hi .. some help required..

is it true that 2stroke bike does'nt require warm up.

anyone tried fitting the stock 06 new pipe into the 05 rs??

moving off require more than 4000rpm?

and what type of gear oil u guys use ??

Warm up your bike to optimal running temperature before riding. Usually takes about 4-5minutes. If your bike keeps dying when idling, jetting is too rich and spark plug is fouling, retarding the spark. The plug may be too cool, use a hotter plug, and try to lean out your idle jet. This requires the carb opened and the actual jet changed, not just twisting a screw in the carb body. Most mechs are lazy and will fool you by adjusting the air screw without disassembling the carb.

To the person who told you warm up is not required, flip him the bird, with both hands please. ..|..

I'm guessing its a quack mech acting like he knows everything and telling you warm-up is not required because you asked him about him starting your bike and immediately revving it to redline.

With proper tuning, you can have a sweet ride like mine. I don't need to change my spark plug every month, only once a year, maybe even longer, because the plug never fouls. I also don't need to clean the valve as it never jams. A well-tuned bike has very low carbon build-up, low smoke emission, and the exhaust tip is dry, not oily.

With a well-tuned bike, throttle response is crisp and power is ready on tap. Moving off is quick at 3,500-4,000rpm.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

DIY Session 08 August 2010 1500hrs - 1900hrs

Void deck of

Blk 21 Joo Seng Road

Singapore 360021

Bring rags, cleaning solvents, and tools. It will be S$50 if you wish to use any of mine.

Over the many years I have conducted DIY very few have the initiative to offer to pay for the solvents they use, tools they damage or accidentally bring home, and other items they have helped themselves to.

The S$50 is not for profit. It's just a penalty to discourage people from constantly taking advantage of my hospitality.

Edited by lacrimosae

my bike died on me this morning, it was idling and it suddenly just died off.. pretty hard to start after that . managed to start once rev it up.. but died when i was reving to 5k rpm... after that totally cant start. when i push to shop due to warranty(mah). the mech told me start bike must go dun nid warm up... which puzzle me. my jet needle was change on last sat due to fuel leaking, carb was washed, piston was change... experience bike sluggish at 5-6k rpm.. after 6k rpm still ok.. should i bring my bike over to teck thye after i get it back ?? any advise ??

anyway what type of gear oil u guys use ?maxima ??

what type of pipe is best for 05 make ??

http://i1223.photobucket.com/albums/dd510/vteclee/sign.jpg

Void deck of

Blk 21 Joo Seng Road

Singapore 360021

Bring rags, cleaning solvents, and tools. It will be S$50 if you wish to use any of mine.

can i join u guys and learn some stuff ?? i had a hell time after getting my bike..

All are welcome. Just try to bring your own solvents and tools.

Bring an allen key set from size 4-12, phillips and flathead screwdriver, WD-40, residue-free solvent cleaner, grease, needle-nose pliers, and rags. You can pick up the compact cans, so u don't have to lug around the full-sized cans of solvents. Everything can be packed into your bike storage or a small bag.

my bike died on me this morning, it was idling and it suddenly just died off.. pretty hard to start after that . managed to start once rev it up.. but died when i was reving to 5k rpm... after that totally cant start. when i push to shop due to warranty(mah). the mech told me start bike must go dun nid warm up... which puzzle me. my jet needle was change on last sat due to fuel leaking, carb was washed, piston was change... experience bike sluggish at 5-6k rpm.. after 6k rpm still ok.. should i bring my bike over to teck thye after i get it back ?? any advise ??

Fuel leak from float bowl or overflow outlet?

If float bowl, change gasket.

If overflow outlet, change inlet valve.

I use Silkolene Maintain series for gear oil.

The only legal aftermarket pipes for our bikes are Arrow and Gianelli. Both are manufactured by the same company, though due to conflict of interest, local dealers may lie about this little fact and claim otherwise. Either brand is fine. It depends on your preference of the end can.

saturday the fuel just drip out of the like a faulty tap. i din know where it leaked.. than mech told me jet needle after a 5 hr fix... than ride less than 2km bike breakdown on highway... tow back mah...

monday collected suggish @5k-6krpm

wednesday... it was idling and it suddenly just died off.. pretty hard to start after that . managed to start once rev it up.. but died when i was reving to 5k rpm... after that totally cant start.

i previously had a 06-09 stock can on it but mech say problem might be due to new can..which also puzzle me for a while. bike was sent back to mah again... collection tml.... end can revert back to original stock can..

Void deck of

Blk 21 Joo Seng Road

Singapore 360021

Over the many years I have conducted DIY very few have the initiative to offer to pay for the solvents they use, tools they damage or accidentally bring home, and other items they have helped themselves to.

The S$50 is not for profit. It's just a penalty to discourage people from constantly taking advantage of my hospitality.

i don`t think i got the time to get those tool maybe i will borrow from u and also will bring $50 CASH for stand by... haha...

Aprilia RS125 (09) - 2009 - 2011

Suzuki DRZ400sm (K7) - 2011 - 20??

saturday the fuel just drip out of the like a faulty tap. i din know where it leaked.. than mech told me jet needle after a 5 hr fix... than ride less than 2km bike breakdown on highway... tow back mah...

monday collected suggish @5k-6krpm

wednesday... it was idling and it suddenly just died off.. pretty hard to start after that . managed to start once rev it up.. but died when i was reving to 5k rpm... after that totally cant start.

i previously had a 06-09 stock can on it but mech say problem might be due to new can..which also puzzle me for a while. bike was sent back to mah again... collection tml.... end can revert back to original stock can..

so typical of the shop.. God knows if they really change what needed to be changed.. no wait.. God knows if they really know what they are doing..

the problem is (imo) just tuning.. You bought 2nd hand is it? How much you got it for, if I may just ask...?

-blast3dGal-

2B since 07/07/08

Aprilia RS125'05 (FBC9258A) 21/08/08 - 31/07/10

Piaggio ______ (FB______) 31/07/10 - ???

hi... i got it for 4.2k with insurance and all.... coe ends 2015... new paint and so call they restore for me.. 1 mth warranty..

blast3dgal.... u think i should bring to shops like teck thye or mezzo to inspect ? ?

damn, i feel ur pain bro... i'll cya guys there on sun man... had a ****ed up time wif mine too when i 1st got it. till now it still issin running properly =S we r a sad bunch of riders

the one and only...

-=#BLUE^CHILLED^COLA#=-

hi... i got it for 4.2k with insurance and all.... coe ends 2015... new paint and so call they restore for me.. 1 mth warranty..

blast3dgal.... u think i should bring to shops like teck thye or mezzo to inspect ? ?

Your call, bro... If only you took mine when i was selling.. i would have sold it to you at $4K, COE ends 2018... with ginelli full system and 34mm carb. haiz.. add ur insurance money and it will be in such a good condition to ride, although the exterior may looked too scary..

I never returned to that shop after the 1st mess they did.. at least you got treated better, at least they dun go blame you for the mess, like they did to me 2 years ago..

I would have gone for a DIY session to learn and have some kind experienced soul to help me understand what could have led it to such and then bring it to Ah Seng and tell him what you experienced, and what was adviced by the great people here.

I am no expert.. But to me, if you dunno what the possible problem is or how the machine works, it wont matter where you bring it.. most mech would just take the easy way out even if it means you have to keep coming back..

And when you go DIY session, its best if you pay attention, listen, watch, learn and ask as many questions as you want so you can know more.

-blast3dGal-

2B since 07/07/08

Aprilia RS125'05 (FBC9258A) 21/08/08 - 31/07/10

Piaggio ______ (FB______) 31/07/10 - ???

Dun mind me expressing my views on motordiam.

Dun be naive, Many motordiam mechanics are malaysian who have some prior experience playing around with motorbikes only. Mostly are illiterate and they gain experience thr troubleshooting yr bike. If everything fails, just ask u buy new parts, till they managed to change the spoil parts.

When u are getting a bike from motoshop, please have some cash to repair it.

Trust me!! the bike could be in there for a very long time w/o servicing or maintaining.

Do up?? You are too naive.

Edited by Maldini03
Your call, bro... If only you took mine when i was selling.. i would have sold it to you at $4K, COE ends 2018... with ginelli full system and 34mm carb. haiz.. add ur insurance money and it will be in such a good condition to ride, although the exterior may looked too scary..

I never returned to that shop after the 1st mess they did.. at least you got treated better, at least they dun go blame you for the mess, like they did to me 2 years ago..

I would have gone for a DIY session to learn and have some kind experienced soul to help me understand what could have led it to such and then bring it to Ah Seng and tell him what you experienced, and what was adviced by the great people here.

I am no expert.. But to me, if you dunno what the possible problem is or how the machine works, it wont matter where you bring it.. most mech would just take the easy way out even if it means you have to keep coming back..

And when you go DIY session, its best if you pay attention, listen, watch, learn and ask as many questions as you want so you can know more.

i saw your post that time.. but i need to take a yr loan leh... cant afford full cash.. anyway where is ah seng working @ ??

Dun mind me expressing my views on motordiam.

Dun be naive, Many motordiam mechanics are malaysian who have some prior experience playing around with motorbikes only. Mostly are illiterate and they gain experience thr troubleshooting yr bike. If everything fails, just ask u buy new parts, till they managed to change the spoil parts.

When u are getting a bike from motoshop, please have some cash to repair it.

Trust me!! the bike could be in there for a very long time w/o servicing or maintaining.

they restore plus 1 mth warranty... just let them do lor..

Bingo!

That's why other than tire change, I'd rather do everything myself.

they restore plus 1 mth warranty... just let them do lor..

NEVER BELIEVE ANYTHING YOU HEAR; ONLY BELIEVE HALF OF WHAT YOU SEE.

What does that mean?

If you're meeting me for the first time, I can lie about anything, like who I am, what I do for a living etc. Lies are easy. So never believe anything you hear.

Especially when a bike shop says they've done up a bike. They ALL say that. But none of them actually do it. I've seen with my own eyes a bike gets sold to a shop, parked in a space untouched for weeks, then when I return to the shops weeks later and pretend to enquire about it, they told me it's all done up, and the price is more than double of what they took it in for.

Believe half of what you see. Why? Because anything can be faked. Magic shows, illusions, all a trick of the light and sleight of hand. I can tweak a bike to make it run. It's not a long-term solution but it will start and the buyer can ride it out of the shop. That's all that matters to shops, getting bikes to look and seem ok enough to convince potential buyers to buy them, then they wash their hands of the bike once it changes hands.

Welcome to reality, young punks.

Firstly, congratulations! You bought a lemon!

Now you see how good is that shop, I suggest, please dont go back.

Bring your bike to Teck Thye, spend a bomb, and it will definitely be running fine. Expensive, but worth it. No problems whatso ever. Well, most of the time anyway. :)

The mech who told you dont need to warm up, please point him out to me please. I would like to know his face before complaining to higher management.

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

i just want it to be smooth and dun break down easily thats all.... punk?? me ?? thanks for calling me that, tat is just so friendly old man..... i do agree on what you say and find that the advise u gave are very helpful but me no liking that punk word ... thanks

Edited by vteclee
Bingo!

That's why other than tire change, I'd rather do everything myself.

NEVER BELIEVE ANYTHING YOU HEAR; ONLY BELIEVE HALF OF WHAT YOU SEE.

What does that mean?

If you're meeting me for the first time, I can lie about anything, like who I am, what I do for a living etc. Lies are easy. So never believe anything you hear.

Especially when a bike shop says they've done up a bike. They ALL say that. But none of them actually do it. I've seen with my own eyes a bike gets sold to a shop, parked in a space untouched for weeks, then when I return to the shops weeks later and pretend to enquire about it, they told me it's all done up, and the price is more than double of what they took it in for.

