Which is the dream color for your RVF400??  

427 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the dream color for your RVF400??

• Rothmans design.
    • RCV211 style Repsol design.
    • White/blue Moviestar design (older version).
    • Current Blue Moviestar design.
    • Pramac design.
    • Original Is da best.
    • ELF design.
    • Rossi's Yr 2001 NSR500 Nastro Azzuro design.
    • RCV211 Yellow Camel design.
    • Others (specify accordingly).

• Replies 63k

• MC28

• wait4me

• DaN zI

• lwfc

here the pics guys.. haha abit sad la.. so little bikes..

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

Originally posted by Luciferwayne@Jan 15 2006, 02:01 AM

here the pics guys.. haha abit sad la.. so little bikes..

Luci, the bikes are indeed Little man! can make the images bigger? haha.

And bloody hell, no organiser go home so early one la. jst kidding...hope the old men didnt bore u guys to death.

apologies for making you guys wait so long. some of us couldnt make it at that timing, some...well..some are simply late. hehe.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Jan 14 2006, 09:42 PM

i nv go even.sian.today diy clean my air filter n change my coolant,make til i cannot start my bike.really sian half lo.til now oni manage to start my bike bt the smoothness not there.tink one of my spark plug gone case or wet.at first v hard to start den eventally become more n more smooth le.but still not as smooth as b4 i dyi the things.anyone know if its the spark plug cable(the blue cable contacting the spark plug) tt is spoil.how much ar?

Hey laoyang,

sorry to hear u hav a temporary prob with your baby. How is it now?

I tot you were there today...i was even about to call you when i just reached kkfc.

btw....why do u think its your sparkies problem? When was the last time you change them? Did u get water near the front of the cylinders during the flush? EVen so...if your sparkies are screwed on right..it shouldnt even let water in.

I'm thinking could it be one of your breather tubes never connect properly or got snagged when you DIY your airbox. Let us know yea?

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 15 2006, 03:32 AM

Hey laoyang,

sorry to hear u hav a temporary prob with your baby. How is it now?

I tot you were there today...i was even about to call you when i just reached kkfc.

btw....why do u think its your sparkies problem? When was the last time you change them? Did u get water near the front of the cylinders during the flush? EVen so...if your sparkies are screwed on right..it shouldnt even let water in.

I'm thinking could it be one of your breather tubes never connect properly or got snagged when you DIY your airbox. Let us know yea?

i also dun know wat is wrong man.my spark plug juz change not long ago.hvn pass 3months.i had all the hoses contacted bk to its orginal position in my airbox.another qns is wether i oil my filter too much til there is not enough air for combustion?

i did gt some fuel onto my cylinder.mayb tt is oso the prob.

guess i am not a diy person.juz by wanting to save tt few bucks.i screw up my bike.even stratch my new paintwk.sian sian sian.

the most i ride the smooth it become.funny man.hopefully ltr i ride will be bk to normal.now praying v hard.

anyway can see u guys had fun with the gathering.too bad i cannot join u guys.hopefully there will be a gahering again n i can make it.

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Jan 15 2006, 04:50 AM

i also dun know wat is wrong man.my spark plug juz change not long ago.hvn pass 3months.i had all the hoses contacted bk to its orginal position in my airbox.another qns is wether i oil my filter too much til there is not enough air for combustion?

guess i am not a diy person.juz by wanting to save tt few bucks.i screw up my bike.even stratch my new paintwk.sian sian sian.

the most i ride the smooth it become.funny man.hopefully ltr i ride will be bk to normal.now praying v hard.

anyway can see u guys had fun with the gathering.too bad i cannot join u guys.hopefully there will be a gahering again n i can make it.

sounds like its a problem that will self-rectify soon leh...maybe water/solvent used to clean filter got into your carbs? or like wat shay said a pipe is loose.

btw test your plug cables first, if you are concern abt them, cos its seems to be lasting, seldom heard anyone complain abt it.

anyway diy is good, getting problems and solving them is headache. but i personally feel can learn alot. thanks for sharing, i gain some insight here.

HAIL RVF!!!!!!!

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Jan 15 2006, 04:50 AM

oooh! over oiling of the filter huh? No wonder.

Then i guess Eugene is right, iz probably a temporary problem that will resolve itself as the cleaning solvent/filter oil dries further.

