i ride a Shadow 400 with huge handlebars and side boxes and strangly I still squeeze pass traffic (to tuas) without much difficult... lol

more keen on the fazer 600 thou due to $$$ and also the 'useful' end cans positions.... (can use to dry my clothes if i caught in the rain!) :faint:

• Replies 2.1k

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 20 2004, 06:30 PM

Type: Day ride

Destination: Northern East Coast - Tasik Chini

Date: 2th June 2004

Meeting place: GP Petronas

Time of meeting: 0545am

Time of departure: 0600am

Expected time of return: LATE!!!

Planned route(shorter one cos I wan coastal roads)

GP

| NSH

Yong Peng

|

Segamat

|

Lake Chini

------ Stop over to rest and enjoy the place

PEKAN

| --- Coastal Road all the way back... ITS NICE!!!... hehe...

Kota Tinggi

|

Kulai

| NSH

GP Petronas

Participants:

1.) mokamoka :thumb:

2.) rezdwan :thumb:

3.) sankar73 (pending)

4.) waiyuen (pending)

5.) Katana (pending)

oei, bo lan support ar

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 20 2004, 06:33 PM

all bikes are difficult to control at low speeds...

The height isn't a problem as long as you are riding more then stopping...

the bike is super light, so you shouldn't have problem pushing it ard...

regarding breezing though traffic along highway, I would say that its a very dangerous thing to do... bu then if you can do it on a S4, then you can definitely do the same on this bike... as long as you have control over it... :thumb:

Thanks. Not sure why u say bike is super light, cause it's about 210 kg if I'm not wrong. My specII only about 180 kg, so quite a bit heavier, and also FZ1 is bulkier too. Maybe you're taller and/or stronger, so feels light to you.

I also don't think splitting lanes is a good idea, but really bo bian, cause going home along ECP these days is murder, with Nicoll Highway down, all the traffic have migrated there.

I would still feel more comfortable if I can get more of my feet on the ground. If anyone has any idea how this can be done, or experience adjusting the seat's height, appreciate your thoughts. Just love this bike!!!:sweat:

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Originally posted by yappiez@May 20 2004, 09:30 PM

i ride a Shadow 400 with huge handlebars and side boxes and strangly I still squeeze pass traffic (to tuas) without much difficult... lol

more keen on the fazer 600 thou due to $$$ and also the 'useful' end cans positions.... (can use to dry my clothes if i caught in the rain!) :faint:

ha ha I've definitely seen big cruisers squeezing between cars on the highway.  Really respect, cause I don't

understand how they can get those wide bars through all those tiny gaps.:sweat:  

For me, sure end up stuck behind the 

cars!!:giddy:

I was also considering the Fazer 600, 

but for about 2k more, I get another 

400cc.  I am almost sure if I get the 

600, I'll be itching the next day to 

upgrade again. sigh... man's greed 

knows no bounds.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

Originally posted by sfowner@May 20 2004, 10:26 PM

Thanks. Not sure why u say bike is super light, cause it's about 210 kg if I'm not wrong. My specII only about 180 kg, so quite a bit heavier, and also FZ1 is bulkier too. Maybe you're taller and/or stronger, so feels light to you.

I also don't think splitting lanes is a good idea, but really bo bian, cause going home along ECP these days is murder, with Nicoll Highway down, all the traffic have migrated there.

I would still feel more comfortable if I can get more of my feet on the ground. If anyone has any idea how this can be done, or experience adjusting the seat's height, appreciate your thoughts. Just love this bike!!!:sweat:

oh... you'll be surprised how light it is to move it.. hahah.. I tto it was hard too... until I tried it... I am not anymuch stronger then any average person... 8)

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 20 2004, 10:51 PM

oh... you'll be surprised how light it is to move it.. hahah.. I tto it was hard too... until I tried it... I am not anymuch stronger then any average person... 8)

ok.  by the way, how long have you

been riding it, and what bike did you 

change from?

Originally posted by sfowner@May 20 2004, 11:02 PM

ok.  by the way, how long have you

been riding it, and what bike did you 

change from?

beening riding it since 25th Feb 2004, previously riding Honda CB-1(400cc)

Originally posted by sfowner@May 20 2004, 04:59 PM

Spotted my dream bike, a FZ1 at a bike shop and sat on it just to try out. Couldn’t try much of anything, but found the mirrors quite good and the steering quite light and neutral. So far so good.

However, with the bike upright, I find that I need to tiptoe with both feet on the ground. I’m 1.67m and 67 kg. The salesperson said I could soften the suspension. Can anyone advise if this is a good solution or if there’s any other way to get both feet a bit more planted on the ground eg adjusting the seat?

Also, for riders around my height, do you find any problem maneuvering the bike at slow speeds, pushing the bike either forwards or backwards while seated etc. I’m 80% convinced to get this beauty as opposed to the FZ6, as the looks and the power really bowl me over. I’m currently riding a specII, and find going through traffic on the highway a breeze. So, I’m also also quite wary about my confidence doing the same on a much bigger bike.

Thanks for any comments.

Hihi Bro..

Actually i had the same concerns before getting this bike. I am around 1.7m

and about 62 kg. Was riding a silverwing600 for a year but before that i had stopped riding for 8 years. Had to upgrade to the Fazer1000 after coming into this forum.

The shop actually lowered my front fork and got me to change to low profile tyres.

i still needed to tiptoe and after gettign over the initial phobia of having to tiptoe i decided to raise my front fork back to original.

Pushing the bike either sitting down or dismounted is no problems after you get used to it.Maybe the fact that im wearing proper riding shoes help too. I think if i can get used to riding this bike after so many years away from riding motorcycles, then you shouldnt have a problem switching over from your specII.

Go on, go order the bike..you will not regret it. One word..SMOOOOOOOTH.

