Hi guys, my rectifier is gone. Anyone change before can advise the market price?

Also, must we remove the whole front faring or remove the right side pocket can change liao?

who told u your rectifier is gone? where is your bike now?

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

• Replies 22.2k

Hi guys, my rectifier is gone. Anyone change before can advise the market price?

What are the symtoms of rectifier spoilt?

bike is with me now. just charged batt to use for time being.

magnetic coil is working (all 3 main elect output wire have current), btw magnetic coil was burnt few weeks ago and changed.

Just tested at bike shop using multimeter. voltage at battery contact point only 12+v at 3-4k rpm. By right if charging properly should be 13+v.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

What are the symtoms of rectifier spoilt?

Weak or non charging of battery. Meter restarts when starting bike.

Can be narrowed down to magentic coil or rectifier problem.

Then check whether is the electric output cable all three is working.

If no, magentic coil got problem. If yes then likely rectifier.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

anyone tried the EO called "carlub" it's 4 stroke motorcycle oil , I saw it on giant DM, it's fully synthetic 5w40 , made in england @ only $7.88 / bottle/ litre

Edited by patrick1131

this is very common in silverwings. unless u have a new battery. stock battery size is 12, but many change to size 14 to solve the meter restart problem. not cheap though.

as for me, my stock battery (21 months old) is always causing my meter to restart. but till date, there is still no need to change battery. Rectifier & coil checked to be in perfect condition.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

anyone tried the EO called "carlub" it's 4 stroke motorcycle oil , I saw it on giant DM, it's fully synthetic 5w40 , made in england @ only $7.88 / bottle/ litre

dun think so. but my friend using it on his car. he even race with this engine oil.

he used to use Motul 300V on his car. after that he tried the CarLube. said to have not much a difference. maybe can try.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

I've used it on my previous bike Nouvo for both EO and GO. Don't think it's called motorcycle oil specifically. 5l @ $39.90. Compared to Motul 300V @ $30/l? No noticeable difference compared to OWS800 and full-synthetic EO used by HL. FC also the same. I intend to use on the next EO & GO change on my SW. At such low costs, even if change at 3k km still ok, although it's way way below the recommended 6k km change interval. SG road somemore, no problem.

I feel it's reasonably good EO. Giant also sells Shell Helix Ultra 4l @ $49.90 when petrol station sells at about $100. They got a good deal from the suppliers and passed on some savings to consumers, and yet still earn good profit margin and credit terms :cool:

do you mod any of the electronics? magnetic coil and rectifier spoil for 3 year old bike seems quite fast.

Nope, all stock.

some laojiao shred before the lifespan is about 50k +/-. Mine now is about 55k. They are some other bros that suffered "premature breakdown" like when 20k+.

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

this is very common in silverwings. unless u have a new battery. stock battery size is 12, but many change to size 14 to solve the meter restart problem. not cheap though.

as for me, my stock battery (21 months old) is always causing my meter to restart. but till date, there is still no need to change battery. Rectifier & coil checked to be in perfect condition.

Good for you. Mine battery already size 14.

I encountered weak cranking sound with the restart. So definitely not charging properly.

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

I think there are 1 or 2 here who have already installed steel brake hose leh.

I read it somewhere before.

Big Cow- did you replace your brake hose to steel brake hose ?

"was" in angmor means previously got sell, teng nang tio si 以前有 ...

plus motoworld isn't the only shop selling steel braided hoses mah :D

last that i know... motoworld was selling that but not bringing it in anymore, u can call them to confirm.

i've also check other shops few months ago and quotes are all >$500 :faint:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

stock battery size is 12, but many change to size 14 to solve the meter restart problem. not cheap though.

12S and 14S differ by

when to change batt also depends on the age of batt. i'ld rather change it when aged or deteriorated rather than to wait for it to fail, as a precautionary "wear n tear" replacement :cool:

those interested to change battery may wanna check this out

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4387011&postcount=49

Tat Beng & Co Battery Service tel 62981110

121 Lavender Street

- Yuasa YTZ-12S $125 (cash only)

- Yuasa YTZ-14S $132 (cash only)

~ as at 29/06/2009

GS Yuasa Singapore Co Pte Ltd tel 62651566

11 Pioneer Walk

- Yuasa YTZ-14S $132

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

good charging should be around 14.1V... mine is around there at riding rpms :cool:

see charging table attached

absorption charging voltages, float charging voltages, equalizing charging voltages :confused:

mine is 14.4v usually with engine running. when decelerating, sometimes drop to 13.5v. everything off is 12.8v. press starter will drop to 9v. all using the 12v compartment plug.

