[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

battery...time to change?? check your charginge system...

push start bike..if it can start...then most probably need to change battery.

maybe you have too many gadgets fixed on the bike...

a poor wiring on your bike can drain the battery...

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

• Replies 1.8k

Hello its me again.

Need help. I turn my ignition to on and nornally the brake light appears. However now i need to press the brake in order for the light to light up and when not pressing brake, no lights at all (which i feel is dangerous). Wanna ask if its problem with bulb or some wiring problem?

shud be tail-light bulb lar. cheap cheap. cheaper if u buy n fix urself. Esso got sell. find the one that writes 1157 or 21W/5W. sumting like dat. IIRC $4+ for 2 pieces. can keep as spare. all u need is a philips screwdriver.

i cant guarantee la. personally thats the 1st thing i would do since its the cheapest and simplest fix. as applies to all forms of troubleshooting, start wif the cheapest n simplest.

Most likely, our light bulb got high beam and low beam.

Seems like the bulb's low beam got blown, so unless you step on the brake there is no lights because the low beam is blown, but lights up when you step on the brakes because the high beam filament is still working.

Took out my crash bar, the next thing I saw was black oil leaking out from inside the bar :faint: No idea what went wrong.... Shake the bar, oil pours out instead :o

Now, just parked my bike and observed, no sign of oil leak.

Any idea what went wrong?

Crash bar has no connection to engine oil or 2T oil.

Might be dirty rain water mixed with dirt trapped in the hollow of the crash bar.

Edited by Silent Hunter

a poor wiring on your bike can drain the battery...

the battery is a new one, so i am wondering why after a day of parking will pose difficulty in starting the bike. Just need to send to any workshop to check the wiring if it is properly done? any recommendation?

sometimes new battery cannot hold charge...check the battery as well...if problem make a warranty claim

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

The only thing dat i can think of dat makes noise wen engine is warm cud be valve clearance out of specification.

Hello, naim. thank u for reply:)

in this case, d only way to eliminate the noise is to overhaul engine?o_O

hot engines...can cause expensive failures.....

clean your engine radiator... for a better name...if you have a dirty engine on the outside this forms a barrier to cooling the engine while you ride..

dont over lean your fuel mix....people/mech tend to do this to give you max effieciency in fuel comsumption...but they also givs max expensive engine damage in the long run...

regular ed changes and .high sae no...is good for engine in this respect..

always keep your engine cool...and it will run better....an exhaust wrap can reduec engine heat..

take care in this hot weather.......

Hello ezzyoiler, thank u 4 reply.:)

just use soap water 2clean? i assume u were saying d oil stain on radiator

not sure if my carb is over lean or not, coz mech tune 4me:cheeky: just curious, why over lean mixture will boost FC?

hmm... talking abt EO, do i nid 2spend $ 2get an expensive FS EO? i was thinking if this expensive EO (e.g. 20W50) is able 2kill the engine noise or not...

i read thru forum, some said 20W50 EO will create a lot of vibration, thou it gives max protection to engine

thanks & regards,

More lean = more % of the fuel is totally combusted in each cycle.

If super lean until 100% of the petrol is combusted and converted into energy (ie; more energy using the same amount of fuel), you will get better mileage per litre, but then the bike will be super hot, and in most cases burn off your exhaust valve in the long run. :(

Or worse overheat the piston until it over expand and cause a piston seize. :faint:

So most bikes are tuned to be more rich, waste a bit of fuel, but the unburnt petrol help to carry away some of the heat.

More lean = more % of the fuel is totally combusted in each cycle.

If super lean until 100% of the petrol is combusted and converted into energy (ie; more energy using the same amount of fuel), you will get better mileage per litre, but then the bike will be super hot, and in most cases burn off your exhaust valve in the long run. :(

Or worse overheat the piston until it over expand and cause a piston seize. :faint:

So most bikes are tuned to be more rich, waste a bit of fuel, but the unburnt petrol help to carry away some of the heat.

icic... if more rich mixture, will engine become more powerful?

To a certain extent , yes. Too rich oso no gd since too much fuel makes it boggy n bad throttle response. Rather, the engine is the most powerful at a specific AFR (air-fuel-ratio). The trick is to get that specific point.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

icic... if more rich mixture, will engine become more powerful?

?????????????????...rich..you waste money....a lot of unburn gases and you end up with back fiing...

back firing will do a lot of damage in your engine in he long run..

bad...to rich engine..

but some long distance rider to do this to cool engine..

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

Hello ezzyoiler, thank u 4 reply.:)

just use soap water 2clean? i assume u were saying d oil stain on radiator

not sure if my carb is over lean or not, coz mech tune 4me:cheeky: just curious, why over lean mixture will boost FC?

hmm... talking abt EO, do i nid 2spend $ 2get an expensive FS EO? i was thinking if this expensive EO (e.g. 20W50) is able 2kill the engine noise or not...

i read thru forum, some said 20W50 EO will create a lot of vibration, thou it gives max protection to engine

thanks & regards,

get a big sponge nd tooth brush....and a strong soap....

first wash with bigsponge..the use toooth brush if neccesary.. on the engine body and fins...

dont forget the crank case...bottom too.

