Everything was good but in the last couple of weeks, I noticed the temp creeping into the "danger" zone.

So I thought, time for a swap as the coolant has been in there since day 1.

2 Coolant changes we did, temperature drop it did not.

Now Im thinking its something else unrelated playing up.

Temp gauge? Tuning off?

Pls stay tuned till nextime...........

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

i just asked my friend whose riding the new one... his temp is only 50 to 60 at expressway and whack all the way also 70+ only... how much milage did u clock?

few things might lead to this... things i say here is either encountered by me of my friend...

-check yr coolant tank level for coolant drop

if got drop check where is it going to... i had a friend that have a gasket broken and the coolant leak to the gearbox... when u check the oil and it is milky is sure signs of coolant getting into the gearbox...

-if coolant did not drop then try to check if the water is circulating through the system... if it is not then coolant pump fan might be broken

-if yr bike block is already worn out of tolerance then the temp will be higher than nomal but i doubt this is the case cos yrs is way too high....

-air lock is unlikely cos rs125 coolant system is self bleeding unlike 250s:goodluck:

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Mileage is about 5000km.

Never overeved.

No drop in coolant levels.

No milky gear oils.

I wonder if I should put the bike on an episode of Unsolved Mysteries.

They go their own way.

Originally posted by CMYRS@Jul 4 2005, 02:42 PM

Everything was good but in the last couple of weeks, I noticed the temp creeping into the "danger" zone.

So I thought, time for a swap as the coolant has been in there since day 1.

2 Coolant changes we did, temperature drop it did not.

Now Im thinking its something else unrelated playing up.

Temp gauge? Tuning off?

Pls stay tuned till nextime...........

try bleeding ya radiator tank..

in between the radiator and battery, there's a piece of hose..

along the hose, there's a screw.. unscrew it a little and ya'll see bubbles..

unscrew more to expedite the process.. once the bubbling stops,

just tighten it and top up with distill water if necessary...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Done that at NTrust 2 wkends ago.............I wonder if I need to look for a tube and fin construction kind radiator. The type Prodrive uses. Im pretty sure cooling efficiency will improve heaps but $1.5 grand is alittle dear.

They go their own way.

Originally posted by jinhanz@Jul 4 2005, 04:41 PM

hi wanna ask roughly how much milleage before u should overhaul the bikes?

i think by 20000 to 30000 can try to go for compression test... if too little then top overhaul will do... full overhaul only if your conrod bearing got noise:giddy:

full overhaul i did last time was 600 plus 700

top overhaul not sure

full overhaul means they change yr - piston and ring, clean yr valve, big and small end bearings, con rod bearings, base gaskets, top block o-rings and of cos yr con rod....

top overhaul only never change things below the con rod

well its a factor to certain extend... if u know how to listen to the engine sound then it would be better... cos some ppl might have busted their block and replaced one.So even if the mileage seem high but u might have a good engine... of cos mileage high means that the transmission gears should have a certain wear already lah...:cry:

Originally posted by CMYRS+-->
QUOTE (CMYRS)
Thats a fair chunk of the top end.

I will consider if its worth doing.

Lawerence was telling me about your "heat" issues.

Did you manage resolve them?

My gauge is reading at about 78 most of the time, reaching 87 in heavy traffic with pillion. We swapped coolant 2x and the problem is still there.

Even doing 90 on the freeway for 10mins or so, the temp never drops below 76.

I wondered if its because of the running in of the bike that causes the temp raise.

Before, it used to read about 78 at the highest.[/b]

It is a fair chunk off, and it also means at a particular speed, your bike will be working harder than before, and you'll have to do a lot more shifting because you'll be running out of revs more quickly - more wear on the bike, and higher fuel consumption. It's not as big a deal as it sounds, but worth considering.

My heat issues... :bouncefire: it's actually given me so much persistent grief that I didn't posted it here earlier cuz I didn't know where to start.

Before 3 weeks ago, my day temp was 77-79, and my night temp was 66-75. In horrible traffic during the day, it reached a high of 94, and once, when riding in a slow funeral procession with a bunch of other ARC guys, it went up to 97.

Then, one day 3 weeks ago, my temperature during the day rapidly shot up to the 90s, and hit 100, where is stayed, flashing, but my engine never shut down. I made it to work, hoped the problem would go away, and went home at night at my usual time of 12:45am. I hit 104. For the next few days, I lived with average temps in the high 90s in both day and night. Checked my coolant, the level was fine.

Finally went down to NTrust, personally flushed my coolant with Unil-Opal premixed coolant and bled the system of air (eyz describes how to on this page). Idling temperature seemed fine (77-79), so I went to work. 90s again. Coolant levels seemed fine.

A few days later, I went back to NTrust. Found that the coolant levels had dropped to the bottom of the reservoir. Flushed the system and topped up with hardcore Unil-Opal concentrated gel coolant mixed with distilled water. Bled the system. Idling looked fine, as before, and never exceeded 80. Went to work, noticed an improvement of a few degrees (day and night highway cruising at 94 instead of 97).

Visited Racewerkz. William, the mech there, took one look at my jetting, shook his head and said that it was his opinion that the overly-large jetting was the cause of my problems - excessive build-up of fuel and carbon deposits, and lumpy performance that forced me to throttle hard. That was last Friday.

William told me that it would take a minimum of 4-5 days for my bike to adapt to the new jetting and clear out all the crap that had built up in the fuel and exhaust system from my inappropriate jetting. Friday and Saturday, my bike ran better than ever before, but my temperature stayed the same. Yesterday, my day highway temperature dropped to 92-93, and my night temperature dropped to 88-89.

I'm hoping for further improvements in the coming days. William also passed me a fuel additive that he said would help clear out deposits, and I added it yesterday after waiting 1 1/2 days to see how performance and fuel economy would fare under the altered jetting alone.

Ok, long story, which is why I didn't post it before, but Andre asked :D Andre, both our bikes are low-mileage FX plates, and we're both having these problems. Older bikes are supposed to see slightly higher temperatures, but I don't think that applies to us. I can blame my woes on my jetting, but what about you?

Originally posted by spiderman+-->
QUOTE (spiderman)
r u guys not at work now? cos i also free... dunno if u all like to come out chat anot[/b]

Aiyah, if I'd known I would've given you a call earlier. I work from 4pm-1am, Sunday to Thursday, though my hours will be changing soon. Do you work shifts too Alex?

Originally posted by muser@Jul 4 2005, 05:20 PM

Aiyah, if I'd known I would've given you a call earlier. I work from 4pm-1am, Sunday to Thursday, though my hours will be changing soon. Do you work shifts too Alex?

hi chris.. well no i don have shifts.... in saf lah so today got duty off....

the circulation part i have to see the system on how it goes cos i have parted with my 125 for a few years now.. i don remember... if there is a opening for u to see the coolant(not yr reservior of cos), u just need to rev the engine up and down to see if there is changes in the speed of water flow when rev up the water should get sucked in and when revs go down the water will raise(depending if the opening is before or just after the coolant pump)... as for the coolant fan is inside yr gearbox... need to down engine to change:goodluck:

Originally posted by CMYRS@Jul 4 2005, 01:58 PM

Ben, 17-39 is the original gearing on the bike from the factory or was it like that when you bought it?

Just a rough ballpark figure, how much did you lose in the top end? 20km/h?

Im tired of getting out accelerated by scooters when I dont stall up on the revs.

Ben, if ure going by Racewerk, could you kindly get me a can of Maxima chain lube? Tks mate, will collect from you at a civilised hour.

It was like that when i bought it.Rough figure it should be about 15 to 20km/h off, i can't tell as my speedo is spoilt.Definately have to gear up earlier and you will be able to open valve more often.

I'll get you the chain lube no prob, i'll msg you when i get it.

well then left one only lor.... did u check yr system circulation?

o ya forget.. can u check to make sure the wire leading to to temp sensor is pluged in properly?

if the wire plugged to the temp sensor near the spark plug area is loose, your reading on the digital display when your on the move or stationary will give you funny readings "cold" one min...sddenly it will say 45 or some other value..then back to "cold" again.

:offtopic: Anyone up for Kopi session again tonight?hopefully this time somewhere at the west-side?hahaa... my suggestion is the pratashop after kent ridge park.

Always be prepared.

Originally posted by Visor@Jul 4 2005, 05:44 PM

if the wire plugged to the temp sensor near the spark plug area is loose, your reading on the digital display when your on the move or stationary will give you funny readings "cold" one min...sddenly it will say 45 or some other value..then back to "cold" again.

:offtopic: Anyone up for Kopi session again tonight?hopefully this time somewhere at the west-side?hahaa... my suggestion is the pratashop after kent ridge park.

i did have a friend's 250 showing high temp due to loose connection before...

can i go too? :cheeky:

i live west area too...

Hey Muser.. Where's this race-werkz place? my temps are hitting 70-75 normally, but in heavy traffic or travel slowly it will go up to 80 - 95.. hate that i always have to tell my friends in cars 'sorry can't wait' then zip off between cars..

Is it advisable to play with jettings on our own? Especially ppl like me who are so new to cracking the bike open..

Originally posted by spiderman+-->
QUOTE (spiderman)
hi chris.. well no i don have shifts.... in saf lah so today got duty off[/b]

oic, do you keep your RS250 in camp? Did you have to take the defensive riding course? Well, my coolant does seem to be circulating. See how it goes for the next week or so lah.

Originally posted by Visor@

Anyone up for Kopi session again tonight?hopefully this time somewhere at the west-side?hahaa... my suggestion is the pratashop after kent ridge park.

Aiyah, ARC West Side Branch meeting ah :cheeky: I'd love too but really too far lah - East to West :faint:

Originally posted by muser@Jul 4 2005, 06:35 PM

oic, do you keep your RS250 in camp? Did you have to take the defensive riding course? Well, my coolant does seem to be circulating. See how it goes for the next week or so lah.

no lah i don put in camp... my bike is having some spray works now...

ya need defensive riding to get into camp:mad:

hm... so wat was the normal temp for yr bike?:confused:

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Jul 4 2005, 06:01 PM

Hey Muser.. Where's this race-werkz place? my temps are hitting 70-75 normally, but in heavy traffic or travel slowly it will go up to 80 - 95.. hate that i always have to tell my friends in cars 'sorry can't wait' then zip off between cars..

Is it advisable to play with jettings on our own? Especially ppl like me who are so new to cracking the bike open..

hi pony... so u r jude ah? alex here man... just started chatting here few days ago

hahaa...pai sei.....last nite sleepy.. :cheeky:

see you at the meeting then...dun pend anymore la...confirm come man... :thumb:

Originally posted by redridinghood@Jul 4 2005, 11:15 AM

err.. haha i dont know man.. but i dont really dare to take spicy food.. but if everyone else wans to have curry then we'll just go with majority lor.. :sweat:

deN i'M cooL wiTh aNitHinG...:hungry:

Just a few updates..

1stly, the pictures for NTrust Opening are up(They have been since 2 days ago, but too tired to post)... Please have a looksee and enjoy.. Pictures can be viewed at A.R.C's friendster profile at [email protected] or at A.R.C's blog at apriliaridersclub.blogs.friendster.com/...

2ndly, thanx to all for came for the late night Kopi session at YCK... Had a good time and learnt alot.. Thanx esp to Chris who took the time to explain various stuff to us.. Plus giving us the dirt on Lawrence... haha..Anyway, by the time i went home, it was 5am!!

3rdly, thanx to all who came and participated in the DIY held on the following day.. I was super exhausted by the end of it.. Lol.. It's a story we'll be talking abt at the next Kopi outing.. Special thanks to Ben for being patient and showing the ropes to the new guys!

last but not least, please help pray for me clearing my TP 1st time this coming thurs... I went for revision today and was such a bundle of nerves.. My worst enemy, the stupid 'plank' mocked me yet again and again.. I just hope my last rev before TP, on wed goes better...

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

gooD LucK viK...

a LiTTLe conFideNce goeS a LonG waE...

n aN aDviCe... duNNo iF u daRe tO taKe it...

dun go too sLow.... :thumb:

:offtopic: buT i juS haD a heaD oN coLLisiOn witH a vaN...

siGh... :faint: