Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Mar 6 2006, 12:59 AM

yeah cam cover gasket, my dad's bike (teacher john st11) leaking and tot of diy at my dad's fren workshop. coolant hose so far so good not leaking yet but if i got the chance i wana learn frm u in the diy session!! hahaha

final drive axel...something new.. neva heard b4.... izzit the shaft ur tokin about??

my timing belt and water pump done by previous owner joseph.

im enjoyin my ride as daes goes by... haiz... luckily now taking part time studies, or else.... half my pay goes to my white beast!! hehehe

aniwae im no expert to expose my skills, itz juz a cover only and a gasket.

should hav fix the clutch plate coz my dad's fren told me itz best 2 change together coz i can access the clutch plate... haiz....

btw u all stoc riders were at petronas 2nd link on sat if im not wrong

im the guy ridin the white st with backrest and red helmet. HAI!! hahaha

FunckyChicken,

Im also not expert, pherhaps u can give out some pointers to those who r willing to learn in our next DIY session. ;)

Satday nite I was there also with my kakis, my ST1100 should be identicle(or ugly enough) with an awkward looking small top box(same with JB kupchai using). :D

if u ask me y using a small top box, I'll tell u:

- it's cheap & good..! :D

- very little wind resistence affecting handling.

- look 'cheapo' & wont attract attention. :lol:

coolant hose should be inspected with regard to it's age or utilised, mine should be due soon, but definately will have it all replaced before my next long ride again. ;)

particularly there's 2 breather hose inside underneath the carburettor from the cyclinder hoses u should pay more attention to it, a hair line crack will give u headache if u r not in Sgp.

if u r not familiar with ur ST1100 after u got it, u should:

1 - replace exsisting coolant & start a healthy coolant record by replacing it every 2 years or at every 38,400km. use ONLY pure coolant & DISTILLED water, it'll prevent hose join from being corroded with mineral residue overtime.

by using pure coolant & distilled water u'll experience slightly higher operating temperature, nothing to be alarm, a norm & should be that way, not much help if u were to modified the thermostat switch to activate fan earlier, only psychcological effect I'll say.. :lol:

2 - replace engine oil with correct viscosity, any multigrade of SAE40.

3 - replace final drive shaft oil monograde SAE80, but only SAE 90 available in Sgp so 'boh pian'. :lol:

4 - check steering cone if it's properly tightened, part of the reason it'll wobble ur handling during slow speed.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

• Replies 6.6k

Originally posted by rogerfock@Mar 2 2006, 06:22 PM

THanks for all your information... will try to source for one in bike shop or classifed ads.

Is really NTUC providing lowest premium? I thought AIG offer cheaper?? Hmm heard from my few friends cheaper by few hundreds (but of course, different bike different prices quoted).

So apart from changing engine oil every 5000km (using fully syn?), check coolant level, change shaft (hmm how much for one shaft?), carb syn and tunning (if needed).. what kind of unexpected repairs can you anticipate?

Thanks again ;) :cheer: :cheer:

Anda provides the cheapest insurance premiums.

I am currently buying my premium from there.

http://sp1.yt-thm-a02.yimg.com/image/25/f10/350922777
Originally posted by smokingjoe@Mar 11 2006, 01:53 AM

Anda provides the cheapest insurance premiums.

I am currently buying my premium from there.

Hi, Anda sounds familiar.. is Anda the agent of AIG? Located at thomson Road there??

Mind to pm me Anda contact number and address? Thanks.

I will most prob. get my ST11 this week... hehe .. hope to join you all in future kopi sessions. ;) Got a lot to learn from you all... :cheer: :cheer:

rogerfock_BlueST

STOC# 6188

Hi all just join the ST11 family, Some question need to add. I just bought a FQ St11 US edition @s$7500 frm S1 motoring. Meilage so far as i can see it was 69999km which im sceptical about.As i noe the last US edition for s'pore was FP am i right? I wonder wether is a good buy, anyway bought already. just wanna hear any review from u guys out there.

cheers mate!!!

Maybe bro u can post yr msg inthe Honda ST1100. (Technical thread) There got more professional fellow ST. They can give u better advise there. I only know how to ride a bike :sian: .............:cheer: :cheer: cheers

hahah puche u funny la.. i knw why

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by Hidden_Agenda@Mar 14 2006, 10:21 AM

Hi all just join the ST11 family, Some question need to add. I just bought a FQ St11 US edition @s$7500 frm S1 motoring. Meilage so far as i can see it was 69999km which im sceptical about.As i noe the last US edition for s'pore was FP am i right? I wonder wether is a good buy, anyway bought already. just wanna hear any review from u guys out there.

cheers mate!!!

Bike condition is the most important not the mileage.

