Hi sbforumers. please advice.

-recently a month ago, i just met into an small unlucky incident where by i slightly banged the side of a rental car (driven by other country ang moh lady)

-i was on my way to my camp, therefore i do not have a camera phone with me to take the damage but what i saw is just a slight bent.

-the impact is so small that my bike doesn't have any damage as i manage to control the weight and put my bike down. so just a "3cm" chipped from my paintwork.

-as both of us has no camera phones. she just drove off after taking down my plate number.

Today i just received a letter from the car rental company which stated

- Cost of Repair $1160

- Rental Fees for 3 days at $180 per day $540

- Survey report fees $308

- GIA & LTA Search / report fees $8

- Cost Contribution (at this stage) $900

- Disbursements $100

TOTAL $3016

yes, just a single slight bent does cost a hefty sum of $3016?

i brought my bike to IDAC to examine the small little 3cm chip.

*i actually wanted to settle the rental car company privately, as in just paying them few hundreds for the bent as i'm afraid it'd affect my NCD and premium, but the company insist of claiming my insurance.

Now im holding a 3rd party NTUC insurance, just wanna enquiry

1) will my 3rd party NTUC insurance cover for above claim?

2) if yes, how bad will my premium be every year?

3) how do i know when will my premium be back to normal?

4) im going to upgrade to a bigger CC bike soon. so is it possible for me to switch to other insurance company so my premium will not be that bad?

i've no knowledge in this insurance field. hope fellow forumers could advise me on all these!

appreciate your help.

thank you.

• Replies 14

Next time drive to the nearest IDAC.

best buy hp with camera.

but i think u can challenge this amount.Coz the amount claim is so absurd.

But gd thing u wen to IDAC for phototaking,at least they can kpkb swallow their own claims.

My orgasm starts at 299km/h.....

Personal ride -

1st ride - TRZ 125

2nd ride - GSXR-K

3rd ride - CBR400RN

3rd ride - Super 4(S)

4th ride - R1

5th ride - CBRXX1100:thumb:

Yes, such damage is exactly what your insurance policy covers.

Just report to your insurance company. You have paid the premium, now just let the insurance company handle. Cooperate with them.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

It is always good to report any accident (be it small or big) to your insurance company. REPORT and not to claim. So that there will always be a B&W document when this type of thing happening. If not will be fighting a never ending battle and the cost will snowball high high.

Anyway what is done is done. I think like coolcat says, let your insurance handle it and give your truthful answer to them. Any company (Taxi or Rent) likes to take advantage of this type of situation.

That is what I think. Dun flame me la.

Yep, insurance claim big big one. The usual is loss of use, repair cost, legal fees and those fees u mentioned. And seriously, I dun think a small dent cost 3k to repair. I've been involved in an accident too. I think it's standard practice for some shops to overinflate their repair cost so as to make a quick buck. And yes, best is those taxi driver. My fren lanngar the back, only taillight broken can kena 5k worth of claim, including loss of income. Claim procedures are damn slow. Like what has been said, let the insurance company take over. I don't wish to be inundated with complications if I settle privately. Later got further claims (e.g. injuries or workman compensation), my pocket burn like siao..

But gd thing u wen to IDAC for phototaking,at least they can kpkb swallow their own claims.

That could only prove the damages you sustained, and nothing to prove what damages the other vehicle sustained.

Once, rider on a KRR, while weaving through the traffic, slammed his handle-bar end onto the back of my car which was stationary. He just rode off, without stopping, and it was obvious that neither he nor his bike sustained any damage.

As for my car, the rear lamp was smashed, and there was a deep scratch (no puncture), from the boot to the rear passenger door.

I got his registration number and lodged a report with TP. It took them 4 months to close the case and he was charged with careless driving. With that report I went to my workshop, and they were literally sharpening their parang.

My rear lamp cost only $450, after installation, it became $900. The scratch marks could have been knocked out, putty, and re-spray, they replaced the rear panel, and door. The garage boss loaned me his Camry but it was charged to the insurance as $160/day for 3 days although the repair took only one day. After adding all the miscellaneous costs, the total amount claimed against the rider's insurance was almost $4k.

If the rider had stopped and take responsibility, the actual repair cost would have been at most $1k.

That could only prove the damages you sustained, and nothing to prove what damages the other vehicle sustained.

Once, rider on a KRR, while weaving through the traffic, slammed his handle-bar end onto the back of my car which was stationary. He just rode off, without stopping, and it was obvious that neither he nor his bike sustained any damage.

As for my car, the rear lamp was smashed, and there was a deep scratch (no puncture), from the boot to the rear passenger door.

I got his registration number and lodged a report with TP. It took them 4 months to close the case and he was charged with careless driving. With that report I went to my workshop, and they were literally sharpening their parang.

My rear lamp cost only $450, after installation, it became $900. The scratch marks could have been knocked out, putty, and re-spray, they replaced the rear panel, and door. The garage boss loaned me his Camry but it was charged to the insurance as $160/day for 3 days although the repair took only one day. After adding all the miscellaneous costs, the total amount claimed against the rider's insurance was almost $4k.

If the rider had stopped and take responsibility, the actual repair cost would have been at most $1k.

quote first :)

Ok thanks for the swift replies. but i need to know more bout

2) how bad will my premium be every year?

4) im going to upgrade to a bigger CC bike soon. so is it possible for me to switch to other insurance company so my premium will not be that bad?

thanks alot in advance.

2) how bad will my premium be every year?

Each insurer has their own claim threshold. As long as the claim is below that threshold, there will be no loading on your premium.

passed

No way bro. Once there is a claim against your insurance, the whole industry will know. So your subsequent premium may be affected subject to the claim threshold and the loading, if any, may vary from insurer to insurer. Some may not even want your business.

err dont want to waste post another thread since server always busy and my case bout accident and insurance too.. can i borrow this thread vaaveevoo ?.. thanks in advance.. :sweat:

i met an accident 2 days ago with this impatient driver at T-junction. i had a few bruises all over my both arms and blood clog on my right pinky nail. yea quite painful but i resist see doctor cos i thought it will be fine soon.

this moron driver who was on the right lane which suppose to turn right swerved into my lane.. he just can't wait for the car infront of him to move off.

i was just picking up speed from previous traffic light and was only on 3rd gear, close to 50kmh.. yet i banged car. he changed lane right infront of my eyes. things happened so fast i can't remember he signal or not, and how am i to see signal because behind him theres more cars.

lucky the driver got small portion of kind heart to stop and asked me if im ok. he asked me how am i going to pay. i was stunned and shut my mouth all the way cos this is my very 1st time accident. really. he then move off.. before that.. his arrogant wife took my plate number and gave me a **** face. :mad:

actually i was working at that time using company's bike. before i reach my base, his fcking wife gave a call and complaint to my manager. i was sooo pissed off cos this woman actually told my manager i hit their car from the back on normal straight road. she said maybe i was speeding.. without realising because of his slow-head husband mistake.

i had made a report and tmr i need to come down to my company insurance to lodge another report. but what makes me more mad she had actually made police report 1st. haiz she told her good story.

i had drawn how the accident took place incase this story make you all confuse. :sweat:

by the way accident happened at upp bt timah rd junction of cashew rd. if only i had witnesses..

acc.JPG

Do Not Speed

actually i was working at that time using company's bike. before i reach my base, his fcking wife gave a call and complaint to my manager. i was sooo pissed off cos this woman actually told my manager i hit their car from the back on normal straight road. she said maybe i was speeding.. without realising because of his slow-head husband mistake.

i had made a report and tmr i need to come down to my company insurance to lodge another report. but what makes me more mad she had actually made police report 1st. haiz she told her good story.

wa read liao also pissed :mad:

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif

best of luck to you zart bro!

Current ride:

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/4882/img0016c.jpg

2009: Kawasaki KRR 150 FV7809B

2009: Gilera DNA 180 FY4851G

2009: Honda NSR SP150 :cheeky:

There are two sides to a story. You have your view. Give it to your insurers and let them handle the claim. Since it is a company vehicle, you don't even have to worry about own damage. Getting emotional about claims is what makes them difficult.

He who hesitates is lost!