Sometime back, I had deposit S$1000 for a second hand bike at one changi motorshop without proper checking and asking as i was first time getting a bike.

Upon collection, the bike was dusty, battery flat cannot start the bike, tyre poor friction so i wonder isit safe to go on road. They say if change both tyre need additional $100+.

Shouldn't they touchup and service before handing to customer?

Shouldn't the total amount of $3300 include touchup and service?

I gave up on the bike and i wanted to refund my deposit but they don't allow.

I really seek your help to tell me what should i do. ahhhhhhh!!!

LICENCES

class 2B: 07sep06 (cg125, nsr150, cbf150, x1r, ta200)

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

class 2A: 27may08 (revo, vtec1, majesty250)

class 2: 08jun10 (fz6n, GSX-R600L4, tmax530)

• Replies 39

bro u cant say that.. when shop sells you a 2nd hand bike usally they would do up the bike for u and make sure that it is functioning well.. its a deposit.. u cant take it back cause u sign some papers already i reckon.

:gun:"lovin it"

XR400:cheeky:

Sometime back, I had deposit S$1000 for a second hand bike at one changi motorshop without proper checking and asking as i was first time getting a bike.

Upon collection, the bike was dusty, battery flat cannot start the bike, tyre poor friction so i wonder isit safe to go on road. They say if change both tyre need additional $100+.

Shouldn't they touchup and service before handing to customer?

Shouldn't the total amount of $3300 include touchup and service?

I gave up on the bike and i wanted to refund my deposit but they don't allow.

I really seek your help to tell me what should i do. ahhhhhhh!!!

money wont come back 1..

i suggest u just do up the bike till its ridable..

why didnt u get 1 off the forums?

money wont come back 1..

i gave up the bike but the lady boss say i can use the deposit on another bike when i come back. her word isit trustworthy ?? i dunno

i regret getting one from the SBF used bikes. i dunno how to check so i tot get from shop is better. they will do everyting for me. i was so new to think that. haiiii

LICENCES

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

money wont come back 1..

bro u cant say that.. when shop sells you a 2nd hand bike usally they would do up the bike for u and make sure that it is functioning well.. its a deposit.. u cant take it back cause u sign some papers already i reckon.

i oso tot that shop will touchup before handing over but i was wrong. so unlucky to walk in that shop.

i noe deposit i can't get back but i rmb the lady boss say can use back $1000 on another bike when i come back. in my mind i thinking, whu will dare to come back again to ur shop. poor service poor attitude

LICENCES

If this is your first time buying a bike, then you gotto get someone experience to help you. Else you gonna pay your "school fees" in the process of buying a bike. It's the same thing as playing mahjong.

Happy shopping.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg
i gave up the bike but the lady boss say i can use the deposit on another bike when i come back. her word isit trustworthy ?? i dunno

i regret getting one from the SBF used bikes. i dunno how to check so i tot get from shop is better. they will do everyting for me. i was so new to think that. haiiii

i suppose its a 2b bike...

however bad the condition of the bike u bought on the forums, its cheaper to do up in the long run compared to smthg u get from a "hei dian" with regards to the 3k u have to pay in the long run

the price of 3k a norm for shops though

take this as a lesson learn ba. check, request den sign. not e other way round. understand tat its very eager & excited to get ur bike need be cool down abit & think it through...

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

I feel for u man ... U shld hav brought someone experienced with u .. Or else kena chop by Friday the 13th ... So i suggest juz pimp ya bike lor ...