Originally posted by ST BOB@Mar 14 2006, 06:45 PM

Bike condition is the most important not the mileage.

exactly.. :smile:

will be an added advantage if u got to know the previous owner or owners....

Hidden_Agenda,

description by words of ur bike sound/condition is never accurate, will be better if u meet up someone with the experienced to give u pointers how to maintain it & what u'll expect for ur future ride..

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Pauche@Mar 14 2006, 03:46 PM

I saw a maroon FW ST11, less than 3yrs old, with over 140,000km on it.

Pauche,

far as I know, this particular maroon ST1100Y registered on 29th day of Aug year 2003, wheeled off from bike shop at 1930hrs... it should be a FX 1000counting plated

this 'crazy' owner utilised his bike accordingly, for no other reason he love to RIDE...! :lol:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Mar 14 2006, 07:58 PM

exactly.. :smile:

will be an added advantage if u got to know the previous owner or owners....

Hidden_Agenda,

description by words of ur bike sound/condition is never accurate, will be better if u meet up someone with the experienced to give u pointers how to maintain it & what u'll expect for ur future ride..

hahha.. simon tis guy is my fren whom i talked bout....my colleague at werk.

i went dwn i c his bike.... fork leak, cam leak...resprayed paintwork... left signal cover crackd.... but engine sound solid to me..but din get the chance to test ride..

but aniwae tis guy neva even test ride the bike....sign paper liao... hahahhaa

now worried if bike full of problems....

cuz wad i told him, he shud view the logcard first and c the bike registration n ownership...but too kamchiong liao and straightaway sign paper...hahahaha

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Thks bros for all the replies.... Just went down the shop check the cam cover gasket (i tink!!) Left fork leaking sianz..... told the salesman to change all the items...he argued at first saying dat there's no leakage on the floor, i said obviously wat! the bike is not moving!!!! End of the day he agreeded which i doubt he or his mechs will do but he gave me 1 mth warranty saying any happens he will cover it... But wat to do sign the agreement papers oready.. Oly can hope everytik fine!!! BTW is there any diff btw Euro nad US edition bros??

Oce again thks bros .....

Gd Day Mates!!!!

Originally posted by Hidden_Agenda@Mar 15 2006, 04:04 PM

Thks bros for all the replies.... Just went down the shop check the cam cover gasket (i tink!!) Left fork leaking sianz..... told the salesman to change all the items...he argued at first saying dat there's no leakage on the floor, i said obviously wat! the bike is not moving!!!! End of the day he agreeded which i doubt he or his mechs will do but he gave me 1 mth warranty saying any happens he will cover it... But wat to do sign the agreement papers oready.. Oly can hope everytik fine!!! BTW is there any diff btw Euro nad US edition bros??

Oce again thks bros .....

Gd Day Mates!!!!

Hidden_Agenda,

There are some differences between the US model and UK bike. The most noticeable is there are two very cute chrome tubes coming out of the cylinder head of the US model just above the exhaust pipe mounting. UK model does not have this. For your info, I think they are called oil cooler pipes.

The other not so noticeable thing is US model using 28 amp Alternator as a power source. Therefore, if you open the left hand fairing of the bike, you will notice that there is a rectifier just before the battery holder. In a UK model, the bike is using a 40 amp Alternator as a power source. Therefore, in place of the rectifier, you will find a piece of elongated 55/60 amp fuse instead of the usual rectifier. Other than that, must ask Simon any other difference as he has ridden the two model before.

Thomas

Thomas28

STOC#5870

FBB5423X

Originally posted by thomas28@Mar 15 2006, 06:29 PM

Hidden_Agenda,

There are some differences between the US model and UK bike. The most noticeable is there are two very cute chrome tubes coming out of the cylinder head of the US model just above the exhaust pipe mounting. UK model does not have this. For your info, I think they are called oil cooler pipes.

The other not so noticeable thing is US model using 28 amp Alternator as a power source. Therefore, if you open the left hand fairing of the bike, you will notice that there is a rectifier just before the battery holder. In a UK model, the bike is using a 40 amp Alternator as a power source. Therefore, in place of the rectifier, you will find a piece of elongated 55/60 amp fuse instead of the usual rectifier. Other than that, must ask Simon any other difference as he has ridden the two model before.

Thomas

hi Hidden_Agenda,

pardon me for late input.

difference of P.E. models from US r:

- P.E. has larger main jet & smaller pilot jets.

- US models r with richer air/fuel mixture of 2&7/8 turn out & equiped with EVAP(emission controller valves, the chrome tubes beside the engine block as mentioned by thomas028) to minimise/sterilise harmful emission to our enviroment, US models originally without headlight control switch.