Ok...how "wet" did you get ur filters? I remember last time when i was using K&N filter cleaning kit to clean the cone filter for my car, i actually had to dry the damn thing 1st..before i began oiling it.

excesssive oil/solvent may have drained into the trumpets and down thru the carbs..causing temporal blockage. If the problem persists....maybe u wana take out a few sparkies to see if its fouled from the improper air/fuel mixture that can be caused by the blockage.

If they are fouled, then i guess a simple carbs service with the changing of new sparkies (even though you changed them 3 months ago..coz its been fouled by proceeding events like this one) should solve yr problem.

alternatively.... do a few quick burst of acceleration to clear it out of the system! :lol:

:btw: scratch on paint is a small price to pay for knowlege and experience that you have gained from DIYing.

Nice meeting u all yesterday..

Sorry for e late posting till now :smile:

sorry tat me haf to leave u all 1st at e MS there..

hope to see u all again for e next outing...

Lao_yang>sorry forget to sms u tat we r on e way to MS...

Hope ur baby can recover back to ur orignal state...

Cheers...

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Jan 13 2006, 11:03 PM

i installed mine myself. took 11 hrs. i did ot overnite. except there was leaking all the way at the gaskets.

when my bike went through accident claim, k&t reassembled the whole system. after that no more leaks.

wah 11hrs.. thats madness.. i think i will be going to k&t to do up my header..

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 15 2006, 02:21 AM

Luci, the bikes are indeed Little man! can make the images bigger? haha.

And bloody hell, no organiser go home so early one la. jst kidding...hope the old men didnt bore u guys to death.

apologies for making you guys wait so long. some of us couldnt make it at that timing, some...well..some are simply late. hehe.

oppps... sorry i think i accidently resized the pictures.. i will upload the actual size ones tonight..

once again i am sorry for going back early.

wher u guys went after MS?

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

Originally posted by Non Stop Racing@Jan 15 2006, 12:40 PM

HAIL RVF!!!!!!!

haha... how come nv join us yesterday?

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

Originally posted by RyoSukE@Jan 15 2006, 02:40 PM

Nice meeting u all yesterday..

Sorry for e late posting till now :smile:

sorry tat me haf to leave u all 1st at e MS there..

hope to see u all again for e next outing...

Lao_yang>sorry forget to sms u tat we r on e way to MS...

Hope ur baby can recover back to ur orignal state...

Cheers...

nice to meet u too..

do join us for outings in future!!!

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Jan 15 2006, 10:30 AM

sounds like its a problem that will self-rectify soon leh...maybe water/solvent used to clean filter got into your carbs? or like wat shay said a pipe is loose.

btw test your plug cables first, if you are concern abt them, cos its seems to be lasting, seldom heard anyone complain abt it.

anyway diy is good, getting problems and solving them is headache. but i personally feel can learn alot. thanks for sharing, i gain some insight here.

hey u r right man.my baby is bk to normal liao.guess god really heard my prayers.

was actually planning tio change my clutch plate after chinese new yr but tot tis prob of smoothness is goin to spoil my plan.lucky bk to normal.so will be goin to k&t after cny to solve my clutch slip prob.

hopefully my Pb will be gd money tis yr.wanna go do valve clearance also.

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 15 2006, 02:28 PM

oooh! over oiling of the filter huh? No wonder.

Then i guess Eugene is right, iz probably a temporary problem that will resolve itself as the cleaning solvent/filter oil dries further.

Ok...how "wet" did you get ur filters? I remember last time when i was using K&N filter cleaning kit to clean the cone filter for my car, i actually had to dry the damn thing 1st..before i began oiling it.

excesssive oil/solvent may have drained into the trumpets and down thru the carbs..causing temporal blockage. If the problem persists....maybe u wana take out a few sparkies to see if its fouled from the improper air/fuel mixture that can be caused by the blockage.

If they are fouled, then i guess a simple carbs service with the changing of new sparkies (even though you changed them 3 months ago..coz its been fouled by proceeding events like this one) should solve yr problem.

alternatively.... do a few quick burst of acceleration to clear it out of the system! :lol:

:btw: scratch on paint is a small price to pay for knowlege and experience that you have gained from DIYing.

u r right too.i blast my way bk to the orginal smoothness.

anyway i know paintwk is a small price to pay but the paint is juz 3 day old.heart damn pain lei.

