some ppl say 92 good some ppl say not good lol... need ask japan engineering come check

passed class 2B 31-08-06 (ex phantom TA200)

passed class 2A 06-11-07 (riding cb400 S1)

passes class 3 17-04-07 (some times)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v431/ahboy_ahboy/image004.gif

• Replies 104

But if spending a little makes you feel good and develop some placebo in power development of your bike...Then why not??

I cannot agree more.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg

Just need some explaination..

U guys mean the malaysion petrol is not good for the engine? Carburator dirty easily? Malaysian petrol quality not like spore petrol?

I everytime go JB to top up petrol.. I can count by hand how many times i top in spore...

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

Just need some explaination..

U guys mean the malaysion petrol is not good for the engine? Carburator dirty easily? Malaysian petrol quality not like spore petrol?

I everytime go JB to top up petrol.. I can count by hand how many times i top in spore...

yes. grade is obviously different

if u want save money then go malaysia pump

Once A Rider,aLways A RideR

Hmmm...let's put it this way.....

Can we say SG cars and bikes are just plain lousy....Ex and lousy..

Cos cannot take lower grade petrol....Engine spoil or wat ever spoil but look here...We dont have any complains from MY....Something to ponder about??

But most pump in SG lower than 98 as well....So by going MY for 97...Are we

using lower grade...???

But general maintenance of the petrol tank is another case..

But safety wise is another case...At least I have not step my foot at first link for at least 3 years..

Save $10-20 and risk of bike stolen,getting rob or even killed....Well just not my cup of tea...But touring in group is another story..

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Still thinking whether still want to top up at JB... Wondering...

Money wise save a lot... But petrol in JB if cause problems to bike than better not top up in JB..

Anybody have any problems wif their bikes after using JB petrol for long time?

92, not much power, finish faster. Leaves some colors to your carb. Slow response.

92 Octane ignites faster than 98 Octane fuel because it takes less compression to ignite. This fact causes the petrol to ignite before the piston is at its highest point (TDC-Top Dead Centre) of motion making it less efficient because the explosion of the low grade petrol fumes pushes the piston down and out of sequence before the piston can reach its maximum height, thus causing the ‘pinging’ noise and less power from the said low grade fuel.

What you say is partially true. However you must take note that, this is provided if the Octane ron grade of the petrol is not suitable for the compression. If the octance can withstand the compression, it will still be ignite by the spark plug without it ignite by itself. Thus the sequence will still be in order. Given S4 compression ratio, the RON 92 petrol is sufficient enough.

Generally all petrol is clean. You try taking a 92 and 98 petrol and wipe on a clean surface, does 92 make the clean surface black?

What you say is partially true. However you must take note that, this is provided if the Octane ron grade of the petrol is not suitable for the compression. If the octance can withstand the compression, it will still be ignite by the spark plug without it ignite by itself. Thus the sequence will still be in order. Given S4 compression ratio, the RON 92 petrol is sufficient enough.

Generally all petrol is clean. You try taking a 92 and 98 petrol and wipe on a clean surface, does 92 make the clean surface black?

Not really true about the clean part. You can't really tell unless you do analysis on it.

Its like saying water mixed with sugar and one not mixed. Both look the same when poured on paper but they taste different. Contaminants may not have a colour-change effect.

i don understand why all shell take away 92..

passed class 2B 31-08-06 (ex phantom TA200)

passed class 2A 06-11-07 (riding cb400 S1)

passes class 3 17-04-07 (some times)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v431/ahboy_ahboy/image004.gif

Ok for malaysia petrol there's no such thing as 98 octane. Only 97. If you are concern so much about octane levels. Rumors said, the tank below their petrol kiosk hardly get service. Thus, Rusty particles from the tank below and some water. From what i know singapore petrol kiosk got their underground tanks serviced for every 5 years. Petronas is the only trusted station when in jb. I do think it's because of the country's own petrol kiosk. Unlike SPC here, heard many bad remarks.

http://i451.photobucket.com/albums/qq235/kepalabutolah/edited.jpg

I really do miss GP500...

My ex owner of my bike used to pump 92. Leaves purple stain when i service my carb. When im working i use the company bike usually i would pump 98, unless im not working someone else using it ended up pumping 92. Less mileage, Less power. From what i notice. No. It would not blackened the surface but prolong usage would add colors to it.

http://i451.photobucket.com/albums/qq235/kepalabutolah/edited.jpg

I really do miss GP500...

i tried castrol 92 and the other one, 95 or 97. both same mileage. but 92 more savings because it's cheaper. bike dun feel weak or anything.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg
lower octane gives more mileage ryte?

has anyone ever record the difference?

No lah. Octane or ron gets higher its because of requirement by todays engine which has higher compression. The higher the octane the better the combustion, the cleaner the engine gets..and the more power and performance. S4 does ok and with 95. 97 or 98 is up to you. 92 can be use but you are not tapping the full potential for performance. 92 is the minimum...any lower, there will be engine pre-ignition or knocking and pinking and prolong can damage the engine.

Se is a hi-rev bike..has hi-compression too for its classs.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

i tried castrol 92 and the other one, 95 or 97. both same mileage. but 92 more savings because it's cheaper. bike dun feel weak or anything.

Castrol?..Castrol makes motooil only what..Caltex you meant?..but Caltex do not have 92 ron leh?

Octane or ron grades does not dictate your mileage...its all about engine hi-compression as per required by your bike. The higher the number, the higher the octane level blended and the smoother the ride and better the performance. If ppl don't feel the difference..its all in their mind.

So Ah pek.. U mean the best for S4 is 95 n above?

So in JB the petrol is not really 'clean' or 'purified' properly? Cos i didnt top up in spore for very long time.. every time use JB petrol... But i feel tat there is a funny sound coming from the engine side... Sumthing like tick..tick..tick

Is it sumthing to do with the petrol?

It's not a question of "The Best"...but rather "most practical" in the sense that it's cheaper than 97 and 98 and gives you better performance and healthier than 92. The manual did say at least 92 unleaded. Using 92 all the whle is a ok thingy too but it for a few cents per litre you save, in the long run its not worthy of the performance and cleaner engine you get from 95. 97 and 98 is actually a luxry. For me..I'm a bit way off sometime..occassionally I added in Nitro liquid octane that has 6 rons more..that's my 95 becomes 101. It just for that weekend spin once awhile (but make sure your eo is up to it..I'm using X-1R..a metal conditioner that eliminates friction)...been doing this for years and with cars too.

As for JB petrol..I can't talk down their quality and use them only when I have to pumped in Malaysia when having up country ride there. Yes..I must say that that petrol performance a little off by my judgement and I believe it could be their quality control in "up to specs" blending. You pimp 97 but may be its 96 as an example. We got no right to fault that it is but just by performance of your bike, we are sure. I normally carries additives with me, from octane booster to valve and engine cleaner and premixed them.

The ticking sound is usually valve clearance as with the shim a bit off specs. If it goes away, its okay as sooner or later, the rest of the other shims were wear to the same level. But if the sound gets louder and continous..its about time to have them changed. I can't conclude that the petrol casues it but there are reasons why I don't used Malaysian product (this is my person reason only)when it comes to things "chemical" or "electrical. Like the X-1R US product being repacked in Malaysia..I tried and its never the same as I have mine from the States. Long time ago, WD40 repacked in Malaysia was remoured to give more rusting than anti-rusting because Kerosene was found in it (check the can these days..its made/imported from the USA). Selly was another product I used but now..from Malaysia..I'm just septical about it..especially when they have that xtra ozs larger bottle for you at the same price (still much cheaper than US WD40). Like I mentioned earlier..this is only my personal opinion and I may be wrong but agin..its all mindset situation lah of "once bitten twice shy" senario.

Can recommend me for mixture of additives tat u everytime practice.. Wat is the ones tat use for cleaning of carbarators and engine?

Can explain to me how to do it? Where to get it?

Sorry.. to many questions... Still new to S4..

No lah. Octane or ron gets higher its because of requirement by todays engine which has higher compression. The higher the octane the better the combustion, the cleaner the engine gets..and the more power and performance. S4 does ok and with 95. 97 or 98 is up to you. 92 can be use but you are not tapping the full potential for performance. 92 is the minimum...any lower, there will be engine pre-ignition or knocking and pinking and prolong can damage the engine.

Se is a hi-rev bike..has hi-compression too for its classs.

The most compression you have...More power is produce...High com gasket sound familiar..? Harder explosion per power stroke take a toll in engine life...That's why high com engine often used in superbikes where tech/materials used are top notch..Or modified engines whereby internal are beefed up... not by just pumping high octane petrol....

At least not in S4's engine...

titanium valves, forged pistons, shot-peened conrods (SCEM)-plated cylinders integrated into the crankcase,scalloped surfaced pistons and etc are need to raise compression in modern engine to produce wicked power output...

Latest R6 engine that produce 133bhp(13.1:1) which broke the 200bhp per liter barrier needed 95 only..

You stated by using 92 is not tapping the full potential of S4 which has a fairly conservative compression...is a little misleading.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Well, is for you to find out...Either read more or just take people's experiences with a pinch of salt...

From my experiences, most foreign forum backed their claims by explaining technological details rather than using their own subjective experiences...

Wondering why XXXtec connected across your batt, grounding,rev remover,additives in petrol....have their market in SG...But in R1/R6,GSXR forum I had never seen this kind of products on sale...

Maybe the Ah Mos are just dumb and stupid...This kinda of products can boost power and fuel consumptions...

Like I said, if spending a bit more each time you pumped makes placebo power, then by all means do it..

Well...I have always used 92/95 in my bikes...Unless in MY...So far no problem in all my bike's engines...

Cos maybe I changed engine oil every 2000km...??

So which one is correct?? Im a bit confuse..

Need not be confused..just used at least what the manual say..92 and above. If there are better grade for a better combustion and resulting in cleaner engine and better performance...go for 95 to 98...throw in more rons if you want and see your rpm go faster..reaching top speed of your bike at the shortest possible time depending on your bike conditions.

is Caltex petrol good???

Big listed company like that won't want to lie and get sue..they have cleanser blend into their product as claim and it should be good. Again we have ppl of different opinion that its not suitable for their cars or bikes..its all very subjective.