Tot I'll post this, as many ppl asking for the Model etc...

NC23 is hurricane (J and K)

NC29 is Fireblade (L, N and R)

As for the difference, there are a number of difference but I'm too lazy to list them...:cheeky:

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab46/kaznad/NC29%20Manual/FrameNumber.jpg

So i guess mine is L model LOL.. Its the one without power cut right.

Cant wait to collect mine from excelcycle tml. Hope it doesnt giveme problems.

2 wheeled bicycle, Nsr Sp, Babyblade!

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

has anyone tried installing a fuel sensor or gear sensor for cbr400?

'07-08 '04 Honda Wave R 125

'08-13 '98 Honda CBR 400RRR

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'12-15 '99 Harley Davidson XL1200S (Sportster Sport)

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

'14-present '96 Harley Davidson FLSTF (Softail Fatboy)

'15-present '14 Kawasaki Z1000SX (Ninja 1000)

'16-present '72 Vespa Sprint VLB

hey guys,im selling my cbr.anybody wants?

I may hav a friend who is interested. Do pm wif a pic n contact no. Thanks

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

get L model lo, no power cut one. R model got power cut. N model i think power cut on meter. I'm using Motul, might change to others depending on review. Regarding Liqui Moly, how to say smooth ?

after changing e-oil..u can feel it...smooth gear change..engine doesnt sound rough. It has additives which reduces wear n tear of the engine parts

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

is it ? maybe i'll try that the next servicing, normally you all how many K service 1 time ?

it depends...5k or 4mths...cbr is a hot bike..so frequent e-oil change is gd

'11-12 '84 Paijfa F150

'13-15 '07 Kawasaki ZX6R

after changing e-oil..u can feel it...smooth gear change..engine doesnt sound rough. It has additives which reduces wear n tear of the engine parts

Yeah can feel the difference after changing oil... If eo is old you can feel it's harder to kick up and down the gears...

Cheap + fast = no good

Cheap + good = not fast

Good + fast = not cheap

>>>(wise words from ahduck)<<<

Those headers from Wemoto seems to be 4-1-1 type...

yea... but its pretti cheap for an aftermarket header... its like $400 SGD after currency conversion...

i do not have a link for the header. as for what i know, i dont think they check the header during inspection if the think of the process during your inspection for your bike.

i have seen fellow bladers changing at the bikeshop. i think it's ard 400++. for more info you can check out with ah beng from bikeworkz.

BikeWorkz

No.157 Kaki Bukit Avenue 1

ShunLi Industrial Park

Singapore 416013

Tel: 6747-6774

yeap... mostly check the end can... the aftermarket header sold at bikewerks is ard 400 ++ went there to asked oredi....

its been so long...

is it ? maybe i'll try that the next servicing, normally you all how many K service 1 time ?

According to manual, change every 6000km...

yea... but its pretti cheap for an aftermarket header... its like $400 SGD after currency conversion...

Actually what I meant was 4-1-1 type is more for top end.... If I'm not wrong you will lose the low end... Sg road I think we dun really need so much top end...

anyway can i ask.... after washing carb today... my idling at is unstable.... current idling speed is at 1.5 rpm.... can any one guide me on tis??

You mean it keeps jumping all over the place? Recommended is 1.2 - 1.4k rpm... Also remember to set it when your bike has already warm up... if you set when cold the idle rate will increase when warmed up.... if idle still not steady, then most prob the mechanic did not sync the carbs properly...

http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/9845/skeletonnc29.jpg

so after you fixed a switch and changed the coolant does it solved ur temp problem ?

and how much you paid for the switch and you change to what coolant ?

looks like ok . still under observation.

its free for the switch .

Actually what I meant was 4-1-1 type is more for top end.... If I'm not wrong you will lose the low end... Sg road I think we dun really need so much top end...

icic... hmm... that one haf to realli reconsider oredi... anyway... if cdi haf go gluey yellow stuff flowing out does it means the cdi is going to fail soon??

You mean it keeps jumping all over the place? Recommended is 1.2 - 1.4k rpm... Also remember to set it when your bike has already warm up... if you set when cold the idle rate will increase when warmed up.... if idle still not steady, then most prob the mechanic did not sync the carbs properly...

icic... tink i nidda head back to the shop to ask oredi.... cos no matter wat rpm i set to the needle will jump here and there esp during when its not warmed up... after warmed up its a bit beta... but still will jump here and there a bit... slightly... idling jus dun feel right for me....

its been so long...

