hi folks..

have a question here. really really interested to buy SG bikes but not sure what are the procedures, and fees related to it.

some terminologies like COE seems unclear to me. can anyone please help me?

Urgent. thanks. :)

• Replies 24

- Are you holding a SVP/PR/EP/etc?

- Buying as in buy to use or buy to export to M'sia?

- You are holding a M'sia/Sg/etc motorcycle license?

- What's with the urgency?

don't bother about COE. More importantly, are you a Work Permit/Student Pass holder? Also, will you be riding it in Singapore or exporting it to Malaysia?

If you're are permit/pass holder, you need to convert your license to a Singapore one to be able to buy insurance for it. Conversion will mean that you need to obtain a letter from JPJ, which also means that you have to give up your M'sian licence.

If you intend to export it to Malaysia, you'll have to obtain an Approval Permit (AP) from the M'sian Ministry of Trade & Industry. The AP alone will bump up the price of the bike to double S'pore prices. It's the "Buy Malaysian" policy will makes it cumbersome. If this is the case, I'd suggest that you get a Kawasaki bike in Malaysia instead. Kawa has a factory in Malaysia & their bike prices are much, much more cheaper than that of the other bike brands (Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, etc...)

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

thought of exporting it to malaysia. gonna use it here. urgent coz a fren of mine in Sgpore is going to let go his bike. hmm

AP. even if there's no intention to sell it back? anyway, how come some of these malaysians are riding sgpore plate bikes? i've seen quite a number of them riding sgpore bikes.

yea... kawa offers quite good price for their bikes. but it's limited to a few models onli, namely ER-6N and the new ninja 250R.. that's the problem.. :)

thought of exporting it to malaysia. gonna use it here. urgent coz a fren of mine in Sgpore is going to let go his bike. hmm

AP. even if there's no intention to sell it back? anyway, how come some of these malaysians are riding sgpore plate bikes? i've seen quite a number of them riding sgpore bikes.

yea... kawa offers quite good price for their bikes. but it's limited to a few models onli, namely ER-6N and the new ninja 250R.. that's the problem.. :)

as long as you have singapore driving licence(related classes),

u can ride SG bike legally(with valid roadtax and insurance).

I am also Malaysian riding SG bike :smile:

I used to balik kampung with my SG bike(require doc:valid roadtax and insurance cover note, addition:Logcard/"Geran" is optional )

Dude,

many have thought of doing it. Even my friends from Spitfire/Renegade riders from KL/M'sia have considered doing it but too much hassle and costs involved.

Those M'sians you see riding S'pore bikes are most probably work permit holders with valid S'pore licences. If not, it's not "kaw tim"..... Just waiting for Datuk Sam to stop them....

For M'sians, the disadvantage lies in bike ownership. For S'poreans, it's car ownership when you compare it to M'sian car prices...

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

Hi , i do have queries as well...

I am a Malaysia PR & would like to own a SG bike,

Most of time the bike will be on Malaysia soil, however i will visit SG occasionally as my job require me to SG monthly...

What r the procedures i must follow...

Thanks in advance.....

Hi , i do have queries as well...

I am a Malaysia PR & would like to own a SG bike,

Most of time the bike will be on Malaysia soil, however i will visit SG occasionally as my job require me to SG monthly...

What r the procedures i must follow...

Thanks in advance.....

Require doc when you are in malaysia:

-Valid SG licence(related classes)

-valid roadtax

-insurance cover note

-Logcard/"Geran" is optional

This interesting topic of singapore bike purchase leads me to the issue of 'lay up' bikes.

I am pondering the purchase of an identical old model bike from singapore, in lay up status, for the purpose of spare parts.

What is the procedure, or governing documentation that I have to fulfill to import the laid up bike? would appreciate some advice

y dont u just buy the spareparts only.

instead of buying a lay up bike.

i think u can get all parts from here..unless those old type which no one in singapore rides.

prob is u must buy from shop la at least get receipt to pass the sg custom.

malaysia custom just go 2nd link after midnight..should be empty nobody check.

if i was malaysian, id buy a SG bike(one that i couldnt get in my) and nearing its COE ending, bring to malaysia park at kampong. then use as kampong bike haha

2B ☑ 2A ☑ 2 ☑ 3 ☑ 4 ☑ 5 â˜

Thanks Kutrax n apitBIOL, the point here is overcoming the legality aspect.

Can i just bring over the lay up bike to Malaysia, with receipts and all, and of course subject to tax, etc.

Anybody done this before? Appreciate your experience/assistance

Can i just bring over the lay up bike to Malaysia, with receipts and all, and of course subject to tax, etc.

When you lay up (aka "Non-user Status") the bike, LTA requires that you:

- Have to leave the bike at that declared address that you've provided when you applied for layup.

- Reapply layup after it expires after a year (one application, one year) until the COE expires, or

- to get insurance and road-tax for that bike, once it's out of lay-up status.

So, answering your question there, there are no simple ways to proceed -- if let's say you choose to strongly abide by LTA's regulations, without exporting your bike to Malaysia.