12S and 14S differ by

when to change batt also depends on the age of batt. i'ld rather change it when aged or deteriorated rather than to wait for it to fail, as a precautionary "wear n tear" replacement :cool:

those interested to change battery may wanna check this out

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4387011&postcount=49

wah, you oso labang king!

read somewhere that SW battery is laying on the sides instead of standing (terminals up). why not look for replacement battery of the same dimensions but is standing when used on our SW? somehow feel will have a difference as the contents are pulled down by gravity over time.

if you're looking for something to illum the underseat compartment at night, can consider using one of these LED panels under the seat. simply stick it onto underside of the seat using 2-sided tape and run the wires for power :cool:

bright http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz157/Victory_Trading/Cabin6SMD.jpg

brighter http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz157/Victory_Trading/Cabin9SMD.jpg

brightest http://i823.photobucket.com/albums/zz157/Victory_Trading/Cabin24SMD.jpg

http://forum.thelatioclub.org/index.php?topic=10252.msg173898;topicseen#msg173898

among the 2-sided mounting tapes, i'ld recommend this (costs about $8~8.50 ea):

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/512397J4MFL._SL500_AA280_.jpg

it is very much stronger than the common green-n-black 2-sided tapes and holds onto virtually any surface. only setback is that it comes only in light grey colour, would be great if it is also black :(

~

Trips:

wah, you oso labang king!

read somewhere that SW battery is laying on the sides instead of standing (terminals up). why not look for replacement battery of the same dimensions but is standing when used on our SW? somehow feel will have a difference as the contents are pulled down by gravity over time.

No have batt that fit into the hole but upright position.

Cheap cheap normal ones got but will still leak after add batt water and sealed.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hehe. :angel:

GP to Yong Peng (NSHW) = 106km *0700hrs

YP to Segamat (trunk rd) = 73km *0800hrs

Segamat to Pandan Falls = 172km *1100hrs

Pandan Falls to LaoZi Temple = 10km *1300hrs

LZ Temple to Teluk Chempedak Beach = 26km *1430hrs

T Chempedak Beach to Penyabong/Mersing = 180km *1730hrs

Penyabong to Bukit Indah = 169km *1930hrs

Bukit Indah to GP = 18km

Total Round trip = 750km

Hmm... thinking whether the butt (and time) can make it a 1-day trip?

Or... add a bit of night travel?

Or.. anti-clockwise?

If can, then should be on 14 March. Warming up for Thailand.

If too siong, then 2D1N but will be at later dates.

Edited by SW9000

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

i got a few friends, bike less than 1 year, magnet spoil lo.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

need some advice on purchasing a SW400 - Euro '07 Model.

SW400 - Euro - '07

Registered feb '07

34K Mileage

Outlook 8/10 - Silver - some minor scratches at the front fender

Engine sounds ok.

Brakes and lights work well.

No visible rust on metal parts

Dash need polishing

That's all i can figure out within the bike shop.

Taking the bike out is gonna cost me $9400 OTR (inc. insurance, road tax, 1 full servicing).

Im taking a loan..so we'll leave tat part with the interest out.

I need your opinions... is the price of $9400 "ok" for a SW in the condition i have mentioned ??

maybe worhwhile to take a look at this http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=6183002

Just information sharing....

When changing the rectifier, must remove the whole front faring. Although the rectifier can be seen located behind the pocket on right, the wiring of the rectifier (black) goes across the headlight area to the other side of the faring. Secondly, the 2 screws securing the rectifier are quite inaccessible if accessing through the pocket hole only. Hence, to do a proper job, the entire front faring should be removed.

My charging problem was finally solved. Changed the rectifier and the magnetic coil (again) today.

Apparently, the rectifier caused my magnetic coil to be burnt in the 1st instance about 1 week ago. Did not change the rectifier then as it was still charging after I changed the coil.

However, the charging broke down yesterday again. Coil found burnt again. The rectifier was the cause. This time around, I changed both rectifier and coil. Kudos to my mech, he waived off the all charges for the magnetic coil and only charge me for the rectifier.

Lesson learned: Charging voltage needs to be monitored very carefully. A drop in the charging voltage despite coil and rectifier still working may be a sign where the rectifier is failing but not total failure yet. Hence if you ignore the signs, it will likely lead to a burnt coil. If your coil is burnt, it might be prudent to change the rectifier together (unless your rectifier is 100% working), else it might lead to another burnt coil.

11022010161.jpg

Edited by @h_LoNg

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

"was" in angmor means previously got sell, teng nang tio si 以前有 ...

plus motoworld isn't the only shop selling steel braided hoses mah :D

Agree, motoworld aint the only one selling steel braided hoses. Can try biketech21 oso..maybe they have a better price.

those who always travel at high speed can consider changing, cos really helps. Though i dont go high speed, i was talking to my fren on bike. Then car in front suddenly stop i jam brake with 1 hand. With jus front brake lever, managed to stop and tyre skidded a bit. Wat i can say is :thumb:

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!