Hi Dudes,

How's it going with you all? I'm new here, and I have some questions for the GoldWing brothers out there.

I'm really fancying buying a resale GoldWing, but I have a rather short frame of 1.64m. I'm not sure if I am able to carry off riding one. I tried to test myself on an ST11 and GS1200, and I was not feeling confident. Perhaps it's due to my lack of experience on big bikes.

Do you guys feel I can do this? GoldWing's my dream bike, and I do hope I can fulfill this dream. But if obstacles of nature do not permit, I also no choice la...hahahah!!

This leads to another question, is there anyone who is keen to sell his GoldWing? I would like to look for an older model (price issues) to own one.

Thanks for stopping by this thread!

Skid Row

I Remember You...

• Replies 37

This leads to another question, is there anyone who is keen to sell his GoldWing? I would like to look for an older model (price issues) to own one.

This "Goldwing GL1500 20th Year Limited Edition with Bidded Plate" in the Used Bike Sale Section of the Garage Sales might be what your looking for...

I think Goldwing would suit you fine.Just need some time of getting used to it. There are also riders around your height riding ST. IMO ST11 seating height are slightly higher. Why dont you try scout around at shops and test the seating ...?

Depending on your daily usage you can consider goldwing if its within your requirement.

Thanks very much for your assurance. I believe you're right. It just takes time to get used to it.

Maybe cause I never had experience with such big bikes, so I have a fear, with my past bikes a Shadow and a Super 4 now. It will be a challenge, but it's a dream of mine, and I'll try and make it :)

Thanks mates! Hope I'll ride out a GW this weekend!!

Skid Row

I Remember You...

gold wing seat is quite low actually, compare to other tourers.... should be ok bah.... correct me if im wrong.

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

gold wing seat is quite low actually, compare to other tourers.... should be ok bah.... correct me if im wrong.

Yeah .slightly lower seating height.

Thanks very much for your assurance. I believe you're right. It just takes time to get used to it.

Maybe cause I never had experience with such big bikes, so I have a fear, with my past bikes a Shadow and a Super 4 now. It will be a challenge, but it's a dream of mine, and I'll try and make it :)

Thanks mates! Hope I'll ride out a GW this weekend!!

Do update us here with the new ride.:D

Thank you all so much for your valuable feedback! I have decided to take the plunge and bought meself a GW!! ;)

My goodness, I'm so excited of the thought of riding on one of these beauties next week when I pick it up! And also trembling with excitement on what I can do to spruce up the bike. The audio player has been removed, but I wouldnt care so much about that, since it's a cassette player. Looking to look for places to do up my audio system and extra gadgets like lighter sockets and GPS system...hee hee...

I have a concern though. My wife is 3 months pregnant, and is relatively stable now. Can she ride on the bike? Any bros with experience on riding with pregnant wives (or women, whatever...:p ) Barring unforeseen circumstances, seems like riding on the GW would be as comfy as in a cab (cab drivers seem to be in a hurry nowadays, get my drift?) so it may be safer too...?

Hopefully this thread can generate a GW community to exchange opinions and where to get good places to do up these beauties :)

Cheers guys!!

Skid Row

I Remember You...

Thought I'd change the Title Thread to GoldWing Exchange, as it would seem more relevant to the content we are discussing now :)

Skid Row

I Remember You...

congt on your new GW pal...

so did you bought the white GW with bidded number???

wife with 3 mth, better don't play la...

but i rode a GW before when i was riding my ex-STX, the feeling is damn shiok!!!

you got the right choice...

Thank you all so much for your valuable feedback! I have decided to take the plunge and bought meself a GW!! ;)

My goodness, I'm so excited of the thought of riding on one of these beauties next week when I pick it up! And also trembling with excitement on what I can do to spruce up the bike. The audio player has been removed, but I wouldnt care so much about that, since it's a cassette player. Looking to look for places to do up my audio system and extra gadgets like lighter sockets and GPS system...hee hee...

I have a concern though. My wife is 3 months pregnant, and is relatively stable now. Can she ride on the bike? Any bros with experience on riding with pregnant wives (or women, whatever...:p ) Barring unforeseen circumstances, seems like riding on the GW would be as comfy as in a cab (cab drivers seem to be in a hurry nowadays, get my drift?) so it may be safer too...?

