Originally posted by ^NiC82@Dec 4 2005, 12:47 PM

wow nice bike bro...but its way beyond mi budget :weep:

Condition of bike is more important than budget. You should view the bike to appreciate.

Anyway, you'll probably re-service loan which, can be arranged to fit your monthly budget.

ST is a good bike which, I believed no owner will complain. Good choice, pal!

• Replies 6.6k

Dear Guys,

Some discussion on the Eurpoean HondaPanEuropean Yahoo group

I cut and pasted below for your info...

Just got my stx 2 weeks ago, upgraded from the ST11. No problems with high speed stability yet.

Feel that the throttle control more responsive like sportsbike than ST11. especially when hit the up and down undulations on the road, the speed varies more with the arm movements. Disadvantage in this sense. May need cruise control for more steady speed.

Meet up with the ST11 group at LC Food court Wed nites (sometimes) and join the Sat Nite makan outing from GP Esso 8pm.

Ride Safe..

Date: Mon Dec 5, 2005 7:09 am

Subject: Re: [HondaPanEuropean] Re: removal of pans from police service viagravaradero

Send Email

I must concur with Quinton.

I got my Pan in June and did a 3K trip around France, Switzerland, Italy,

Germany and Belgium in September.

Solo with loaded paniers and top-box along with an 02 and an 03 model and

none of us had any problems with weave on the autobahns or autostradas.

Ian

----- Original Message -----

To:

Sent: Sunday, December 04, 2005 10:56 PM

Subject: RE: [HondaPanEuropean] Re: removal of pans from police service

> Firstly, I want to extend sympathies to those individuals affected by such

> crashes. I've been following this with interest, as it sort of mirrors

> debates I had when choosing an ST1300.

>

> I have to say I have noticed no problem whatsoever with mine, a 2002 ABS

> model I bought used in 2005. I've had it up to an indicated 145mph, with

> full panniers and topbox, on an autobahn. It was rock stable up to 130,

> and

> above that started to twitch slightly, so I lowered the screen and leant

> forwards out of the windblast, and all was well. Was the slight twitch the

> problem? I don't know, but it was certainly more stable than my previous

> bike, a 1997 Kawasaki GPZ1100, which was fine up to about 110 then got

> very

> nervous. The Honda dealer thinks that the swing arm mods have been done,

> but

> since Honda UK never treated it as a recall, they deny having any records

> of

> what bikes were modified. The independent mechanic I take it to for

> working

> on (I wouldn't trust my local official Honda place with a bicycle) said

> they

> look after a few ST1300s, none of whose owners have ever complained about

> handling. Positively the worse high speed wobble I experienced was on the

> R1200GS I also test rode in comparison to the ST1300 (I know it seems an

> odd

> comparison, but I was after am all weather all rounder for a big lad, so

> it

> made sense) and that was positively scary above 70 mph.

>

> Just out of interest, I did test ride a FJR1300 as I have fond memories of

> the old FJ1200 I bought after Direct Access several years ago. I too was

> told about the top box/pannier issues, since I never carry a pillion as

> she

> has her own bike, I was going to ignore it. Bloody stupid though to make a

> two up tourer that can't carry its full complement of luggage! However, I

> just didn't like the bike, so left it alone. It just didn't feel a

> finished

> product, and although every flaw I noticed has a fix, why should I pay

> money

> to produce what Yamaha claim to have done in the first place?

>

> regards

>

> Quinton

> -----Original Message-----

> From: [email protected]

> [mailto:[email protected]]On Behalf Of Dave

> Sent: 04 December 2005 19:54

> To: [email protected]

> Subject: [HondaPanEuropean] Re: removal of pans from police service

>

>

> Prior to purchasing a new ST1300 in '02 I considered a FJR.

> Along wife & I went to our main Yammy dealer for a test ride,before a

> leg was thrown over the FJR I engaged the dealer in a conversation

> about the cost of panniers and top box which were extras at that

> time.During the conversation the dealer excused himself,left our

> company and returned a minute later clutting a letter.He explained

> that Yamaha do not recomend fitting panniers and top box at the same

> time to the FJR they recommend only fitting panniers or top box and

> definitely NOT both. He showed us the letter on Yamaha letter headed

> paper as prove,I thanked him for his honesty and we left without

> taking the test ride.

> How can Yamaha market the FJR as a Tourer if you cant use their full

> range of luggage in safety.

> Hopefully any services using these machines dont overload them (use

> panniers and topbox)or their machines many snap in two as I was

> advised may happen.

