Cagiva Planet

• Replies 1.2k

thanks to hangten and biscut for turning up!

and biscut, nice bike! .. envi ... :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

i just love your color scheme! ... bei tahan liao! ! ! !

Originally posted by Gauntlet@May 24 2004, 02:24 AM

thanks to hangten and biscut for turning up!

and biscut, nice bike! .. envi ... :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

i just love your color scheme! ... bei tahan liao! ! ! !

haha thanks, but like i said, probably the colour's the only thing good about the bike at the moment...

Just a question, do any of you have a box installed, or is it even possible? Cause there are days where i have to carry quite some stuff down to school.

Originally posted by Seraphim@May 26 2004, 12:01 AM

Yup. Have a box installed, to the eternal shame of other Planet riders heh.

yar agreed..

maybe u fix on some kinda leather bag on the sides or somethin?

box on top really looks bad....

Originally posted by Seraphim@May 26 2004, 12:01 AM

Yup. Have a box installed, to the eternal shame of other Planet riders heh.

hoo hoo hoo~!

all is forgiven. when you get a monster, do not create the same monstrosity. :D

Originally posted by Gauntlet@May 26 2004, 02:48 AM

yar agreed..

maybe u fix on some kinda leather bag on the sides or somethin?

box on top really looks bad....

Oh no, you're well and truly mistaken... I'm not apologizing at all for installing a box. I needed one and installed one. Besides, when you're sitting on the bike, you don't notice the box :D

Seems like i have another problem, sigh. My bike has problem starting, when i press the starter, it gives me a whirling sound, instead of cranking. Could it be due to a weak battery? My signal lights and headlights appear strong though. Any advice is appreciated.

Also, how often do you guys do a regular servicing? every 3000 or so km? Not sure when to send mine in for checking.

Originally posted by Seraphim@May 29 2004, 07:06 PM

Oh no, you're well and truly mistaken... I'm not apologizing at all for installing a box. I needed one and installed one. Besides, when you're sitting on the bike, you don't notice the box :D

ohh... did u custom make the bracket to fit it for the planet?

how much did the boxes cost?

wanna post pic??? kekeke :p

Originally posted by biscuit@May 30 2004, 07:49 PM

Seems like i have another problem, sigh. My bike has problem starting, when i press the starter, it gives me a whirling sound, instead of cranking.

does the sound comes from the left bottom corner of the bike? near the front sprocket cover?

can you start the bike after a few cranks? got to be clearer in your description my friend.

every 3000km servicing is good, some do it at 5000km. anyway, cleaning valves and carb costs $40. not very expensive. plus changing gear oil (around $20) about $60 each service for carb/valve cleaning and changing of gear oil.

Seems like i have another problem, sigh. My bike has problem starting, when i press the starter, it gives me a whirling sound, instead of cranking. Could it be due to a weak battery? My signal lights and headlights appear strong though. Any advice is appreciated.

Also, how often do you guys do a regular servicing? every 3000 or so km? Not sure when to send mine in for checking.

Does the bike give out a sort of clacking whirling sound?

I've experienced that a couple of times. It's a weak batt... you should be able to push start it.

The Planet's charging system is horrid. You need to really give it revs to recharge the batt. That means when riding in town, try to get from point A to B on 2nd or 3rd.

Twice I've rode to Suntec with headlights on all the way, only to push start at the carpark cos the battery's exhausted. (bleah).

Will prolly replace my battery at the next service.

