wish someone here can contribute reviews regarding the FAZER1000. Any downsides, good points, problems encountered etc. is welcome to post here! :)

Gabriel

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

• Replies 2.1k

heard tyhat they used it on CDC for classtwo... anyone one got positive or negative comments... :confused:

:shy: cHrIsOnAnCe :makeup:

:box: OnE tHaT s|tS oN PoRcH sW|Ng :cheeky:

:lovestruck: aPaRt By E mOOn N sTaRs :lovestruck:

:smooch: LoOk|nG @ skY tH|NkInG :dozed: oF CB1000/Fz1000 !!!:smooch:

Is that true?? Oh myGod..... that will be nice! what are bonus for the students!!

Cmon guys... any comments pls.... dun let this Thread die!

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Fazer is still using carb engine.

I wish to own one too.

They ain't wrong, my bike still running on carb.

But nowadays most of the bike come with FI when paying a price tag of $17 or $18K and above (not mentioning AT)

Is it worth a buy now, what if Yamaha release their 2004 model with FI.

Will the carb model lose resale value then..

CDC is using Fazer 600 and not FZS1. Learning centre will not use such a powerful bike for learner. :smile:

Jun 99 - Sep 00: Phantom 150

Sep 00 - Oct 01: Super4 Vtec1 400

Oct 01 - Apr 06: African Twin 750

Apr 06 - Present: Nighthawk 250

Fazer is still using carb engine.

I wish to own one too.

They ain't wrong, my bike still running on carb.

But nowadays most of the bike come with FI when paying a price tag of $17 or $18K and above (not mentioning AT)

Is it worth a buy now, what if Yamaha release their 2004 model with FI.

Will the carb model lose resale value then..

I dunno man. I always think and prefer carb engine to FI though.

Although you are right about paying for a FI at 17K or 18K would be better choice. Whatever it is whenever new versions pop out the value will drop hahaha....whatever type of bike etc.

Questions is for all fellow bikers here. Will YOU buy the FAZER 1000? :smile:

Any Price Quotes contributions for the FAZER1000????? :D

Below are the quotes based on my knowledge:

1) Looi's Motor - 17k

2) (Forgot the Shop name) as advertised on Straits Times - 16.5K

Easy to control for this bike.

CDC should be using fazer 1000

ermmmm wow... if so, i think i will wanna go take self practise at CDC and have some stunting fun!!! hahahhaa

thinks its a 600cc though...

anyway.. the fazer is a really cool bike to own... and if u start riding one... u will wanna mod the hell out of the thing... coz its meant to be that way! hahahah i love the resemblance to the r1... and i think if it comes with FI it would be a bonus... though FI seems to have lousier fuel consumption... hehehe but who cares... when u always ride on one wheel only when u ride a fAzer! :D

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

Image all the class 2 rider go for self practise and make a hell in the centre.

Don\'t Ever race with me and you will not win me. Cos i don\'t like to race and not a good racer.

Guest Supertoad76

CDC is using the 6. To differentiate, the 6 is physically smaller plus the tail lights is squarish...the 1 is round.

I think the fzs 1 is a great bike, as for fuel consumption , I find it ok. Its a 998 cc after all. Comfy and fast enuff.

if you want pure brute performance think of the Gixxers or Yzfs.

Oh forgot, FI can increase fuel consumption instead of lowering it, (think Super blackbird.)

Disadv: ppl prefer to look at r1s and the gsxs.

I would advocate the 6 as I rode it before, and its loads of fun.

I guess you guys have been very good with your contributions.

Well... The fazer1000 seems to have a great impact on me.

About FI and carbs. i guess you have more options to mod a carb engine as compared to FI? :confused: Pls correct me if I am wrong. mods like dynojet. Tuning would be a hell of another issue. I think not many Bike servicing shops here invests in the software/computer for tuning FI bikes and different FI bikes has different settings which makes it extremely diffcult for the mechanic? If I'm not wrong only the agents has such equipment... I think i saw a computer for tuning at LOOI's ... anyone saw it?

Basically The Fazer1000 is a good mix of sportsbike power output (although not as powerful comparing to gsxxers/busas/birds) and a muscle naked bike feel. Very popular in Europe. :cheer:

The Fazer1000 has a detuned R1 engine at 145hp as compared to the R1's 150hp. Anyone beg to defer?

Basically, reviews from mags and forums has said that The Fazer1000 is bascially a good all rounder sports tourer with a good "umph" in its powerband but is let down by it's rear suspension and it's exhaust can. (it's not the R1's Aluminium end-can) Well. Any FAZER complains from FAZER riders here?? :sweat:

About getting noticed. Yeah you guys are right.... PPL tend to drool over busas, gsxxers, R1s and birds everytime. but it gets really boring after a while. U think so? They are like flies now in S'pore. No offence but just a personal opinion. :p :D

Fazer1000 Specs:

ENGINE

Type: Liquid cooled, 4-stroke, DOHC, inline 4 cylinder

Displacement: 998cc

Bore x Stroke: 74mm x 58mm

Compression ratio: 11.4:1

Maximum power: 105.2kW (143.1HP) @10,000rpm

Maximum torque: 105.9Nm (10.8kg-m) @7,500rpm

DIMENSIONS

Overall length: 2,125mm

Overall width: 765mm

Overall height: 1,190mm

Wheelbase: 1,450mm

Minimum ground clearance: 140mm

Dry weight: 208kg

CHASSIS

Front tyre: 120/70 ZR17 (58W)

Front brakes: Dual discs Ø 298mm

Front suspension: Telescopic fork, 43mm tubes

Front travel: 140mm

Rear Tyre: 180/55 ZR17 (73W)

Rear suspension: Link-type swingarm

Rear travel: 135mm

Rear brakes: Single disc, Ø 267mm

Check out the Brochures in PDF Format

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/page.cf...fm?pageID=61753

Cheers! Any comments or anything I've said wrong. pls correct me. :)

Guest Supertoad76

Dynojet offers a stage 1 kit for the fzs1 which is about 214 sd. there is a growing number of fazer 1 riders on road.

Gxxer...get one you will love it.

Dynojet offers a stage 1 kit for the fzs1 which is about 214 sd. there is a growing number of fazer 1 riders on road.

Gxxer...get one you will love it.

Yeah growing numbers I must say but the numbers are climbing reeeally slowly. :p

It's nice... i must say... just no impact I guess. But what the heck. Will be getting it soon. :bounce: Yipeeee.

Maybe can form a Fazer's club like in Ang Moh country. hahah.

What are u riding Supertoad? :D

Guest Supertoad76

hahahahah fazer 1 loh...when you get lemme noe just pm me.

Also not forgetting that this bike comes with standard mainstand. Thus, ur bike stands tall and straight esp with twin side paniers at the rear! Ease of chain lub and look i should say " xiong wei". :cheer:

There are too many coincidences in life,

Sometimes even a pair of parallel lines meet.

sorry but can anybody explain wats f1?

i know carb is the normal kind...but nv heard of f1 b4....

thanks in advance...

cry me a river that leads to ur ocean...

hahahahah fazer 1 loh...when you get lemme noe just pm me.

Oh thats nice... We can actually get more Fazer1000 ppl to meet up?

hahaha once I get mine out in April. :)

How much did you buy it for and how much is the insurance?

So far I've seen 1 or 2 Fazers on Road and saw 1 at a residential block carpark opp zouk. :bounce:

Yah, maybe can organise a gathering and form a club like S4. hahahaha :sleep:

Hello, are you there......

Hi again, anybody ride a Fazer and install a alarm(optional at dealer).

Yah, maybe can organise a gathering and form a club like S4. hahahaha :sleep:

So Boon, You are riding a FZ1000 too??

Yes, tot of installing an cheetah alarm but read on the manual that there are optional alarm by dealer. Anyway I am new to the forum and came across some Fazer lovers.[/url]

Oh ok. This is excellent! actually the purpose of this topic is to draw Fazer lovers in here. Anyway, I'm new to this forum too so dun worry we are on the same boat! :)

hmmm.... there is an optional alarm? wow. I dunno. hah. I will be getting one next month. But maybe need some info. How much did u pay for ur bike? insurance? bought from? Comments abt the bike? hahaa

sorry i ask too much... :D :lol: