The night before, I was riding home at 12midnight.

My mileage reading is 222km. The last time I switched to reserve was at 222km too. This time, I decided to see how much further I can go before switching to Res.

After riding until my mileage was 243km, I decided to switch to reserve, just in case my bike dies in a junction. Better play safe, I thought.

When riding through Balestier, I ithcy finger, switch back to main tank.

My bike died just 10 seconds later. Pushed to roadside, switched back to Reserve, BIKE CANT START.

Wait for a while, shake the bike, open tank and put a piece of tissue in to see if still got petrol, the level is at least 2" high. bike just wouldnt start, even after I kept my finger on the starter switch for more than 10 sec.... the starter motor just coughing and churning, but still no cigar.

In the end, I walked 5 min to Shell, buy a can of petrol and top up. Bike started immediately.

nb.... Itchy finger cost me more than 1 hr of my time....

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Guest VTECR1
Originally posted by VTECR1@Oct 3 2004, 09:27 PM

A aprilia rectifier and cdi for sale PM to deal selling cheap

Selling at $50 for either 1 of the item and $80 for 2 both item:thumb:

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Oct 4 2004, 08:38 PM

The night before, I was riding home at 12midnight.

My mileage reading is 222km. The last time I switched to reserve was at 222km too. This time, I decided to see how much further I can go before switching to Res.

After riding until my mileage was 243km, I decided to switch to reserve, just in case my bike dies in a junction. Better play safe, I thought.

When riding through Balestier, I ithcy finger, switch back to main tank.

My bike died just 10 seconds later. Pushed to roadside, switched back to Reserve, BIKE CANT START.

Wait for a while, shake the bike, open tank and put a piece of tissue in to see if still got petrol, the level is at least 2" high. bike just wouldnt start, even after I kept my finger on the starter switch for more than 10 sec.... the starter motor just coughing and churning, but still no cigar.

In the end, I walked 5 min to Shell, buy a can of petrol and top up. Bike started immediately.

nb.... Itchy finger cost me more than 1 hr of my time....

hey lacri, u should have just waited a while; maybe 5 minutes or so. Can't really explain it technically but basically it takes time for the fuel in the reserve tank to act as the main tank. Happened to me way too many times until I permanently put my switch to reserve nowadays.

Originally posted by bktan@Oct 4 2004, 08:55 PM

lacri did u try on the choke when on reserve?

Yes.

I waited 5 min, tried starting with choke on reserve. started ok... revving ok... then when wanna move off, died again.

Repeated the process, this time waiting for 10min, took a smoke, burnt the petrol soaked tissue, tried starting with choke - start normally, died again in 20 sec.

Shook tank, move bike to point upslope, then head point downslope, thinking that maybe the remaining petrol cant reach the intake hose. Tried to push start, everything I knew.... you name it, did it. Worked up a huge sweat too. While wearing my Arai OW.... now then i realised, helmet when worn while not riding is damned hot siah.

Good thing I was at the tan tock seng hospital exit. Walked to the Shell only abt 5min.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

haha lawrence.. funny sia...

when your bike run out of petrol.. usually you will take a very very long

time to start...

i guess you did not confused with the petrol switch for off and reserve,

rite?

whenever i encounter this situation, i will pull my choke a few times and

opening my throttle a few times.. most of the time it works for me..

guys, the reserve switch does works.. my previous y2k reserve did work

but my current replica reserve switch is having the same problem that

you guys are facing now...

i think there's something wrong with the reserve tube, choke or

something..

that's why i don't rely on my reserve.. i rely on totally on my mileage...

i think the reason why retarting a stationary bike when it ran out of petrol is becos

there's no suction of petrol to the carb.. that's why it takes longer...

but if you ran out of petrol when on the move, and you immediately clutch in for

your bike to go free wheeling, turn on your reserve..

the bike will continue to suck the petrol...

i think it works this way, rite?? correct me if i'm wrong...

btw, i'm going to service my bike soon.. and am intending to bring it to

a workshop @ Alexandra for servicing.. heard from a friend that this

mech is as good as ah boon..

have been wanting to solve my valve power surge problem..

don't feel the surge when the valve open..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

sounds like my problem last time

just spray some WD40 at ur powervalve solenoid and the cable and it'll work like a charm~!

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

i m riding repica rs125! i have not turn on my reserve before! a full tank i can travel up to 230 -240km it cost about (S)$18 and RM17.5! i think my bike oil comsumtion is high!

i have a friend who ride the same model as me but he told me that his bike oil comsumtion is very huge. he told me his full tank can only travel up to 100+++ km! can feel his bike exhaust so hot that can BBQ.

MAY i know any rider have the same milage on a full tank! OR having the same problems as my friend!

THANKSSSSSSS

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a152/Fire_ufo/31052007033.jpg

MAY i know how much our oil tank capitity + reserve .

i usually up 11++L full tank for me! share ur experience.

THANKSSSSS:cheer: :cheer:

My 2T is finishing soon...Anyone can recommend one good one?

i saw one at the esso station 2T pacer cost about $8++ and the next better one will be 2T gold liao costing around $18 bucks...

Which is better? Is there a difference in terms of performance or anything?

Originally posted by fire_ufo@Oct 5 2004, 12:23 AM

i m riding repica rs125! i have not turn on my reserve before! a full tank i can travel up to 230 -240km it cost about (S)$18 and RM17.5! i think my bike oil comsumtion is high!

i have a friend who ride the same model as me but he told me that his bike oil comsumtion is very huge. he told me his full tank can only travel up to 100+++ km! can feel his bike exhaust so hot that can BBQ.