Be humble on the road at all times coz u'll neva noe wen u need any rider's help...

when u go choose ur new bike, pls bring a few experienced friends who know about bikes to select and help you spot check the bike that you are interested in.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

What you see is what you get when buying a 2nd hand bike, unless you have it written in black & white that they are going to service/replace parts/respray etc.

well, i totally agreed. Get from he forum , view the bike and read up on the threads, how to inspect and wat to look out for in the bike. Safer than buying from the bike shop. Cuz bike shop always "eat" in bikes at wat so ever condition u duno too.

well, Save the $$ is one thing. By spurging on a problematic bike is another bigger thing

2001-2002 Aprilia RS125 FP **8 P

2005-2005 Aprilia Y2k FX 8*22 G

2008-2009 DNA Piaggio FY *49* U

2nd-hand bike. Not brand new. Dont expect new tyres, battery, rims, handlebar, yadayadayadayada new bike.

that is out of courtesy. and sympathy.

hey guys!! listen..we got another motherF who has got alot of time on his side and is going around threads looking to flame ppl...instead of offering words of wisdom or at least SHUT THE F UP, this fella chose none of the above and instead LOVES irritating others. 1 GOOD example is on a thread of a guy selling his Phantom 'cos he wana raise $ for his mom's operation.Guess what did F say? that the seller was trying to cook up a sympathetic story? How F*****G insensitive can this joker be???

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

take this as a lesson learn ba. check, request den sign. not e other way round. understand tat its very eager & excited to get ur bike need be cool down abit & think it through...

tks bro. i agreed that i was too excited for my 1st bike. i dun even have any legal document from that "hei dian" such as receipt for deposit.

but that shop oso verbally promised me that i can use back my $$ for another bike when i come back next time. shld i go back ma??? i really would like hear ur opinion.. XIEXIE Ni

LICENCES

it is ok bro. take it as a learning experience. next time when you buy bike bring experience people along to test the bike else bike shop will just chop you down.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

The problem with some shops selling 2nd hand bikes.

you see the bike, you like, you pay the money. Then go and collect the bike. Takes you a while to realise that something doesnt look or feel the same about the bike.

Maybe takes you a while to realise, the metal bars on that engine dont look the same, the shine of certains parts of the bike dont look the same.

And probably when you check later, you may find a old spark plug or something just look terribly old.

This happens.

Looks like the shop offer you a chance for another bike. So its up to you whether you want to give up the deposit totally.

Feel sorry for TS..What you should have done is..Bring a more experience person along..Check the bike..If somethin is wrong make known to the saleperson..Talk and ask..Make a deal..Sometimes you can get a change of 2nd hand tyres which are still in god condition and etc..Get him/her to write it in black and white with the company chop and signature of the person..Do all these before signin any documents..But since you're offered a choice to swap another bike..This time round do the necessary checks..Bring someone with you..$1000 is many many $$..Don't let it get "burned"..:sweat:

Take it as a lesson learn bah...1st time buying bike better bring someone wif experience along wif u...if not sometimes kanna chop carrot de sia...

Ride Safe bro !

Ur $1k wont burn, go get another bike from them. Tyre worn they are not obliged to change unless u asked them. But battery flat cannot start, this is ridiculous, this one you shld ask them to compensate you with a new batt. If not how, just enough juice to start and ride home, after that cannot start and stuck at ur house?

You must squeeze the price down, becos you still need some money to do basic servicing, becos u cant tell if previous owner done it or not before selling. Change engine oil, oil filter, chain & sprocket, spark plugs, air filter etc. Some even more jialat one, you may even need to service the suspensions, fork oil, steering cone, carburettor, etc.

Usually always bring an experience fren help you check. Cos that time i also didn't bring an experience fren and got a very bad deal. Hmm.. Loads of probs after getting the bike, spend more then $1k getting the engine to work well.

this is wad happen to many of us.. shop con newbies eh?! lesson learned don put any deposit to bike shop =(

2007-=Honda NSR 150sp=-FR

2008-=Honda CBR 400=-FP

2008-=Suzuki GSXR 400=-FK

2009-=Yzf-R1 2004=-FX

2010-=Yzf-R1 2010=-FBE

2011-=Suzuki Gsxr 600 K7=- FBB

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z110/ahcongie/merge2.jpghttp://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z110/ahcongie/merge3.jpg

really thanks to all replies.. i will listen to all ur advise..

LICENCES