Guest chaochao
check with Loois Motor....

they still have new 650 n 1000

DL1000 stop production, DL650ABS try Mr Lee @Looi's motor

Hey - thanks for the info! Great to know that it is still available... I thought they've stop production or stop importing to Singapore... will go check it out at Loois

• Replies 9.9k

Guest chaochao
the difference between the 1k and 650 is only the engine. no difference in length, width, height. the 650 is also lighter in weigth. only the 1k has stop production.

Yah - I would favor a lighter bike. Thanks :)

Guest chaochao
CS and Ano.

nEO.

Chasing haya at 160-180 cost us 11Km/L. Its terrible fuel consumption. even chasing DL1k its about that much. In fact at this speed the consumption is the same as the 1k.

140-160km/h mileage is about 15-18km/hr

Generally per 200km 1k will need 3-4 litres more

Buffetting is worse at 140 for me.

Singapore road

I did trunk roads in malaysia

Woah - I thought DL650 has better f/c when cruising at about 140kph... did not realize it has a worse f/c than e.g. Hayabusa.

So the 650 Strom is for slow speeds of 120kph-kind of touring?

Guest chaochao
this sat i got stocktaking ....... OT >..... $$$ woohooo...

Sun maybe okie.. heheheh

Anyway.. CHAOCHAO.. sick of S4 liao issit?

hahahahahaha

DL650 only got new one @ Loois.. go check see if still got stock.. .if not next batch coming in confirm more expensive......

Current price

650 17,5 OTR

1000 21,5 OTR

Both depending on ya age will add on bit more for the insurance...

Hey Anodise - I've already relinguished S4 two years ago... tried a beemer before landing myself on a Hayabusa. Am exploring possibilities of a DL650 Strom for comfort touring purpose... but seems like its F/C would be a consideration leh... although the NEW price is cheaper than large CC bikes.

Guest chaochao
When you are back, can you take some pictures of the turns? The last time I went there, there were hardly any signs to indicate where to turn. Luckily for me, my uncle was the driver. :cheeky:

Thanks for the info on fuel consumption :thumb:

Actually there is a slight difference in height i think of about 1 inch. :cheeky: For short farts like me, every inch counts.

I'd probably identify myself to Seastorm in vertical-aspect! :cheeky:

Guest chaochao
130-150? Hmmm.

Even on my ZX14, my usual comfortable cruising speed is 140-150, bike returns 16km/litre.

Alrighty, thanks for the info~!

Ano > I guess you know what I"m looking for next. But it might not happen for the next coming year yet. :D

I think Hayabusa is about 18km/L

Guest chaochao
Then again. .u be Surprise...... in corners..... V-engine beats Line4 anytime....

Both my old bb and ur 14rrrrrrr are good in NSHW only... once into trunk road....

Strommy be DAMN HAPPY....

that is NOT the corners I am talking bout earlier.. but the REAL CORNERS as in twisties.. hehehehe

u be damn happy .. .wohoooo

So... Stroms' F/C aspect may not be that favorable, but its handling on twisties would be its winning-edge huh... hmm...

Guest chaochao
i wonder where you got this info..

especially when there are 2009 models for both DL1k and 650.

http://www.suzukicycles.com/Products/DL650K9

More good news huh...

So a Strom650 is good touring at slower speeds (120kph); comfort riding; and doing tight twisties (like those in Fraser's Hill?)... while it has storage-capabilities.

Still exploring what other good points of a Strom650.

I'm currently using a Hayabusa for touring... have been to several places such as Cameron and Fraser's Hill. It is a great speed-tourer. Handles well on Cameron bends, but not so favorable at Fraser Hill's submit-twisties. Storage is virtually not there and riding posture would require high speeds to be comfy.

I think Hayabusa is about 18km/L

Fuel consumption at higher speeds depends on bike configuration.

For example, side panniers, rider posture, taller windscreens, engine tuning, performance parts etc will affect fuel consumption.

I heard the Hayabusa can do 22km/litre if travelling constant at 90-100km/h. But thats not what our bikes are about issnt it?

By the way, mine does 16km/litre at 150, and 13km/litre at 200. With side panniers and pillion.

Guest chaochao
Fuel consumption at higher speeds depends on bike configuration.

For example, side panniers, rider posture, taller windscreens, engine tuning, performance parts etc will affect fuel consumption.

I heard the Hayabusa can do 22km/litre if travelling constant at 90-100km/h. But thats not what our bikes are about issnt it?

By the way, mine does 16km/litre at 150, and 13km/litre at 200. With side panniers and pillion.

Agree - it depends on bike config and whether 1-up or 2-up. My hayabusa goes down to 15km/L at 200kph.

I found another role of Vstrom650... this review says its good for off-road/"unpaved" roads... this may be a good edge for this bike as well.Motocycle.com review on Vstrom650.

