I'm wondering whether there are some fake mobile phone in the market?

Incident that make me feel it does:

Last Saturday, my girlfriend and I intended to get a Sony Ericsson W980. I tried to find its retail price from internet and it costs around SGD 500 in market. I did do a research in JB and found that it costs RM 900-1000 to get a new one. So we attempted to try our luck in Sim Lim.

We asked for 3 shops and the results were as following:

Shop A: SGD360 for a new one include GST

Noticed: Tested use. Orange light in original w980 doesnt appear in the set shown to us and Thai language on keypad.

Shop B : SGD365 include GST

Noticed: Taiwan 'Ping Yin' on the keypad instead of 'Chinese Bi Hua'

Shop C : SGD425 include GST

Noticed: Didn't try.. Just asked for the price..

So, are they fake? Or non-duty paid set. They confirmed to us that they are not export set when i asked about it..

But how come they are much more cheaper than what i get from internet? And why there are different keypad signs for different shops?..

Be careful when buying a phone to avoid cheated..:thumb:

• Replies 34

Last Saturday, my girlfriend and I intended to get a Sony Ericsson W980. I tried to find its retail price from internet and it costs around SGD 500 in market. I did do a research in JB and found that it costs RM 900-1000 to get a new one. So we attempted to try our luck in Sim Lim.

Noticed: Tested use. Orange light in original w980 doesnt appear in the set shown to us and Thai language on keypad.

So, are they fake? Or non-duty paid set. They confirmed to us that they are not export set when i asked about it..

But how come they are much more cheaper than what i get from internet? And why there are different keypad signs for different shops?..

Most likely those are "Export Sets" and I believe those are not covered by local distributors (Warranty). Do a quick check by opening up the battery compartment and check for IDA sticker and the warranty seal sticker.

i think so but all happened too fast.. Not enough time to check properly as they just like trying to persuade u to buy as fast as possible.. But lucky din buy it. So now still searching for w980.. lol..

n please b careful when gettin those hot phone models cos i've encountered once when a shop tried to sell a 2nd hand phone but said it was brand new den i bought it w/o knowing den went bck the nxt day make noise n refunded my money.

http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll189/omarmukthar/2.jpg

Dude, there is many look-alike nokia, Iphone, SE etc etc from China selling at fraction of original pricing eg. Iphone for less than $200. Cos I bought one myself as a spare phone to play play. :D Another phone I bought was this Nokia 8800 at $180 only!

Just a warning, for unknowning customer to pay for original phone. Plus frens in china told they found phone look-alike selling at less than 1000rmb in China GZ.

Fake phone are buyable and usable, just dun get con by retailers.

Edited by gentoro

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

i think so but all happened too fast.. Not enough time to check properly as they just like trying to persuade u to buy as fast as possible.. But lucky din buy it. So now still searching for w980.. lol..

Brand new set of W980 is approximately S$420. Make sure the sale person breaks the seal infront of you. If not, you have every right to reject that particular set.

n please b careful when gettin those hot phone models cos i've encountered once when a shop tried to sell a 2nd hand phone but said it was brand new den i bought it w/o knowing den went bck the nxt day make noise n refunded my money.

Refer to my Bold point above.

Dude, there is many look-alike nokia, Iphone, SE etc etc from China selling at fraction of original pricing eg. Iphone for less than $200. Cos I bought one myself as a spare phone to play play. :D Another phone I bought was this Nokia 8800 at $180 only!

Just a warning, for unknowning customer to pay for original phone. Plus frens in china told they found phone look-alike selling at less than 1000rmb in China GZ.

Fake phone are buyable and usable, just dun get con by retailers.

How to tell a fake?

Simple, the first thing you will notice are the low prices then by the poor quality (Box & Handset)

Ok lah, the electronic and graphic are really of lower quality than the original but still usable plus it has more capabilities than the original also which is also the selling point eg. Iphone = Tv tuner, Nokia = dual sim card etc etc

Quality also not bad wor, the feeling of holding the 8800 is quite solid and sliding is smooth. Iphone is lighter but same size and compact. Good for me chatting overseas also. :D

Car:

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

So bro, can u get refund for it? Cuz some shops r quite guai lan one le.. They'll try to give a lot excuses de wor.. :sian:

Brand new set of W980 is approximately S$420. Make sure the sale person breaks the seal infront of you. If not, you have every right to reject that particular set.

Refer to my Bold point above.

How to tell a fake?

Simple, the first thing you will notice are the low prices then by the poor quality (Box & Handset)

That's cheap for 420. I found that around 360 as stated above, but when i check the phone roughly , those sets shown by different shops have different keypad sign.. If they r china make, those shopseller should have told me. In add, there is no funny model name on those sets.. Just keypad sign different n orange light btm changed.. :dozed:

Ok lah, the electronic and graphic are really of lower quality than the original but still usable plus it has more capabilities than the original also which is also the selling point eg. Iphone = Tv tuner, Nokia = dual sim card etc etc

Quality also not bad wor, the feeling of holding the 8800 is quite solid and sliding is smooth. Iphone is lighter but same size and compact. Good for me chatting overseas also. :D

It cant be denied that some 'fake' phones r even better than original or branded phone. But the main problem is we cant just pay the same value as those original phone make to get a fake one.. For the quality.. hmmm.. i think it's a betting lo.. lol.. If bought a low Q one, then have to visit to the shop often then what for buying those problematic phone set.. lol..