- improvement were done in between from 96' models to an upgraded 40AMP alternator with heat-sink built rectifier on it, exsisting elder models r with 28AMP alternator with external rectifier(w/o heat sink).

- all US models have an additional oil cooler around oil filter area.

other than above & ABS models, all r the same.

hope it helps.. :smile:

Simon Soh

I had problem with my cluth too last week. For few days when i press on my cluth, it was getting loser and loser. so i thought that it is normal and probably i have to tighten some cable or something. But 1 of the days in the morning when i started my bike and wanted to start moving, couldn't use the cluth at all. each time put gear the bike will die off. kept trying and managed to move the bike only when i accelarate a lot hoping it doesn't die off when i change gear.

In the evening when i brought the bike to my mechanic at alexandra village, he said there's a thing looks like a "nutt" need to be changed. I really don't know what its called. Its somewhere infront of the enjine at the bottom. But then he cleaned my cluth oil too.It was very dirty inside when opened. Overall charged $80.

Now cluth no problem, but since that problem repaired, i feel that the bike is not so smooth. Last time when i go slow i can use like gear 3, but now when i do that, the bikes is like over gear, so have to use gear 2. Anyone cares to comment on why its like this? What to do with it? Does it mean the bike is smoother now then ever?probably i'm used to the old condition... hehehehe... I need to go for a servicing too soon. Probably end of the month.

Advices and suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks.:help: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :help:

Rajeh | Triumph Rocket 3 Touring | +65 8722 1313 :thumb:

the last time i met with this on th ST11 was due to master pump kit need to change. 25 for kit only....

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by rajeh_bp@Mar 17 2006, 10:56 AM

I had problem with my cluth too last week. For few days when i press on my cluth, it was getting loser and loser. so i thought that it is normal and probably i have to tighten some cable or something. But 1 of the days in the morning when i started my bike and wanted to start moving, couldn't use the cluth at all. each time put gear the bike will die off. kept trying and managed to move the bike only when i accelarate a lot hoping it doesn't die off when i change gear.

In the evening when i brought the bike to my mechanic at alexandra village, he said there's a thing looks like a "nutt" need to be changed. I really don't know what its called. Its somewhere infront of the enjine at the bottom. But then he cleaned my cluth oil too.It was very dirty inside when opened. Overall charged $80.

Now cluth no problem, but since that problem repaired, i feel that the bike is not so smooth. Last time when i go slow i can use like gear 3, but now when i do that, the bikes is like over gear, so have to use gear 2. Anyone cares to comment on why its like this? What to do with it? Does it mean the bike is smoother now then ever?probably i'm used to the old condition... hehehehe... I need to go for a servicing too soon. Probably end of the month.

Advices and suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks.:help: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :help:

rajeh_bp,

ur mechanic has replaced 2 deteriorated oil seal inside the slave pump, shouldnt be any lost of performance, not to worry. :smile:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by kish_garfield@Mar 17 2006, 03:48 PM

the last time i met with this on th ST11 was due to master pump kit need to change. 25 for kit only....

kish_garfield,

its the slave pump, not the upper pump kit. ;)

if it was the pump kit leaking, his tank's paint work liao2.... ! :D

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Mar 18 2006, 03:43 AM

if it was the pump kit leaking, his tank's paint work liao2.... ! :D

but my tank like got few dots of paint work liao liao also leh... how..?? i was surprised to c that too... thought someone sabo.. put asid.. hehehehehe.. will check closer today....

:help: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :help:

Originally posted by rajeh_bp@Mar 18 2006, 06:15 AM

but my tank like got few dots of paint work liao liao also leh... how..?? i was surprised to c that too... thought someone sabo.. put asid.. hehehehehe.. will check closer today....

Yo rajeh_bp,

If there a leak at the clutch slave pump u are able to see oil stain on the clutch housing, which u are require to change the oil seal inside or the whole assembly if the pump is corrode.

If ur tank decolorize cause by the brake fluid it might either the brake hose crack or or not tighten properly, not nothing to do with master pump. If u press and hold on to the clucth with gear engage and u feel ur bike slowly wanna move forward it either ur u need to replace the master pump repair or the slave pump oil seal. since u had replace the slave pump seal it should be ur master pump.

Hope it help u....

Norman

Thanks guys for the advices....

Sorry false alarm on my tank paint...!!! its only that the 'Lacquer' came out .. its just few dots.. but am worried it will get worse... will it?? any advices on what to do..?? thanks..

:help: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :help:

sorry guys I know this is off topic but I thought this 5.5litre Oil Change Container will be good for DIY for big bike like ST.

I got two of this if anyone interested $20 each and it is really useful for oil change and used oil disposal. No more mass.

From the attached pic you can see that funnel is attached to container for oil change.