2B at BBDC or CDC?

Go to solution Solved by snooptrader,

CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?   

16 members have voted

1. 1. CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?

• BBDC
    • CDC

42 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Orh.. wah like tt really hard to book slots sia.. haha.. really need to dig out 100min for the class lor.. + travelling time too

Ya... it'll definitely be a slow process for us. He keeps telling me it's a "hobby" no need to cheong. 😂

Something to do besides eat supper. 

• Haha 1

2 hours ago, Janeoh said:

Ya... it'll definitely be a slow process for us. He keeps telling me it's a "hobby" no need to cheong. 😂

Something to do besides eat supper. 

If u're on it already i would suggest to faster finish actually.. cos it is all about muscle memories.. the longer u drag might need longer time to pass unless u're really gd at it.. 

Next time can ride bike go out supper le lor.. hahaha

Edited by Nakuru

17 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

If u're on it already i would suggest to faster finish actually.. cos it is all about muscle memories.. the longer u drag might need longer time to pass unless u're really gd at it.. 

Next time can ride bike go out supper le lor.. hahaha

Hahahah that's the plan... but now we also just go out to eat 😂

true about muscle memory. But I should follow him lah. Don't wanna cheong ahead. Unless he already finish a level then I'll do extra to catch up 😂 suppose to do together so better just stick to it. Hopefully we can consistently do 1-2 lessons a week once the orientation thing is done. 

How frequent do you go for lessons? And CDC really just allow us to book one lesson at a time. I think it's ridiculous lah, their booking system. I mean they can release all the dates and timing by the month or quarterly then at least ppl know how to plan and make time. 

Actually 1-2 lesson a week is normal la.. i oso every week 1 lesson.. but i took avg 2-3 tries to pass each lesson la.. lesson 6 was my worst cos driver's bad habit very strong so i repeated 4 times 😂 

Huh? Now cdc also changed to 1 lesson per booking? Last time not like tt de sia.. cdc last time can book multiples at 1 time de.. SSDC is 1 lesson per booking somemore u cannot check schedule anymore if u already have a lesson booked.. n actually theres no point in booking too many slots for each lesson cos u'll nv noe whether u can pass in 1 try or need multiple tries.. 

20 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Actually 1-2 lesson a week is normal la.. i oso every week 1 lesson.. but i took avg 2-3 tries to pass each lesson la.. lesson 6 was my worst cos driver's bad habit very strong so i repeated 4 times 😂 

Huh? Now cdc also changed to 1 lesson per booking? Last time not like tt de sia.. cdc last time can book multiples at 1 time de.. SSDC is 1 lesson per booking somemore u cannot check schedule anymore if u already have a lesson booked.. n actually theres no point in booking too many slots for each lesson cos u'll nv noe whether u can pass in 1 try or need multiple tries.. 

what is this bad habit?? I should know beforehand 😂

anyway, I can only do one timing, after I get the orientation done, so hopefully the booking thing will be smoother then. 

this booking thing is really a pain. They need to have a better plan. 

3 minutes ago, Janeoh said:

what is this bad habit?? I should know beforehand 😂

Example when u lane change, if there's no car u will just change or juz turn into the lane u wan rite.. but now everything need to stick to the book way 😂 

9 minutes ago, Janeoh said:

anyway, I can only do one timing, after I get the orientation done, so hopefully the booking thing will be smoother then. 

this booking thing is really a pain. They need to have a better plan. 

Dun think they have much choice cos theres alot of ppl using bots to spam book the booking system then end up they have to make it so stupid to block the bots. 

11 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Example when u lane change, if there's no car u will just change or juz turn into the lane u wan rite.. but now everything need to stick to the book way 😂 

Ah... you mean turn head to check blind spot? I still do that! Cos I think my car's blind spot quite big 😂 and I have to check for bikes sneaking up on me 😜😜

hehehe I still do that leh... I still park w my window and wing mirrors also!

Hahaha i oso still got do blindspot check hor.. but wat i meant is like u 1 lane turning sometimes instead of sticking to right most lane, u will juz go into the 2nd lane if theres no other cars or bike ma.. such habits lor.. mine is mostly on lane switching la..