Originally posted by Seraphim@May 31 2004, 10:12 PM

The Planet's charging system is horrid. You need to really give it revs to recharge the batt. That means when riding in town, try to get from point A to B on 2nd or 3rd.

brudder, dun rush to replace the battery. i had similar experiences eons back. the charging system works fine. it is the connection between the alternator to the rectifier and rectifier to the battery that is the problem.

the hex shaped thingy underneath the seat comes loose sometimes. when that happens, the AC generated by the alternator is not converted to DC, hence the battery doesn't charged up. plug out the rectifier connector, clean it well with contact cleaner about once every 2 months. plug it in all the way after. no worries for me every since. headlights all all the time while riding with no poblems starting the bike. try it. :goodluck:

hey dude ... any news about your starter issue?

i got a problem... my chain seems to be loose..

hearing "kiak kiak " sound sometimes..

i suspect chain..

how to tighten?

hi fellas!

wah.. sad day todae man!

i went to top up full tank 2 days ago and travelled for 210km and guess wat..

the bike died on mi on the expressway man..

tried to start it ... like no petrol like tat... shitty..

so push all the way to petrol station..

when i pump... i only managed to get 11 liters in only..

our tanks are made for 12.5...

so wat happened to the remaning 1.5 man!

pissed at my bike and .. my super low milage...

any suggestions as to Y am i experiencing this???

ok update on my sad bike's condition. Prior to my taking over the bike, the previous owner had the piston changed. Problem was, the new piston was a single ring while the engine block was a 2 ring one. That wasn't the main problem though. The mechanic that did the replacement set the piston too close to the valve, causing it to scratch and eventually leading to a piston jam, hence my bike couldn't start. Maybe i should warn you guys about the shop, but don't know whether should post here or not, wait kena sue.

Now have to replace the piston. Heng next week i'll be in malaysia, so don't need the bike for a while. BTW, apparently one of the mech at excel has left, not sure why. He was the one who did my bike the last time, not sure if it is xiao boon or not.

Originally posted by biscuit@Jun 5 2004, 07:29 PM

BTW, apparently one of the mech at excel has left, not sure why. He was the one who did my bike the last time, not sure if it is xiao boon or not.

should be "tua" boon. did he screwed up ur bike???!

hope ur bike "be on the road to recovery" soon.:goodluck:

red alert..

went to scrap yard todae with a couple of forum guys... saw a planet which was scrapped..

haiz... i wanted to get somethin from there.. but seems abit X... the boss look at ppl then chop head one..

Originally posted by hangten@Jun 6 2004, 12:56 AM

should be "tua" boon. did he screwed up ur bike???!

hope ur bike "be on the road to recovery" soon.:goodluck:

er no i'm not saying he screwed up my bike or anything, in fact he did a good job. It was the previous shop that was servicing my bike that did all the damage.

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 5 2004, 01:23 AM

our tanks are made for 12.5...

so wat happened to the remaning 1.5 man!

pissed at my bike and .. my super low milage...

any suggestions as to Y am i experiencing this???

when you pump petrol, bike is slanted on the side stand. of course you can't get the full 12.5 litres in. so no worries. just a case of no petrol.

Originally posted by biscuit@Jun 5 2004, 07:29 PM

Problem was, the new piston was a single ring while the engine block was a 2 ring one.

so what you have now is a single ring piston and a double ring block COVER, not block. cos planet's block is compatible with both single and double ring piston. it os the block cover that is not compatible.

so go change the block cover to a single ring piston one and you are good to go. Excel has some. bargin a bit for a used one. think about $100plus to $200 the most. double ring piston have not been to the shores of singapore for some time. and once the piston rings of the double ones is spent, you would have to change the whole piston with the rings cos they dun come separately anymore. but single rings are still available on their own.

Originally posted by Gauntlet@Jun 6 2004, 02:44 AM

a planet which was scrapped..

which scrap yard is that brudder? post the address here leh.

Originally posted by terry@Jun 8 2004, 06:08 PM

when you pump petrol, bike is slanted on the side stand. of course you can't get the full 12.5 litres in. so no worries. just a case of no petrol.

problem... when i shine a torch into the tank before i pump 11 liters in...

there is still fuel... and i cant start the bike no matter how i try..

push start also..

i believe the 1.5 liters is inside just cant get into the carbs...

u have the same prob?

Originally posted by terry@Jun 8 2004, 06:21 PM

which scrap yard is that brudder? post the address here leh.

ah ann trading

address is 27 jalan buroh

singapore-619483

taken from the beyond the screen outing to the scrapyard..

i joined the trip there too...