[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

• Replies 1.8k

I dont have video cam leh. Heck i dont even have a camera phone. XD But nvm, will try use DSLR upload one day. Anyway i think my piston and piston ring is gone.... Did oil change and 800km later the EO is all gone. Had to topup. Sian. Think gonna overhaul it now. Just now when riding at low speed and low rpm bike suddenly jerk n jerk like machiam no petrol (i just top up full tank). Maybe carb dirty or smth. My clutch also got prob, can't kick into Neutral at all. Guess just do everything sui sui once n for all, top overhaul, wash/service carb, etc.

LOL u dun hv a camera phone but you are going to have a DSLR to record the sound? overkill! you in army ar? :cheeky:

my eo situation was just like yours.. just that its 600km+ in 2 weeks! better top up with some eo or else your tranny GG as well with your cylinder and piston!

just wondering, how old is your bike?

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

LOL u dun hv a camera phone but you are going to have a DSLR to record the sound? overkill! you in army ar? :cheeky:

my eo situation was just like yours.. just that its 600km+ in 2 weeks! better top up with some eo or else your tranny GG as well with your cylinder and piston!

Wah yours fierce. Mine 7yr old bike. June 2015 COE end

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

2A - On going...

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

my bike one year ahead of you expire coe only.. probably abused before all the problems start to surface one by one.. zzz

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

my bike one year ahead of you expire coe only.. probably abused before all the problems start to surface one by one.. zzz

Agreed. Mine got 9 previous owners. Wonder what they did. Condition still okok la, battery, electronics (like fuel sensor, lights, wiring, etc.), fork, rear suspension, still going well. New chain (at that time when bought about 2 months ago), new tyre (same as chain), new paint job (same as before) and the list goes on.. Only recently engine problems started to surface, gearbox abit whacky....

Anyway, anyone here replaced engine bearing before?

Update: Bike sent for overhauling at Lee Huat Motor at timah there. My dad patronised that shop since 1980s and he brought me there. Now been doing stuffs there liao, including the overhauling. Anyway things going to change: Piston, piston ring, cam rocker arms, timing chain. Block have to be rebored. Valve adjustment + timing check. Servicing and cleaning of carb. New gaskets. Should be these only. CCT dont need change as i changed it recently.

Diagnosis: Mechanic told me valves is already out of timing due to the worn timing chain and piston probably hitting the valves alr, resulting in the ticking sound when idling (he opened trottle and range thru the rpm and the sound got more obvious). Many people including some mechanics told me the ticking sound is normal. But if its normal then i should have heard it when i bought my bike. Only recently did the ticking sound came up. Was trained in marine engines as a technician hence agar agar know what kind of sound is abnormal. Haha but im not a pro la =X but i know engine ticking sound is NOT normal. Piston n ring also gone alr, resulting in high EO consumption.

Edited by Spark_135

2A - On going...

Agreed. Mine got 9 previous owners. Wonder what they did. Condition still okok la, battery, electronics (like fuel sensor, lights, wiring, etc.), fork, rear suspension, still going well. New chain (at that time when bought about 2 months ago), new tyre (same as chain), new paint job (same as before) and the list goes on.. Only recently engine problems started to surface, gearbox abit whacky....

Anyway, anyone here replaced engine bearing before?

Update: Bike sent for overhauling at Lee Huat Motor at timah there. My dad patronised that shop since 1980s and he brought me there. Now been doing stuffs there liao, including the overhauling. Anyway things going to change: Piston, piston ring, cam rocker arms, timing chain. Block have to be rebored. Valve adjustment + timing check. Servicing and cleaning of carb. New gaskets. Should be these only. CCT dont need change as i changed it recently.

Diagnosis: Mechanic told me valves is already out of timing due to the worn timing chain and piston probably hitting the valves alr, resulting in the ticking sound when idling (he opened trottle and range thru the rpm and the sound got more obvious). Many people including some mechanics told me the ticking sound is normal. But if its normal then i should have heard it when i bought my bike. Only recently did the ticking sound came up. Was trained in marine engines as a technician hence agar agar know what kind of sound is abnormal. Haha but im not a pro la =X but i know engine ticking sound is NOT normal. Piston n ring also gone alr, resulting in high EO consumption.

wow 9 owners liao no wonder kena whack until like that already. i see the amt of parts u hv to change i also jaws drop. how much you're going to pay for all that?

lidat nxt eo change im going to ask abt the ticking sound already!

wow 9 owners liao no wonder kena whack until like that already. i see the amt of parts u hv to change i also jaws drop. how much you're going to pay for all that?

lidat nxt eo change im going to ask abt the ticking sound already!

About 400-ish. A huge sum. But still cheaper than my SP when i overhauled it that time (which was a big mistake cause the bike ended in a scrap yard barely 2 months after overhauling due to no money to keep it). But i love my phantom alot, hence willing to repair it. Also still got 3 years left, so hopefully it can last till then.

2A - On going...

About 400-ish. A huge sum. But still cheaper than my SP when i overhauled it that time (which was a big mistake cause the bike ended in a scrap yard barely 2 months after overhauling due to no money to keep it). But i love my phantom alot, hence willing to repair it. Also still got 3 years left, so hopefully it can last till then.

All the parts you mentioned are top overhaul, no need to down engine. So only $400. Lucky that your gearbox, conrod and bearings are fine.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

All the parts you mentioned are top overhaul, no need to down engine. So only $400. Lucky that your gearbox, conrod and bearings are fine.