Fellow bladers may I ask what r some common problems I mighht find with a 20 y/o cbr400rrl? Thnks!

lots haha... esp temp problems... like radiator spoilt... water pump and even the hoses.... fuel filter also can get problems... its just wear and tear la... if u get a lousy bike like me, u ll end up spending a lot to get it restored.... i spend oredi more den 5k++ on it oredi... just to get it restore and now new problems pop up again... hais... beta i dun sell my bike and do it swee swee... lol...

its been so long...

lots haha... esp temp problems... like radiator spoilt... water pump and even the hoses.... fuel filter also can get problems... its just wear and tear la... if u get a lousy bike like me, u ll end up spending a lot to get it restored.... i spend oredi more den 5k++ on it oredi... just to get it restore and now new problems pop up again... hais... beta i dun sell my bike and do it swee swee... lol...

i believe all old bikes will have prob , its just that whether its major prob or wear tear prob . its the passion that we keep us going !!!

Love is like the wind. You can't see it but you can feel it .:)

Fellow bladers may I ask what r some common problems I mighht find with a 20 y/o cbr400rrl? Thnks!

too many prob !! hahaha :D

Love is like the wind. You can't see it but you can feel it .:)

icic... hmm... that one haf to realli reconsider oredi... anyway... if cdi haf go gluey yellow stuff flowing out does it means the cdi is going to fail soon??

I think that the yellow stuff is the silicone that they use to seal the CDI, if the temp gets too hot, it will melt and leak one... I may be wrong but I dun think it should affect anything as I had a fren who changed new CDI and still leaked, however since you're having idling rate issues it may be related to the CDI also. Maybe you should get a good mechanic to check it out...:confused:

I have a 21yr old cbr400rrl and I dun have any problems...:cheeky:

Anyway most common problem for ANY CBR400 would be electrical problems and problems with the Coolant System. The rest is wear and tear issues...

now there's a aftermarket header for cbr400. i think should be tyga header where it's 4-1 instead of 4-2-1. the whole piece is chrome in colour.

legal ah.haha

Hi, Thanks for the advise. Tried before, even after squeeze out the air cannot fit it... The Arai raincoat quite big one... :cheeky:

Can pass inspection with these aftermarket headers (SS Chrome)?

I haven seen headers for NC29 from Tyga, only know they produce headers for NC35.

Could you post a link for us... Thanks...

haix dan bobian.put bag lo

my raincoat is my armour jacket. 2 in 1

carry it whereever i go

According to manual, change every 6000km...

wa 6k ah

think ppl max 5k go liao.haha

too many prob !! hahaha

I think that the yellow stuff is the silicone that they use to seal the CDI, if the temp gets too hot, it will melt and leak one... I may be wrong but I dun think it should affect anything as I had a fren who changed new CDI and still leaked, however since you're having idling rate issues it may be related to the CDI also. Maybe you should get a good mechanic to check it out...:confused:

hmmm... well went to 2 of my trusted bike shops and both say the same thing stand by a new cdi idling issue is related to the cdi?? nva tot of that...

its been so long...

haix dan bobian.put bag lo

my raincoat is my armour jacket. 2 in 1

carry it whereever i go

Wun it be too hot when it's not raining? :cheeky:

wa 6k ah

think ppl max 5k go liao.haha

Actually for myself I change at 5000km also, but then I think 6000km should be ok also... It really depends on your riding style, if you are someone who rides aggressively all the time, go thru the revs all the time, change EO every 5000km also not enough...:cheeky:

hmmm... well went to 2 of my trusted bike shops and both say the same thing stand by a new cdi idling issue is related to the cdi?? nva tot of that...

If I'm not wrong, CDI is the one responsible for the firing order of the spark plugs, for NC29 the order is 1-2-4-3 so if the CDI is faulty the timing may not be correct so that can cause the idling rate to be unstable as well? :confused:

EDIT: But then It's quite rare that CDI spoil lah, so I would wait and check for everything else before I change the CDI... Bikeshops want to earn your money, sure they will ask you to change this and that without properly checking.... I remember reading a list of things to check for pertaining to idling rate.... I'll post it once I find it...

Edited by kaznad