hi

was on bridgestone 020 for 3 years and nothing happens

changed to conti sports attack for 1 week and kena punctured by nail (maybe conti tyre not so tough),

so went to repair the puncture but the tyre still leaking like every 2 weeks its almost completely deflated

my question is, is this normal for a punctured tyre or the guy did not do a good job??

• Replies 39

Guest quizesilver

ya

it is either the hole too wide to be patch (but u mention it is a nail) so it cannot be.

advise u to patch from inside.

my rear tyre kena nail lyk 9mths back & im still using the tyre man, nutink wrong...

mayb job not well done by the mechanic... advisable 2 go shop & check on it again

Originally posted by izzo@Oct 30 2006, 11:43 AM

my rear tyre kena nail lyk 9mths back & im still using the tyre man, nutink wrong...

mayb job not well done by the mechanic... advisable 2 go shop & check on it again

Might be the tyre valve which is causing the leaks :confused:

Hi Fren,i guess as much tat not a gd job done.i hv the same experience last time on my RVF and hit a nail at the rear.The bugger mechanic did a fxxxup job and damaged my relatively new tyre.Keep having to pump the deflated rear tyre.He did a bad patchwork.Hv to change a new tyre and $ wasted.. :sian:

happen to me once....chances are the glue on ur tyre sidewall n rim have gave way since u mention it almost go flat, riding on under-inflated tyre wd add pressure on the sidewall especially when cornering....

check for additional punture on r tyre and leaking air ard sidewall/rim contact...

Learned Past Living Present Think Future

I got nails on mie rear tyre BT020 last week...(still riding wit it ..heee) goin HKL to remove it n patch it up.. tink cost $6

Yesterday is history, Tomorrow is a mystery, Today is a gift

2001 phantom 200

2003 super4 Hyper vtec 1

2004 Nsr150 sp

2005 Blackbird Cbrxxx

2006 Super4 vtec 1

2008 R6

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/4690/bpiz351ws1.jpg http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/2481/1572016784ltl1.jpg

many thanks for replies,

went to 3 tyre shops,

all say must change new tyre because there were 2 holes next to each other so cannot repair, what a pity 1 month old only the tyre.....

so i get back bridgestone 090 costs 150.......:cry:

Originally posted by james bomb@Oct 30 2006, 01:42 PM

many thanks for replies,

went to 3 tyre shops,

all say must change new tyre because there were 2 holes next to each other so cannot repair, what a pity 1 month old only the tyre.....

so i get back bridgestone 090 costs 150.......:cry:

it is because those bike shops dun do inner patch... if you have done inner patch in the first place... there will not be such a problem....

Originally posted by bert@Oct 30 2006, 05:08 PM

it is because those bike shops dun do inner patch... if you have done inner patch in the first place... there will not be such a problem....

which bike shop does inner patch???

in case next time puncture again.....

Originally posted by james bomb@Oct 30 2006, 05:17 PM

which bike shop does inner patch???

in case next time puncture again.....

i have done inner patch at motor world twice.... dunno any other shops doing it... maybe other bro here can advise..

btw...wats this inner patch thing? Is it those gel like liquid tat will be fill inside the tyre n ooze out, harden n seal the hole when the nail being pulled out?

Learned Past Living Present Think Future

Always remember, patches are but a temporary measure...

Best advice is to change the tire as soon as possible, especially before going for long trips.

You won't want the tire to suddenly deflate when going at reasonably high speeds.

Originally posted by quizesilver@Oct 31 2006, 06:52 PM

k&t also has it.

bo liao....

Originally posted by GreeKo@Nov 1 2006, 02:02 AM

btw...wats this inner patch thing? Is it those gel like liquid tat will be fill inside the tyre n ooze out, harden n seal the hole when the nail being pulled out?

is a piece of "gao yao" stick from the inside of the tire... need to remove the tire from the rim.. therefore more ex....

My 020 also had a nail on the edge of the tyre whil I was cornering... Sent for patch and they used those black mushroom head rubber patch. After bout a month, it started to leak again. I then went to buy the tyre repair kit, Stanley/Selley's (can't remember) and I patched it back myself. Been running on my patched up tyre for bout 2 weeks now and it seems okie... Sprayed soapy water and no bubbles seen. Used the normal brown worm-like patch.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Originally posted by Michael-@Nov 4 2006, 05:38 PM

i also use tyre repair kit which bought at mustafa which look like normal brown worm. it been since nearly 2mth ? nothing happened to it yet .so far so gd :sweat:

am using the same one u mentioned. .cheap and good ....

the last tyre i had was a dunlop ...there was a worm in place of a puntured hole but it was still leaking ,...so i punctured it again and patch it using the kit i bought from mustafa. ...works great and cheap..

now everytime i go up north, my trust tyre repair kit will be with me ..simple and easy to use...idiot proof instructions at the back somemore ...:cheeky:

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]