Anyone here tried it before?

try to aviod the mud and the beach n pile of loss sand

Chaos and neo,

THere are couple of oversea forums u might wanna try reading... VERY INFORMATIVE

http://11109.rapidforum.com/ => V-Strom Riders International VSRI

http://www.stromtrooper.com/

http://www.advrider.com/

http://www.moto-v.sg/forums/index.php?showforum=40

Can read abit here too cos we dump quite a bit of info linkin to other forums too.

FC for my 650 according to previous owner... 140km/hr still can clock 20km/L .. cos he downsized the rear spocket.... FOR BETTER FC... ^_^

So technically speaking.. for my weight now.. i still clock 110-130 22km/L while going to and fro work hitting TPE, SLE, BKE, KJE, TUAs and back -_-..... siong or not u tell me

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

EVENT : Mersing - Ayer Hitam Loop Day Ride

DAY : Saturday

TIME : 0700 - 2300

6th December

1. Al-Simmons

2. Asap

3. Gr8White

13th December

1. cstay66

2. byteblock

3. Gr8White

4. Mordecai1968+Bite1968(pending) DOA

20th December

1. Al-Simmons

2. cstay66

3. byteblock

4. Mamaqye

5. Gr8White

6. Mordecai1968+Bite1968(pending) DOA

27th December

1. Al-Simmons

2. Mamaqye

3. Asap

4. Gr8White

5. Mordecai1968+Bite1968(pending) DOA

--------------------------------

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

Chaos and neo,

THere are couple of oversea forums u might wanna try reading... VERY INFORMATIVE

http://11109.rapidforum.com/ => V-Strom Riders International VSRI

http://www.stromtrooper.com/

http://www.advrider.com/

http://www.moto-v.sg/forums/index.php?showforum=40

Can read abit here too cos we dump quite a bit of info linkin to other forums too.

FC for my 650 according to previous owner... 140km/hr still can clock 20km/L .. cos he downsized the rear spocket.... FOR BETTER FC... ^_^

So technically speaking.. for my weight now.. i still clock 110-130 22km/L while going to and fro work hitting TPE, SLE, BKE, KJE, TUAs and back -_-..... siong or not u tell me

constant at 140km/h can get very good fuel consumption, >20km/l. but horr since the v-twin so torquey, you tend to ram it and so when you treat it like a sport bike, it drinks. :angel:

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

Agree - it depends on bike config and whether 1-up or 2-up. My hayabusa goes down to 15km/L at 200kph.

I found another role of Vstrom650... this review says its good for off-road/"unpaved" roads... this may be a good edge for this bike as well.Motocycle.com review on Vstrom650.

Anyone here tried it before?

minor off-road can lah. off-road all the way..... tough. this vstrom is made top heavy. so, not too capable of off-road.

if removed all loads, filled up quarter tank, i think it will excel in unpaved road very well.

but horr, take mordecai's advice. :cheeky:

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

More good news huh...

So a Strom650 is good touring at slower speeds (120kph); comfort riding; and doing tight twisties (like those in Fraser's Hill?)... while it has storage-capabilities.

Still exploring what other good points of a Strom650.

I'm currently using a Hayabusa for touring... have been to several places such as Cameron and Fraser's Hill. It is a great speed-tourer. Handles well on Cameron bends, but not so favorable at Fraser Hill's submit-twisties. Storage is virtually not there and riding posture would require high speeds to be comfy.

140-150km/h would be a good touring speed on nshw for vstrom650. of course with pannier system, you got to slow down when squeeze through traffic on highway. :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Guest Bite1968
doesnt matter. :angel:

He is thinking whether to bring his GF or not....:cheeky:

EVENT : Mersing - Ayer Hitam Loop Day Ride

DAY : Saturday

TIME : 0700 - 2300

--------------------------------

i think this loop only takes us half day. 2 hrs up to mersing , 2hrs to ayer hitam and 2 hrs back .

So wats the actual plan ? detour to Endau rompin ?

i think this loop only takes us half day. 2 hrs up to mersing , 2hrs to ayer hitam and 2 hrs back .

So wats the actual plan ? detour to Endau rompin ?

i thought of a more relaxed ride compared to the last time we go through karak in 1 day....

maybe spend more time at mersing (air papan).... and finish off with seafood somewhere near pendas...or maybe kulai nasi lemak...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

alternative would be not heading up to mersing but down to Sedili? There's some plantation roads for us to ride thru and maybe makan at penggerang

Dear all strommers,

http://sohiperformance.com/images/Micro_de__Fog_Lamp.jpg

DSC08581.jpg

I have extra one set of Hella Micro DE.

Brand new & unused.

Bought it to prepare for my strommy but previous owner already installed

retail for $220 +/-

Letting go @ $200

Those who want let me know 96885757

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj72/Ernestquah/Profile%20shot/Bottom.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram