mind sharing where n how much the tyres, brake pads cost? mine are due for change soon :)

Metzeler Front & Back - $225

EBC Front FA261HH - $79

EBC Rear FA196HH - $67

Labour for all - $25

Prices are a bit high but can't find other place that balances SW rear wheel.

"These are the best brake pads money can buy" - quoting shop owner, who sponsors MotoGP races in Sepang and SEMA races in PG. Said less heat and longer lasting.

Dunno he BS or not. Actually my brake pads can still go further, but just want to try. 愿者上钩... haha!!! :lol:

Link to the product http://www.ebcbrakes.com/motorcycle_brake/sintered_brake_pads/double_h_superbike_pads/index.shtml

Edited by Uncle
  • Replies 22.2k

Is there a regulation on how many, how bright, mountings, etc on additional bike brake lights?

I had replaced the original top box brake light as it had kaput. Used to have 6 dim LEDs; now I have 36 bright LEDs!!! Each LED has 3 of the small LEDs grouped together as a "bulb". All are still mounted behind the red cover but it's really bright when in use; can see from the sides also.

Do you think will kanna booked for having too many and too bright brake lights?

Well, He DID solve your problem, whether temp or perm.:cheeky:

SO far I think the problem is solve on flat road.. Yesterday I heard the sound when I purposely stop at the liang court carpark slope and move off... For awhile and then no more.. till now no sound....

Hope it doesnt come back.....

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

Metzeler Front & Back - $225

EBC Front FA261HH - $79

EBC Rear FA196HH - $67

Labour for all - $25

Prices are a bit high but can't find other place that balances SW rear wheel.

"These are the best brake pads money can buy" - quoting shop owner, who sponsors MotoGP races in Sepang and SEMA races in PG. Said less heat and longer lasting.

Dunno he BS or not. Actually my brake pads can still go further, but just want to try. 愿者上钩... haha!!! :lol:

Link to the product http://www.ebcbrakes.com/motorcycle_brake/sintered_brake_pads/double_h_superbike_pads/index.shtml

Maybe can try getting the EBC pads from the CMO, think seller nick Phamtom150... Get quote from him before a few weeks back price is better then above mentioned....

IF is not bcos of the sound prob, I already got a new set of brake pads.

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

Only if my assistant navigator brings his GPS. :angel:

Labis Hot Spring - GPS Coordinate N 02 28'08.1 E 103 03'00.9

Labis Waterfall - GPS Coordinate N 02 28'28.3 E 103 06'23.0

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

Wow. Efficient!

Durian 1 hand and typing 1 hand?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Good info.:thumb:

Wow. Efficient!

Durian 1 hand and typing 1 hand?

:) eating Durian. Sweet:P

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

Just back from Labis.

Small little waterfall and have a bit of bumpy village road to travel to reach there.

Hotspring was ok. Got 2 pools to soak in. Other 2 pools was not in use. 1 hot and 1 very hot.

Best NOT to dip continuously for 15mins or more. Take short breaks.

Arboh ping pongs will be 'well-done'.

Must bring drinks and makan.

Entrance rm2 per bike/person.

Nice ride on Route 1 though. Managed 110-120km/h most times and road surface not bad too.

SO far I think the problem is solve on flat road.. Yesterday I heard the sound when I purposely stop at the liang court carpark slope and move off... For awhile and then no more.. till now no sound....

Hope it doesnt come back.....

Big cow, the problem is solve. I did suggest to ah chong to remove the clutch pad to wash and then fix back. But he told me it's no use. And claim that is my bells problem. So in the end uses his method and the prob occur continuously and I feel uneasy with it. Spend almost half day there.

At first tot he just grind the bell so the clutch still haven't season yet so move out to far side of sg to try but it's still the Same and yesterday did the same thing and sound is still there and getting worst so I post the prob up and fellow forumer recommended me botak so went over there just now and he service the clutch pad and wa la! The prob solve! But of cos each have their style. I better dun comment further if not it will become more complex. Netizens are very sensitive to words. No hard feeling everyone.

Hahah happy rider again! But still doesn't like the feel of swing as compare to my fazer n Honda manual bike. Hmm.. Miss them. Maybe consider getting manaul "toa gu" again.

Testing water on the pricing for swing now.

so u saw wat botak added or do to your clutch pads? u didn't solve the problem permanently. its only temporary. i know him very well for many years le.