CHEERS.

Originally posted by mokamoka@May 20 2004, 11:27 PM

beening riding it since 25th Feb 2004, previously riding Honda CB-1(400cc)

I see. So we have a bit of the same history ie cb400.

I see you and some others in the forum are quite active in getting together for trips and going up M'sia. Not sure what type of age group u guys are in, but if I do get the bike eventually, I would love to be able to join you. Imagine u guys all quite young, and I may be quite a bit older - turned 41 already . Some more got family and kid - so not so garang like going track or riding up to 200 kmh. If only I were 20 years younger :cry:

Lovely Bike. Been riding for 1 yr and still loving it. It will bring you to places. Have fun with one.... :thumb: :cheer:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by tigerman@May 21 2004, 01:57 AM

Hihi Bro..

Actually i had the same concerns before getting this bike. I am around 1.7m

and about 62 kg. Was riding a silverwing600 for a year but before that i had stopped riding for 8 years. Had to upgrade to the Fazer1000 after coming into this forum.

The shop actually lowered my front fork and got me to change to low profile tyres.

i still needed to tiptoe and after gettign over the initial phobia of having to tiptoe i decided to raise my front fork back to original.

Pushing the bike either sitting down or dismounted is no problems after you get used to it.Maybe the fact that im wearing proper riding shoes help too. I think if i can get used to riding this bike after so many years away from riding motorcycles, then you shouldnt have a problem switching over from your specII.

Go on, go order the bike..you will not regret it. One word..SMOOOOOOOTH.

CHEERS.

Thanks for the tip. Good to get some reassurance from someone near my build. Do you pillion? Is it difficult for your pillion to climb on while you are on tiptoe?

Originally posted by sfowner@May 21 2004, 02:25 AM

Thanks for the tip. Good to get some reassurance from someone near my build. Do you pillion? Is it difficult for your pillion to climb on while you are on tiptoe?

No i don't pillion at all. Actually i am quite sure you will only need to tiptoe slightly.

Don't worry about age lah bro, i am a year older than you and have 3 kids.

Originally posted by tigerman@May 21 2004, 04:31 AM

No i don't pillion at all. Actually i am quite sure you will only need to tiptoe slightly.

Don't worry about age lah bro, i am a year older than you and have 3 kids.

:sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

Originally posted by RS4@May 20 2004, 03:42 PM

givi wind screen is about 150 chiap lee

rear hugger 200+ bike tech 21

belly pan about 220 at motor world...

thats wat the price that i was quoted ...

givi windshield currently out of stock at chiap lee at the moment.

Told me shipment will arrive in maybe a month time.

Originally posted by sfowner@May 20 2004, 10:26 PM

I would still feel more comfortable if I can get more of my feet on the ground. If anyone has any idea how this can be done, or experience adjusting the seat's height, appreciate your thoughts. ??????????????????????:sweat:

hehe, I thk the pushing issue relate with the balance of the bike. Fazer have great balance, I have not problem to push the bike on normal road (bike 198kg(right?) + 65kg + gf 50kg = 313kg), BUT dun ask me push up to hill, I will just start the bike, use 1st gear, "man man" (slowly) follow. AND my Fazer nv over heat, tht also a point I like it very much, smtime see other big bike, stop on road, smoking, just dun want to "join" the jam...chiam... :giddy:

work is life, no a job.

Originally posted by sfowner@May 21 2004, 02:14 AM

I see. So we have a bit of the same history ie cb400.

I see you and some others in the forum are quite active in getting together for trips and going up M'sia. Not sure what type of age group u guys are in, but if I do get the bike eventually, I would love to be able to join you. Imagine u guys all quite young, and I may be quite a bit older - turned 41 already . Some more got family and kid - so not so garang like going track or riding up to 200 kmh. If only I were 20 years younger :cry:

passion no relate with age~just join us~ :smile:

work is life, no a job.

Originally posted by waiyuen@May 21 2004, 11:38 AM

passion no relate with age~just join us~ :smile:

Yes Sir!! Getting Class 2 come Sep. Maybe will look for a used one at that time, but from what I heard, quite hard to find. Unless another swee bike comes into my radar screen, this will be my bike for the next few years. :sweat: :sweat:

I saw a Blue Fazer1000 at Everton Park yesterday night. Was it anyone from here. FX82**... waited for awhile to see if anyone I know but no luck......

by the way are you guys meeting up tonite???

Originally posted by katana777@May 20 2004, 10:04 PM

oei, bo lan support ar

I will definitely go if license is not revoked by then.... just my bad luck, I was caught speeding at AYE last week......:cry: .... now pending summon.... speed was way above the limit.....

Originally posted by Sankar73@May 21 2004, 03:35 PM

I will definitely go if license is not revoked by then.... just my bad luck, I was caught speeding at AYE last week......:cry: .... now pending summon.... speed was way above the limit.....

ok bro...

hope to c u then....

Originally posted by katana777@May 21 2004, 05:01 PM

ok bro...

hope to c u then....

thought u told me u in jb lsb??? didnt know lsb oso can online one leh!!!:cheer:

Guest awesome_1
Originally posted by Sankar73@May 21 2004, 03:35 PM

me too....doing 90km/h @ 50km/h city rd.....12 points 170 bucks of hard earn cash...:cry:

but not on my fz6,but on my rxz.........:giddy:

and now TP have this new stealth speed camera!!!:offtopic:

sure kena one.....

Guest awesome_1
Originally posted by Pauche@May 21 2004, 05:36 PM

thought u told me u in jb lsb??? didnt know lsb oso can online one leh!!!:cheer:

hey pauche...any news abt d k&n filter???sporting mtrcycles said not in yet..

by d way loc of pitstop?u going 2 night...is it a pub?:thumb: