OK, here is the situation. I got a friend who has 2B license and 2B bike. Few days ago he found a good 2A bike and because his 2A TP test is very soon, he decided to buy the bike. He got himself no-riding insurance and put me as a subrider, then transferred the ownership of the bike to himself.

I took the bike from the shop, brought it to his place and left him the keys (because it's legally his bike anyway).

He drank a lot one night, rode the bike and got into accident. Got into hospital etc, although no serious injuries.

I know he's basically screwed (riding without proper insurance, without license and under influence), but what about me? Am I in any way legally responsible?

• Replies 23

hmzz..

if u claim u dunno he ridin, n he nv say anything about his sub rider..

u will not be liable for anything..

but if he say u r the one who take the bike from the bikeshop n rode it to his place, den gg to u..

coz u will know he dun have insurance n licence..

unless u claim u dunno he no licence.. he bluff u all along? =)

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

OK, here is the situation. I got a friend who has 2B license and 2B bike. Few days ago he found a good 2A bike and because his 2A TP test is very soon, he decided to buy the bike. He got himself no-riding insurance and put me as a subrider, then transferred the ownership of the bike to himself.

I took the bike from the shop, brought it to his place and left him the keys (because it's legally his bike anyway).

He drank a lot one night, rode the bike and got into accident. Got into hospital etc, although no serious injuries.

I know he's basically screwed (riding without proper insurance, without license and under influence), but what about me? Am I in any way legally responsible?

nothing will happen to you. you are NOT the owner of the that bike and you are NOT the person riding the that bike at the time of accident.

why dun your friend lay up the bike..and solve all the problem ?

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

i think too late le ....

he got bigger problems

I agree. Nothing will happen to you. 1st, NOT your bike. 2nd, you are NOT the one involved in the accident.

As for insurance, good luck to him. I think all repairs borne by him. Insurance will not entertain him. I pity the person he/she got accident with. Even if your friend have license, insurance will not want to take up the case as he is drunk. I think this one, for sure the other party will go for civil sue.

And it will hold true unless you were invovled in the accident with him, at the accident location or functioning as his witness.

It will be classified as abetting the act. ie. knowing he got no licence but accompanied and encouraged him to ride the bike.

Sorry, what is laying up a bike? Never heard of that before.. Perhaps because I've never tried buying a bike before getting a license :)

As for insurance, good luck to him. I think all repairs borne by him. Insurance will not entertain him. I pity the person he/she got accident with. Even if your friend have license, insurance will not want to take up the case as he is drunk. I think this one, for sure the other party will go for civil sue.

Yes, I think he has to pay for the repairs, although that one is not much because, as he says, he only touched the car on the side (it was a cab). I wonder how much he is going to pay in fines in addition to that - probably much more than for the repairs.

Sorry, what is laying up a bike? Never heard of that before.. Perhaps because I've never tried buying a bike before getting a license :)

Lay up as in Vehicle Temporarily not in Use...but probably now too late...cos he causes the damages....

for reference:

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/maintain_vehicle/lay_up.html

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

Yes, I think he has to pay for the repairs, although that one is not much because, as he says, he only touched the car on the side (it was a cab).

He will know how expensive that touch will cost him, especially in such case.

he can also kiss his all his licence good bye. He can re-take all his licence classes after he served his ban.

You can pass my advise to him not to waste money to engage a lawyer as the outcome will still be the same. :puke:

Updates so far:

My friend got a call from TP and went to their office to submit accident report. I am just reporting here what he told me, but basically a police officer investigating his accident asked him questions about what happened and compiled the accident report. Although my friend mentioned to her that he was drinking, she did not put that into the report. My name was also never mentioned there. My friend, who read and signed the report, says the report only contains the fact that he was riging without 2A license and proper insurance coverage and that the shop that sold him the bike made him aware he could not ride it.

The officer told my friend that the police will take at least two months to investigate the case, and during this time he can still ride his 2B bike! Which is pretty amazing, considering what happened.

nothing cos u are NOT the owner and not legally responsible for it

how come call police? he unconscious ah? if not just tahan and go hospital or wat lor...

He got out of hospital by this time already. The accident was on 26 Dec, if I remember correctly, and the police called him only last week.

basically long ago something likke this happened to my friend. he called for help. his fren just kick the bike to the trees(for future towing for repair) and brought him to a pvt hospital. cos he no license kenna accident mah. so that way he was treated and also manage to avoid tp.

for sure your friend will have his license revoke. even tp didnt took that he was drunk, he has no 2a mah..

your friend may relieve abit cos he still can ride while tp do their investigate.

But...

if i were your friend state, i regret. i will sell my bike.. save money for upcoming court fine.

Do Not Speed

in the case for class 3, if u dont have class 3 and u took someone's car and get cought, if the owner says he let u took the car, both of u gets it bad..

if he says he dint let u take the car, its under vehicle theft..

correct me if im wrong

http://singapore.check4d.com/SingaporeResult.gif

mew?

<3 Vickii and Freya

://www.demonchild.org

Updates so far:

The officer told my friend that the police will take at least two months to investigate the case, and during this time he can still ride his 2B bike! Which is pretty amazing, considering what happened.

yes, he can still continue to ride, until the judge says that his licence is revoked.

it's either he needs to attend court or come back to traffic..

well there's the yellow piece of document which was given to him, can refer to that..

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.