• Replies 3.6k

O.o I didn't know motorbiking can be so romantic Lol

Wait till you see some of them molesting their bikes! Hahaha....

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

lol you guys ah

mine last very short leh...within 8 secs , get out of carpark the sound will disappear already...i own the bike for 2 years already and haven change tensioner before...so maybe its about time haiz

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

What's the mileage like Zhi Ming? Chain tensioner should be checked/replaced every 20,000km or so, according to other PKs' posts.

From Day 1 till now ... 22116km , ok thurs morning must go planet for a consultation liao :sweat:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

Hey guys...need to ask something again.

Today while riding home, I decided to not listen to songs and hear the engine out. While travelling, I heard a very fast ticking sound. The ticking sound stops when I'm slowing down or in stationary position.

The "Tiki tiki tiki tiki..." ticking sound of the bike sounds like the ticking sounds engine gives off while cooling down, but it's way faster. What could be the problem? :(

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/pp169/lawlietvashie/Vashie4.jpg

Class 2B - 29th March 2010 [30th April 2010 - Phantom]

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Although I hear songs when riding, I only use those lousy ear piece and on it at minimal volume till I can barely hear it when I'm stationary. It's mainly used to keep the disturbing wind noise away. Wind noise distract me more than low volume songs. :o

The piston problem on my bike makes the engine deafening, and ear plugs would reduce too much outside noise, so wear ear piece.

The ticking sounds worries me though. Sounds like time bomb. :lol:

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Let's get back to the excessive ticking... It may be an indicator to check the engine oil level immediately. Running with low EO levels will give you that sound at speed and it's especially noticeable at high temperatures.

If you can post when's your last EO change and the last time you got a top overhaul or full servicing, we can have more clues.

And yeah, try to listen to the bike more, a Phantom is -very- communicative if you know what to listen for!

Ah chong checked my bike last friday. He checked my EO and told me the EO need to change at 1500km this time round, subsequent rounds 2000km. The ex owner did servicing before passing on to me...that was around almost a month ago. It only did around 400km since the last EO change. Should I just get the EO changed?

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

just changed it.. Eo not that expensive also..

am going to ah chong on thurs morning ;D

Anyway...what kind of EO is recommended for phantom? Mid-range pricing and suitable for normal point to point travelling. :?

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Anyway...what kind of EO is recommended for phantom? Mid-range pricing and suitable for normal point to point travelling. :?

i using chex right now.. not bad... $16 bucks.. check out the EO thread duude

TA200 has a 4-stroke engine; TA150 has a 2-stoke engine.

Of course the FC will be different.

@ Vashie - for EO and since you're not racing on highways trying to hit top speed of 155kph, Motul 3000 (the mineral one) is good. $10 only!

As for the ticking sound from the valves, don't bother with it unless it's excessively loud; reason being on hindsight if you haven't heard the sound before you'll automatically sound an alarm bell in your head.

I had this when running in my rebuilt engine and some new sounds became audible around 300km. Some mechanical noise from a naked engine is normal!

If in doubt listen to someone else's Steed or Shadow. Better yet, the 750cc versions. Their piston noise is quite incredible.

To add to Mr Koh's FC review, it's possible to get up to 45km/l on a TA200 (if you ride gently and don't try to speed), and possible to reach 170kph on a TA150.

As for power wise the 200 has greater low end torque, and the 150 2 stroke vice versa. So in FIBUA the 200 is equal to the 150 :D In the end it all depends your tuning.

just changed it.. Eo not that expensive also..

am going to ah chong on thurs morning ;D

Hey jtzx , what time are you going ? i am going around 11am bah...change tensioner and rear brake pad

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

Hey jtzx , what time are you going ? i am going around 11am bah...change tensioner and rear brake pad

haha... maybe around same timing as you.. see you there dude.. i got lesson at 2pm ma.. so need go in the morning

ohhh I might bump into a few of you since I probably need to continue operating on my little bike... :sweat:

see u there dude..

recently my bike will have this sound when moving off after just started ...

1) switch on engine

2) Move off

3) clutch in and off throttle let the bike freewheel, and can hear a "tack-tack-tack" sound from the front , sounds like something is gonna drop off from the bike...

4) after 5-8seconds , then sound disappears and all is normal

Any idea whats this sound? I hope its nothing serious... :?

recently my bike oso gt tis tick tick tick sound..in the end i found out is my set of keys knocking on the metal.haha

Does anione noe hw it feel to install straight handle bar?

You need to know how it feel to install? Well, if the handlebar is yours, your installing it, you'll feel excited! But if you're the mechanic installing it, it's just another handlebar!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

recently my bike oso gt tis tick tick tick sound..in the end i found out is my set of keys knocking on the metal.haha

Lol

You need to know how it feel to install? Well, if the handlebar is yours, your installing it, you'll feel excited! But if you're the mechanic installing it, it's just another handlebar!

some of our knights (kmjoe) using straight bars. Abit drag look lorh. Not much different i guess:)

u will be leaning a little forward instead of relaxing backwards... control wise its not much of a difference... but do feel shioker/"fiercer" as ur not same as other phantoms and the time n effort u spend to change the bar with ur bike...

the reason i changed mine coz devilL once say i look uncomfortable/awkward with stock handle bar as my arms r long and seems like im having problem with the pull back, so i decided to take his short riser + get a s4 handlebar, fixed everything myself and happy with it :angel: i did thought of getting scrambler's handlebar as its longer and i guess it would give u a fiercer posture too...

lol... joker:cheeky: