Last night i was doing constant 80km in KPE tunnel. AS the speed limit is 70km.Almost reaching my exit, i tried to over take a van beside me.

And i think i did 82. I saw a bright light flashed.

I max only +15kph is there any chance to appeal or waive it off if i kenna caught for that?

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

• Replies 17

Like your sig, wise men say, only fools rush in.

You should have hold your patience and maintained your speed of 70km till out of tunnel. Patience patience in KPE tunnel. With the latest state of the art technology in the tunnel, even racing beast like ferrari or porshe becomes a quiet tame cat.

Appeal is always possible. what reason do you have?

prepare to face the music. dun think can waive unless u have a really good excuse.

2006 - NSR SP

2009 - Spec III

2011 - R6 '08

http://image.automotive.com/f/newsandupdates/racing_news/122_1103_progress_for_ducati_marlboro_team_as_qatar_test_kicks_off/32274961+soriginal/122_1103_03_o+valentino_rossi_ducati_marlboro_q

Ah... the heart-stopping white flash in the stupid tunnel where my first demerit points in 15yrs of riding was given at.

Anyway, if you are using the overtaking excuse to appeal, better work out a damn solid reason why you die die have to overtake, and bear in mind they can see your surrounding at the point of time (so no imaginary "aeroplane" you trying to avoid or something). Good luck to you.

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Thanks for the advice. If i were to give an excuse, i was in the 2nd lane and wanted to do my exit? will that work? thanks. hope they just give a warning damm. i dont want my first demerit points.. zzz

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

their reply would be

Dear Sir/mdm

We thank you for your letter. Under the bla bla bla road regulation, all motorist should/must adhere to the road speed limit. Overtaking should be done within the road speed limit etc etc

Its very difficult to contest while it happened in KPE tunnel. If it had happened some else on a road, you may have your ground. With lots of ground to play around. In KPE, where the speed limit sign in bright lights, you cant say you did not know that the speed limit is 70km/h

their reply would be

Dear Sir/mdm

We thank you for your letter. Under the bla bla bla road regulation, all motorist should/must adhere to the road speed limit. Overtaking should be done within the road speed limit etc etc

Its very difficult to contest while it happened in KPE tunnel. If it had happened some else on a road, you may have your ground. With lots of ground to play around. In KPE, where the speed limit sign in bright lights, you cant say you did not know that the speed limit is 70km/h

Yup.

Best would be to suck it up and ride carefully for a year to clear the points.

And check your speedo's accuracy... :cheeky:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Ianie, dont be sad. Perhaps you can still give a shot to appeal. No harm trying. Perhaps you can give reason like you wanna to shitz or urine. If your bike is old, you can say the bike suddenly had power cut and you try to throttle to prevent it from power loss. Didnt know that the power came back in that quick

Or even can pin imaginary fault on that van. Was the van on lane 3? or lane 1? If its on lane 1, you sense amiss that a van is a travelling on overtaking lane that it should not have in the first place etc.

heheheheh

Like my malaysian friend said, the tp can take my points! but i want my money back! Maybe you want your point and give tp the money instead?

Juz :pray: Hard tat never kene Bro. Coz i gt Snap before too when doin My Exit. Like Usual Happy like Hell coz outta Stupid Tunnel, so juz had 2 Open a bit 2 many then Kena the White Lite. But Lucky for me so far so :thumb: It happen ard the 3rd Week aft Opening of the Tunnel

NSR 150 SP [FR5682H]: 7/7/04 - 15/11/05

GSX R400 RR [FL5988H]: 28/10/05 - 6/8/08

X1 Supreme [FBB4408Y]: 7/4/07 - 21/3/08

GSX R1000 K3 [FW9829A]: 27/9/07 - 20/2/08

GSX R1000 K7 [FBB??Z]: MIA o_O

GSX R1000 K8 [FBC????M]: 22/2/08 - 21/6/2013

125ZR [FBC 3720X]: 6/8/08 – 19/3/11

FJR 1300 ABS [FBC 3723M]: 21/6/2013

Sparks T135 [FBB 8146B]: 24/4/2015

i try on kpe everyday... because my work place is at ubi and i stay punggol. I try max in kpe on my 600cc ride not more then 85km.... actually at 85km/h is on high risk liao. I usually go down to 75km/h when i see the speeding camara sign. Till the end of my exit at the tampines road i start to speed up from 85km - 90km is ok

where u exited? mayb someone just high beemed?

alternatively, u can try to find out from EDDIES. or, just wait...

https://www.psi.gov.sg/NASApp/tmf/TMFServlet?app=SPF-PTD-EDDIES-II&Reload=true

Edited by skateboy

Guess maybe my eyes played tricks on me, i checked eddies after 3-4 days. no offences.

The speed camera flash inside tunnel cannot be mistaken one... even if a few cars flash highbeam using HID together also wont be as heart stoppingly bright. And the flash is only a very short pulse type, that fills the tunnel with white light.

(...speaking from painful first hand experience :cry:)

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009