MAY i know any rider have the same milage on a full tank! OR having the same problems as my friend!

THANKSSSSSSS

same here , i'm facing the same prob :(:(

my mileage is like 15km/l

so for 120 km, around 7 litre ++ normally i pump

ur fren mileage is prob around the same as me

i tried to ask around,

1 mechanic say maybe its the fuel needle inside carburettor

another mechanic say maybe its the power valve system not working

another fren say maybe it's the throttle jet, go and change it

now i'm confused.... zz.... :confused:

any1 hav any idea how to improve the petrol mileage,

if u dont mind sharing it in the forum ^_^_^

Originally posted by i-dunno@Oct 5 2004, 09:03 AM

My 2T is finishing soon...Anyone can recommend one good one?

i saw one at the esso station 2T pacer cost about $8++ and the next better one will be 2T gold liao costing around $18 bucks...

Which is better? Is there a difference in terms of performance or anything?

my bike is using MOBIL 2T RACING FULLY SYNTHETLIC i think it is not bad! but i bit expensive cost about $20+ but it least me for about 45 days! (i ride it every day)

U may consider using it.

Originally posted by xiung@Oct 5 2004, 09:30 AM

same here , i'm facing the same prob :(:(

my mileage is like 15km/l

so for 120 km, around 7 litre ++ normally i pump

ur fren mileage is prob around the same as me

i tried to ask around,

1 mechanic say maybe its the fuel needle inside carburettor

another mechanic say maybe its the power valve system not working

another fren say maybe it's the throttle jet, go and change it

now i'm confused.... zz.... :confused:

any1 hav any idea how to improve the petrol mileage,

if u dont mind sharing it in the forum ^_^_^

DO u feel ur bike exhaust which so hot that like BBQ ur boby!

my friend and i ride the same milage but my bike exhaust is not so hot but his bike exhuast is so hot that u can feel it when u stand near it! i try to put some water on the exhaust! it is so hot that smoke appear.

DO ANY RIDER HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS......

WHY MY FREIND BIKE EXHAUST IS SO HOT. IS THAT SOME THING WRONG WITH THE EXHAUST>>>>>>

Originally posted by Kokakola@Oct 4 2004, 09:12 PM

hey lacri, u should have just waited a while; maybe 5 minutes or so. Can't really explain it technically but basically it takes time for the fuel in the reserve tank to act as the main tank. Happened to me way too many times until I permanently put my switch to reserve nowadays.

got reserve meh?

where is the reserve switch ar? Heehee....

Originally posted by fire_ufo@Oct 5 2004, 10:39 AM

my friend and i ride the same milage but my bike exhaust is not so hot but his bike exhuast is so hot that u can feel it when u stand near it! i try to put some water on the exhaust! it is so hot that smoke appear.

WHY MY FREIND BIKE EXHAUST IS SO HOT. IS THAT SOME THING WRONG WITH THE EXHAUST>>>>>>

Milo kong right?

It's like that one. Normal. The catalytic convertor just before the muffler heats up the pipe to an unbelievable level. I've ever seen one Milo Kong's muffler glow a dull red. THAT's hot.

In any case, it's not good for the bike. It's one of the primary reasons that many RS125's in SG develop engine problems after a while, even with care. There's just too much restriction for the engine, from a pipe that was NOT even meant to be there in the first place.

Get that catalytic convertor removed ASAP. Kui toh! Kui toh! Kui toh!

Pls enlighten me on the cost

- 100% Synthetic Oil(Preferably Silkolene Comp 2+)

- Spark Plug (NGK B10EG or B10EG-V)

- Gearbox Oil

- EBC "Double-H" sintered brake pads

Are white lights allowed also?

Thanks a million.

Originally posted by fire_ufo@Oct 5 2004, 10:39 AM

my exhaust seems normal... i dont feel it particularly very hot or even glowing to dull red ^_^

Originally posted by supertzm@Oct 4 2004, 09:51 PM

ehx guys which shop does u all do settings? n wat's u guys top speed? mine think only 150... y2k model... sad kena bully by rxz uncle...

dun ever undermine rxz.

I know ppl riding rxz with $2k-10k worth of modification.

some R running 160-190km/hr.

dun play play...

ya la the Milo kong ...

glowing to dull red also aprear..

if we can install arrow pipe, it will be so COOL man...

less problems.......:cheer: :cheer:

Originally posted by i-dunno@Oct 5 2004, 01:57 PM

Pls enlighten me on the cost

- Gearbox Oil

Thanks a million.

Castrol R2 : $13 / Motul 600: 20+ / Rock Oil Injector : $20+

dun use 10, use 9 rating enough liao, unless u tua all the way, everyday

B9EGV : $9

- Gearbox Oil

Rock oil GRO / Sikolene Light Gear Oil : close to $20

dunno, probably $80+ for front and rear?

Allowed, im also looking for the bulbs...can anyone tell me where to buy them too? Lawrence, servo gave u a pair of white bulbs rite....any idea where he get them from?

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

hey.... i got a prob wif my aprilia. when i brake, ther's a squeaking sound from my rear brake.. wonder if its the rear brake pad wore out or need to oil the brake disc??

Originally posted by cheng_xi07@Oct 5 2004, 09:21 PM

hei

ask u all arh? wats the tyre pressure for rs 125 arh? hmmz..

juz asking cos i don know..

hee..

Front 180

Rear 200 (solo rider) or 230 (with passenger)

they got state it on ur bike.......check the frame under ur seat......

The problem is not you can afford it or not, is how are you going to make yourself able to afford it.