hey guys what ur running temps?

i'm hitting easily 90 degrees when i'm waiting at the traffic light with cars around me in about 3 mins. *HELP* is anything the matter?

When i'm moving my temps are around 72 - 78 thereabouts depending on speed.

Better to be loved, than to hate...

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by bktan@Aug 10 2004, 12:06 PM

When i parked the bike, coolant spewed out onto the exhaust and sizzled.

Coolant came out from WHERE??!

Out from your exhaust nozzle? :giddy:

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Aug 10 2004, 12:23 PM

Coolant came out from WHERE??!

Out from your exhaust nozzle? :giddy:

spewed out from the radiator, probably some cap thingy if i remember correctly. and dripped onto the exhaust (the head part) not the behind.

Originally posted by Ah_ReK@Aug 10 2004, 03:15 PM

Hey guys, how much would a back tyre cost me? for my Rs125

BridgeStone $110

The problem is not you can afford it or not, is how are you going to make yourself able to afford it.

Originally posted by bktan@Aug 10 2004, 12:06 PM

hey guys what ur running temps?

i'm hitting easily 90 degrees when i'm waiting at the traffic light with cars around me in about 3 mins. *HELP* is anything the matter?

the other day during fireworks, heavy jam at city hall my temp went up to 100 and flashed for 4 secs before going back to 99. When i parked the bike, coolant spewed out onto the exhaust and sizzled.

When i'm moving my temps are around 72 - 78 thereabouts depending on speed.

wha...time flies veri fast hor

i remember when u first posted here u havent even bought ur tuono...

anyway my running temps are same as urs, its quite normal

but waiting at traffic lights n geting 90degrees is not a good idea

are u still using the standard (50% antifreeze) coolant? I suggest u go flush that out n replace with 100& distilled water with a few capfuls of water-wetter, coz antifreeze is a horrible conductor of heat n we dun freeze here :)

I am also gonna do that when i can get my hands on a bottle of waterwetter

If you are looking for someone to share the water-wetter with, remember to count me in, i always like to share things one, hehe :D

My frens who go jb on regular basis switch off the engines n manually push in the traffic jam, otherwise will overheat

For your case, shd be no damage la, just top up some water to make up for those which spilled out can liao

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Messiah: Where's this FJT located at? Thanks~

Eyez: Resin is teh savior to all my bike problems lor! sticks everything one hor! maybe i can build a bike from resin next time, but anyway, the powervalve experiment failed...hahaha

But serious la, i haf a lot of metal resin left, if u guys haf leaking radiators can come look for me

To lacri the rest: How about cleaning up the headlights this weekend? I will go buy a BIG TUBE of those silicone sealers this week n share wif u guys, no need to pay, just kopi can liao :D I hav a big can of autosol too!

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

yah yah... heard this from Derrick RS250 rider that his temp run below

50C.. he said he was using some anti freeze thingy and it was

in dunno which section that we here in singapore shouldn't be using

this.. best is distill water and waterwetter is recommended... sometimes

our engine oil can only perform at its optimal when it's at certain temp..

for my case.. i usually have less than 65C during night ride and less

than 75C for day ride... jam ah... not very sure.. i'm seldom stuck in a

jam..

fibre: remember must seal the headlight cover properly... if get water

gets in.. more problem...

one reason why RS overheat so easily... i think it's becos of the milo

pipe...

Messiah, do you experience low operating temp of your bike when you

tried it with you RS pipe?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Antifreeze is crap. You need a good conductor of heat for your coolant, so that heat can be transferred effectively from your engine to your coolant, and then dissipated to the air through the radiator.

Antifreeze is a poor conductor of heat so that heat remains in the engine.

I'm getting myself a bottle of Waterwetter this week. Am sharing with

1) Greydium

Not sure 1 bottle can share with how many pple. But if interested just put your name in.

My temp max out at 74 in jams or long stationary stops. When bike is moving temp is 55 on a cool night and 68 on a warm day.

So far only hit 89 just once. Stuck in a long jam, very hot day...

fibre, silicon sealant have to wait how long before it completely dries?

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

guys wonder is my signature pic abit too big? cause i don really know wats the limits i can put so if the pic is a bit too big and not allowed , tell me i go remove

Jan 05 - Mar 06 : Honda NSR150SP

Mar 06 - Mar 07 : Suzuki RMX250

Mar 07 - Sep 07 : Honda XR400R

Aug 05 - Nov 09 : Honda XR125L

Sep 07 - Nov 09 : Suzuki GSR400K7

Mar 09 - Present : Yamaha R6'06

Nov 09 - Present : Honda Hornet 600

hmm from u guys temps, it seems there's something wrong with my bike then *HELP*

at all traffic lights i most certainly get 80 degrees - 85 but given a short 200m run, the temp will just drop all the way to 73 - 75 deg.

what u guys reckon man? but the bike has been doing this ever since i got it new though.