4 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Hahaha i oso still got do blindspot check hor.. but wat i meant is like u 1 lane turning sometimes instead of sticking to right most lane, u will juz go into the 2nd lane if theres no other cars or bike ma.. such habits lor.. mine is mostly on lane switching la..

Oh! U mean switching lanes while turning if there are more than one turning lanes? Hhahah 🫣🤭

Right now my mean concern (besides booking) is why no auto license! I think I'll be stalling the bike a lot.. cannot move off. 😂😂😂 stuck in lesson 1. 

11 hours ago, Nakuru said:

Hahaha no la.. small stuffs i wun take offense de.. 

I also wanted to learn bike. But parents dun allow so now old liao can decide on my own liao.. hahahaha

Close enough.. Im an admin HAHAHA

No la.. get a nicer looking box la.. can sticker bomb it oso.. dun get those tt looks like round de then not so uncle liao

Yes, in my case, must say parents knew best… even now in their twilight years. Box, will think about it. Now, must look for my helmet… found the old one which I used to have when pillion but the plastic was old and the visor broke… I should have taken a photo… but now in recycle bin. *Don’t look back. 

Will buy a new one. Any recommendations? No “Hello Kitty” even though I ride like Valentine Rosie (not Valentino Rossi aka The Doctor) … just a plain open face, but of course must be approved. :D 

On the box, I guess, will think about it… I just like bikes without the boxes… but after being more season…. Who knows.. will probably get one.. which means… Am I buying on? :D 

Haha there is auto de... For handicaps only.. 😂 

Nvm la...at the start sure stall alot de.. i stall alot but oso pass lesson 1 in 3 tries.. ok la.. no issue for u 

Just now, snooptrader said:

Yes, in my case, must say parents knew best… even now in their twilight years. Box, will think about it. Now, must look for my helmet… found the old one which I used to have when pillion but the plastic was old and the visor broke… I should have taken a photo… but now in recycle bin. *Don’t look back. 

Will buy a new one. Any recommendations? No “Hello Kitty” even though I ride like Valentine Rosie (not Valentino Rossi aka The Doctor) … just a plain open face, but of course must be approved. :D 

On the box, I guess, will think about it… I just like bikes without the boxes… but after being more season…. Who knows.. will probably get one.. which means… Am I buying on? :D 

Hahahahaa the box is convenient cos u can keep ur raincoat or helmet when u go walk around.. u can go lim ah boy there see see or get the carousell package lor.. they comes with helmet tgt le ma.. unless u wan more atas de for future use if not juz get the cheapest for learner can le.. if really riding on the road then full face better

Just now, Nakuru said:

Hahahahaa the box is convenient cos u can keep ur raincoat or helmet when u go walk around.. u can go lim ah boy there see see or get the carousell package lor.. they comes with helmet tgt le ma.. unless u wan more atas de for future use if not juz get the cheapest for learner can le.. if really riding on the road then full face better

Yea, need to get some guards and helmet.. will check into Carousell. For helmet…. Will still get an “okay” open face for learning.. it’s really to protect as and not for sure..

Going to do eye-test tomorrow… :D at BBDC… they are open weekdays… I should post some images..

• Like 1

Get like tt can liao:https://carousell.app.link/5hhnP0I9LqbITry to as if u can change the headliner to armsleeves or not.. will be more useful eventually.. hahaha

If u go down shop buy separately oso price sama sama.. u can go racing world or lim ah boy see see oso.. ask if they can give discount or not.. haha 

8 minutes ago, Nakuru said:

Get like tt can liao:https://carousell.app.link/5hhnP0I9LqbITry to as if u can change the headliner to armsleeves or not.. will be more useful eventually.. hahaha

If u go down shop buy separately oso price sama sama.. u can go racing world or lim ah boy see see oso.. ask if they can give discount or not.. haha 

I was just browsing through and looking at the helmets with sunvisor (are they allowed?) I mean can push up right? :D I might just go down to see… I got my last helmet from L.A.B but that was ages ago…… Yea… Don’t need headliner… for now.. We are allowed to wear t-shirts and arm sleeves to learn? If so, that’s really cool.. :) 

