Full face or open face helmet for S4?  

127 members have voted

1. 1. Full face or open face helmet for S4?

• Full face - i value my head and face
    • Open Face - Weather too hot lah!
    • No helmet - I like it naked!

hi guys...jus wanna give my 2 cents worth of my opinion based on my first hand exerience wif FF helmets..basically been wearing FF since e very first day i passed my 2B n i was riding a Sp then.. frm then till nw i've had 4 FF helmets.. 2 had to be thrown away due to accidents n i owe my life to them..

e most important advice i wanna give to those hu r looking to get FF helmets is pls try to get those approved helmets wif e pSB sticker..

this is why: i was involved in an accident once where a van jus turned at a junction while it was green light in my favour.. i hit him on his side..i had my gf as my pillion hu thank god was also wearing a FF..my head hit e side of e van n i was unconscious for 20 minutes.. i escaped wif only a very bad concussion n minor scratches as i was wearing gloves n a riding jacket n my gf was also quite ok wif minor scratches.. BUT my bike was trashed.. when i was bein put in e ambulance i looked at my bike n it was upside down on its handlebars

my total insurance claim came to $7000 n when i wanted to claim i was only allowed to settle for less than half of that amount.. when i asked whyy it was because i was wearing a non pSB approved helmet and i could not claim for my head injuries..

YES e $600 FF helmet did save my life but u will nt be able to claim for any head injuries that u sustain in an accident n ur claim will significantly be lessened

so pls choose wisely..frm wad i noe HJC, SHOEI, SHARK n a few other well known brands r some of e helmets that are nt approved... nt too sure if ARAI is approved..mayb those wearing ARAI can enlighten me n others if it is approved..

p.s. those wearing e helmets mentioned above pls dun flame me guys.. :p jus givin my opinion frm wad i've experienced :p :p

sorry if i have offended anyone..

<< 27 Nov '06 -- 15 Nov '08 >> NSR150SP

<< 5 Feb '08 -- Present >> Super 4 Spec III

<< COMING SOON!! >> R1 '09 or K9??? hmmm..hopefully!

PRAY TO GOD THAT I RECOVER FROM MY KNEE SURGERY SOON SO I CAN RIDE AGAIN!! :cry::cry:

• Replies 166

thats a total sham! Another reason why psb, the govt and insurance companies should all be shot! Which insurance company were u with? So gei gao!

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
thats a total sham! Another reason why psb, the govt and insurance companies should all be shot! Which insurance company were u with? So gei gao!

ya..so sianz.. anw it doesnt matter which insurance company u r with bro... its e law tt u will be penalised if u ride without a PSB approved helmet in singapore!! :sian:

btw..im wif AXA as they were e cheapest when i got my insurance..

PRAY TO GOD THAT I RECOVER FROM MY KNEE SURGERY SOON SO I CAN RIDE AGAIN!! :cry::cry:

So if we peel of PSB sticker consider useless la?

THen LAB sell those helmet with PSB i heard all not approve one la bla bla bla..like that how? How genuine is the sticker? HJC n Shoei not approve??mmmm

hmmm...nt too sure abt tht lah bro.. jus stating my own first hand experience..

i always see superbike n motoGp those riders wear e brands of helmets that r not approved in sg..i always tink tht they definitely will wanna wear e safest helmet especially when they race at outrageous speeds..

so i guess its safe to wear well known brands of helmets.. jus tht if u kena accident n u got head injury then bad luck lah bro.. lyk me.. :faint:

some ppl sure agree wif me they rather wear a gd helmet whether its approved or nt cos they rather be alive n deal wif e law n insurance companies instead of losing ur life..

hope all riders stay safe.. :cheers:

btw..yea.. HJC n SHOEI not approved.. :dozed:

ya..so sianz.. anw it doesnt matter which insurance company u r with bro... its e law tt u will be penalised if u ride without a PSB approved helmet in singapore!! :sian:

btw..im wif AXA as they were e cheapest when i got my insurance..