Taking the bike away from the declared address even for ten minutes is consider a breach of LTA's regulations -- this is how they see it.

ok bros, im a malaysian and an EP holder wishing 2 own a sg bike what i noe is tat i need 2 convert my license. i hav oso some queries

1. im holding class 2b (under 250cc)and D (class 3 in sg) msia license . if i convert it 2 sg license, is the cc capacity remains for 2b?

2. to convert my license i need 2 take the basic theory test. whats the Final T.T. for?

3.im planning to take up class 2 license in sg. can i convert bak 2 msia license if im going bak to msia?

thanks in advance

Edited by vics_85
ok bros, im a malaysian and an EP holder wishing 2 own a sg bike what i noe is tat i need 2 convert my license. i hav oso some queries

1. im holding class 2b (under 250cc)and D (class 3 in sg) msia license . if i convert it 2 sg license, is the cc capacity remains for 2b?

2. to convert my license i need 2 take the basic theory test. whats the Final T.T. for?

3.im planning to take up class 2 license in sg. can i convert bak 2 msia license if im going bak to msia?

thanks in advance

B2 will become 2B (200cc below ONLY)

D will become 3

Note:

at early 80'an till end 80'an,

the B2 will straight away convert to 2B and 2A(201 to 400cc)

the law has been change after early 90'an.

i was notise that my cousin sg license, the passed date of 2B,2A and 3 were same (on 1987 +-), as he told me, that time really easy to convert:)

Special case,

if u hold the B(500cc above), u may have a chance convert to class 2 directly. Depend on your luck :smile:

I have a friend who just 18 years old and converted to class 2, BUT the insurance ONLY cover for the bike below 750cc(due to his age) :sian:

We just take the basic theory test ONLY :)

No problem :)

BTW, I've been receiving some emails on my hotmail a/cs about people wanting to buy at ST11 or ST13 or the FJR 13 from Malaysia.

The guy keep insisting that we just ride the biek to malaysia and if he likes it, he will pay cash for it.

I told him No, none of my friends that rides those bikes are in need of cash to do things this way.

On his last email, I realise that this guy is a nigerian living/studying/working in Malaysia. I seriously doubt his intention is to buy the bike for riding in Malaysia.

In the event you were contacted for such a transaction. Please make sure that the person buying your bike pays you in cold hard cash instead of a cheque.

Also, do not allow him or his friends to test ride your bike even if you've gone to Malaysia to meet him. Please also bring along a couple of burly friends to meet him.

BTW, I've been receiving some emails on my hotmail a/cs about people wanting to buy at ST11 or ST13 or the FJR 13 from Malaysia.

The guy keep insisting that we just ride the biek to malaysia and if he likes it, he will pay cash for it.

I told him No, none of my friends that rides those bikes are in need of cash to do things this way.

On his last email, I realise that this guy is a nigerian living/studying/working in Malaysia. I seriously doubt his intention is to buy the bike for riding in Malaysia.

In the event you were contacted for such a transaction. Please make sure that the person buying your bike pays you in cold hard cash instead of a cheque.

Also, do not allow him or his friends to test ride your bike even if you've gone to Malaysia to meet him. Please also bring along a couple of burly friends to meet him.

ignore this kind of email........

mostly is cheating:faint:

B2 will become 2B (200cc below ONLY)

D will become 3

Note:

at early 80'an till end 80'an,

the B2 will straight away convert to 2B and 2A(201 to 400cc)

the law has been change after early 90'an.

i was notise that my cousin sg license, the passed date of 2B,2A and 3 were same (on 1987 +-), as he told me, that time really easy to convert:)

Special case,

if u hold the B(500cc above), u may have a chance convert to class 2 directly. Depend on your luck :smile:

I have a friend who just 18 years old and converted to class 2, BUT the insurance ONLY cover for the bike below 750cc(due to his age) :sian:

We just take the basic theory test ONLY :)

No problem :)

thanks bro...really clear my cloud hehe....

• 13 years later...

Hi, I'm a wp holder working n staying in spore, I have malaysian driving license which was took after I joined work and get wp in spore, recently I was tried to convert my msian driving license it was unsuccessful, they said couldn't convert since I get my malaysian driving license first before get wp. I'm helpless now as I planned to enhance my career path after converting my malaysian driving lincense to singapore's one..can advise/guide me what should I do please to convert? Would be appreciated thanks in advance. 

On 5/4/2022 at 11:37 AM, Kugan said:

Hi, I'm a wp holder working n staying in spore, I have malaysian driving license which was took after I joined work and get wp in spore, recently I was tried to convert my msian driving license it was unsuccessful, they said couldn't convert since I get my malaysian driving license first before get wp. I'm helpless now as I planned to enhance my career path after converting my malaysian driving lincense to singapore's one..can advise/guide me what should I do please to convert? Would be appreciated thanks in advance. 

have to check with TP or LTA or driving centre.. most of us doesn't know the process..  So sorry about it...

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Many of us already in SG for very long time and not aware the current procedure aside from knowing it's bureaucracy involved. 

I actually want to do the opposite which is retire in Malaysia or elsewhere permanently lol. But x cekap Melayu so never even attempted to take the Malaysian theory test. 

Best resource for you is look for Malaysian blogs like these which have up to date procedures and real experiences to follow. 

https://hazeldiary.com/2020/10/guide-on-how-to-convert-your-driving-license-in-singapore/