Yeap. Top overhaul. Yeah damn lucky. If not break the bank alr aka might as well scrap. Anyway, one of the piston ring, the bottom-most ring aka scraper ring is jammed completely into the piston groove, allowing EO to go past it and into the compression ring and partially into combustion chamber, burning up the EO. Will take home the piston and take some photos.

2A - On going...

Yeap. Top overhaul. Yeah damn lucky. If not break the bank alr aka might as well scrap. Anyway, one of the piston ring, the bottom-most ring aka scraper ring is jammed completely into the piston groove, allowing EO to go past it and into the compression ring and partially into combustion chamber, burning up the EO. Will take home the piston and take some photos.

good to show some photos! at least we can learn from there how it looks like. and im curious for some bike mechanics pr0n too :cheeky:

btw, i saw some link on some thai commercial site for ta200 parts. would it be okay to post them here without breaking any rules?

good to show some photos! at least we can learn from there how it looks like. and im curious for some bike mechanics pr0n too :cheeky:

btw, i saw some link on some thai commercial site for ta200 parts. would it be okay to post them here without breaking any rules?

Yeap sure. Will indicate what parts they are, like example gudgeon pin, compression and scraper rings, piston crown and skirt and so on. Learnt them during Navy training for RSN ships, basically all 4 stroke engines are roughly the same. I will ask the shop see can kope any 2 stroke piston anot also. Saw some lying around the shop. So can show u the difference between 2 stroke and 4 stroke pistons. One of the obvious difference is the length of the skirt and the lack of scraper ring in 2 stroke pistons.

Hmmm maybe u post some credits?

2A - On going...

Hi I just bought Phantom, my bike got give up the power like half clutch running during running upwards and give more throttling time. Any one knows what is the problem at my bike?

Sounds like ur clutch is slipping.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Yeap sure. Will indicate what parts they are, like example gudgeon pin, compression and scraper rings, piston crown and skirt and so on. Learnt them during Navy training for RSN ships, basically all 4 stroke engines are roughly the same. I will ask the shop see can kope any 2 stroke piston anot also. Saw some lying around the shop. So can show u the difference between 2 stroke and 4 stroke pistons. One of the obvious difference is the length of the skirt and the lack of scraper ring in 2 stroke pistons.

Hmmm maybe u post some credits?

this 2 links!

http://www.asianbestparts.com/index.php?page=category&category=2&scat=6

http://www.jrmotor.com/index.php?lay=show&ac=photo_view&event_id=5406&pagephoto=5

its just too bad that they do not individiually name the parts there or else it will be identify them during trouble shooting!

maybe have to change clutch plates? when u change engine oil u might see alot of the abraded particulates from the clutch friction plates in your used eo. if its slipping and you do not replace it you might overwork and overheat the engine? the crankcase tends to be quite hot when my clutch plates were razed flat.

My engine is done from overhauling. Now it awaits installation back onto the bike. Heres a view of the entire engine and gearbox.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8444/8009448003_74168b584d_b.jpg

2A - On going...

My engine is done from overhauling. Now it awaits installation back onto the bike. Heres a view of the entire engine and gearbox.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8444/8009448003_74168b584d_b.jpg

woah the whole engine came off! btw does anyone know if engine oil will disappear even after top overhaul? or is this just part of breaking in?

after a week of e0 change suddenly dip stick shows nothing!! i panic and top up 100ml of eo den now it shows up to half between the XXXX...

woah the whole engine came off! btw does anyone know if engine oil will disappear even after top overhaul? or is this just part of breaking in?

after a week of e0 change suddenly dip stick shows nothing!! i panic and top up 100ml of eo den now it shows up to half between the XXXX...

Yeah much better IMO. At least can see the entire engine without the frame or tank blocking the way. With regards to your eo problem, maybe somewhere its leaking? Abit scary just 1 week all the eo is gone =O

2A - On going...

cant localise the leak leh.. it was fine before i change the clutch plates and i dun see any leaks anywhere yet or the drain nut is tighten.. maybe monitor nxt few days.. if not i hv to send it in earlier again ahead of the 1k eo change liao.. could it be the rings still not fully seated yet?

Yup its normal. Wen rings hvnt seat in well, its normal to hv sum blowby. Jux monitor n topup wen u nd lar. My scooter even after 4000km thr is still sum EO loss. If im nt wrong it can take up to 5000km to fully run-in.

in terms of eo lost would it be as much as mine? it was supposed to be full from last sat and it was below the XXXX mark yest night.

in fact if half way through the XXXX is 200ml, and dat would mean i lost 400ml, would that make sense if i were to gauge like that?

i switched to chex after my clutch plate replacement at aound 600km. does it make sense if i should use a cheaper grade oil without detergent additives for the run in? the reason i switched partly was because gear changing was terrible and engine was quite sluggish before that. (initial oil change after overhaul was some 12$ eo from the shelves)

Yup its suggested to use cheap mineral oil for running in. It will be sluggish but its a gd thing since u r nt supposed to run d bike very fast anw. Nt recommended to use synthetics like chex. For d amount, i rly nt sure. Varies from bike to bike i guess. Jux monitor.

Finally gotten my bike back. Totally felt like a new bike. Engine sound different, feeling also different. Its alot smoother. Ticking sound is gone as well. Finally.....

2A - On going...

Yup its suggested to use cheap mineral oil for running in. It will be sluggish but its a gd thing since u r nt supposed to run d bike very fast anw. Nt recommended to use synthetics like chex. For d amount, i rly nt sure. Varies from bike to bike i guess. Jux monitor.

thanks for the advice! it's quite frustrating to see the EO disappearing so much actually..

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2