But how the hell the insurance company know that you are wearing a non-PSB helmet in the first place. Don't tell me that the insurance ppl at the scene hor... o_O

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

But how the hell the insurance company know that you are wearing a non-PSB helmet in the first place. Don't tell me that the insurance ppl at the scene hor... o_O

alamak... :dozed: :faint: bro...Tp at e scene of e accident..Tp write accident report... accident report is essential for e insurance claim if there r injuries involved.. in e report stated tht i was found to be wearing a non-approved helmet..so my insurance claim affected lor...

lucky e Tp nice nice then issue me warning letter instead of fine or mayb even demerit points..:angel:

hope ur doubts r cleared... :thumb:

alamak... :dozed: :faint: bro...Tp at e scene of e accident..Tp write accident report... accident report is essential for e insurance claim if there r injuries involved.. in e report stated tht i was found to be wearing a non-approved helmet..so my insurance claim affected lor...

lucky e Tp nice nice then issue me warning letter instead of fine or mayb even demerit points..:angel:

hope ur doubts r cleared... :thumb:

Probably the Tp see no PSB sticker, tats y penalised you. Wonder wat would they say about my helmets, all sprayed to matt black hence taken out the PSB stickers - so is pass or not pass? :confused:

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

hi guys...jus wanna give my 2 cents worth of my opinion based on my first hand exerience wif FF helmets..basically been wearing FF since e very first day i passed my 2B n i was riding a Sp then.. frm then till nw i've had 4 FF helmets.. 2 had to be thrown away due to accidents n i owe my life to them..

e most important advice i wanna give to those hu r looking to get FF helmets is pls try to get those approved helmets wif e pSB sticker..

this is why: i was involved in an accident once where a van jus turned at a junction while it was green light in my favour.. i hit him on his side..i had my gf as my pillion hu thank god was also wearing a FF..my head hit e side of e van n i was unconscious for 20 minutes.. i escaped wif only a very bad concussion n minor scratches as i was wearing gloves n a riding jacket n my gf was also quite ok wif minor scratches.. BUT my bike was trashed.. when i was bein put in e ambulance i looked at my bike n it was upside down on its handlebars

my total insurance claim came to $7000 n when i wanted to claim i was only allowed to settle for less than half of that amount.. when i asked whyy it was because i was wearing a non pSB approved helmet and i could not claim for my head injuries..

YES e $600 FF helmet did save my life but u will nt be able to claim for any head injuries that u sustain in an accident n ur claim will significantly be lessened

so pls choose wisely..frm wad i noe HJC, SHOEI, SHARK n a few other well known brands r some of e helmets that are nt approved... nt too sure if ARAI is approved..mayb those wearing ARAI can enlighten me n others if it is approved..

p.s. those wearing e helmets mentioned above pls dun flame me guys.. :p jus givin my opinion frm wad i've experienced :p :p

sorry if i have offended anyone..

this is quite shitty.. made me think twice about getting a hjc helmet..

OGK is PSB approved. Made in Japan. Lightweight some more... :angel:

How time flies...

erm OGK is now made in China liao.. But of course there is no compromise in quality.

Use full face helmet best la... can protect face in case u drop. My ff4 saved my face and skull when I crashed

But my MHR also did the same job haha

there's no problem wif HJC my fren..as my post stated it actually saved my life.. it was jus tht its nt approved tht it affected my insurance claim..but it definitely saved my life..

jus lyk bro yctradingsg said... his ff4 saved him n so did his MHR also saved him.. so in my opinion a gd full face is a gd full face no matter whether our gahmen approve or nt..it will still save ur face more than a very very gd n expensive open face can ever save u.. :angel:

OGK is PSB approved. Made in Japan. Lightweight some more... :angel:

er.. how light weight is OGK? i actually interested in the HJC HQ-1.. about 1.4kg.. the carbon fibre composite helmet.. OGK got as light as that with the same price range to match?

there's no problem wif HJC my fren..as my post stated it actually saved my life.. it was jus tht its nt approved tht it affected my insurance claim..but it definitely saved my life..

jus lyk bro yctradingsg said... his ff4 saved him n so did his MHR also saved him.. so in my opinion a gd full face is a gd full face no matter whether our gahmen approve or nt..it will still save ur face more than a very very gd n expensive open face can ever save u.. :angel:

yes i understand.. i wear ff all the time.. its just that i dun want to risk the fact that i am not able to claim in the event of a head injury accident.. *choy! touch wood touch wood*

er.. how light weight is OGK? i actually interested in the HJC HQ-1.. about 1.4kg.. the carbon fibre composite helmet.. OGK got as light as that with the same price range to match?

yes i understand.. i wear ff all the time.. its just that i dun want to risk the fact that i am not able to claim in the event of a head injury accident.. *choy! touch wood touch wood*

haha..my previous helmet was HQ-1.. :angel:

when i bought one 2 yrs ago it was $600.. nw shud be cheaer i tink..

lol the $600 helmet that you used was the HQ-1 ah.. proven very good.. it has a 5 star rating by sharp test.. and i like it cos its light.. now is $400 i think.. worth the purchase? got 1 advertiser selling another brand i think also made of carbon fibre composite.. should be about the same weight.. almost 1/2 the price..