here comes the first problem of my bike..

something very wrong.

170km and i;ve to switch to Reserve.

I've opened up the cap, i could still see quite a lot of petrol.

Maybe later go pump to full tank.. see how much litres can be filled it.

Suspect my bike drinking petrol like water..

P.S: Reserve is just switching the knob to the middle right?

Nike - Just do it!

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

IIRC,

when seated on the bikey,

tap switch positions:

down is normal operation, forward is reserve and back is prime

when looking at the switch directly:

6 o'clock - normal operation

9 o'clock - reserve

3 o'clock - prime

Reserve its da arrow pointing 9 o clock 1. If u see it nearer.. its label RES - reserve .( 9 o clock ) ON - normal (6 o clock) And..... forgot da 3 letter word liao.. its like PRB or something ( 3 o clock )

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

if ur bike fuel comsuption is kinda bad~ try to go guan hoe n adjust the jettings...juz tell the towkay...very jia you ah!! he will know...hehehe

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by R3sistor@Oct 5 2004, 11:05 AM

yeap. Can;t get it wrong for the reserve postion i guess since its in the middle.

tink you are abit confused here.......when your tap pointing down means you are at normal(ie open) when the tap points to the front of ur bike it means reserve n when point to the back of your bike it means prime.....there is an arrow on you black tap switch .

And yes, tuning your bike might help as well.....

Just went to guanhoe to go my carb wash and tune.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

i got back my daytona racing sound again....:cheeky:

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

Originally posted by ProjectD@Oct 4 2004, 08:00 PM

Guys, how does the DOHC system work for the suzuki gsx 400r? and how does the VVC work?.:confused:

Double Overhead Cam

A double overhead cam engine has two cams per head. So inline engines have two cams, and V engines have four. Usually, double overhead cams are used on engines with four or more valves per cylinder -- a single camshaft simply cannot fit enough cam lobes to actuate all of those valves.

The main reason to use double overhead cams is to allow for more intake and exhaust valves. More valves means that intake and exhaust gases can flow more freely because there are more openings for them to flow through. This increases the power of the engine.

:btw: what is VVC ar?

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

TnT how much u paid for tunning n wash?:confused:do u noe tat it'll cheaper if u dismantle the farring urself :thumb:

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by TnT@Oct 5 2004, 06:04 PM

Double Overhead Cam

A double overhead cam engine has two cams per head. So inline engines have two cams, and V engines have four. Usually, double overhead cams are used on engines with four or more valves per cylinder -- a single camshaft simply cannot fit enough cam lobes to actuate all of those valves.

The main reason to use double overhead cams is to allow for more intake and exhaust valves. More valves means that intake and exhaust gases can flow more freely because there are more openings for them to flow through. This increases the power of the engine.

:btw: what is VVC ar?

VVC means Suzuki's VC-system (Variable Valve Control)......:smile:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Originally posted by R3sistor@Oct 5 2004, 06:18 PM

btw, i'm curious, what's the "PRIME" switch for?

If I'm not wrong, it allow "free flow" of petrol to your carb... even when engine is not on.

If u point it face down, the petrol will not flow into the carb if u nv start your bike...

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

Originally posted by R3sistor@Oct 5 2004, 08:52 PM

ic.. so that's how it works.

Need to know guys anyone of u can tell me PLS..

how many KM u travelled before yr bike hits reserve?

for me.. is abt 280km average before hitting reserve...

Travel arnd 90km on Eways and maintaining rpm of arnd 5-6k

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

Thanx roger.

Anyway, my fuel cork was faulty. Explains why it hit reserve so quickly. Travelled only 170km only and bike starts jerking, switch reserve it won't work. DAMN. had to buy a tin from petrol station to refuel my bike.

Rode down to motorshop.. Lucky there was a 2nd hand fuel cork from a scraped GSXR.

Will monitor my milage per litre now.. if it still hits reserve at 170km.. something is damn wrong with my bike..

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by roger@Oct 5 2004, 09:21 PM

wow....mine only reach around 230 to 240 then hit reserve liao.....

i try going on reserve from Bugis all the way to JB....should be around 20pluskm....

Originally posted by IceZ@Oct 5 2004, 06:35 PM

TnT how much u paid for tunning n wash?:confused:do u noe tat it'll cheaper if u dismantle the farring urself :thumb:

i paid $35 for the wash and tune....as there no bikes in the shop for them to repair so they just push my bike in then up the ramp and start to dismantle liao...

then me and susu go sing.post. for lunch....

maybe its my first time there then they all do for me loh...

Anyone here wanna buy Motovation stainless steel barend at $45?

Dun know can get cheaper if get more or not ler.....But i'm getting....anyone wanna join in also?

Originally posted by ProjectD@Oct 5 2004, 07:05 PM

VVC means Suzuki's VC-system (Variable Valve Control)......:smile:

Variable Valve Control - This exclusive SUZUKI feature is to provide the low-end to mid-range torque needed. An aggressive camshaft profile is capable of delivering more HP. Adjusting intake valve timing boosts engine output to deliver the strongest possible acceleration.

Correct me if i'm wrong.....:sweat:

Originally posted by roger@Oct 5 2004, 09:21 PM

wah...mine also 230 - 240km only~ even i travel 90km/h rpm 5-6...weird weird weird leh :giddy: different model different intake meh? impossible hor~ :cheeky:

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by He@d|3sS^b|k3r@Oct 6 2004, 12:59 AM

wah...mine also 230 - 240km only~ even i travel 90km/h rpm 5-6...weird weird weird leh :giddy: different model different intake meh? impossible hor~ :cheeky:

Mine oso sama sama

Originally posted by TnT@Oct 5 2004, 11:00 PM

Anyone here wanna buy Motovation stainless steel barend at $45?

Dun know can get cheaper if get more or not ler.....But i'm getting....anyone wanna join in also?

Wah...y u wan to get so ex one? anything special abt it?

Originally posted by TnT@Oct 5 2004, 10:57 PM

i paid $35 for the wash and tune....as there no bikes in the shop for them to repair so they just push my bike in then up the ramp and start to dismantle liao...

then me and susu go sing.post. for lunch....

maybe its my first time there then they all do for me loh...

which motorshop did u when to..?