Guest Nick_li

hi... dudes and gals...

juz wanna find out if using of fully synthetic 2T really important or necessary? i use to use fully synthetic 2T but was told that fully synthetic 2T is not necessary... semi can liao? how true is this?

also heard that a PGM4 is a 'drinker'... anyone riding one out there? care to tell ur FC?

• Replies 36

...hi Nick....choosing which 2t is really a matter of personal taste & choice.... using a fully synthetic 2t oils does not mean that ur engine can never wear off...it only makes sense that it is likely that it will last longer.....of course it is also important on how u ride ur bike....fully synthetics 2t oils gives u extra protection being synthetic their flashpoint is much higher than a semi-synthetic or a mineral oil....

if ur bike is a race spirited one...it is air cooled & ur style of riding is like Randy Mamola, Kenny Robert or Rossi than a fully synthetic oil is a must.....if ur bike is water cooled race bred though but ur riding style is 'uncle-uncle' type like me just would like to get to point A to B as safely as possible....a good mineral oil will do the job or a semi -synthetics if u like........me i'm using Unicorn,unirace 2t oil it got

API TC,JASO FC rating.........cheap($4.00) & good.

..........decided 2 do?.....then do it!.......2 do nothing is 2 get nothing..........

ya very well said...

but since you are riding sport bike ...

some times u also will feel the need of speed..

having a fully syn will be much better cos u dun know when u will be like rossi.

donno when u will be rossi then use fully one lor.. haha...

be rossi also muz be safe on the road... :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Princess_shuShu/r1-16new-a.jpg
Guest Nick_li

okay... if i'm someone who revs my bike up till the 9-10 RPM mark from 3rd to 6 gear onwards... do i need to buy fully synthetic? i'm currently using essos 2T pace,,, the 10.40 per bottle one... use to use 2T gold...

• 9 months later...

if u r in speed use the best 2t... fully synthetic 2T is better for most bike...

Busa is the best all round bike $$$ can buy! Sports handling, High speed stability, Long distance touring, Riding comfort, Built quality, Crowd-attracting beauty all rolled into a SINGLE bike.

It is the epitome of motorcycle engineering! :lovestruck:

Fuel efficiency can get up to 23km/l or 9km/l depends on speed & how u ride it.

Typically can get ard 16km/l

Originally posted by imfarhan@June 18, 2006 09:50 pm

my 2t cost me $26.70 :sweat:

bro dun mind can share what 2T u having in ur bike?i have used cheap 2Ts n some fully synthetic ones..tried motul710 n maxima n never looked back..only sumtimes i turn my head back at traffic lights to smell the smoke..juz love the smell of Maxima 2T..:lovestruck:

Originally posted by mat-vtech@April 01, 2007 12:26 am

bro dun mind can share what 2T u having in ur bike?i have used cheap 2Ts n some fully synthetic ones..tried motul710 n maxima n never looked back..only sumtimes i turn my head back at traffic lights to smell the smoke..juz love the smell of Maxima 2T..:lovestruck:

bro. can tell me the diff between the perfomance of motul 710 and maxima? im using 710 but planning to change to maxima.. is it reccomendable. im the righ rev person but rarely red-lining.

I'd rather get a Leo Vince than a Louis Vuitton.

If you go by the claims written on the 2T bottle labels, better ones are able to avoid carbon buildup, provide smoother acceleration, etc...

Some can even reduce the amount of white smoke (not so sure whether it's reduce, or whether it's to eliminate it), some provide fragrant flavours such as strawberry, etc...

So after much reading and recommendation from individuals, mechs...I've decided to stick to fully synthetic based on my riding style.

can u trust mr lim ah boy's 2T? i always buy castrol R2 from him or sometimes esso gold. so far my bike doin ok. but im actually quite doubtful also. haa...

Kawasaki KRR150

Suzuki DRZ400SMK7

11 stitches

now i can smile even without actually smiling

believe me it is true

Originally posted by syarif@April 01, 2007 03:46 am

bro. can tell me the diff between the perfomance of motul 710 and maxima? im using 710 but planning to change to maxima.. is it reccomendable. im the righ rev person but rarely red-lining.

for me,i dun feel any difference between the 2 of them..both r equally good comparing to other normal 2Ts..the smoothness in pick-ups n accleration is good plus the burning smell makes me high..:faint: R2 also not bad..tried a couple of bottles from LAB for $13 per bottle.

btw,im riding a RXZ n seldom ride my bike hard so dats y i cant tell u the diff between the two..:cheer:

Originally posted by vai@April 01, 2007 02:41 pm

can u trust mr lim ah boy's 2T? i always buy castrol R2 from him or sometimes esso gold. so far my bike doin ok. but im actually quite doubtful also. haa...

Why not? My SP survived with Castrol R2 in it.

If in doubt, buy another bottle from another shop. Then compare the silver tamper-proof seal just as when you open the cap. If it's different, then you can start raising questions...

r2 is gd. u try, u know. if budget,can go carrefour try their 2t oso. less den $4

I would say R2 is good as in for the price range...

of course there is a lot more good 2t which it better then R2 etc like maxima, castrol747, motul710 and blar blar blar... :giddy:

Just find a comfortable price range of 2t for urself loh..! :thumb:

We did not inherit the Earth from our ancestors

We borrow it from our children!

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r130/szh74/ghost_rider3.jpghttp://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r130/szh74/violence.gif

recently my 2T light came up.. when to 2 nearby esso both no stock of any 2Ts at all..den across the road i saw this bike shop.. they intro me this brand OWS-speedy.. told me german brand bla bla.. i was pressed with no choice coz 2T lighted up le.. so i just buy.. it was slighly ex.. $18 he told me.. try it n feel the dif.. u will get back to me again.. i tried it n it totally wins both hands down to the usual esso full syn 2T.. don mind trying

I've felt that those overseas manufactured 2T are quite good...Smooth delivery of power.

I guess your $18 was well worth it on that day itself.

r2 is gd. u try, u know. if budget,can go carrefour try their 2t oso. less den $4

carrefour 2t.. :thumb:

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/av-334001.gif

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/TR_LOGO.jpg

If you go by the claims written on the 2T bottle labels, better ones are able to avoid carbon buildup, provide smoother acceleration, etc...

Some can even reduce the amount of white smoke (not so sure whether it's reduce, or whether it's to eliminate it), some provide fragrant flavours such as strawberry, etc...

So after much reading and recommendation from individuals, mechs...I've decided to stick to fully synthetic based on my riding style.

the spc 2t $10 one smells like bloody strawberry lol..

I bought my 2t from agl khm, motul 510 for RM28. very smooth, gd acceleration.

i jus brought motul 510 cause budget already. brought it at $12. haven try before using it when topping next full tank

JB.. Castrol Power 1.. RM18 (around $7.90).. looks like predator's blood. Cheap and good.

haha. personally, i've been thinking to changed to motul. but here, in k.l its kinda hard to get one. mostly i found only motul 4t.

so i sticks to shell vsx. RM17. if i'm going for some trip, i'd mix it up with petrol but i will using shell sx, not vsx. shell sx rm11.

Speed records :

Car - 250KMPH Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 7

Bike - 200KMPH Yamaha TZM