Well, He DID solve your problem, whether temp or perm.:cheeky:

My humble opinion ->

I guess proper servicing / cleaning of the clutch spring and bell is part and parcel of the regular maintenance needed for SW like changing of EO etc. Although the method only eliminate the pigeon sound temporary, but it is the only solution that is working right now.

If any motorshop can solve the issue permanently, please spread the good news to all fellow SWs. I'm sure many of us will be eagar to try it out. :)

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

woot.

6 March (Sat night) got Cheese Crabby makan and JB night clubbing (karaoke with my mic)?

jsilverwing already signed liao. Horny fella!

Anyone else?

Me waiting for permit.

Getting less and less movement from the front.

Grr... can't wait for the fork collar to come. :dozed:

Arboh:

1. New front fork... $492 per fork. :faint:

Must wait 2-months lead time!

2. or Weestrom... $19.5k. :cry:

Luck needed for next ToTo!

Edited by SW9000

Getting less and less movement from the front.

Grr... can't wait for the fork collar to come. :dozed:

Arboh:

1. New front fork... $492 per fork. :faint:

2. or Weestrom... $19.5k. :cry:

Err... Option 1 or 2 takes just as long to get, isn't it. :p

Hi guys, me newbie here and been wanting to get a SW4 for sometime now. I'm gonna loose by faithful Steed to my uncle soon and that seems like a very good excuse to get my DeepBlueWing. Just saw one pre-owned FBB just now. Shop asking for 11K; JDM, one pre-owner and very much stock with 15K on the odo. My maths tells me I should not part more than 8.5K for the babe. Need you guys' opinion on its actual worth before I make my final decision. Of course lah, as buyer, I want to buy as cheap as possible but still got to be fair to the business owner. Your views are very much appreciated. Thanks.

Bikes: GSX125, GSX250, GSX400, Vespa 150, CBX400, Burgman AN400, Steed 400, Next Target: FJS400SW ....

Cars: Daihatsu Charade 1.0HB, Proton Iswara 1.3HB, Suzuki 800HB, Toyota Corolla 1.3SWagon, Opel Astra 1.4SWagon,

. . . . . Kia Carens 1.8 MPV, Toyota Wish 1.8 NFL MPV, Next Target: Audi Q5 or A5 sports

Hi guys, me newbie here and been wanting to get a SW4 for sometime now. I'm gonna loose by faithful Steed to my uncle soon and that seems like a very good excuse to get my DeepBlueWing. Just saw one pre-owned FBB just now. Shop asking for 11K; JDM, one pre-owner and very much stock with 15K on the odo. My maths tells me I should not part more than 8.5K for the babe. Need you guys' opinion on its actual worth before I make my final decision. Of course lah, as buyer, I want to buy as cheap as possible but still got to be fair to the business owner. Your views are very much appreciated. Thanks.

IMO 11k is too high for a FBB plate. I think 8.5 -9k is reasonable.

just in case newcomers are not aware of this trip next month... apply visa need few weeks right... whahahaha :cheeky:

I'm planning the below trip for 2010. *Might tag along SBF's Songkran@Hatyai.

Due to high season and extensive coordination needed, please log the event in your calendar if you're interested.

I will confirm and collect $$ by Jan 2010. *You may PM me if you've already made up your mind. hehe.

Event: Hatyai & Krabi Ride (Songkran Festival 2010)

Duration: 10 April to 19 April 2010

Days: 10 Days 9 nights

Leave required: 6 days

Itinerary:

10 Apr - Cameron Highland

11/13 Apr - Hatyai Songkran Festival

14/16 Apr - Krabi Land/Sea Tour

17 Apr - Hatyai shopping stopover

18 Apr - Genting stopover

19 Apr - Return to SG

Estimated Fixed Cost:

Hotel: SGD$250 (twin share)

Petrol: SGD$120 (for 3000km@22km/L)

Excluding sightseeing, makan and others.

** For those who wish to join just for Songkran, please wait for SBF's Trip Outing announcement.

Names:

1. SW9000 (FJS400)

2. Atlantic 200 (CB400,version S)

3. scoobydoo (FJS400)

4. jsilverwing (CB400, VTec I)

5. HelmetBOX! ... autoadd :lol:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Just saw one pre-owned FBB just now. Shop asking for 11K; JDM, one pre-owner and very much stock with 15K on the odo. My maths tells me I should not part more than 8.5K for the babe. Need you guys' opinion on its actual worth before I make my final decision. Of course lah, as buyer, I want to buy as cheap as possible but still got to be fair to the business owner. Your views are very much appreciated. Thanks.

my 1 yen opinion...