Hopefully this thread can generate a GW community to exchange opinions and where to get good places to do up these beauties :)

Cheers guys!!

http://www.motorcycleinfo.co.uk/resources/6795/assets/images/Technical/data_r1200gs_thumbnail.gif

Cheers guys!!

Congra on your GW. Come out for kopi and let me see see touch touch and pillion me a while? :slurp: I've nvr tried GW before but the rear seat look so much comfy than my previous Toyota Vios. :cheeky:

Btw I dont recommend u to pillion your wife. Nothing is more impt than the baby inside her. Please be a responsible husband and father.

Yo Bros!

Thanks for the feedback. Ya I guess thats the safest to have my wife travel by public transport (poor thing Wifey...you'll get to sit on my baby next year! :p )

No problems about taking a look at the GW mates! I'm picking up this weekend, and it's not the Anniversary bike. I bet it's a great bike, but it was not in my price budget. I got it lower from another person. It's maroon in colour.

Let me go do up the audio system, and I'll do a "bike warming" with you guys next week eh? :p

Then you all can tell me what I can do to make it more personal, and we'll have a blast riding it ya?

Might like to drop down at Ah Boy to see if they have anything to add on the bike (though I know it's going to be rare), and also check out some shops who focus on these machines.

Soooo many things to dream about now...hee hee...

Skid Row

I Remember You...

Let us know when your bike is ready for warming session ya? May I know if u stay in HDB or private housing? I don't really feel safe about leaving such a bike in HDB carpark. May I know how much u got it for and how old is the bike? I like this bike too.

Hee hee...I will definitely sound you guys out for the warming session!

I bought the bike at a cheaper price of about 7k plus. I dont want to spoil the market for the Anniversary Edition. I think that bike is worth its price for sure.

I believe my bike condition is not as good as his, but with only so much cash to come out with, this was a more affordable choice. I'll spend the coming months to slowly do it up and make it to what I hope the best that it can be.

And I hope the dude will get a good deal for his bike soon too :) And whomever gets that, call me ok? :) We'll spend a day to admire each other's beauties :)

I live in HDB. I'll probably park my bike alternatedly between my home and my office car park, which is covered and has security too. I'll also switch between this bike and my current ride, an S4 Vtec 1, pending traffic conditions. This bike cant squeeze through peak hour traffic for sure!!

This is my dream bike, one I never thought I'd ride, cause I never expected to take my class 2. But the egging of my colleagues, who ride a BMW GS1200 and a Harley Sportster, led me to do it.

I wont live forever, but I suppose I can say soon that I did ride a GoldWing once in my life ba...;)

Skid Row

I Remember You...

Hi bro, congratulation for your new ride, GW is my dream bike too. Like you, I didn't thought I would get my class 2 also, being driving for almost 20 years. Trying to look for a GW for pass 3 months, no luck :( . I'd seen 2 anniversary edition, both out of my budget.

So 2 weeks ago, I got fed up, sold my S4 and got myself a FJR instead. Of course at the mean time, still trying to get a GW.

BTW, why don't you join the GW Singapore http://gwspore.forumaster.net/ so can share your experience with them. :)

Btw, 7K sound like a good buy, how old is it, where you get it from?

Yo Andre!

How's things with you? :) Thanks for dropping by this thread!

I know what you mean about looking for a bike to fit our budget, yet at the same time hoping to get the right bike. It's a time consuming process, having to browse through ads, visit shops and ask around. It didn't take me that long, perhaps I was lucky. But I definitely did a lot of work to get this baby! :p

I suppose we have to be meticulous. I didn't find the bike on the garage sale section. It was in between some threads from an advertiser (cannot recall where liao...) in the whole forum. So you can see I spent a lot of time on this site! (Boss, if you're looking at this message, please note I am good at multi-tasking!!)

FJR's a good bike, that I totally agree man! FC, reliability and overall a good investment! The choice of bikes are likened to women ba, one man's meat is another man's poison! :p

I'll definitely join in the group link man, there's so much more to what I know now about the GW! Spent last week reading up on the history of GW, and the evolution process, like history man! Ha ha!