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Jan 15 2006, 06:49 PM

u r right too.i blast my way bk to the orginal smoothness.

anyway i know paintwk is a small price to pay but the paint is juz 3 day old.heart damn pain lei.

Yea..i know how that feels. I cursed myself when i sometimes accidentally make scuff marks with my boots when i dismount.

But in the world of DIY maintenance, a few scratches here and there is inevitable. it helps with the learning curve! hehehe.

Glad to know yr bike is ok now :thumb:

laoyang good to hear that everything is back to norm

how bad is the scratch? I guess you try to use a good polish resin like autoglym etc and try see if it can be removed.

got to agree with shay, jie ai soon bian......scratches and vehicles go together.

btw think k&n suppose to leave out to dry like overnite or something one rite? actually do you guys think sticking to the original as its like 40% of a modified K&N price and change it like every few mths would be better...

anyway how different do you guys feel with k&n and orig? I got a K&N too but it feels the same to me leh, at least when I just swapped it in.

Guys, wana check with ur how's ur mileage for ur bike, those with aftermarket full system and jet kit.. thanx. :cheeky:

2000 Jun --> TZR

2001 Jan --> NSR SP150

2003 Dec --> RS250

2004 Aug till now --> RVF

hey shay... the pics i took from my phone is this size.. my phone wasn't set to the biggest scale.. haha sorry...

aiyah anyway 5 bikes onli.. next time when got more bikes then we need a better camera for a bigger picture!!

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

Originally posted by eugene_kips@Jan 15 2006, 11:31 PM

laoyang good to hear that everything is back to norm

how bad is the scratch? I guess you try to use a good polish resin like autoglym etc and try see if it can be removed.

got to agree with shay, jie ai soon bian......scratches and vehicles go together.

btw think k&n suppose to leave out to dry like overnite or something one rite? actually do you guys think sticking to the original as its like 40% of a modified K&N price and change it like every few mths would be better...

anyway how different do you guys feel with k&n and orig? I got a K&N too but it feels the same to me leh, at least when I just swapped it in.

hahaha.... actually come to think abt it....anything that u dun wan scratches on...WILL have scratches attracted to it like moths to the flame.

ANyhoo..i tried those so-called scratch removers before....dun bet ur life on it.

Either you get a manufacturer color coded marker/touch up brush to cover it up (especiallyfor chips) or u bring it to a professional paint restorer...i feel these are the only effective ways of restoring the paint to its former glory.

DUnno about K&N for RVFs, mine is the OEM element. Only used K&N cleaner kit for my car last time. And i remembered instructions saying u hav to dry the solvent 1st before oiling. To speed it up, i use a fren's airbrush equipment to "blow-dry" hehe.

I changed my rvf oem element approximately every year (10 months) with interval cleanings by compressed air in betweens . Quite cost effective too i would say.

Just to share;

I remembered reading in 400greybike that the HONDA oem element is oredy quite a high-flowing type, comparable with K&N's performance (perhaps thaz y u dun feel much difference) ....only drawback being the oem item is not reuseable.

Back then...people were keen to change to K&N becoz it was considerably more cost effective than Honda's oem item. But when Uncle Honda lowered the price of its air filter considerably to present day levels, K&N probably figured their pricings cannot be competitive enuff and therefore stop making it altogether.

So for the newbies' info, the new K&Ns out there is actually an "improvised version" from the shops. And if you reckon using a modded K&N filter is easier on your wallet in the long run, you should make sure the mech does a good job with the modifications.

Originally posted by cabiin@Jan 16 2006, 12:34 AM

Guys, wana check with ur how's ur mileage for ur bike, those with aftermarket full system and jet kit.. thanx. :cheeky:

between 180-200.

Originally posted by Luciferwayne@Jan 16 2006, 03:05 AM

hey shay... the pics i took from my phone is this size.. my phone wasn't set to the biggest scale.. haha sorry...

aiyah anyway 5 bikes onli.. next time when got more bikes then we need a better camera for a bigger picture!!

Bigger pictures?? No problem man... I will bring my digital cam next time and the whole RvF thread will be plasted with pictures.. just like how i did in my travel thread... hhehehehhe