Originally posted by alan_see@February 11, 2007 03:02 pm

That is what happen to me :giddy:

I useit on my GS at NSHW from GP ESSO for about 550km, Speed 130-170km/h, wind screen take cover, 2 fuel stop , 1+hrs big rain.

I think That Is only for bicycle:help: :goodluck:

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/7dadscd.jpg?pho4rzFBYkFxlEqJ

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/b893scd.jpg?pho4rzFBpEWk4Kdt

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/937escd.jpg?pho4rzFBPspxbT7s

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/639bscd.jpg?pho4rzFBIJl5WgbZ

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/2c72scd.jpg?pho4rzFBCxMoibxU

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/2ec3scd.jpg?pho4rzFBqK02YItR

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/6576scd.jpg?pho4rzFB_WxZoIm.

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/5542scd.jpg?pho4rzFBqVssT1zO

http://us.a2.yahoofs.com/users/450ebf41z348f5719/7f1cscd/__sr_/d447scd.jpg?pho4rzFBSCZOKK_O

Scary :-) Will put the extra piece of rubber inside the mount for the time being in that case ...

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference

• Replies 2.6k

Originally posted by danielburgess@February 11, 2007 06:39 pm

Anyone know where I can get a cheap and good GPS receiver?

P.S. For my Nokia E61...

I'm not sure about symbian operating system

Probably you can check it out at Sim Lim Square

http://images.eldo19.multiply.com/image/8/photos/27/500x500/4/%28101%29.jpg?et=GdRdX1gI9xiJc0XF9%2C%2BQ1A
Originally posted by eldottore46@February 12, 2007 12:39 pm

I'm not sure about symbian operating system

Probably you can check it out at Sim Lim Square

got to see if blue tooth GPS sensor comes with Symbian 60 or 70 drivers & also Spore & malaysian maps plus software. Dun have much hope in this.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Originally posted by horizoner@February 12, 2007 06:35 pm

Hi all GPS experts here :smile:

1) Can anyone enlighten me the difference between Kingmap and Mapking?

Kingmap is bundled into a PDA phone I want (Eten M700) but I can drop it from the bundle if I wish. Therefore I will like to hear the review of this two software from you guys before making a decision :smile:

2) Are these software and map available for free download (for Windows Mobile 5, Pocket PC)? If not, what is their retail price?

Thank you :cheer:

wah lao shi.... getting GPS go where play play?

why dont u get garmin, cos u can download maps from anywhere in the world and use it as long as u r on this planet?

Originally posted by horizoner@February 12, 2007 06:35 pm

Hi all GPS experts here :smile:

1) Can anyone enlighten me the difference between Kingmap and Mapking?

Kingmap is bundled into a PDA phone I want (Eten M700) but I can drop it from the bundle if I wish. Therefore I will like to hear the review of this two software from you guys before making a decision :smile:

2) Are these software and map available for free download (for Windows Mobile 5, Pocket PC)? If not, what is their retail price?

Thank you :cheer:

PDA GPS will suck yr battery dry very fast.

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Originally posted by horizoner@February 13, 2007 03:57 pm

i need the phone more as an organiser and a phone. The GPS is a bonus but I at most need it once in a blue moon to get to some ulu places. The battery is 1530mah .. pretty high for a PDA phone and it should sustain it quite a while :cheeky:

hmm ... what's the difference between MapKing and KingMap? :help:

You are just about right on using pda with gps, I chose this combo too.

Not too sure whats the diff between mapking and king map....they're just gps software but I.M.O mapking maps are widely available, "on the net" and over sls.

It has all the asian map from sing to china.

I think your concern should be what country maps the software have and cost.

kingmap i hardly come across on the net...lol

Then also have papago and tomtom, which most folks seems to use in taiwan, china and US.

Im also using garmin que and mapsource on my pda and notebook on top of mapking and the above 2 software haha!...just started playing with it....

PDA really gives you a lot of flexibility :thumb:

Honda ..................and nothing else

Originally posted by horizoner@February 13, 2007 04:53 pm

I have just read through tonnes of information in ppcsg and malsing .... realised that Garmin Que is the mass's favourite.

Is there anywhere that solely sells the Garmin Que software, without the hardware bundle?

lol I we went on the same journey dude.

I spend weeks reading that 2 forum! Im also using Eten.

Garmin Que is free, donwnload form garmin website.

Just follow the "guide" page in malsing. Must register as member (free). It has direct link and very detailed guide to on how to setup and install.

Originally posted by horizoner@February 13, 2007 05:06 pm

oh .. which ETEN model r u using? I should be getting the X500 soon :lovestruck: thanks very much for your valuable comments anyway :thumb:

Happy to share :cheer:

Im using old model Eten M500 upgraded to wm5.

Also read http://www.eten-users.net/ for your specific model...for any last minute info

Originally posted by Nighthawk_250@February 13, 2007 04:41 pm

You are just about right on using pda with gps, I chose this combo too.

Not too sure whats the diff between mapking and king map....they're just gps software but I.M.O mapking maps are widely available, "on the net" and over sls.

It has all the asian map from sing to china.

I think your concern should be what country maps the software have and cost.

kingmap i hardly come across on the net...lol

Then also have papago and tomtom, which most folks seems to use in taiwan, china and US.

Im also using garmin que and mapsource on my pda and notebook on top of mapking and the above 2 software haha!...just started playing with it....

PDA really gives you a lot of flexibility :thumb:

hey bro, where you d/l maps for mapking 2007? All I have now is Spore, West Malaysia, KL & Bangkok. You have any to swap?

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/accessories/handlebarextender2.jpg

A friend yesterday helped me to buy this $28 handle bar extender in Spore. I'll be mounting this permanently on my handle bar, then fix my garmin GPS mount on it. That way, the GPS will be raised as high as possible & is in the forward direction of my vision.

This extender can rotate to any angle you want; very flexible.

Originally posted by tt6389@February 14, 2007 12:53 am

hey bro, where you d/l maps for mapking 2007? All I have now is Spore, West Malaysia, KL & Bangkok. You have any to swap?

Yo! you r fast man...where did u find the 2007 version, bought new?

I got quite a handful of maps ver 10, 7. Can you use?

Last time I use bittorrent got many maps floating around...of course I did not

Download o_O :lol:

The handlebar extender u displayed, I bought a very similar one at changi bike

shop for $15. I will check if still available and post here. Cheers!

Originally posted by horizoner@February 14, 2007 11:14 am

alamak ... my scooter has no metal bar as handle bar ... it's has "fairing" around it. Thinking of using those windscreen mounted holder.:sweat:

i think that might not be stable... if i'm not wrong most windscreen holder use suction so might not be stable after exposing to the elements for long :giddy:

SYM GTS 200 - 2005 - 2007

HONDA Varadero XL1000V - 2011 - 2013

Originally posted by Nighthawk_250@February 14, 2007 10:59 am

Yo! you r fast man...where did u find the 2007 version, bought new?

I got quite a handful of maps ver 10, 7. Can you use?

Last time I use bittorrent got many maps floating around...of course I did not

Download o_O :lol:

The handlebar extender u displayed, I bought a very similar one at changi bike

shop for $15. I will check if still available and post here. Cheers!

my mapking 2007 is cracked version. Runs fine on my O2 mini. But i dun hv any GPS sensor, only use the mapking as a street directory.

I am sure yr maps are compatible with it. Which countries map u hv?

Originally posted by horizoner@February 14, 2007 02:59 pm

what if i only mount the holder when needed? maybe i try with my old pda first ... if it drop on the road also nvm :cheeky:

i m more worried about going over humps and or pot holes, as in will the jolting detach the holder.

hmm you try le update here how is the result lar :cheer:

if it works i can do the same le :sweat:

Originally posted by horizoner@February 15, 2007 04:48 pm

but if i try and it works but not for u, dun put the repair bill to me hor :cheeky:

I think those suction things are meant for always clean, dust free environments and not meant to withstand any kind of windblast

Originally posted by horizoner@February 15, 2007 04:48 pm

but if i try and it works but not for u, dun put the repair bill to me hor :cheeky:

no worries i wont :cheeky:

Originally posted by tt6389@February 14, 2007 12:59 pm

my mapking 2007 is cracked version. Runs fine on my O2 mini. But i dun hv any GPS sensor, only use the mapking as a street directory.

I am sure yr maps are compatible with it. Which countries map u hv?

lol ...u so open, can discreet a bit? :cheeky:

Anyway, think I have bangkok, beijing, shenzhen macau, jakarta, Hongkong, whole thailand, greater china &&&....

kopi? tea or map? :cheer:

Originally posted by horizoner@February 14, 2007 02:59 pm

what if i only mount the holder when needed? maybe i try with my old pda first ... if it drop on the road also nvm :cheeky:

i m more worried about going over humps and or pot holes, as in will the jolting detach the holder.

Yo! its me again.

I tried liao, it came off.

Also mounted a similar rear mirror using those pda holder flexible hose,

it actually broke after Penang. The flexible metal rod vibrate until it breaks :lol:

Hiz!

Where can I get the latest Thai map for Garmin FOC?

Originally posted by Ones_Co@February 05, 2007 10:23 pm

1D trip

Trip to Port Dickson stil on first week March?

yup going port dickson on 3rd march saturday. Just a day trip. I posting in Boldorian thread details later this week.

Originally posted by Nighthawk_250@February 16, 2007 07:40 pm

lol ...u so open, can discreet a bit? :cheeky:

Anyway, think I have bangkok, beijing, shenzhen macau, jakarta, Hongkong, whole thailand, greater china &&&....

kopi? tea or map? :cheer:

discreet - sorry . I was hoping got many ppl out there will want to barter trade. Perhaps after my Port Dickson trip we'll meet up & swap the maps.

Originally posted by tt6389@February 21, 2007 09:51 am

discreet - sorry . I was hoping got many ppl out there will want to barter trade. Perhaps after my Port Dickson trip we'll meet up & swap the maps.

:lol: I only worry this thread tio close

Will gladly pass u all the maps I have. :p

Enjoy ur trip! :cheer:

Here's a quick easy tip for those who can't figure out to load those HDB POI into the Garmin GPS.

After logging into Malsingmaps.com , try download the file "gmapsuppGM-MySin110a-Borneo107-1113.zip" from here http://www.malsingmaps.com/forum/modules.p...s&d_op=TopRated

or try clicking below -->

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forum/modules.p...p=getit&lid=134

The screen text description looks like this :-

[ All Official Maps in Gmapsupp

Description:

All-in-one gmapsupp.img containing:

* All official routable maps (GM-MySin1.10a-Borneo1.07)

* All road POI maps (Malaysia & Singapore from 30 Dec 06)

* Singapore HDB Block map (from 00001113.img, 1 Feb 07) ]

When you unzip this file , you see this --> gmapsupp.img

This file is actually a combination of img files including that HDB POI 00001113.img

Then go to this link under utilities downloads http://www.malsingmaps.com/forum/modules.p...wdownload&cid=3

download the file called "sendmap20.zip" . Run the program , choose that gmapsupp.img file you downloaded earlier & send it to yr Garmin GPS.

That's it - you shld be able to see the HDB blks in your GPS.