Dude, maybe we can meet up soon and we can exchange opinions and tips and check out the GW ya? And see if it will stoke any inner fire in you to join me in acquiring one too? (hee hee...the devil in me...)

Cheers man!

Skid Row

I Remember You...

Hi bro,

I'm enjoying my FJR except during parking, how I wish it come with reverse gear.. :giddy:

One day sure will ride with you, wish to get hold of a GW soonest. :pray:

Btw, have you visit Goldwingworld web site? it post a complete history of Goldwing and also link to other interesting goldwing site too.:cool:

Yo Andre!

Ya I visit liao, need to study history first ma :)

Now is just waiting to see what further stuff I can add on to the GW once I pick it up.

Next Friday I probably go down to KTM and introduce myself to the other wingers there and see how it goes from there.

Skid Row

I Remember You...

congt on your new GW pal...

so did you bought the white GW with bidded number???

wife with 3 mth, better don't play la...

but i rode a GW before when i was riding my ex-STX, the feeling is damn shiok!!!

you got the right choice...

Hi bro skidrow,

i use to ride a GW few years back when my wife was preggy for around 6 months...(before tis is a R1). mY piece of advice,,,,

1) It is safe to pillion ur wife cos there is no vibration on tis machine.(But make sure that u can really handle it cos u dun wan to fall with ur preggy wife.

2) Make sure u learn the correct technique of carrying up the bike just in case u drop it(without help of cos)

Enjoy ur new ride.......

Past rides:-

Cagiva Mito, Hexagon 150, KTM 125EXC,

Shadow 400, Ducati Monster 400, CBR 400RL,

Yamaha R1, Honda Goldwing1500

Present ride:-

Honda Deauville NT700

:gun: :bouncefire:

Hi Janamy,

Thanks a lot for your assurance. Of course this scenario has to be subjected to the conditions of me being able to handle my bike well.

I suppose once in a while is ok, but the other bros will surely tell me better to play safe :) I say thank you all for your concern in advance first ah!!

As for drop ah...I dont dare to think man!!! Will have to play with the bike first...maybe do it at Kallang Car Park, then when got the feel already, the confidence will set in.

Thanks mate!!

Skid Row

I Remember You...

I brought my wife on my GW when she was 3mths till the day she delivered. But of course, after riding the GW for 2 years, I'm used to the feel. I won't advice u to pillion ur wife now since u r still getting use to the bike. Maybe in a few weeks or so when u r more confident with the bike, with ur wife pregnant, the scare of anything happening is enough to do the damage.. Take out the rider's backrest if u wan to pillion her, go slow, no sudden pickup, act like u r taking tp test in SSDC, all this precaution I took.. now I'm a proud father of a baby boy... Enjoy ur Winger!!

Life's is like a box of Chocolate... U'll never know wat's u gonner get..

http://i.ytimg.com/vi/UK7BYZ09zww/0.jpg

Hi Janamy,

Thanks a lot for your assurance. Of course this scenario has to be subjected to the conditions of me being able to handle my bike well.

I suppose once in a while is ok, but the other bros will surely tell me better to play safe :) I say thank you all for your concern in advance first ah!!

As for drop ah...I dont dare to think man!!! Will have to play with the bike first...maybe do it at Kallang Car Park, then when got the feel already, the confidence will set in.

Thanks mate!!

For the drop, dun think a bout it. I dropped mine and i managed. But trying it in Kallang Car Park is not the best ground bro, I would rather u took 2nd link, pump some petrol, go kulai for dinner, and back to SG for a tryout.

Life's is like a box of Chocolate... U'll never know wat's u gonner get..

http://i.ytimg.com/vi/UK7BYZ09zww/0.jpg

Hi Knightingale,

Thanks for the words of advice! I'm glad to say I have been riding close to a week on the GW, and it is actually quite easy to handle!!

I did give my wife a lift on the bike, and I must say it's been good so far! :)

I have lots of help from other GoldWingers around, meeting them and discussing about tips and touch ups for the bike. It;s been great!

Dont know when I will see the bike drop, I hope not!! :p

It's been a blast so far, and I'm enjoying every minute of it!!

So guys, when can we meet and check out each others bikes? It'll be cool mates!

Skid Row

I Remember You...