[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

Wah thank god your ok man. Altho u learnt it the hard way, now u uds the importance of good working brakes. I think like what others have said its a must to weld back, seems like it got torn off.

ya thankfully man.. was damn lucky that the car behind me e braked on time while I tumbled.. when I called ah chong he told me must weld back also.. so just have to count on it as the only way loh. on a side note, he didn't believe I didn't smash into a vehicle or wall or something =l think abt the damages I also zzzz.

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

• Replies 1.8k

Yup consider urself pretty lucky. At least u learn ur lesson. Cheer up! Fix up ur bike and ride! At least nw u prove the side stand stronger than the mounting. Hahaha! Honda quality..

yeah.. an expensive lesson with a lot of time spent! my bike is ready soon juz that i have no time to go get it back!

LOL and honda quality? the mounting or the stand? =D

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

I think i want install crashbar soon. Was having Practical 2.01 2A at BBDC today. During one of the tries of e-braking, i accidentally grabbed my front brake too hard and locked the front wheel. It happened in a split second and i was sliding across the road. Thank god the crashbar was there and saved my leg. Had cuts and bruises only to my left foot and right ankle. Shoe had hole in it even. This goes to prove one thing: Crashbar not only save your bike, it can save your leg also. And always wear covered shoes when riding. If i werent wearing shoes the skin on my foot would have been torn off.

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

I think i want install crashbar soon. Was having Practical 2.01 2A at BBDC today. During one of the tries of e-braking, i accidentally grabbed my front brake too hard and locked the front wheel. It happened in a split second and i was sliding across the road. Thank god the crashbar was there and saved my leg. Had cuts and bruises only to my left foot and right ankle. Shoe had hole in it even. This goes to prove one thing: Crashbar not only save your bike, it can save your leg also. And always wear covered shoes when riding. If i werent wearing shoes the skin on my foot would have been torn off.

good to hear that ur not injured too bad! the only thing abt crashbar is when u kup corner or counter steering dont scrape the ground with it..

i.e. there's a limit to how much u can lean! there's one safety issue regarding it hving an additional extension..

also.. get one of good quality that doesnt break off easily!

(mine was probably a lower quality or else i wouldnt hv ended with a bent front wheel and handle bar)

i found that my rear brake was dragging for the last 2 days and now i found that the rear brake caliper+pump was moving slightly when i try to wriggle it.. is this normal?

i've attempted to tighten the black bolts securing the caliper/pump and its wriggling less for the moment and the rear wheel is moving more freely now.. going to service it as soon as possible..

Probably ur caliper inside is jammed. Need to clean up and maybe change the seals. Go have it checked out. Ur mounting bolts seems loose oso.

tightened it and it went away! now the front caliper is dragging as well but the caliper. ill just have to service the entire brake package when sat comes..

Better service your caliper and check your brake pump as well. You might have a sticky brake caliper. Got it before on my SP, not really jammed just slow moving.

2A - On going...

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Yah just service both front n back if u can afford it. U will be amazed at hw much nicer the brakes can be. I chged mine myself ard $30 each i tink. Rebleed wif new pads. Super shiok after that.

Its not just shiok ah, safety is at stake here. His caliper is close to jamming. If his caliper jams when closing he is in BIG trouble.

2A - On going...

Nah. I doubt a jammed piston will have enuf force to lock d rear wheel. At most drag and reduce his rear wheel speed. But nonetheless unsafe of cux since he basically almost have no rear brakes now. Anyway most of ur braking is done wif d front. :)

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Better service your caliper and check your brake pump as well. You might have a sticky brake caliper. Got it before on my SP, not really jammed just slow moving.

Yah just service both front n back if u can afford it. U will be amazed at hw much nicer the brakes can be. I chged mine myself ard $30 each i tink. Rebleed wif new pads. Super shiok after that.

lol define shiooook? my rear wheel is definitely not dragging now after i tightened the mounting bolts but the fluid is teh o color alrd so i still hv to do the change and bleeding stuff. the front calipers i am not too sure if its dragging because of the 2nd hand replacement wheel rim+ disc rotor. i just hope its old fluid and not rotor alignment issue.

yr slow moving on yr sp sticky brake is =?? i can travel up till 90 as per norm just that it takes more effort to maintain 95-100 now which i suspect is due to the drag.

Its not just shiok ah, safety is at stake here. His caliper is close to jamming. If his caliper jams when closing he is in BIG trouble.

Nah. I doubt a jammed piston will have enuf force to lock d rear wheel. At most drag and reduce his rear wheel speed. But nonetheless unsafe of cux since he basically almost have no rear brakes now. Anyway most of ur braking is done wif d front. :)

now its the front brake drag =C how do u know if its jammed? definitely the calipers appear to be working when working the brake lever but it feels more spongy.

(i remb i had some brake fluid escape on my tank and on a side note, my tank appears to be matt painted because it was painted over before!!! after the brakefluid ate the top layer i can see the old gleamy silver surface =X)

Best is if u can get a car jack to jack up the wheels. And see if they can spin freely. D feeling dat u mentioned for d front brake sounds like a jammed caliper. Because the piston is alr protruding out, u can very little play in d lever. Get it serviced la. :)

Shiok is rly shiok. Dat tym my front i change to steel braided hose, new disc, cb400 brake pump & new pads. Awesome braking power.

Best is if u can get a car jack to jack up the wheels. And see if they can spin freely. D feeling dat u mentioned for d front brake sounds like a jammed caliper. Because the piston is alr protruding out, u can very little play in d lever. Get it serviced la. :)

Shiok is rly shiok. Dat tym my front i change to steel braided hose, new disc, cb400 brake pump & new pads. Awesome braking power.

what i did was put the bke resting on the crash guard on the side for quick check cos no jack.. den do a quick check and flood my carb as i go a long.. the play actually normal just that its spongy and need to compress more loh. the wheel just turn with an eeeee eeee eeee sound loh..

i definitely going to service this sat.. work busy leh!

waaah super 4 brake pump! how much u paid for man? my brake pump actually got scatched badly in the crash so i might replace it if its really that bad =X

I got mine from ebay. Tink its a MIC copy but works great. I cant rmb hw much. 30+ i tink.

If u dont mind d cosmetic issue wif ur current pump, u can always ask them to rebuild the current pump.

i might just go ahead with a rebuild. even if order from ebay there will be waiting time and i just want good working brakes soon! =X

on the other hand i might just sand away the scratches with sand paper and redo the finishing on my own =X

Its a pain that the phantom doesnt have centre stand. Cant lube chain properly, cant check wheel spin, cant park the bike upright if space is very narrow, cant clean the rims easily, haha.

BTW, last time my pulsar had brake pads rubbing against the rotor and I could not rev beyond 90 km/hr. Spent lot of time, effort, brains and dollars to clean and rebleedcalipers and even changed the rotor but issue still existed.

Finally turned out that the caliper part that secures to the fork was slight bent so it was not perfectly aligned, instead due to the angle one pad was rubbing against the rotor, haha.

Now my bike revs beyond 110 with ease.

Edited by revhappy

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Its a pain that the phantom doesnt have centre stand. Cant lube chain properly, cant check wheel spin, cant park the bike upright if space is very narrow, cant clean the rims easily, haha.

BTW, last time my pulsar had brake pads rubbing against the rotor and I could not rev beyond 90 km/hr. Spent lot of time, effort, brains and dollars to clean and rebleedcalipers and even changed the rotor but issue still existed.

Finally turned out that the caliper part that secures to the fork was slight bent so it was not perfectly aligned, instead due to the angle one pad was rubbing against the rotor, haha.

Now my bike revs beyond 110 with ease.

it's a bigger pain if the side stand broke off before and the mounting lug was mounted in a way now that parking can be only done on a slope or the bike will flip over! anyway to check wheel spin of front wheel without a jack, u could lift the front wheel off the ground by lifting your crash bar if u have one. not sure if u can do that with the handle bars though. =X (ah chong showed me yest).

with regards to the braking issue, when i brought it in yest the initial diagnosis was bad front brake pads! the friction material was gone even though it look as if the pads still had material and was rubbing at an angle.. so i got the pads removed and the brake fluid replaced as well! the brake fluid was rusty like kopi with milk!

the headache part now is after riding a while i realised now is i need much more pressure to apply on the front brakes now. its like free play increased. not too sure if there's air in the system or what?

I think this happens after you rebled. Just keep pumping the brake for some time and the free play should go away automatically after couple of days. Also new pads need some time to seat in perfectly, do some hard braking and if its still not fine, after 200-300kms, then you may need to get it checked again.

oh btw just rmb a trick i tried last time wen i bled my brakes. take a cabletie and tie the brake lever in the depressed position overnight. this will open the valve and slowly let all the air bubble to float up into the reservoir. in the morning, u should get a rock solid lever. :)

woah thats a damn good idea! im going to try it! do have to fully depress the lever and super tighten the cable tie for this to work? i scared use too much brute force =X

I think this happens after you rebled. Just keep pumping the brake for some time and the free play should go away automatically after couple of days. Also new pads need some time to seat in perfectly, do some hard braking and if its still not fine, after 200-300kms, then you may need to get it checked again.

i noticed about the part about having to seat in the new pads. if its not completely seated does it cause drag as well? after a day in the rain the eeeeeee sound is back again until i apply the brakes lightly -_-

Dont think so leh. It should still have some clearance but maybe tight clearance. You need to use really alot of brakes to trip down the excess. Mine also sometimes the pad touches the disc. Ask mech to check, he spins the wheel, wheel moves fast and freely. So dont know whats going on also XD

2A - On going...