Believe half of what you see. Why? Because anything can be faked. Magic shows, illusions, all a trick of the light and sleight of hand. I can tweak a bike to make it run. It's not a long-term solution but it will start and the buyer can ride it out of the shop. That's all that matters to shops, getting bikes to look and seem ok enough to convince potential buyers to buy them, then they wash their hands of the bike once it changes hands.

Welcome to reality, young punks.

Firmly agree! But 1 thing, we were all young punks, once upon a time. Now we can only sit back and watch.

There's no such thing as professionalism and work ethics in today's bike shops. Hmph. They can all kiss my rear end.

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Firstly, congratulations! You bought a lemon!

Now you see how good is that shop, I suggest, please dont go back.

Bring your bike to Teck Thye, spend a bomb, and it will definitely be running fine. Expensive, but worth it. No problems whatso ever. Well, most of the time anyway. :)

The mech who told you dont need to warm up, please point him out to me please. I would like to know his face before complaining to higher management.

i will help u get his name tml.

i just want it to be smooth and dun break down easily thats all.... punk?? me ?? thanks for calling me that, tat is just so friendly old man..... i do agree on what you say and find that the advise u gave are very helpful but me no liking that punk word ... thanks

Ok Pops, sorry about that.

You do know what a punk is right?

A punk is the guy who gets fcuked in prison. We were all punks once. getting it bad from bike shops.

Knowledge is power, and it's time to spread the power to the people to let them fight back.

yeahh, bike shops are sucks.. my 1 month warranty is ending soon and they haven't manage to return her as they promise. So taking advice from you all, i'm taking out my bike today from them and will try for teck thye if the problem still exist. hopefully when the they open it up, i wouldn't find some uglier truths. *sigh*

All the best. I hope you wont find more problems, but the brutal truth is, you most likely will...

I once had a DIY session with a new owner who bought his bike from the shop and they claimed everything is done up and running well. After a few days the bike's condition deteriorated so he came to see me.

The outlook of the bike was very good. New paintwork, everything looks nice. But never judge a book by its cover.

At first I found water in the carb, then water in the petrol tank, then we discovered the carb was leaking, and 1 jet inside was missing. Then before know it, the list was so long, even after 3 hours, I was still discovering more and more dishonest things the shop had done.

Missing screws, badly patched wiring that was shorting, broken valve, cheap and temporary fixes instead of proper repairs, old parts that the shop claimed was new, etc.

After 5 hrs, and a very bleak diagnosis, the guy was really demoralised and sad. He sold the bike the following week and never looked back.

I hope your bike wont be in that state - Nice outside, rotten inside.

All the best. I hope you wont find more problems, but the brutal truth is, you most likely will...

I once had a DIY session with a new owner who bought his bike from the shop and they claimed everything is done up and running well. After a few days the bike's condition deteriorated so he came to see me.

The outlook of the bike was very good. New paintwork, everything looks nice. But never judge a book by its cover.

At first I found water in the carb, then water in the petrol tank, then we discovered the carb was leaking, and 1 jet inside was missing. Then before know it, the list was so long, even after 3 hours, I was still discovering more and more dishonest things the shop had done.

Missing screws, badly patched wiring that was shorting, broken valve, cheap and temporary fixes instead of proper repairs, old parts that the shop claimed was new, etc.

After 5 hrs, and a very bleak diagnosis, the guy was really demoralised and sad. He sold the bike the following week and never looked back.

I hope your bike wont be in that state - Nice outside, rotten inside.

Nah, this is my first bike. i won't give up on her.

anyway, how often do you conduct DIY? sadly I cannot make it this sunday.

I've had my bike for 7 years. I've spent enough to buy a Ducati. You sure you wanna keep it? hahaha...

Many riders have come and gone. Most give up trying to fix it, cos there's no mech in Asia who is able to get it right.

I used to do it once a month. Now I conduct DIY about twice a year, cos I'm rarely in SG now.