okok thanks guys for e response ! will look out for good bike before buying ! Any suggestions where to check or which part to look out for common damages?

I will reach for it no matter how high it is :cheeky:

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Yo guys! Just when u think everything is over, here comes the bomb. Collected my bike this afternoon after they say everythig gna be okay and they claimed thy change new water pump. So I rode to batok and bingo, that rubbish leaked again... Same color as b4..

So I called shop they say tml which will be later go back shop change radiator cap.. So I said okay and just now, just only, i was riding home from batok when I noticed my temp getting higher(hotter).. I started to slow down and maintained ard 60-70km/h and before I know it, there was this poof sound and the whitish liquid just came squirting out from the handle bar the carbs there and at the right side of my bike! I immediately stoppe by the side and off my engine ad it was smoking man..my visor got all the whitish stuff (lucky I cover visor) and my leather jacket also Kenna (lucky I wear jacket too) my right leg also Kenna.. Quite hot lol

Pushed one side call tow truck tml pick the bike and flag a cab home.

ZZZZZ

a faulty radiator cap may result in air going in which will cause air bubbles in the radiator can result in leaking. if the cap is alright, then it might be your coolant pipe from the radiator to the engine that break off.

it will be good to be at the spot when they open up so you can see which is having coolant stain so you can ask them to change for you. remember to check the thermostat which is a big round thing nearer to the rear suspension. if not they just change abit and try to smoke you out. it's quite painful to change all the pipes and thermostat as i had encounted it before.

not very sure if it's the situation you encountered. :cheeky:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150202650682721&set=a.305411597720.154988.690332720&type=1&ref=nf
a faulty radiator cap may result in air going in which will cause air bubbles in the radiator can result in leaking. if the cap is alright, then it might be your coolant pipe from the radiator to the engine that break off.

it will be good to be at the spot when they open up so you can see which is having coolant stain so you can ask them to change for you. remember to check the thermostat which is a big round thing nearer to the rear suspension. if not they just change abit and try to smoke you out. it's quite painful to change all the pipes and thermostat as i had encounted it before.

not very sure if it's the situation you encountered. :cheeky:

Oh lol okay yeah im gg down to the shop soon b4 the bike arrives and gna w8 there till my bike is ready .. gna look at what they are doing wit the interior.. The mech ytd say tdy ask me ride back gna change radiator cap but my bike didnt even make it... lol

2 wheeled bicycle, Nsr Sp, Babyblade!

WTF man.... sorry to hear such sh1t happening to your bike.... nothing more heartbreaking than a "new" bike causing you so much problems....

Hahah yeh its quite upsetting... but oh well.. hope it gets better...

try to avoid buying from shops... arronlovesyou (see his post on this page and the last) has had a lot of problems with his cbr after buying from shop...

i suggest buy from shop.

got warranty.

sure got people from here can recommend u a trusted shop.

i suggest buy from shop.

got warranty.

sure got people from here can recommend u a trusted shop.

shop will also give you only 1 month of warranty. some things must be spoilt after a month and can be deadly. when bikeshop take in bike, they dont look at the condition of the bike as long as they can move.

let's take an example. if you spent alot money and effort on your cbr and when you wanna upgrade, bikeshop offer you a price which is so low as compare to selling online. which 1 will you go for?

just my 2cents worth. :cheeky:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150202650682721&set=a.305411597720.154988.690332720&type=1&ref=nf
shop will also give you only 1 month of warranty. some things must be spoilt after a month and can be deadly. when bikeshop take in bike, they dont look at the condition of the bike as long as they can move.

let's take an example. if you spent alot money and effort on your cbr and when you wanna upgrade, bikeshop offer you a price which is so low as compare to selling online. which 1 will you go for?

just my 2cents worth. :cheeky:

True enough , they just delay in *repairing* your bike till the warranty is over for some shops . just make sure you don buy on pricing , paintwork and aftermarket pipe wise

Love is like the wind. You can't see it but you can feel it .:)

morning all..

True enough , they just delay in *repairing* your bike till the warranty is over for some shops . just make sure you don buy on pricing , paintwork and aftermarket pipe wise

yeapp... as they said they r shops.... shops r open for business... and business is to make $$ not charity... they onli look at profits... u cannot expect them to buy old bikes wif higher price and sell it cheap to u... all the outlook is just for show nia....

its been so long...

eh guys i noe its pretti wrong to post tis here... but can i noe how much is the fine for a speeding fine whrby speed is exceeding more den 41 to 50km wif 12 demerit pts??

its been so long...

eh guys i noe its pretti wrong to post tis here... but can i noe how much is the fine for a speeding fine whrby speed is exceeding more den 41 to 50km wif 12 demerit pts??

are you required to go to court? i got a friend exceeding 50km/h being fined $600 and suspended 4 months and another 1 exciting 101km/h, went to court and got suspended 6 months with $2000 fine.