7 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

I was just browsing through and looking at the helmets with sunvisor (are they allowed?) I mean can push up right? :D I might just go down to see… I got my last helmet from L.A.B but that was ages ago…… Yea… Don’t need headliner… for now.. We are allowed to wear t-shirts and arm sleeves to learn? If so, that’s really cool.. :) 

Yea can wear tshirt with arm sleeves.. the visor cannot be tinted so unless its those helmet with 2 visors de if not cannot use lor.. muz be psb approved too 

Just now, Nakuru said:

Yea can wear tshirt with arm sleeves.. the visor cannot be tinted so unless its those helmet with 2 visors de if not cannot use lor.. muz be psb approved too 

Ok, will get those dual visors… the inner one like sun-glasses and the top one is clear…

I thought of getting this… but worried will get “marked”

Check out 'HJC CS-15 Full Face Motorcycle Helmet Solid PSB APPROVED', available at S$150 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/2FohOWubMqb

13 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

Ok, will get those dual visors… the inner one like sun-glasses and the top one is clear…

Check out 'HJC CS-15 Full Face Motorcycle Helmet Solid PSB APPROVED', available at S$150 on #Carousell https://carousell.app.link/2FohOWubMqb

U cannot use full face helmet when u're a learner. Open face only. Ssdc can accept modulars but cdc is cannot at all. not sure abt bbdc

Edited by Nakuru
  • Haha 1

On 6/10/2022 at 10:24 PM, snooptrader said:

Spoken like a true experienced rider...

The question I want to ask all experience riders is...
"When checking blind spots, how do you ensure the vehicle in front don't pull a jammy while I turn my head?"
As a driver, I get some of these things..

I intend to ride till old.. As much as I like excitement; I've seen some really gory images to remind me how vulnerable the human anatomy is.

Thank you very much and appreciate inputs from experience riders. No need tricks; need tips to survive

pretty sure there are more experienced riders here but this is usually what i do when i ride.

As a rider there's an advantage you have over cars... but not lorries and trucks... you're higher than the car. So you can pretty much see whats in front of the car in front of you. But usually i'll keep more to the left side of the car in front of me if i'm filtering left and right side of the car when i'm filtering right. And of course keep a safe distance from the car in front of you before you check the blind spot. 

Blind Spot checking in real life is <0.1 sec... don't LOOK for cars behind you when you're checking the blind spot hor... unlike driving, blind spots checking on a bike is very easy... nothing there means nothing there... there's no metal bar or tinted window blocking your view hahaha... One thing before changing lanes when riding will be to look at your side mirror carefully to make sure there are no speeding bikes lane splitting at 100kmh... bike hitting bikes are more common than you realize. I've see it happen a couple of times right in from of me... especially in jams... people like to swerve in and out without looking and before he knows it... bang... 

On 6/11/2022 at 11:30 PM, snooptrader said:

I have the GT air and personally i think its one of the quietest helmet... i had AGV and Arai which were strangely noisier. 

https://www.shoei.com/worldwide/en/helmet/fullface/gt-air_ii/

GT air has stopped production but there's GT air II now and it comes with a visor in build in there VERY convenient especially when you're riding against the morning sun. And if you need bluetooth you can get a SENA 10C which is fully embedded in the helmet. Looks sleek. 

On 6/11/2022 at 11:40 PM, snooptrader said:

I think for 2B open face is a better choice for 2 things. For one you can't hear much with a full face helmet... haha... So important tips sometimes you'll be like "Huh" say louder? 2... Full face is alot hotter... I cleared my 2A and 2 wearing Full face and man... at SSDC with shelter... i'm sweating buckets. But safety first... so when riding outside 100% i'll be with full face helmet. 

On 6/11/2022 at 11:49 PM, Nakuru said:

U cannot use full face helmet when u're a learner. Open face only. Ssdc can accept modulars but cdc is cannot at all. not sure abt bbdc

SSDC don't allow? didn't know there was such a rule... i thought only cannot use those without the PSB Sticker one... cause insurance won't cover if you don't have the PSB sticker. 

