I wonder whether this is available here by BS?

http://www.motorcyclistonline.com/motorcycle_recalls/01/honda/index.html

Recall ID # 07V359000 - ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

Recall Date

AUG 15, 2007

Model Affected

2002 HONDA VFR800

Summary

ON CERTAIN MOTORCYCLES, THE FRONT FAIRING SUB-HARNESS (SECTION OF THE WIRING HARNESS) TRANSFERS THE ELECTRICAL GROUNDING LOAD OF THE HEADLIGHTS, FRONT TURN SIGNALS, INSTRUMENT PANEL, AND VARIOUS RELAYS TO THE MAIN WIRING HARNESS VIA AN 18-PIN CONNECTOR. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, THE GROUND WIRE TERMINALS INSIDE THE CONNECTOR CAN OVERHEAT, RESULTING IN MELTING OF THE CONNECTOR AND A LOSS OF POWER TO VARIOUS CIRCUITS.

Consequence

AS A RESULT, A LOSS OF CRITICAL LIGHTING OR ENGINE POWER COULD OCCUR WITHOUT WARNING, WHICH COULD CAUSE A CRASH.

Remedy

DEALERS WILL INSTALL A RE-DESIGNED SUB-HARNESS. IF DAMAGE IS FOUND, THE MAIN WIRING HARNESS WILL ALSO BE REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT YET PROVIDED AN OWNER NOTIFICATION SCHEDULE FOR THIS CAMPAIGN. OWNERS MAY CONTACT HONDA AT 1-866-784-1870.

Potential Units Affected

Notes

HONDA (AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO.)

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
  • Replies 111

This is dangerous .. as most Viffer dun come website to take alook . Let warn them verbally if we know any of such 2002 model owner

I will not want to regret in my life when i look back when i am old man.

Actually the recall is for 2002-2005 VFRs.

Anyway I had got a reply from Boon Siew, it's not applicable for Singapore bikes.

Just as I expected from them.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

hi viffers,

Anyone got any contact for honda Japan to enquire about the recall for both the wire harness and the alternator as well ? did a search and visited their web but still cant find any .:giddy:

Thanks in advance

S.L.O.W.-SimpleLifeOnWheels

Dear all,

I went for a day trip over Malaysia today.Bike electrical went total haywired! First it was the horns went die.(Think its a blown fuse), then the signals lights went die(blown fuse again), follow by blown headlight blub and lastly the taillight went die.. :(

With all this problems,the bike still can start at one crank without and problem..

Any one encounter this before too?Any solutions? Will be bringing back the shop as I just got from them last 2 weeks... :faint:

Past rides are already history....

Current ride: FW VFR 800 ABS

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s254/james9295/DSC_0200.jpg

Dear all,

I went for a day trip over Malaysia today.Bike electrical went total haywired! First it was the horns went die.(Think its a blown fuse), then the signals lights went die(blown fuse again), follow by blown headlight blub and lastly the taillight went die.. :(

With all this problems,the bike still can start at one crank without and problem..

Any one encounter this before too?Any solutions? Will be bringing back the shop as I just got from them last 2 weeks... :faint:

see your mechanic and change your electrical harness loh:dot:

Aiyoh?? That jialat ah?? Change the whole harness will cost you a bomb. Perhaps you should start on the smaller stuffs first or check the service manual???

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

Aiyoh?? That jialat ah?? Change the whole harness will cost you a bomb. Perhaps you should start on the smaller stuffs first or check the service manual???

There is a recall for all 02 to 05 VFR models in US for the wirings harness and connectors.

http://www.vfrdiscussion.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=35937&st=0&p=452915entry452915

I had checked with Boon Siew and their reply was no such recall thingy. :faint:

Use a voltage meter to check your rectifier for its output voltage.

Should not be more than 15v.

Anyway the Vtec VFR has alot of problems with electrical and melting wirings.

Harness connectors, fuse box connections, 30amp battery connection etc. Just check through them annually and replacing with bypass cables if necessary.

And yes, I also email BS on the september 07 recall, same answer as what you got. :(

to blow fuses, your electrical current must be in excess. And for that to happen, usually means there is a short circuit somewhere in the harness. Open up fairing (esp the head cowl) and trace all the wires that you can see for any expose wires touching the frame. Or even maybe a melted connector.

Email guay_hansen @hotmail.com

My blog at snowparang.blogdrive.com

http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/79866156/medium.jpg http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/95749015/original.jpg

Use a voltage meter to check your rectifier for its output voltage.

Should not be more than 15v.

Anyway the Vtec VFR has alot of problems with electrical and melting wirings.

Harness connectors, fuse box connections, 30amp battery connection etc. Just check through them annually and replacing with bypass cables if necessary.

And yes, I also email BS on the september 07 recall, same answer as what you got. :(

Think will have to re-do the whole harness to be safe...Just hope BS will wake up and do the recall.I am planning to get a voltmeter,in the meantime,can only use my muti-meter to check..so far so good..less than 15V at 5k rpm.

to blow fuses, your electrical current must be in excess. And for that to happen, usually means there is a short circuit somewhere in the harness. Open up fairing (esp the head cowl) and trace all the wires that you can see for any expose wires touching the frame. Or even maybe a melted connector.