Guys hhazha just came back from the shop.. spent whole morning there looking at them doing up my bike.. the mech flushed and flushed my coolant there then chnaged new radiator cap and the hose... so far so good.. hope nth goes wrong..

Btw, the coolant tank under the seat that one not supposed to fill up? Mech was saying it is when the main coolant tank heat up then some coolant will go into the behind that tank... is it true?

oo ! so anyone of u know of pple selling good condition cbr ? or any trusted shops? i may try both.. cus my sp i bought from shop and its excellent condition . realli need see heng suay hahas. but if got trusted shop / seller it will be much more better :D

I will reach for it no matter how high it is :cheeky:

oo ! so anyone of u know of pple selling good condition cbr ? or any trusted shops? i may try both.. cus my sp i bought from shop and its excellent condition . realli need see heng suay hahas. but if got trusted shop / seller it will be much more better :D

maybe u can buy the bike at the shop where u bought ur sp:)

im also interested in gettin 1...juz too troublesome riding w/ a heavy bag day in, day out...so i can clip on a tank bag..ive seen a universal tank bra..bt its imported frm uk...nt too sure if motoworld carries it

Bro, if i'm not wrong, no need tank bra to use tank bag...:cheeky:

Check this tankbag out... http://www.alpinestars.com/Tech_Aero_Tank_Bag/pd/c/183/np/183/p/610728.html

It uses strong magnet and straps to mount to the tank... Best part is, this tank bag converts to a regular bag pack with a simple unzip of the base layer... Only bad points about this bag is the price...:cheeky:

Haha, my stopping power not very good, even if stopping good, a worn our tire will still give way. So this is to remind people to NOT save on brakes, tire. But I got myself the HEL brakehose, pretty decent addition to my bike : )

:thumb: nice bro... Myself also using the HEL hoses, but feel not enuff stopping power, thinking of changing the master cylinder...

http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/9845/skeletonnc29.jpg

Fellow bladers. im so so so pissed and dissapointed.. after whatever things that was done to my cbr this afternn, i rode to batok and at a traffic light, my bike had smoke coming from under the left fairing... i was not sure how long it had been smokin but it was constant.. i quickly rode to the nearest bike ahop at CCK and reached there only to find my temp gg all the way up.. when i switched off my bike, the whitish liquid came out again! even after so many flushes, the whitish stuff still as thick as b4... ZZZ no choice call tow truck back to shop... called the shop and the mech ask me leave it at the shop while they do a swee swee one... better be..

btw, any of u here might knw what can still b wrong with e coolant system? changed water pump, radiator cap, the hose i not sure connect where one but is the one under the raidator cap quite thick one.. thankfully, until now havent pay a single thing EXCEPT for 3, yes 3 tow truck services ZZZ

Fellow bladers. im so so so pissed and dissapointed.. after whatever things that was done to my cbr this afternn, i rode to batok and at a traffic light, my bike had smoke coming from under the left fairing... i was not sure how long it had been smokin but it was constant.. i quickly rode to the nearest bike ahop at CCK and reached there only to find my temp gg all the way up.. when i switched off my bike, the whitish liquid came out again! even after so many flushes, the whitish stuff still as thick as b4... ZZZ no choice call tow truck back to shop... called the shop and the mech ask me leave it at the shop while they do a swee swee one... better be..

btw, any of u here might knw what can still b wrong with e coolant system? changed water pump, radiator cap, the hose i not sure connect where one but is the one under the raidator cap quite thick one.. thankfully, until now havent pay a single thing EXCEPT for 3, yes 3 tow truck services ZZZ

You mentioned they did not touch the coolant reservoir correct? So there are still "white coolant" in the system... I guess that's why you still see the white stuff maybe...

Maybe another hose burst? Where the coolant come out from this time? Btw bro are you very sure that they changed new water pump for you? Really doubt it...