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

a poor wiring on your bike can drain the battery...[/QUOte]

@ezzyoiler can the workshop check if it is faulty battery or faulty charger? how much for battery change?

Hmm.. Just faced some problem recently..

1. Changed my CCT 2 days ago, now no more tick tick sound when cold start. However, I notice that there's a loosen metal sound somewhere when I throttle. But still don't know where the sound is coming from.. :sian:

2. Bike kind of like no power sometimes, and like reluctant to accelerate at times.. Was travelling at 80kmh, throttled a little harder, and there was a change in sound (a little hollow kind) like reluctance to accelerate like that. Have to release throttle and do it again before the speed increase.. Any idea whats wrong? :( Occasional 'pop' (backfire) at the exhaust too.

Edited by wwen.eric

I would like to share this piece of information to fellow Phantom Bikers.

If you want an expert to do your bike go to blk 60 lengkok bahru. Ah khoon. You can see lot of bikes parked outside. I had a problem where no other could solves (vibrate ) he solved it. The price is good and cheap.

i just changed my engine oil on Sat, was told to replaced with 1.5 l of EO, i think the workshop uses 20-50 EO Mobil. First time i had this issue, engine died when I started the engine but ok once i started riding and throttle. Then just now, stopping at junction, engine died again and need to restart. What could be the cause??

I would like to share this piece of information to fellow Phantom Bikers.

If you want an expert to do your bike go to blk 60 lengkok bahru. Ah khoon. You can see lot of bikes parked outside. I had a problem where no other could solves (vibrate ) he solved it. The price is good and cheap.

hi bro, what did Dr. Koon do on ur bike to 'kill' the vibration? can share? 10S

Hmm.. Just faced some problem recently..

1. Changed my CCT 2 days ago, now no more tick tick sound when cold start. However, I notice that there's a loosen metal sound somewhere when I throttle. But still don't know where the sound is coming from.. :sian:

2. Bike kind of like no power sometimes, and like reluctant to accelerate at times.. Was travelling at 80kmh, throttled a little harder, and there was a change in sound (a little hollow kind) like reluctance to accelerate like that. Have to release throttle and do it again before the speed increase.. Any idea whats wrong? :( Occasional 'pop' (backfire) at the exhaust too.

hi bro, i also facing the same problem as number 1. just that i didnt change my CCT. instead i just change my chain. sound is always there when i open throttle. also like got squeeky sound and like 'plastic bag' sound like that. thats the closest i can imagine the sound to be like.

help pleaseeeeee.

hi brothers.

faced another problem again. other than the post above, today while riding, i got a shock of my life. reach destination, wanted to off engine and found out that my key is missing from the ignition. i found out that (using a spare key), once i turn the ignition to on, the key can be pulled out but the bike can still be operated. is this a sign to change the ignitiion?

and also when stopping at traffic light, i clutch and i tried to shift gear down, but gear does not engange, instead of to release to half clutch abit, let gear engage before repeating the steps again to get to gear one. is this common?

thanks alot. sorry for the questions, im a newbie.

hi brothers.

faced another problem again. other than the post above, today while riding, i got a shock of my life. reach destination, wanted to off engine and found out that my key is missing from the ignition. i found out that (using a spare key), once i turn the ignition to on, the key can be pulled out but the bike can still be operated. is this a sign to change the ignitiion?

I ever encountered this on my SP. Its the ignition lock that's spoilt. Was riding on TPE when the keys flew out. Stupid enough of me all my spares and etc were bundled together. Only left ignition master key. Lost the ability to open seat and open tank. Had to replace all locks in the end. If i were you, best replace it otherwise will keep losing key unless u tie the key to the bike, but i worry your bike kena hijacked in.

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Hey guys my bike now having an oil leak problem. Its leaking from the oil sump drain nut. Ah chong told me got 2 possibilities. 1) The o-ring sealing the nut to the oil pan is spoilt, which i replaced for $2. 2) The oil drain nut is goner. Now its still leaking after changing the o-ring so most likely the nut is a goner. However during changing of the o-ring i already changed EO. Is it okay i ignore the problem for now while keeping check of my EO level on a daily basis? I wanna wait till 2k km change eo then replace the nut.

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Hey guys my bike now having an oil leak problem. Its leaking from the oil sump drain nut. Ah chong told me got 2 possibilities. 1) The o-ring sealing the nut to the oil pan is spoilt, which i replaced for $2. 2) The oil drain nut is goner. Now its still leaking after changing the o-ring so most likely the nut is a goner. However during changing of the o-ring i already changed EO. Is it okay i ignore the problem for now while keeping check of my EO level on a daily basis? I wanna wait till 2k km change eo then replace the nut.

can try ask ah chong nicely if he can drain it into a clean pan, change ur drain plug, then refill back wif d same EO.

hi guys.. i cant seem to start my ta200 recently after riding in the heavy rain on last friday.. when i press the electric start, the sound comes out but engine cant start.. when i push start a few times then ok, but when i off the engine, again i cant use the electric start.. what could be the problem? battery, spark plug, wiring, starter carbon, starter relay?

shud be ur spark plug cap leaking. quite cheap to replace. i tink shud be less than $20.

Thanksdude! at least i know what to ask my mech to check for.. so i dont get burnt..