Can someone very kind enough to help me with this accident matter?

Last thursday, because i wanted to avoid a car, i jammed brake and skidded and lost control of the bike and hit a taxi from the rear. We parked at the side of the road and talk things out. Seriously i dont know what to do at all, everything is done by the taxi driver. Since the damage to the taxi is MINOR, i told him that i can pay him for the damages, but he insisted on going straight to make a accident report,

The damages are :

Broken rear lamp

Scratch or abrasion on the black Bumper

But the Extra damages claimed by the taxi driver are :

Bumper Damage

Dent on the boot (which i find it very ridiculous as my handlebar is lower than the dent) I also saw a big dent on the other side of the boot which definitely not cause by the impact of my bike. Ive called the incharge of smrt taxi and he told me that, surveyor check and quoted the estimated damages are $1200 plus $280 for the rental of the taxi since its in the workshop for 2 days. I find this VERY VERY ridiculous as minor damages sum up till $1200 + $280 rental. I believe the taxi driver make more damages since during the surveyor was surveying the damage,i was not around.

He just told me to wait for call or letter from insurance. I didnt react anything as i was totally lost that time. The driver even told me that this happened to him before and he was claimed $10000 for the other party damages. Now im very worried that the would take this opportunity to claim back what he lost previously.

Can someone VERY kind please advice me what to do? Im totally lost and very depressed at this moment. I'll post a few pictures as evidence of my part.

DSC00841.jpg

DSC00842.jpg

DSC00843.jpg

Edited by Secret

Please Please Ride Safely and Think of Others when You want to passby other Riders at fast Speed.....

• Replies 14

1. do not forget to make a police report within 24 hr and state your case clearly.

2. Do u also have pic of your bike of wat happened (prevent other to claim serious damange , if you bike..is ok...) The dent dun look serious... with only broken lamp

3. The damage which i see is not much serious... but it is what u said..on your statement..

4. I once had an accident with smrt bus...they claimed about 3 to 4 k... including the loss of business when bus in workshop for repair...

5. Talk to the company and taxi driver nicely...and tell him.. u have heavy financial commitment... work on the soft approach

6. Again the things u say in your statement..... is an art...

7. For the $1200, it is about there... most inflatted charge is about there....

but taxi daily rental is around 90 to 105 dollars...not sure how many days it spent in the workshop....?

8. did u sent the pic u take to your insurance company?

Edited by lv3338

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

u consider lucky sia..

taxi claim around 1.2k plus 280 very low.. but i agree with lv3338.. how come 280 for rental sia? 2 days only.. my friend hit taxi bumper, boot bend..really deep bend.. total claim almost reach 5k.

actually you no need to worry so much.. just refer to your insurance company they will settle everything for you. gd you took pictures of the damaged. at least got evidence if the taxi driver want make money show more damage.

Do Not Speed

I once had a crash on my bicycle with an SMRT taxi along Sims Avenue. I was on the left side and suddenly, the fu_cking passenger opened its rear left door. In fact, the taxi had just picked up the passenger and the taxi had already started to move off by about 5 metres, so how would I expect the passenger to alight again so soon? It turned out that the driver is changing shift and wouldn't want to go to the destination of his passenger and hence was asked to leave.

The impact caused its left rear door frame to bend and close with a gap. I myself got injured on my right shoulder. Whilst on the spot, I called the police but the fu_cking officer at the other end said that they are all busy at that time and "if it's nothing serious, then just settle by yourself on the spot". It seems that we are paying taxes to feed these civil servants and when the need arises, they would just abandon us.

Anyway, we exchanged our particulars, even with the passenger. Next, we went to the nearest GP clinic and I was given 3 days MC. The consultation fee was paid by the passenger.

The following day, I made a police report, despite both the driver and the passenger had pleaded with me not to on the day of the accident. The idiotic thing was that within a week, the fu_cking SMRT sent me a letter to claim for over S$2k for the repair to the damage to its taxi, loss of use by the driver, taxi rental and even with photos attached. I was even told to pay the amount by 2 weeks, failing which interests will be charged to me. They had to write directly to me because bicycles don't have insurance cover.

Of course I don't give a damned and just ignored this fu_cking letter because I'm not so stupid as to pay them without the verdict from the police's investigation. Actually, I had even thought of mailing them some pieces of those seventh (ghost) month paper currencies instead.

Anyway, some 2 and a half months later, the verdict from the police came and both the driver and the passenger were summoned S$200 each. What the fu_ck to SMRT if I had been cowed by their letter and paid them the S$2k which they had demanded. They thought I am a green horn in such issues.

So, it is very important on how you write in your police report as it has a definite impact towards the eventual verdict of the outcome. Never mention anything that is not in favour or disadvantage to yourself. By not mentioning doesn't imply that you are denying responsibility.

Edited by Winners

The best advice is always to work with your insurer to deal with it. These types of questions come up every month and every time the answer is the same.

If a third party claim is being made against you:

contact your insurer,

give them all the evidence you have and your version of events,

ask them to deal with it,

send whenever any more papers come to you from the claimant to your insurer immediately,

co-operate with your insurer as needed.

He who hesitates is lost!

The best advice is always to work with your insurer to deal with it. These types of questions come up every month and every time the answer is the same.

If a third party claim is being made against you:

contact your insurer,

give them all the evidence you have and your version of events,

ask them to deal with it,

send whenever any more papers come to you from the claimant to your insurer immediately,

co-operate with your insurer as needed.

TS, just follow the advice given to u here and we r sure everything will go smoothly

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

Taxi driver most of the time will not settle on the spot if the accident is 100% not their fault....they prefer to go straight and meke report and claim against other party insurance. Then u'll see ridiculous claims for damages and not suprisingly as equal ridiculous (whiplash,trauma etc..) claim for medical and loss of income claim.

and worse of all insurance company will just pay them and jack-up ur insurance premium...

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

That's explains Taxis non-chalant driving on the road. They're not afraid to get banged, they get banged, they get richer!

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

Can someone very kind enough to help me with this accident matter?

Last thursday, because i wanted to avoid a car, i jammed brake and skidded and lost control of the bike and hit a taxi from the rear. We parked at the side of the road and talk things out. Seriously i dont know what to do at all, everything is done by the taxi driver. Since the damage to the taxi is MINOR, i told him that i can pay him for the damages, but he insisted on going straight to make a accident report,

The damages are :

Broken rear lamp

Scratch or abrasion on the black Bumper

But the Extra damages claimed by the taxi driver are :

Bumper Damage

Dent on the boot (which i find it very ridiculous as my handlebar is lower than the dent) I also saw a big dent on the other side of the boot which definitely not cause by the impact of my bike. Ive called the incharge of smrt taxi and he told me that, surveyor check and quoted the estimated damages are $1200 plus $280 for the rental of the taxi since its in the workshop for 2 days. I find this VERY VERY ridiculous as minor damages sum up till $1200 + $280 rental. I believe the taxi driver make more damages since during the surveyor was surveying the damage,i was not around.

He just told me to wait for call or letter from insurance. I didnt react anything as i was totally lost that time. The driver even told me that this happened to him before and he was claimed $10000 for the other party damages. Now im very worried that the would take this opportunity to claim back what he lost previously.

Can someone VERY kind please advice me what to do? Im totally lost and very depressed at this moment. I'll post a few pictures as evidence of my part.

At a moment at times like this,Taxis will try to claim extra.it is their way of saying "extra earning",do take note they do have kakis that can make and pinpoint stories so detailed that will make the all the fingers point to you .so do take note.

http://media.techeblog.com/elephant//ul/5966-450x-ims_2.jpg

This Ain't No SaTellitE Navi..It FraGS You The 2mile RadIus

That's explains Taxis non-chalant driving on the road. They're not afraid to get banged, they get banged, they get richer!

in other words they're prostitutes

Sept 06 - Feb 08 = TZM

Feb 08 - April09= CB 400 Version S

May 09 - Oct 10 = Harley XR1200

Oct 10 - Oct 12= KTM SMT 990

Oct 12 - Oct 13 = Tmax 500

Mar 13 - Jul 13= SYM maxsym 400

Jul 13 - Sep 15 = Getz 1.4

Oct 15 - Now = Burgman 650

Never ride faster then ur guardian angel could fly

try private settlement next time. it would be the best solution which can be settled fast. going through insurance claim all that would take a thousand years. always remind yourself no matter what. don't ride near taxis. lol. siao one. anytime can stop.

HONDA NSR 150 SP [sold]

HONDA RVF 400 [sold]

HONDA CBR 400RR [sold]

YAMAHA X1 [sold]

YAMAHA R1 [sold]

SUZUKI HAYABUSA GEN 2 [Current]

2 days of (Rental + Lost of income) = $280

Having yourself only abrasion and not run over by lorry = $Priceless

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Countless encounter with reckless Taxi... 1 day most probably, get a camera and scout for these kind. And report to TP / LTA ...

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

SMART TAXI AGAIN !!!

Really dislike SMART TAXI !! eee errr