a cylindrical shape with a cover..dunno y..i feel like that more sportsbike feel.

coz my s4 brake cylinder is that damn little black box..yuck.

sorry :offtopic: liao.

so far, to sum up our hopes for the new RCV on the raod..it is;

1) dry clutch,

2) proper brake cylinder,

3) better designed pipes

4) reduced heat under seat pipe (or dun wan underseat pipe)

5) not so jialat fuel consumption

6) rideability around town (proper grearing)

7) any more???

ok guys, just add on for fun pls. :)

hehehe..maybe honda see this..they will consider it into thier designs leh? :cheeky:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

er.............................................................................................

from ur point here hor, like all saying clutch in good what.

so u mean if engine brake, engine will be rough and engine brake got what good point u noe?

i cant think of any leh rather than u can ride more relax. (eat snake)

no need always change gear or brake.

the only thing is that engine brake let u noe how high ur RPM is when riding.... and learn how to control ur throttle in the best way u can.

sometimes after clutch-in (wat i noe is that ppl call it coasting), u tend to lost touch of the gear.

i also felt that it sometimes feel shiok to clutch in.

but the bad thing is for sportbikes, coasting can cos the bike to over heat very easily especially when u r talking abt traffic jams.

:offtopic: sorry for the off topic......

1) dry clutch,

3) better designed pipes

7) any more???

8) V5 engine?! :pray:

9) 160Bhp at the rear wheel :eek:

10) comes with one sitter :lol:

11) unique speedometer

12) Head light design even more fierce than those of R1

hehehe..maybe honda see this..they will consider it into thier designs leh? :cheeky:

Are WE AsKInG ToO MuCh?! :eek: :lol: :lol:

1) dry clutch,

3) better designed pipes

7) any more???

8) V5 engine?! :pray: (with no problem)

9) 160Bhp at the rear wheel :eek: (YES PLS)

10) comes with one sitter :lol: (How abt the option t sw btw pillion n single seater..like PGM)

11) unique speedometer

12) Head light design even more fierce than those of R1

13) pls for heaven's sake, have more under seat SPACE for us to at least put raincoat!! like cbr929's compartment wld be nice

Are WE AsKInG ToO MuCh?! :pray:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Back in 2001, MCN had a few artist impression of the 02 954, 03 600rr and 04 "FireBlade".

The 02 954's impression was right on the mark.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/download.php?id=2644

However the 03 600rr wasn't. Maybe it wasn't decided then that someone would take over the project. See below.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/download.php?id=2646

Probably if Tadao Baba didn't leave, this is how the 04 "Blade" would look like. VTEC was planned for the engine.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/download.php?id=2645

The next international motorshow will be at Frankfurt on 11 Sep. Hopefully we'll see the new "Blade". Mercedes SLR will also be unveiled. Plus Apple Expo at Paris, new PowerBooks will be unveiled. What a great month. :cheer:

I've just got a lame ass picture here. This is the one that has been circulating around lately. I don't know why I even bother posting it.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/download.php?id=2707

jus another photo chopped copy from the 600rr .

nothin fantastic either

but gd effort there mate

Latest pix. Which one is the real deal? Or are they the same?

The 1000RR doesn't look doctored this time. Somehow it looks butt ugly, the shape is not quite there, colors like Captain America. But the yellow 999rr in the mag looks nice and sharp.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/download.php?id=2734

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/download.php?id=2735

the first pic on the cbr is a sure doctored.

if u look carefully, each coloured fairing doesn't link.

the ram air induct beside fuel tank, the white fairing like from the 900RR

the head and tail sure from 600rr.

the blue lower fairing from the 03 954.

the R1 sure is com generated as how can the pipe be from outside where ur legs sure to touch to the pipe where no one will wanna ride on ur bike as their legs will be burnt off.

think the magazine just wanna get some sales figures so come out with some presentable generated pics.

*sweat* :sweat:

If you are a member of HRC, Honda's Rider's Club, you are invited to go to their Club House on the Internet, sign in now, receive a confirmation to see their new model line up September 10th 8:30 PM Pacific Time.This will be the day before the official announcements.

i am a Honda Fan Club member.

but now the card expired liao..... :cry: :cry: