If the car park charges us the same rate as a car - does it mean that we should also take up one car park space? example - ngee ann city. I wonder if anyone has tried parking and taking up one lot - since that is the charge.

What's wrong with paying the same rate but park in a motorcycle parking space where it's provided?

This "I pay money I can demand everything" mentality is sick. You don't like it either when other people claim "I pay a lot more road tax so go away" and other equally haughty comments. There is no need to act like others whose behaviour you cannot tolerate.

He who hesitates is lost!

• Replies 40

Singaporeans should change their perpective on motorcycles being a 2nd class citizen road users. Most bigger bikes insurance cost more than most cars, maintenance and accesories comparable than cars. Even monthly installment is only slightly lower than cars although cars installments are drag longer(i'm a driver and rider too). Why not suggest these organization to ban cars which cost less than 50k (most korean, china, off-peak cars, etc.....) and see how drivers retaliate....

Be careful what you ask for, you might just get it. If your point is you are not poor because bikes cost as much or more, then you are also not poor to pay disproportionately cheap parking, and should pay a lot more for parking. What if every building owner "changes their perspective" and charge you the same cost as cars to park eh?

I'd rather look poor and be rich by taking advantage of cheap parking and ERP, than to look rich and be poor from paying the higher charges.

If I was a building owner I wouldn't put motorcycle lots either, and definitely not for free. No doubt some bikes are more expensive than cars and many riders are very rich. But the parking fees that can be charged per unit space are much lower because there are many cheap and free parking spaces around.

And for shopping malls those on bikes probably shop less because no space to put things. I'm sure everyone agrees that they don't buy many things when riding. Those that drive can bring back trolley loads of shopping.

What is wrong with building owners using the wasted space between pillars, lifts, stairway accesses, electric risers, etc... for FOC motorcycle parking? It is going to sit empty otherwise. I have just as much ability to buy a $2k laptop at Harvey Norman as someone in a car. I can buy jewelry for my g/f on my bike. I can eat dinner, buy clothes, all the things anyone that drives a car can do. And I'll be less likely to do it at their stores if I'm offered free parking elsewhere. Heck, I can buy a gigantic plasma TV on my bike and have it delivered. Why do you think Ikea has free parking for bikes? They know we're not going to strap a desk and chairs to our bikes.

What's wrong with paying the same rate but park in a motorcycle parking space where it's provided?

This "I pay money I can demand everything" mentality is sick. You don't like it either when other people claim "I pay a lot more road tax so go away" and other equally haughty comments. There is no need to act like others whose behaviour you cannot tolerate.

I've done it before. It's not a matter of being haughty and demanding. It's about getting what you have paid for. Just because I paid less for my tires than you does that mean I have to change them earlier?

I'm not saying that we should all start parking in car spots, but if we are paying the same rate and there are not any available motorcycle spots open there is no reason not to park in a car spot. It beats parking outside of a marked area and getting clamped or fined.

Cum on guys.....

If the building management says no parking for motorcycle lots, then be it lah....

Don hv means don hv lah....

We just hv to be patient a bit, Yup sumtimes its a bit irritating to find bike lots in town especially, but wat to do....

They hv their own reasons n we hv our own reasons, so who wins?

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

What is wrong with building owners using the wasted space between pillars, lifts, stairway accesses, electric risers, etc... for FOC motorcycle parking? It is going to sit empty otherwise. I have just as much ability to buy a $2k laptop at Harvey Norman as someone in a car. I can buy jewelry for my g/f on my bike. I can eat dinner, buy clothes, all the things anyone that drives a car can do. And I'll be less likely to do it at their stores if I'm offered free parking elsewhere. Heck, I can buy a gigantic plasma TV on my bike and have it delivered. Why do you think Ikea has free parking for bikes? They know we're not going to strap a desk and chairs to our bikes.

I don't doubt you can, but which is more likely? What are the chances that there are riders like you who will buy laptops and jewelry and put on your bike, vs some big family in an Audi Q7 buying those things and more? The building owner will obviously prefer the latter.

I agree if there's empty space in between it can be used. Marina Square has quite a bit of these spaces.

For me all this is just about letting the free market decide. If it is profitable to put bike lots, people will put. If not, too bad for us. Riding is not like a race or religion where it is unfair to discriminate against riders. It is a choice, and we choose it knowing the advantages and disadvantages. We can always choose not to ride.

What is wrong with building owners using the wasted space between pillars, lifts, stairway accesses, electric risers, etc... for FOC motorcycle parking?

What if you were the building owner, and your alternatives are:

1. unused common area is free, no need to pay development charge

2. marked out parking spaces require you to pay a development charge to use the land

In scenario 2, what if you cannot recover revenue for the costs that you have incurred? Will you provide it?

What if you were the building owner, and your alternatives are:

1. unused common area is free, no need to pay development charge

2. marked out parking spaces require you to pay a development charge to use the land

In scenario 2, what if you cannot recover revenue for the costs that you have incurred? Will you provide it?

they don't have the word "goodwil" in their dictionary. simple as that.

having no parking lot catered to motorcycles shows the building management way of perceiving motorcyclist.

this does not, and will not, enchance their image.

if someone identify themselves as "i'm a management from cineleisure", response from motorcyclist would be "pui" vs someone who identify themselves as "i'm a management from Ikea"

nonetheless, i don't really bother spending my money at these places anyway, much less care who they are, what they do and how they perceive me as a motorcyclist. i will probably bring this thinking with me when i'm driving or as a commuter.

it doesn't benefit me to think why these dumbarse people don't provide motorcycle parking lots. it's their turf. just let them rot in their own world

If I was a building owner I wouldn't put motorcycle lots either, and definitely not for free. No doubt some bikes are more expensive than cars and many riders are very rich. But the parking fees that can be charged per unit space are much lower because there are many cheap and free parking spaces around.

And for shopping malls those on bikes probably shop less because no space to put things. I'm sure everyone agrees that they don't buy many things when riding. Those that drive can bring back trolley loads of shopping.

Hey Dude,

Your senseless comments really made me boil. Didn't you ever heard of home delivery? Are you someone new in Singapore? Even Giant, Carrefour and Fairprice supermarkets do provide free home delivery for groceries bought above their preset amounts.

By the way, do you also expect an Audi or BMW driver to hand-carry a piece of sofa or table into his car? Get real and don't antagonize other riders here!

Its sg..goverment rules everything:(..actually if they wana charge 1 bike = 1 car price..where got fair? im not even going to take a whole lot..would be more sensible if they can divide 1 car to 3 bikes..and divide the cost by 3...i wouldnt mind paying..rather than park in some pavement den suay suay kena fine 100++..

http://i792.photobucket.com/albums/yy210/nash823/Random%20Siggies/IMG_0225.jpg

Those bloody URA/HDB carparks using the cashcard system are the real big money s_uckers for the government. Every entry will need to pay for motorcycles, unlike the previous parking coupons system when 1 coupon can be used for the whole day at unlimited URA/HDB carparks. I pity those despatch riders who suffer the most from this new system.

for poth holes, call them direct better, for more precise location, give them the lampost number as well

my experience for previous 3 occassions is they mend it within 24hours.

they recevice tons of emails everyday, but calls they can immediately schedule the maintenance contractor to take action

please do it fast as poth holes are a big hazard for bikers

they will only cover up the holes when accidents happen.

happened to one of my fren... lucky he took pics of the road that day..

guess what... the road's freaking smooth the next day

Those bloody URA/HDB carparks using the cashcard system are the real big money s_uckers for the government. Every entry will need to pay for motorcycles, unlike the previous parking coupons system when 1 coupon can be used for the whole day at unlimited URA/HDB carparks. I pity those despatch riders who suffer the most from this new system.

Well, according to "them", it's a misconception. Each 65c parking coupon is only valid per car park per day/night parking. So technically, if you visit different car parks in the day, you'll have to tear 65c EACH. But if you park back at the same car park, then no need. Enforceability, however, is practically impossible.

So, as the argument goes, for HDB/URA operated ERP car parks, there's no difference, because if you enter the same car park within the same day/night, they won't charge you twice for it (I've never tried it though... o_O)

our bikes might not cost more den car in terms of value .. but the road tax we pay more den OPC .. our accessories n even exhaust system r more exp den those for cars ..

but we still labelled as 2nd classed ..

I Love Bikes ; I Enjoy Driving :dot:

our bikes might not cost more den car in terms of value .. but the road tax we pay more den OPC .. our accessories n even exhaust system r more exp den those for cars ..

but we still labelled as 2nd classed ..

No point comparing bro.

2 very different type of vehicles and class category.

Cars are generally more exp than bikes.

If OPC is cheap, then smaller cc 2B commuters bikes are dirt cheap in comparison.

Bikers are the minority, and there are things which we have to live with basically.

Every time someone call for more parking lots for bikes, there will be another one who say he will not pay for 'pricey bike parking'.

Cheers! :)