On 6/11/2022 at 9:48 PM, Janeoh said:

Oh! U mean switching lanes while turning if there are more than one turning lanes? Hhahah 🫣🤭

Right now my mean concern (besides booking) is why no auto license! I think I'll be stalling the bike a lot.. cannot move off. 😂😂😂 stuck in lesson 1. 

rev higher to 3.5k if you keep stalling the bike hehehe just don't "Throw" the clutch. Hold the throttle steady first, release the clutch more if you need more speed and and if too fast then clutch in and Freeeeeeeeeeeeee wheeeeel. Want power then release the clutch again to the biting point. 

Always remember the Clutch is the key to Power transmission. You can always control the acceleration with the clutch at gear 1. and rev more... unlike car... the bike only 150cc? so need more power to move than car... so rev a little high... when you release the clutch it will drop to 2k one... heheh

On 6/11/2022 at 11:01 PM, snooptrader said:

Eh... what bike you getting? If scooter actually some the seat space is big enough to not even need to have a box unless u wanna keep 2 helmet. There are a few of those more rectangular boxes. Like Kappa, Givi all also have metals ones. Givi have some pretty "space age" looking ones too. Just make sure the shop that helps u install the mount does a good job. The mount is very important to keep the box from shaking too much.  

As for rain coat, i've ever use those hiking gear rain coat as my rain coat... pretty good but for biking ones get those neon ones for safety. You'll appreciate it more during those heavy rain and all the cars can see you cause you're so bright... some bike shop sells those 3M brands ones. online shops also carry them. Usually about $50-80 

• Thanks 1

27 minutes ago, Siphon said:

SSDC don't allow? didn't know there was such a rule... i thought only cannot use those without the PSB Sticker one... cause insurance won't cover if you don't have the PSB sticker. 

Ya.. now they dun allow already.. only open face. Modular still will close eyes.. cannot have any attachments like bluetooth or camera on the helmet oso.. 

7 hours ago, Nakuru said:

Haha there is auto de... For handicaps only.. 😂 

Nvm la...at the start sure stall alot de.. i stall alot but oso pass lesson 1 in 3 tries.. ok la.. no issue for u 

Hahaha thank you for the vote of confidence. We see.... 😂

6 hours ago, Siphon said:

rev higher to 3.5k if you keep stalling the bike hehehe just don't "Throw" the clutch. Hold the throttle steady first, release the clutch more if you need more speed and and if too fast then clutch in and Freeeeeeeeeeeeee wheeeeel. Want power then release the clutch again to the biting point. 

Always remember the Clutch is the key to Power transmission. You can always control the acceleration with the clutch at gear 1. and rev more... unlike car... the bike only 150cc? so need more power to move than car... so rev a little high... when you release the clutch it will drop to 2k one... heheh

It makes lots of sense in theory 😂 I shall try to remember it during practical!! Thanks for the tip 😊

10 hours ago, Nakuru said:

Doh! I'll go for open-faced then.. :)

11 hours ago, Siphon said:

I have the GT air and personally i think its one of the quietest helmet... i had AGV and Arai which were strangely noisier. 

https://www.shoei.com/worldwide/en/helmet/fullface/gt-air_ii/

GT air has stopped production but there's GT air II now and it comes with a visor in build in there VERY convenient especially when you're riding against the morning sun. And if you need bluetooth you can get a SENA 10C which is fully embedded in the helmet. Looks sleek.

The gt air II really looks damn chio la.. wanted to get the matt blue version previously but i end up getting a shark full carbon helmet. Not sure how good the sound reduction is since i only have 1 helmet.

1 hour ago, snooptrader said:

Doh! I'll go for open-faced then.. :)

Ya.. tts y juz go for a cheap 1 tt u use only as learner.. u wun utilise its function when in circuit de.. future go on the road then invest in a way better quality de. 

Haha all driving sch is crowded on any days de.. if u think u will use it on the road in future then u can get brands like hjc too.. cheap n looks good. They got modulars tt looks pretty nice too. Can go motoworld see see too..