Aiyah, thats why I like to point out. Know your stuffs before proceeding to any phone dealer or sls shop. I know and so I bought iphone for 140 and 8800 for 180, cheaper than any lousy nokia with no contract btw. If its can last me for 3-6 months, i will be happy already.

Just be aware and on the look out for dealer selling you stuff claiming its original and selling it at premium original price. Because china made hp are way too good as a imitation product.

Car:

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Some dealers re-con used phone to look like new, so be careful. Sometimes when you open the battery cover, you can tell from the battery or dirt at the back.

As for China phones, just becareful, you pay for what you get. I have heard of melting batteries, leaking batteries and unsafe discharges. So if you use a China phone, it would be a good idea not to put the phone in your 'front' pants pocket.... could be dangerous, if you know what i mean.

Doops

Yeah, lolz... Me also awaiting my power adaptor or my phone to blow up everytime i charged them. :D

Car:

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Some dealers re-con used phone to look like new, so be careful. Sometimes when you open the battery cover, you can tell from the battery or dirt at the back.

As for China phones, just becareful, you pay for what you get. I have heard of melting batteries, leaking batteries and unsafe discharges. So if you use a China phone, it would be a good idea not to put the phone in your 'front' pants pocket.... could be dangerous, if you know what i mean.

Doops

lol.. Think for next generation.. lol.. I think mostly people like to put hp in pant pocket lo.. only ladies like to put it in their handbags. But i thought China phones nowadays r more secured? Come with warranty somemore..

I bought another china phone $120 - originally doesn't look like any local phone but authentic Made in China - :D I pass this phone to my mum after playing with it - got TV, Mp3, FM plus SD card compatible. She got all her desired hokkien ring tone now with 3" inch LCD.

Car:

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Steady.. Hokkien song summore.. lol.. Nowadays phone r cheap but the quality is really worth for the money lo.. I bought that w980i, look cool, but in fact not really good to use lo.. too lag.. somemore lcd yellowish one.. My gf seems not too satisfied on it. haha..

Maybe I brought in the trend for the china mobile phone at my local neighbourhood - lolz :D . Currently, my neighbourhood's shop China's phone all out of stock. Alot of aunties and uncles at kopitiam using china phone to watch tv eg. Yi Nan Wang or Ai! Including my mum also go lim kopi with TV phone in her hand.

Car:

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

1 advice, for buying phone don't ever go to sim lim square/tower or lucky plaza.

i can recommend u all go check online.

iposh

mobilesquare

whymobile

just google search for the link and u would get it.

don't let others cut your carrot...

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/8610/photo440f.jpg

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/1641/photo459.jpg

WTB: Wave 125 NF125MD coverset/ speedometer sensor . Let me know the details, Thanks

Har noh.. Some being cut liao still dunno ownself is water fish. lol..

Agreed china phone cheap n lot functions compared to branded type.

Lot 'people in little india' also use this kind of phone even at construction site, open speaker loud loud watch bie nie movie.. Enjoy sia..

Don't buy anything from Sim Lim,They like to cheat people and just force you to buy.It's a ****ed up place

1) do homework b4 go down buy.

so when they come up with ridiculous price, u can straightaway give them e "wtf?!?!" face and they noe cannot play play with u.

2) go to bigger shops.

some shops are really there to do biz, to give a good impression and to retain customers. Some others are just there to con tourists (i ever heard of $10k digital camera parts). :faint:

3) dun buy anything they "suggest" or "push" to u.

Get wat u wan. if dun haf, try other shops.

Dun fall for "Wa! so hot, u dun wan ltr dun haf liao"

"That model dun haf le, y dun u try dis? better and cheaper!" Ya right! :angry:

1) do homework b4 go down buy.

so when they come up with ridiculous price, u can straightaway give them e "wtf?!?!" face and they noe cannot play play with u.

2) go to bigger shops.

some shops are really there to do biz, to give a good impression and to retain customers. Some others are just there to con tourists (i ever heard of $10k digital camera parts). :faint:

3) dun buy anything they "suggest" or "push" to u.

Get wat u wan. if dun haf, try other shops.

Dun fall for "Wa! so hot, u dun wan ltr dun haf liao"

"That model dun haf le, y dun u try dis? better and cheaper!" Ya right! :angry:

Yeah! what you say is exactly right.

Went to find PS2 at sim lim again. Popular air filter lo.. (KNN).. Prices quoted very big different lo. One shop quote me 200 for non-mod. another shop quoted me 150 for non mod. mod for 195. Is it acceptable? Looking for one but dunno where can get cheaper neh.. Sim Lim shopseller like shark lo. anyhow ARMMMM.. chop n eat liao..

i bought mine in one of the handphone shop in Chong Pang (Yishun) @ $335.

everything looked as per normal..

no chinese strokes or thai strokes on keypad..

and the box came with valid warranty..

i suppose this is okay? :thumb:

I'm juz a HELL RIDER..

not a RACER..

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Sdfqh9JQaFc/SN0Qw719EII/AAAAAAAAAOg/6LQyg3a28Vg/s400/funny-signboard-xnepali.jpg

interesting...