Bro, if i'm not wrong, no need tank bra to use tank bag...:cheeky:

Check this tankbag out... http://www.alpinestars.com/Tech_Aero_Tank_Bag/pd/c/183/np/183/p/610728.html

It uses strong magnet and straps to mount to the tank... Best part is, this tank bag converts to a regular bag pack with a simple unzip of the base layer... Only bad points about this bag is the price...:cheeky:

:thumb: nice bro... Myself also using the HEL hoses, but feel not enuff stopping power, thinking of changing the master cylinder...

bro i think u can try other things before changing the brake pump.service ur brake caliper?brake disc and brake pad.it shld be enuff,brake pump like too over

hello all bladers

anybody wanna have a outing n come out chill??

do pm me...thx

i'm a cbr4 rider too haha

finally i can see a jurong cbr rider lol

hmm i nt that sure but im guessing engine oil and coolant mix together become white liquid issit? normally for the coolant system,we change all together to reduce the problems.for example,coolant hose change must change whole set,including small ones-total 11-13 i forgt already.i use to have coolant hose burst out,thermostat leak,coolant pump not working and leak.i change all and it works for mine.hose i try before try change 1 at a time.ended up u will see hoses bursting up soon one at a time.i kana 2 times frm the hose so i go change 1 whole set to save the trouble and extra cost

what is the total fuel capacity + reserve of cbr400 ?

is it 12 litre ?

13?

September 2007 ~ Honda NSR 150 SP

May 2009 ~ Honda CBR 400RR-R

March 2011 ~ Suzuki k7 GSXR1000

July 2014 ~ BMW S1000rr '14

You mentioned they did not touch the coolant reservoir correct? So there are still "white coolant" in the system... I guess that's why you still see the white stuff maybe...

Maybe another hose burst? Where the coolant come out from this time? Btw bro are you very sure that they changed new water pump for you? Really doubt it...

Coolant reservoir is the under the seat that one right? they did leh.. but still like that..... the water pump that one i wasnt there to witness it so i can only say thats what they claim they changed.. like for tdy, i was there, i know they changed the hose and the radiator cap..

bro i think u can try other things before changing the brake pump.service ur brake caliper?brake disc and brake pad.it shld be enuff,brake pump like too over

I had changed new master cylinder piston kit recently... calipers service before... but still not getting that biting power leh... :cheeky: Actually thinking of changing to those wave type of rotors dunno good or not...

finally i can see a jurong cbr rider lol

I also jurong rider leh... :cheeky:

what is the total fuel capacity + reserve of cbr400 ?

is it 12 litre ?

15 litres full tank

Coolant reservoir is the under the seat that one right? they did leh.. but still like that..... the water pump that one i wasnt there to witness it so i can only say thats what they claim they changed.. like for tdy, i was there, i know they changed the hose and the radiator cap..

Hose and radiator cap are cheap stuff so they wun mind changing for you... Water pump is around 160 I think, can't rem last time I changed was abt 3 yrs back... Anyway so I think maybe they din change for you, even got change maybe is 2nd hand one...

3 yrs back my mechanic spotted something on my bike... My water pump was working fine, but he discovered that the previous rider's mechanic had used silicon to seal the water pump, guess it might have been leaking then, what this meant was the drainage hole that was meant as a failsafe if either one of the two seals in the water pump leaked was totally covered and if the seal broke the EO and coolant will mix together...:giddy::giddy:

So I changed the water pump immediately... The following month I changed all the coolant hose as well... Since then I dun have any overheating problem.... Also I changed the fan switch to the modified type, where it will on the fan when the needle is 1/2 way instead of the stock switch which will open at 3/4 i think....

Lastly for my own personal preference , I always use Maxima Coolaide coolant... I dun trust all the other brands... Reason being this is the only one I know of which is magnesium safe, as I believe these old bikes coolant system will have magnesium parts and if the coolant is not magnesium safe the parts may start to corrode...

Hose and radiator cap are cheap stuff so they wun mind changing for you... Water pump is around 160 I think, can't rem last time I changed was abt 3 yrs back... Anyway so I think maybe they din change for you, even got change maybe is 2nd hand one...

3 yrs back my mechanic spotted something on my bike... My water pump was working fine, but he discovered that the previous rider's mechanic had used silicon to seal the water pump, guess it might have been leaking then, what this meant was the drainage hole that was meant as a failsafe if either one of the two seals in the water pump leaked was totally covered and if the seal broke the EO and coolant will mix together...:giddy::giddy:

So I changed the water pump immediately... The following month I changed all the coolant hose as well... Since then I dun have any overheating problem.... Also I changed the fan switch to the modified type, where it will on the fan when the needle is 1/2 way instead of the stock switch which will open at 3/4 i think....

Lastly for my own personal preference , I always use Maxima Coolaide coolant... I dun trust all the other brands... Reason being this is the only one I know of which is magnesium safe, as I believe these old bikes coolant system will have magnesium parts and if the coolant is not magnesium safe the parts may start to corrode...

Oh, tml i will go qns them! keep asking if they did change a new water pump.. Damn sian collect bike ride abit then have to send back ZZZZ..