the slippage may not be due to worn clutch pads or bell. other possible causes might be:

* dust/dirt in the clutch assembly, impairing the grip... quite common especially after touring. some cleaning and sandpapering could do the trick.

* oily "stains" on the surfaces... when we get the transmission assemblies (transmission case, front variator asembly, clutch assembly, etc) cleaned, it is common that the mech uses petrol to wash down the grime/stains on the parts. although petrol tends to dry/eveporate off by itself after a while, there's usually a light tint of oily particles left behind. the griping surfaces (e.g. variator faces, clutch pads, clutch bell, etc) have to be thoroughly cleaned or slippage may occur due to "slippery" surfaces. some workshops wash the variators with water and soap after the petrol wash to clear away the oily stains.

* new clutch pads... the gripping face may need some "seasoning" before they will perform optimally, similar to new brake pads. just need some conditioning and time for them to season up.

lifespan of SW's clutch assembly? a lot depends on how you run the bike.

i change my first set of clutch pegs after almost 4 years, clocking many trips to boleh and tong-yum lands. still using the same clutch bell that came with the bike since production in 2006 now :thumb:

basically, the stock pegs/pads and bell are very durable if you take care of them. i usually have them serviced (stripped for cleaning & greased) every 10k kms or after each long haul tour to tong-yumland. as long as you prevent big dirt from scratching the face of the bell, the bell can last for many years.

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 22.2k

the slippage may not be due to worn clutch pads or bell. other possible causes might be:

* dust/dirt in the clutch assembly, impairing the grip... quite common especially after touring. some cleaning and sandpapering could do the trick.

* oily "stains" on the surfaces... when we get the transmission assemblies (transmission case, front variator asembly, clutch assembly, etc) cleaned, it is common that the mech uses petrol to wash down the grime/stains on the parts. although petrol tends to dry/eveporate off by itself after a while, there's usually a light tint of oily particles left behind. the griping surfaces (e.g. variator faces, clutch pads, clutch bell, etc) have to be thoroughly cleaned or slippage may occur due to "slippery" surfaces. some workshops wash the variators with water and soap after the petrol wash to clear away the oily stains.

* new clutch pads... the gripping face may need some "seasoning" before they will perform optimally, similar to new brake pads. just need some conditioning and time for them to season up.

lifespan of SW's clutch assembly? a lot depends on how you run the bike.

i change my first set of clutch pegs after almost 4 years, clocking many trips to boleh and tong-yum lands. still using the same clutch bell that came with the bike since production in 2006 now :thumb:

basically, the stock pegs/pads and bell are very durable if you take care of them. i usually have them serviced (stripped for cleaning & greased) every 10k kms or after each long haul tour to tong-yumland. as long as you prevent big dirt from scratching the face of the bell, the bell can last for many years.

Hmmm i did the cleaning of transmission using of petrol 2 days ago with the upgrade of the malossi torque spring. I did noticed that my clutch pads are little brownish. Unsure is that the reason which cause my clutch to slip. Btw any shop to recommend to service the clutch? And what's the price like to service it or replace it.

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!

Home sweet home!

Was super jam on Karak (towards Kuantan) and NSHW (towards KL). Lucky I not going that way.

Going south only jam at Seremban for a while.

Btw, anyone going Fraser Hill... I forgot to remind.

At the 8km Gap, MUST go slow on the turns.

The road slopes in opposite direction of your turn thus you may drift/slip due to low traction.

I was forced to keep my bike very upright.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

nope. my rollers are still inside the sw-t. trying to get e 35grs to install today, just to lower cruise rpm on the NSH for a malacca ride coming wed. e 29gr pictured is just for backup in case 35gr no stock.

still looking for a light full system. benchmark is the LV evo2 at 4+kg. stock is 10kg.(infor from lv webbie)

Hmm... why your rollers so heavy?

Standard SW-T should be 25g nia. *Lighter than the FJS's 28g.

SW works well at its best torque at 6.5k rpm, which is 120km/h.

Cruise around that speed will ensure bike is always ready for extra boost for overtaking.

Some more bike no stress.

Hmm... why your rollers so heavy?

Standard SW-T should be 25g nia. *Lighter than the FJS's 28g.

SW works well at its best torque at 6.5k rpm, which is 120km/h.

Cruise around that speed will ensure bike is always ready for extra boost for overtaking.

Some more bike no stress.

sw9000, wah ur 120km/hr is only 6.5k rpm? mine is almost 7k rpm. any idea how to reduce the rpm at high speed? heavier rollers will help?

btw my radiator fan comes on quite often, especially when i got home. is that usual? reserviour checked, coolant still there in good colour and temp bar is at 3 bars.

sw9000, wah ur 120km/hr is only 6.5k rpm? mine is almost 7k rpm. any idea how to reduce the rpm at high speed? heavier rollers will help?

btw my radiator fan comes on quite often, especially when i got home. is that usual? reserviour checked, coolant still there in good colour and temp bar is at 3 bars.

SW is normally quite hot becos everything is wrapped inside the fairing. Stopping too long at traffic lights or slow travel inside the MSCP will also activate the fan.

3 bar temp is normal working temp.

Btw, I normally move off (morning cold start) at 1 bar when I had my old FJS. Let the auto choke run its course and when rpm stable, it will be 1 bar.

As for speed, the 120km/h=6.5k rpm is standard setting.

Higher rpm means your bike is fitted with lighter rollers. Faster moving off but slightly more FC due to higher working rpm.

If you got used to current performance then don't change loh. If want try try then go for standard rollers.

SW is normally quite hot becos everything is wrapped inside the fairing. Stopping too long at traffic lights or slow travel inside the MSCP will also activate the fan.

3 bar temp is normal working temp.

Btw, I normally move off (morning cold start) at 1 bar when I had my old FJS. Let the auto choke run its course and when rpm stable, it will be 1 bar.

As for speed, the 120km/h=6.5k rpm is standard setting.

Higher rpm means your bike is fitted with lighter rollers. Faster moving off but slightly more FC due to higher working rpm.

If you got used to current performance then don't change loh. If want try try then go for standard rollers.

I see, perhaps I will give it a try on heavier rollers on coming full service. Btw if my rear wheel tends to spin a little while on main stand is it usual? Or do I need to check on my transmission.

Normal for wheel to spin a bit, especially during morning when cold.

Sometimes when the bell is dirty will also cause contact with the clutch and spin the wheel.

No worries. Just get it clean when you next service or intend to change rollers.

Note down all the modifications and services done. Then can discuss and compare when you free for meeting at Club House.

Anyone interested in this route?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]232750[/ATTACH]

I'll be interested if reversed from B to A.

I.e. 1 or 2 nights in Cameron Highlands then 1 night in Kuantan.

See whether can slot in a trip between the long ones?

Jan to Mar no more holidays. If want must apply 1 day leave:

Fri - Cameron Highland (apply leave)

Sat - Kuantan

Sun - Home

Alternatively, wait for Labour Day or Vesak Day in May 12. **Too near Songkran... may get 'caning' from CO for 'leaving' again so soon.

Normal for wheel to spin a bit, especially during morning when cold.

Sometimes when the bell is dirty will also cause contact with the clutch and spin the wheel.

No worries. Just get it clean when you next service or intend to change rollers.

Note down all the modifications and services done. Then can discuss and compare when you free for meeting at Club House.

i see, okie.. every thursday is the outing at rail way mall right?

I'll be interested if reversed from B to A.

I.e. 1 or 2 nights in Cameron Highlands then 1 night in Kuantan.

See whether can slot in a trip between the long ones?

Jan to Mar no more holidays. If want must apply 1 day leave:

Fri - Cameron Highland (apply leave)

Sat - Kuantan

Sun - Home

Alternatively, wait for Labour Day or Vesak Day in May 12. **Too near Songkran... may get 'caning' from CO for 'leaving' again so soon.

I can't do it in May 2012 as I'm doing a fly and ride/drive trip to Khao Yai. Ideally Feb/March.. But need to day 1 day leave lo.. Fusionjaz can't take leave til then. So, maybe just change it to a CH touch and go..

Wishing all rider a happy Chinese new year for those celebrating and happy holiday for the others.

Ride well,Ride safe & have a merry good year ahead.

Huat ah....!

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Happy Year of Dragons!!!

Me getting the iPhone 4s soon (non-camera):

1. Any comments on its performance as compared to Samsung Galaxy S2 or equivalent?

2. With low surfing (only mainly checking email), 16GB is enough right?

3. Data roaming can be de-activated manually so that cannot use for overseas (no $300k bill), right?

4. Battery lasts normal 3-days, yah?

5. Only some youtube videos cannot be watched?

Any other advises, comments, things to note, etc?

Sorry ahh. Blur old man trying to use higher tech devices...

David's getting the iPhone 4s soon (non-camera):

1. Any comments on its performance as compared to Samsung Galaxy S2 or equivalent?

No comment. But technical specs suggest the Galaxy S2 to be faster.

Yes. Enough liao. Unless you wanna upload movies, photos, lots of song, then you all need more.

3. Data roaming can be de-activated manually so that cannot use for overseas (no $300k bill), right?

By default data roaming is off. Yes, it can be manually adjusted.

Really depends on usage. There's ways you can minimize usage by turning off wi-fi, location services etc. Not sure about 4S, but my 4 can last around 2 days plus if I don't use heavily. That's when the battery is still new and powerful. i.e, I charge on the 3rd day. If I were to play game, go online, etc, have to charge everyday le.

Nope. Youtube video can be watched. You still login to your youtube account. I personally haven't encounter any problems..

Just remember to factor in the cost of bumper case and screen protector. Otherwise, not much to advise.. iPhone quite a common commodity nowadays. Enjoy!

almost same same like Bro YZ but fill in detail on the iP4S part.

Happy Year of Dragons!!!

Me getting the iPhone 4s soon (non-camera):

on Spec Galaxy S2 is better. just not hip.

16GB can store alot of Legal MP3 album & photo liao

By default is OFF but once u switch ON then must remember to switch back to OFF manually if u dun have DATA roaming.

Nope. if turn off DATA,Bluetooth,Wifi & location service will last 24-30hrs.turn on DATA,location service & it drop to 18-24hrs.use alot of web surfing and it drop to 6-12hrs

Full access base on your youtube account access.

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Thanks for comments on the iPhone.

Btw, any good or bad points between Samsung Galaxy Tab and iPad?

Was thinking of getting 1 for tour so can surf free web (wifi).

Your iPhone can surf net via wit i already ma.. still want to couple with one more hor..

Bonus ah?

Btw, if you are just talking about surfing net, I doubt there's any difference. Personally I will go for iPad as I feel that their OS are more stable as in, they still run smoothly after having many apps and long term usage.. But then again, I haven't really used the latest Samsung stuffs.

IMO, with regards to user interface, what I feel is, once you are used to apple interface, switching between Android and Apple OS can be confusing.. But that's really personal...

haha.

Thinking hard... might just let my wife and daughter get the iphone 4s.

I'll just continue to use my HTC Snap (idiot proof) but re-contract to get the Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus instead (at $398 with Sunsaver mobile plan).

Can't see myself fiddling with a touch screen phone while the downloading folders remain uncompromisable.

Heee..... I'm using it :-)

Sent from my Tab 7 plus using Tapatalk

Edited by Atlantic 200

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

hey people, any idea how much does a new stock variator pulley and a new clutch for Sw cost ? as i tot of replacing them since i just got my bike :D

If I remember correctly, the variator nearer plate without roller housing cost between 90 - 120SGD. The side with roller housing cost 200+SGD. As of clutch, I couldn't remember.