True..Its some exposed wirings at the taillight section that the pervious owner mod.It shorted the fuses.Had that rectified already.

There is a recall for all 02 to 05 VFR models in US for the wirings harness and connectors.

http://www.vfrdiscussion.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=35937&st=0&p=452915entry452915

I had checked with Boon Siew and their reply was no such recall thingy. :faint:

If there are enuf occurence of the same nature among users in Sg, it is possible to approach BS as a group to ask for a recourse; failing which there is CASE to approach, and then the internet and the media - tho one should not be confrontational about it ya. after all, we are viffers :cool:

We of course are smaller comsumers compare to others countries.How can they told us no such thingys...So many recalls like LBS recall,wiring harness recall,alternator recall...Its abt safety issues recalls worldwide.

I dun mind we all arrange a date then go down BS as a group with all the recalls doc from overseas..see what they have to say...

We of course are smaller comsumers compare to others countries.How can they told us no such thingys...So many recalls like LBS recall,wiring harness recall,alternator recall...Its abt safety issues recalls worldwide.

I dun mind we all arrange a date then go down BS as a group with all the recalls doc from overseas..see what they have to say...

unfortunately, it's a recall by American Honda Motor Co., Inc.

which isn't quite the same as a worldwide recall.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

unfortunately, it's a recall by American Honda Motor Co., Inc.

which isn't quite the same as a worldwide recall.

You should assert yourself more, and the fact that the recall happened in the US is more ammo to support yr case. Like I say, if there are enuf of you with similar problems, you can exert collective pressure to get it fixed. If it cannot be amicably resolved with BS, make a lot of noise across the internet until Big Red gets red in the face.

• 9 months later...

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/373/codes1yt5.jpg

http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/5489/codes2fh9.jpg

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/6728/codev5af0.jpg

any one can enlightened me... my FI indicator light kept blinkin even after 33 blinks... :faint: bike still running fine..

what could be the problem?

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg

According to the 800FI (98-01) service manual, you can try reseting the diagonostic mode and restart the diagnostic again, re-counting the blinks. My downloaded service manual says that if it counts to 20, yr ECM shold be replaced.

I point to note is that my manual only provided diagnostics for up to 20 blinks whilst yours shows up to 33 blinks. But then again if its running fine, the electrical gremlins must have struck again. haha.

I need to go home and check my original factory manual to see if it has 33 blinks diagnostic.

the manual i downloaded from website oso shows up to 20 only.. the 24-33 blinks, i got it from 1 of the thread in VFR forum.. i forget which 1 i went last time.. but it is either VFRD or VFRWorld

ok.. i got it figured out... the blinks only work for me when i put in the jumper wire to the service connector...

now it blinks 1 long and 9 short blinks... meaning i shd look at 19 blinks, it turns out to b

- loose or poor contact on ignition pulse generator connector

- open or short circuit on ignition pulse generator connector

the symptoms shd be "engine does not start" but mine running fine leh.. :dot:

Edited by loufu

can try to remove the fuse n put it back again if yr fi blinks again. Becoz it stil store yr previous memory of yr fi problems n not yet erase off. Max it can store up to 2 memories....

2002 Mar - 2002 May (NSR125 Hornet)

2002 May - 2003 June (Phantom 200)

2003 July - 2008 Sept (CB400 Spec 2)

2008 Oct - 2011 Mar (VFR800 Gen 6th Vtec)

2012 Nov - 2013 Apr (VFR800 Gen 5th Non-Vtec)

2013 Feb - 2014 Feb (CBR929 Firebladdie 2002)

2011 Feb - ?????? (DRZ400 SM K9) & 2011 June - ?????? (FZ1000S Gen 1 2002)

The electricity in my vfr cuts off when the portion of the front brake hose near the brake reservoir is shifted (eg during rotation of handlebar). As a result the engine also dies. Any one has experience with this problem before?

Edited by Wormz

"If you can't go fast with 90hp, 900hp won't help you" - Bob Hall

The electricity in my vfr cuts off when the portion of the front brake hose near the brake reservoir is shifted (eg during rotation of handlebar). As a result the engine also dies. Any one has experience with this problem before?

Correction... the cause of the problem is not with the brake hose. Rather it is the connection between wires and a sensor(?) mounted on the right side of the headstock

Check the wiring from the ignition. The brake hose may be shifting it, causing intermittent disconnection of the power.

Email guay_hansen @hotmail.com

My blog at snowparang.blogdrive.com

http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/79866156/medium.jpg http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/95749015/original.jpg

I found that the problem was due to the connection of the wire to the item circled in red shown in the picture below. After fiddling with the wire i managed to prevent the electricity from cutting off with every turn of the handlebar. Is the black item part of the HISS system?

http://singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=91196&d=1234872451

p1020681.jpg

What is your VFR model?

If Vtec. it could be:

Check the male/female connectors on the LHS fairing/radiator.

Most of the pins should have been burnt out by now.

Make some wires bypass or replace the sub wire harness.

This set of wire and connectors control the ignition and HISS.