> With reguards to the stability of my ST1300 I have no problems, its

> had the recalls done correctly,runs on 020's at the correct pressures

> with the rear shock stiffend up 5 clicks solo and 13 clicks with

> pillion and luggage.

> Dave.

i relli like the hav a newer st11..but nw onli nsf..veri budget..:weep:

And i relli wanna ride a st11..find this bike is soo cool

:lovestruck: :lovestruck:

http://static.wholivesnearyou.com/carpark/dennicyeo36.jpg
Originally posted by ^NiC82@Dec 5 2005, 09:56 PM

IT the same price that i brought my bike five year ago.if u like it just buy it n it better to know the onwer n ask he had change any spare parts or not.same alot money.:goodluck:

fantastic write up. thanks for the input,frankly Honda spends mills on R&D so if the were to have made a mistake, it would take a long time for ple to shoot them.

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Since you are still NSF and on tight budget, you might want to check the price of the insurance at your age first before you conclude on your purchase of a class 2 bike. :goodluck:

Most of the parts are just replaced recently as shown in the advert except for the timing belt. This can save u quite alot on replacing the parts. For my age 25, 3rd party + fire and theft is already $1050 under NTUC, therefore I guess ur insurance will be alot higher unless you be a sub-rider and have a older age person as the owner. :sweat:

Hi ^NiC82,

i agreed with Kenneth... u better check the insurance before u commit anything

I advise... if u have such a budget and still in NSF... Insurance Fee will

definately shock you lor....

My insurance is 3rd Party Fire & Theft ... cost me S$428.00 (just renewed)

Insurance calculation depends on

1. Years of riding experience

2. Age of Owner

3. Bike c.c

4. Any accidents within the last 2 years

and some others.....

Do your calculation .... ST is definately a good bike ...

I spent about 8years to decide to get 1 ...

Previous attempt failed cos of some factors like yours...

Jack

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

hmm.. can't wait to get 1 ST soon.. however class 2 is still 1 month away :weep: been waiting for that moment for quite some time liao..

just to get some info.. how many millage is consider high for a 2nd handed ST? seems 10K is just nice right?

Originally posted by keaizhu@Dec 9 2005, 11:41 PM

hmm.. can't wait to get 1 ST soon.. however class 2 is still 1 month away :weep: been waiting for that moment for quite some time liao..

just to get some info.. how many millage is consider high for a 2nd handed ST? seems 10K is just nice right?

ST1100 = Sport Tourer 1100cc

Not easy to find a only 10k km secondhand ST liao la...

But possible, cos know some of the bros no time to tour and

probable not selling la.....

I brought mine 4 years plus ago at 11k km ... good buy huh...

Important things is the necessary replacements and maintainances throughout the ownership lor...

If a very new bike but not properly taken care of... if is only 10k km also useless

Take your time to source and search lor... have good 1 around la...

But dont put too high hope on a low mileage Tourer hor

Jack on Pearl ST

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by PearlST@Dec 7 2005, 09:31 AM

My insurance is 3rd Party Fire & Theft ... cost me S$428.00 (just renewed)

yo yo jacko...

how come your insurance so low? which coy is that?

unless u tell me you wely old man lah...

mine also juz renewed 3rd party fire n theft (aka 2nd party), but mine's like a hundred buck more than yours :cry:

Drink. Ride. Bloody Idiot.

RedSTer #5025

Originally posted by kobane@Dec 11 2005, 12:02 AM

yo yo jacko...

how come your insurance so low? which coy is that?

unless u tell me you wely old man lah...

mine also juz renewed 3rd party fire n theft (aka 2nd party), but mine's like a hundred buck more than yours :cry:

Hey bro... i no Old man la....

okay this is how they calculate la....

1. Me age = 32years Old (young right !!!)

2. Me riding experience = 15years

3. Me NCB (no Claim Bonus) = 15~20% discount

4. Me no accident / claim for last 2years

5. Me NTUC Insurance policy holder (extra 5~10% Discount)

Other then all these... we all same same lor... Bike 1100cc, made and model lor

their calculate differ for age below 28 and above 28yrs old lor....

so nabeizzz.... where got Old man !!!:sian:

Jack

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by PearlST@Dec 11 2005, 01:08 AM

1. Me age = 32years Old (young right !!!)

2. Me riding experience = 15years

3. Me NCB (no Claim Bonus) = 15~20% discount

4. Me no accident / claim for last 2years

5. Me NTUC Insurance policy holder (extra 5~10% Discount)

1. me lose you by 2 years

2. me lose you by 3 years

3. me 20%

4. me never claim before

5. they should have your records of whatever insurance u bought from them right, be it home coverage blah blah... if so, i should have the same discount..

RedSTer #5025

Originally posted by keaizhu@Dec 9 2005, 11:41 PM

keaizhu,

the mileage do play a part into determining the machine's wear tear life span, but dont compare a 5000km 5yr old bike to a regular rode machine.

less riden doesnt mean it's condition is superb base on the years kept for posing & admire, oil seals & other hidden corner needed lubrication inside the engine might clogged or chorked unfinished running in surface filling.

doesnt mean that under utillised machine is no good but it's all up to individual discreet, will be an addition bonus if u could get in touch with previous owner to find out it's usage history. :smile:

there r many ways to inspect it's condition matches it's mileage fyi.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Originally posted by keaizhu@Dec 11 2005, 05:40 PM

thanks for all the advices.. :cheer:

dun mention it, hope it helps. :smile:

if u need to speak to anyone us dun hesitate to join us at LC.

Simon Soh

thankz bros for giving mi the advice .. check the insurance liaoz...around 1000 for 3rd party fire and theft

mi age rit now is onli 23 yr old...haizz sad...

anywy i gg to ORD soon...wait till i get a stable job..den can afford st11 ...

hope to join u all soon ...

btw if i own a st11 will i b the youngest st rider here ?..

http://static.wholivesnearyou.com/carpark/dennicyeo36.jpg

Our youngest rider's birthday is Nov borned in 1982...

Youngest now... U ?

Young or Senior... all are bros la...

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by ^NiC82@Dec 12 2005, 12:43 AM

thankz bros for giving mi the advice .. check the insurance liaoz...around 1000 for 3rd party fire and theft

mi age rit now is onli 23 yr old...haizz sad...

anywy i gg to ORD soon...wait till i get a stable job..den can afford st11 ...

hope to join u all soon ...

btw if i own a st11 will i b the youngest st rider here ?..

age...? it's the passion of biking that counts.... :thumb:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Dec 11 2005, 11:33 PM

dun mention it, hope it helps. :smile:

if u need to speak to anyone us dun hesitate to join us at LC.

Hi Simon,

ask u huh...

where's LC? :cheeky:

Access to the photos Vypower collection,

Visit...

Here

Everytime u pump V-Power,

Remember MarVyPower!!!

Originally posted by marvypower@Dec 13 2005, 12:52 AM

Hi Simon,

ask u huh...

where's LC? :cheeky:

hi marvypower,

It's former Tg Katong Tech tuckshop along Tg Katong road just after Caltex station, if u coming from PIE u need to exit Paya Lebar then all the way straight bypassing Cisco, MRT & Lion City Hotel.

from ECP u exit to Tg Katong, about 400m after a traffic light at opposite side, wont be missed easily cuz of the bright food court lightings. :smile:

dun tell me u r into ST1100 liao ar..? :D

Simon Soh

Do anyone know of the procedures and charges for the below?

I went to bid a number for my bike. And I got it. LTA is charging me $315 to transfer the number to my bike. Which is written in the LTA letter that i receive.

But surprisingly my finance company is also charging me $380 for the transfer of the number. They said the agreement have to be redone.

Can the finance company charge me that since my bike is still under hire purchase? Isn't the amout too much? Anyone went through this before?

:help: :help: :help: :help: :help:

Rajeh | Triumph Rocket 3 Touring | +65 8722 1313 :thumb:

Originally posted by rajeh_bp@Dec 15 2005, 12:15 PM

Do anyone know of the procedures and charges for the below?

I went to bid a number for my bike. And I got it. LTA is charging me $315 to transfer the number to my bike. Which is written in the LTA letter that i receive.

But surprisingly my finance company is also charging me $380 for the transfer of the number. They said the agreement have to be redone.

Can the finance company charge me that since my bike is still under hire purchase? Isn't the amout too much? Anyone went through this before?

:help: :help: :help: :help: :help:

woooo...

i paid e 315 to LTA as stated..

but mine is old old bike, so no installments.

no such fees included...

can reveal wat no? still FZ series?

RedSTer #5025

Im gonna view a bike from a seller and was wondering if any experts here could help me in checking the bike....by the way it's an FP plate with 2yrs left of coe going for $7500...any help would be appreciated...thinking of viewing the bike either wed or thur....by the way i can also be contacted at 94382320...Thanks in advance

Hi Bros!!

My class 2 is like 3 months away but now planning to get an ST already :cheeky:

But I was just wondering, are ST100ss better than the STX1300s? Coz it seems dat there are more of the ST1100s on the roads than the STX1300s. Is it the performance or is it the price?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!