Originally posted by Avita@Aug 11 2004, 08:31 AM

guys wonder is my signature pic abit too big? cause i don really know wats the limits i can put so if the pic is a bit too big and not allowed , tell me i go remove

yes its WAYYYYY too big,

1) ur taking up screen space

2) 56k modem users will curse at u

3) we are going to be seeing ur siggy everytime u post!

Originally posted by bktan@Aug 11 2004, 08:38 AM

yes its WAYYYYY too big,

1) ur taking up screen space

2) 56k modem users will curse at u

3) we are going to be seeing ur siggy everytime u post!

will change it soon pal

Jan 05 - Mar 06 : Honda NSR150SP

Mar 06 - Mar 07 : Suzuki RMX250

Mar 07 - Sep 07 : Honda XR400R

Aug 05 - Nov 09 : Honda XR125L

Sep 07 - Nov 09 : Suzuki GSR400K7

Mar 09 - Present : Yamaha R6'06

Nov 09 - Present : Honda Hornet 600

Guest BabY_LeS
Originally posted by lacrimosae@Aug 11 2004, 02:17 AM

Antifreeze is crap. You need a good conductor of heat for your coolant, so that heat can be transferred effectively from your engine to your coolant, and then dissipated to the air through the radiator.

Antifreeze is a poor conductor of heat so that heat remains in the engine.

1) Greydium

Not sure 1 bottle can share with how many pple. But if interested just put your name in.

My temp max out at 74 in jams or long stationary stops. When bike is moving temp is 55 on a cool night and 68 on a warm day.

So far only hit 89 just once. Stuck in a long jam, very hot day...

fibre, silicon sealant have to wait how long before it completely dries?

Waterwetter is really good stuff.. shld try.. It'll really cools down the engine a lot.. Reviews so far are good..:smile:

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Aug 11 2004, 02:17 AM

1) Greydium

I'm Interested....How much 1 bottle cost? Can last how long?

The problem is not you can afford it or not, is how are you going to make yourself able to afford it.

1 bottle is $25 at motoX for 1 litre bottle

checking out the x9 thread, their coolant is also 1 litre like ours. according to it, 1 litre can make up for 8 of our aprilia ponies.

so any takers? Lacri u wanna set up a time?

Originally posted by fubby@Aug 13 2004, 04:50 AM

hey servo is yr rs250 parked at XXXXXXXXXXXXXX ??

i just saw a rs250 with aprillia MS spray at the multi storey carpark hehehe

Wah... nice!...

Now everybody knows where Servo parked his bike. :giddy:

Better not to reveal locations la. Thieves might make use of it. :sian:

Originally posted by fubby@Aug 13 2004, 04:50 AM

hey servo is yr rs250 parked at paris ris car park blk 140 plus ??

i just saw a rs250 with aprillia MS spray at the multi storey carpark hehehe

i havent buy rs250 lah... stil riding my dad's wave.

anyway if i were u, i'd just put a note on the guys bike and say hie. afterall we all riding aprilia mah.

Originally posted by eyz@Aug 11 2004, 01:49 AM

yah yah... heard this from Derrick RS250 rider that his temp run below

50C.. he said he was using some anti freeze thingy and it was

in dunno which section that we here in singapore shouldn't be using

this.. best is distill water and waterwetter is recommended... sometimes

our engine oil can only perform at its optimal when it's at certain temp..

for my case.. i usually have less than 65C during night ride and less

than 75C for day ride... jam ah... not very sure.. i'm seldom stuck in a

jam..

fibre: remember must seal the headlight cover properly... if get water

gets in.. more problem...

one reason why RS overheat so easily... i think it's becos of the milo

pipe...

Messiah, do you experience low operating temp of your bike when you

tried it with you RS pipe?

i serice the value change lousy cooland already, but unit now the temp riding at nigh sure under 60 roughly at 54, if chiong 50-49. afternoon 59-65. basement carpark will be sh*t, 69-80 shoot up baby. Those one time i round in the basement carpark reach 88-90 i stop it and go for a drink. two stroke never stay in basement for too long with your engine start........