Hi guys, had a accidental starting of this month.. hospitalised 8 days with i think more than 3 months MC... I had a bike shop ; recommended by my lawyer, to repair the bike. Currently unable to ride and is at bike shop. With the time frame of MC expected, can I cancel the insurance temporailly? How about road tax? Heard from my friend able to do it!! Also wondering, is it easy to make claims from NTUC? Meaning my insurance is NTUC, opposite party NTUC too. I am not at fault for I was travelling on straight road and veh came out of minor road without stopping (there was a stop-line).

• Replies 15

You are able to "cancel" ur insurance temorarily. NTUC Income will refund u 85% of pro-rated unused portion, unless u got a replacement policy , otherwise its the 85% ruling.

For claims part, i would recommend u leave everything to your appointed lawyer. Whether u win the case or not, even if u r in the right, all this claims process takes ages. Don't expect to get anything within 3-4 mths.. Lots of documents need to be submitted such as police report, specialist report (extent of ur injuries etc etc) and bike damage claims and reports just to name a few .

Thanks for the advice.. sOng..

And yoshi too...

Will call Ntuc on monday to temp cancel...

oh last question, if i temp cancel bike insurance, will not affect my insurance claim to the other party hor?

Originally posted by teng_fred@Oct 30 2006, 03:05 PM

Just called NTUC.. Can't cancel my policy unless I have a buyer or bike sold. Anyone to help me on this? Or the operator don know?

That was wat the man over the counter told me regarding on cancellation of policy, regardless of any conditions.

U might wanna go down personally to NTUC Income to clarfiy.

Oh ya , won't recommend u to lay down ur bike either as u need to go for another inspection to make ur bike road worthy again. Too much trouble for just 3-4 mths of lay down.

Originally posted by -sOnG-@Oct 31 2006, 02:20 AM

That was wat the man over the counter told me regarding on cancellation of policy, regardless of any conditions.

U might wanna go down personally to NTUC Income to clarfiy.

Oh ya , won't recommend u to lay down ur bike either as u need to go for another inspection to make ur bike road worthy again. Too much trouble for just 3-4 mths of lay down.

Ok got what u mean.. thanks for the advice..

his inspection is getting near so it better layout get back teh road tax refund rather then just waste the money .

http://sticker.eepz.org/albums/digital-print-album/lap_top.sized.jpg
Originally posted by 2_wheeler@Nov 1 2006, 07:01 PM

your insurance is tired with LTA road tax. So once cancelled, insurer will inform LTA about it.

Bro, thanks for the info... Do u mean that once I cancel my insurance, LTA will be notified and I do not need to submit any form to inform them? Once my bike is repaired, can I park it at the public carpark even if road tax and insurance canceled?

Originally posted by teng_fred@Nov 2 2006, 02:17 PM

Bro, thanks for the info... Do u mean that once I cancel my insurance, LTA will be notified and I do not need to submit any form to inform them? Once my bike is repaired, can I park it at the public carpark even if road tax and insurance canceled?

you need insurance before you can own the bike.

your insurance must cover the full period of the road tax.

you cannot cancel you insurance just because you are not using it.

to cancel you insurance you need to transfer of ownership or lay up the bike.

before you lay down you bike, you need the following document:

1. valid insurance

2. valid inspection cert.

3. pay road tax.

Originally posted by 2_wheeler@Nov 4 2006, 03:50 PM

you need insurance before you can own the bike.

your insurance must cover the full period of the road tax.

you cannot cancel you insurance just because you are not using it.

to cancel you insurance you need to transfer of ownership or lay up the bike.

before you lay down you bike, you need the following document:

1. valid insurance

2. valid inspection cert.

3. pay road tax.

Thanks bro.. think for all the trouble involved to lay up the bike, (cab here and there) I will only be saving a few tens of dollars only and not any closer to $100.. After which have to spent $ to tow the bike for inspection and back, not worth it..

yo bro hope u recovering well.

anyway back to ur questions i think regarding ur first qn i shall not reveal the actual amt as it may just be made as a comparison i wld jus say its 5 digit amt:)

my lawyer was sueing them so after a lot of thinking by Gr*at east***(insurance co. i claiming from) they decided to settle Out of court . think they wanna save the court fees.

ur lawyer shd be quoting them a compensation fee usually marked up already as that the insurance co. will try to bargain for a lower fee.

police report processing shd be quite fast most to most 1-2 mths

hope this is useful

btw keep all receipts of EVEERYTHING so u can claim those as well !!! a good time to start calling the cabbies liao!!! haha even if its for ur mum LOL

Originally posted by xia0_bai@Nov 10 2006, 04:15 PM

yo bro hope u recovering well.

anyway back to ur questions i think regarding ur first qn i shall not reveal the actual amt as it may just be made as a comparison i wld jus say its 5 digit amt:)

my lawyer was sueing them so after a lot of thinking by Gr*at east***(insurance co. i claiming from) they decided to settle Out of court . think they wanna save the court fees.

ur lawyer shd be quoting them a compensation fee usually marked up already as that the insurance co. will try to bargain for a lower fee.

police report processing shd be quite fast most to most 1-2 mths

hope this is useful

btw keep all receipts of EVEERYTHING so u can claim those as well !!! a good time to start calling the cabbies liao!!! haha even if its for ur mum LOL

Thanks bro, appreciate u for telling me.. At least I know roughly what's happening now especially the police report! The waiting time is killing me.. have to stay at home , MC for dunno how long.. so boring to stay at home..

Recovering so so especially the leg.. think long down time.. at least 6 months.. Going crazy just to stay at home.. . thanks again..

Haiz, looks like the 2 of us in the same boat. I also kena bang, leg kena fractured, now whole day can only stay at home and sleep/watch TV/surf net. I haven't gone for the post-hospital checkup yet so dunno the confirmed MC, but friends say should be at least 3 months, probably will have to extend after that also.

Never mind, at least we have the claims to look forward to. Because my case is not clear-cut 100%, I really hope the driver was honest and admitted his mistake.

Originally posted by TheOne@Nov 11 2006, 03:31 PM

Haiz, looks like the 2 of us in the same boat. I also kena bang, leg kena fractured, now whole day can only stay at home and sleep/watch TV/surf net. I haven't gone for the post-hospital checkup yet so dunno the confirmed MC, but friends say should be at least 3 months, probably will have to extend after that also.

Never mind, at least we have the claims to look forward to. Because my case is not clear-cut 100%, I really hope the driver was honest and admitted his mistake.

yup.. have to be careful of your report and police side too.. have u seen a lawyer? Me already got 2months MC.. and still extending.. so bored..