. agree with sunlight's view.

offer me 11k, my FBC can be yours, 10.9k also can... whahahahaha :cheeky:

. FBB plate need not necessary be indicative of the bike's age.

as JDMs haven't been brought into sinkapor for a couple of years, the bike's real age (manufactured or first registration) could be much older. i.e. bike could have been re-registered with a FBB plate.

. "very much stock with 15K on the odo", good or bad depends on whether the owner have maintained it well over the years.

- suppose bike is 4 yrs old with only 15k kms, nothing changed since manufactured, which is very likely. you'ld probably need to change lots of things after buying it as many items would have deteriorated over the 4 years; e.g. belt, tyres, battery, sparkies, brake fluid, coolent, engine oil & filter, etc.

+ suppose owner has change the parts when due (based on time) for change other than based on odometer. e.g. changing the tyres when they becomes old (harden) even when groves are still there, changing engine oil (oil condition also deteriorate over time) even when bike has not been used for months, etc. if so, then maybe ok. but how to tell?

. JDM drinks more fuel compared to FJS, even though the 2 engines are quite similar. according to feedback of fellow SWingers, FC of JDM is around 18~22km/L while FJS clocks around 22~25km/L, generally.

it may be more advisable to get a FJS unless you want to use the "overdrive" switch which is only available on JDM. more power? i dunno.

see my earlier comments on a similar question...

. . .

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Event: Hatyai & Krabi Ride (Songkran Festival 2010)

Duration: 10 April to 19 April 2010

Days: 10 Days 9 nights

Leave required: 6 days

Cost: $284 (for 4 riders)

Will advice on cost for additional riders

Itinerary:

10 Apr - Cameron Highland

11/13 Apr - Hatyai Songkran Festival

14/16 Apr - Krabi Land/Sea Tour

17 Apr - Hatyai shopping stopover

18 Apr - Genting stopover

19 Apr - Return to SG

Max at 6 Only (2 with extra bed):

1. SW9000 (FJS400)

2. Atlantic 200 (CB400,version S)

3. scoobydoo (FJS400)

4. jsilverwing (CB400, VTec I)

5. HelmetBOX! ... autoadd :lol:

For those who wish to go just for Songkran, You may join Kenny & Simon's trip below:

5D/5N Songkran Festival From 9th April to 14th April 2010

Confirmation by 20 March. See thread...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=267927

EST. S$130 (twin share) or $260 (single room)

or room with extra bed $390 (for 3 person)

Organisers:

Simon Soh & Kenny Seaw

Sweeper: Alvin Lau and Malaysian Bikers

Edited by SW9000

need some urgent advice. this morning tried starting my silverwing as usual, but halfway through the initiation, there was a clicking sound coming from the bottom left of the bike. can't start the silverwing at all after alot of attempts. the only light lit up was the red FI signal.

got no idea what is wrong with it and now its stuck in the carpark. anyone knows how to rectify it or know anyone whom i can contact to resolve the problem. please do reply here or txt me at 96430463, your assistance is greatly appreciated!

2002 - kips 150 FU****?

2004 - vespa sprint AR**4*T

2005 - honda cub c70 AZ*4*4M

2005 - yamaha X1 FZ***4M

2008 - honda fjs400 FBC***4E

I love the num 4..

Very very many many thanks to scoobydoo and sunlight. That helped confirmed my gut feel and ease my thought of possibly missing a "good deal". I'm actually in no hurry. So I'll continue to take my own sweet time looking for the right DeepBlueWing thats fated for me.

Bikes: GSX125, GSX250, GSX400, Vespa 150, CBX400, Burgman AN400, Steed 400, Next Target: FJS400SW ....

Cars: Daihatsu Charade 1.0HB, Proton Iswara 1.3HB, Suzuki 800HB, Toyota Corolla 1.3SWagon, Opel Astra 1.4SWagon,

. . . . . Kia Carens 1.8 MPV, Toyota Wish 1.8 NFL MPV, Next Target: Audi Q5 or A5 sports

Very very many many thanks to scoobydoo and sunlight. That helped confirmed my gut feel and ease my thought of possibly missing a "good deal". I'm actually in no hurry. So I'll continue to take my own sweet time looking for the right DeepBlueWing thats fated for me.

I thought sales forum got SW at 9k?

Not blue. Its got to be BLUE to be my DeepBlueWING. keke...