according to HL if every time oil change they will change the washer too for e left site but if u go to some other bike shop they will reused back e washer so my advice is to buy e washer from HL abt $1 n go to other bike shop to do e oil change cheaper n no need booking.

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

When u said engine oil leak, how bad is it?

You can see it oozing out bit by bit when i trottle while idling it doesnt seem to leak.... it came from the left side of our engine there is this cover tighten up wif allen key bolts.

My Steel Stallion Gallops http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c293/ngjayce/gif/wheel.gif

http:/eastsides4.multiply.com

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c293/ngjayce/1.gif

according to HL if every time oil change they will change the washer too for e left site but if u go to some other bike shop they will reused back e washer so my advice is to buy e washer from HL abt $1 n go to other bike shop to do e oil change cheaper n no need booking.

Oh so u change it everytime u change engine oil??? I went to Loois meng tong told me that it might be the gasket broke. I've never been to HL so if i go there to service i have to make a booking?? If no choice i have to go there as i cant let it goes on leaking :(

My Steel Stallion Gallops http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c293/ngjayce/gif/wheel.gif

do you snapping a photo of it?

mine never change any seal since 22mths of owning it....doesnt have any issue...i believed most TDMers here didnt change tat too...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

Oh so u change it everytime u change engine oil??? I went to Loois meng tong told me that it might be the gasket broke. I've never been to HL so if i go there to service i have to make a booking?? If no choice i have to go there as i cant let it goes on leaking :(

I suggest u dont waste ur money, time and effort to change engine oil @ HL. Just go there, buy extra washers and chiowz. Waiting for their available booking date is such a waste of time. Tarik...tarik...end of the day, steam kering. Engine oil also no more...

You can see it oozing out bit by bit when i trottle while idling it doesnt seem to leak.... it came from the left side of our engine there is this cover tighten up wif allen key bolts.

bro if u take abt e allen key screw it will b e right site where e oil filter is cause u need to open 3 allen screw in order for e oil filter to change n one more nut for e oil to b drain. Advice is to do it wen e engine is not so hot coz it might break e allen screw very sensitive. Advice is to change oil filter after e 2nd time of oil change save cost or up to u.

mine never change any seal since 22mths of owning it....doesnt have any issue...i believed most TDMers here didnt change tat too...

See the groove near the allen key bolt its on the left hand side of the engine... the engine oil seems like leaking out from this piece of cover... is there a gasket inside for this cover?

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c293/ngjayce/camera/_DSC0206.jpg

See the groove near the allen key bolt its on the left hand side of the engine... the engine oil seems like leaking out from this piece of cover... is there a gasket inside for this cover?

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c293/ngjayce/camera/_DSC0206.jpg

Did you just changed oil and oil filter?cause I had this problem when i see oil at the same spot like you did.then i checked and found that it comes from the oil filter cover(think it flow to the left side when riding and side stand parking).

The mech tighten back the oil filter cover with diff nuts(2 diff size at there are 4 pcs) so it did not sit in well.

Maybe you can check that.

Past rides are already history....

Current ride: FW VFR 800 ABS

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s254/james9295/DSC_0200.jpg

from the photo,its hard to tell..bcoz i see no leak from it...but i see the size 10 screw has alittle black surroundings...maybe that one is not thighten or has a worn gasket...and i dun think it has got anythg to do with the oil filter and oil replacement...oil filter is downunder the right side...this is on the ctr left side...releasing oil nut is bottom right and bottom left...this could been a worn out gasket of the left engine case...i believe you can go to Auto Machinary and buy the gasket and send to reliable mechanic or shop to do the gasket replacement...at the same time,ask him to check all the screw threads around that left side...

maybe before you do anythg,try take the allen key and tighten all the bolts see if any of the allen key bolt is loose...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

from the photo,its hard to tell..bcoz i see no leak from it...but i see the size 10 screw has alittle black surroundings...maybe that one is not thighten or has a worn gasket...and i dun think it has got anythg to do with the oil filter and oil replacement...oil filter is downunder the right side...this is on the ctr left side...releasing oil nut is bottom right and bottom left...this could been a worn out gasket of the left engine case...i believe you can go to Auto Machinary and buy the gasket and send to reliable mechanic or shop to do the gasket replacement...at the same time,ask him to check all the screw threads around that left side...

maybe before you do anythg,try take the allen key and tighten all the bolts see if any of the allen key bolt is loose...

It leaks only when i trottle. it will sip out bit by bit at exactly at the groove there.... I think it might be the black thing there that is giving the prob. I might head down to HL to ask if they buy that gasket and most probably head down to other bike shop to get the gasket changed. Hopefully the problem can be solved... Thanks AJ and all for the help. By the way i was travelling along ubi ave 3 on saturday morning around 9.45am saw a TDM parking at the side near the coffee shop. Belongs to anyone here?? :thumb:

Hi gents!

I'm back.. dam :giddy: sia.. (esp) rite palm.. nvr rite for long-hours.. more than 6 mths.. :sian:

Btw, threat seems lively.. many stories sia.. read hav-way, :giddy: also..

Hi guys jus wanna check if u guys encounter engine oil leak at the left side of the engine b4??

Hi Magnet,

Nope; mine, nvr encounter such n nvr change de wad screm gacket (?) after owning mine for ard 15 mths..

...i believed most TDMers here didnt change tat too...

Snappin photo? nt everyone born photographer quality wan.. :p:

.. Thanks AJ and all for the help. By the way i was travelling along ubi ave 3 on saturday morning around 9.45am saw a TDM parking at the side near the coffee shop. Belongs to anyone here?? :thumb:

whic color, man? Anyway, for sure it wont be mine.. :p:

AJ,

many cerita seh.. but, just wonderin if u've met de rest TDMers...? :dot:

Have time, will travel!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=3054&dateline=1195592503&type=profile

oh yes, as I'm back; here's little contribution on my TDMs.. :angel:

TDM 900's 'Made-In-Thai Corb1n seat? =P

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2007/08/05/bikepics-984773-full.jpg

Have time, will travel!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=3054&dateline=1195592503&type=profile

Hey Aj, U guys still going for the Koh Samui trip?

Yes, the trip is confirmed. From 23 Aug to 27Aug. Hotel in Samui has been booked. Interested to join us??

http://www.remus.co.za/photogallery/artwork/borders/Red%203d%20wolf.jpg
Hi gents!

I'm back.. dam :giddy: sia.. (esp) rite palm.. nvr rite for long-hours.. more than 6 mths.. :sian:

Hi Magnet,

Nope; mine, nvr encounter such n nvr change de wad screm gacket (?) after owning mine for ard 15 mths..

AJ,

knn...6hrs ride...go do seat...go where also never cio...but when ask go riding,this cannot,that cannot...but for your info,that seat won't last...many have complaints of have wet backside aftersitting....rainwater will sipp in after quite sometime...

Last weekend i very the busy lah...

doing up my pig...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/XR650R130.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/XR650R135.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/XR650R153.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/XR650R163.jpg

i cio you all go cherating this sat...1 day event...no need apply long leave...no need hundreds of dollars...no need to wear thick fierce riding jackets with armour everywhere even the groin...no one want to join leh...its like having a dirtbike and just polish polish give shiny shiny then go orchard..:dozed:

oh yes, as I'm back; here's little contribution on my TDMs.. :angel:

TDM 900's 'Made-In-Thai Corb1n seat? =P

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2007/08/05/bikepics-984773-full.jpg

Nice seat with alot of stomach muscles. Thought of doing the same design. Btw how long does they took to rebuilt the seat?

Hi gents!

Hi Magnet,

AJ,

Haven meet you guys before :p

Hi Magnet,

From your pic, the leaking is not too serious. Try adding more torque to your bolt, clean up the mess, see if it still leak. If it does, gasket is worn out, does not cause much to get it change. If the leak has been a while, check your engine oil level. No need to worry over it, enjoy your ride.

It leaks only when i trottle. it will sip out bit by bit at exactly at the groove there.... I think it might be the black thing there that is giving the prob. I might head down to HL to ask if they buy that gasket and most probably head down to other bike shop to get the gasket changed. Hopefully the problem can be solved... Thanks AJ and all for the help. By the way i was travelling along ubi ave 3 on saturday morning around 9.45am saw a TDM parking at the side near the coffee shop. Belongs to anyone here?? :thumb:
Alamak, how u noe sia.. den, again u shoot me here open har..?:cheeky:

Btw, anyone keen for a short-start ride next weekend (Thu nite) 02 - 05 Aug; dest: Hatyai onli lar...? :angel:

knn...6hrs ride...go do seat...go where also never cio...but when ask go riding,this cannot,that cannot...but for your info,that seat won't last...many have complaints of have wet backside aftersitting....rainwater will sipp in after quite sometime...

Last weekend i very the busy lah...

doing up my pig...

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/XR650R135.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/XR650R163.jpg

i cio you all go cherating this sat...1 day event...no need apply long leave...no need hundreds of dollars...no need to wear thick fierce riding jackets with armour everywhere even the groin...no one want to join leh...its like having a dirtbike and just polish polish give shiny shiny then go orchard..:dozed:

Eh, u can see the above postin anot hur? n not 6 hour lar, 6 mths nvr go long-hours-riding le.. got time tml, go see eye-specialist, ok?.. :angel:

Water sipp in? yeah, u're not de 1st wan say this; but dunno tis wan will anot; i saw him insert another layer clear-plastic underneath... Anyway, dun care 1st, janji (promise) wan sui 1st.. :faint:

Btw, ur pig damn freakin NICE and CHIO sia! I traveled kms to ur block n touch ur pig redi! and I hav no say except "Si-beh-sui" sia... its like a masterpiece of XR6 :lovestruck:

Have time, will travel!

Nice seat with alot of stomach muscles. Thought of doing the same design. Btw how long does they took to rebuilt the seat?

Thks! it took abt 24 hours.. at 1st, young-guru (too my surprised) dun wanna do; but after abit chicken n duck talked, he said ok! Asked for 1200bt, den, neg abit + nvr add / refile the exist cushion, he say ok!

Wanto know more whic shop? let's meet up, coffee on you, i tell you where.. Muahaha.. :angel:

Have time, will travel!

Haven meet you guys before :p

Let's meet guys! How abt our late Sun morning; brunch, bike wash cum refill routine..? I'm abt 90% onz liow! but not sure de papa AJ joinin the Cherating trip anot..?:cheeky:

Have time, will travel!

kanasai...you called me yesterday then halfway got line come in then line dead...then you come my block touch my Pig....mus pay money hor...touch touch...

sorry hor...i didnt read the Hatyai thread seriously lah...

anyway,those guys change plan not to go to Cherating but to go to Bekok waterfall instead...now i not sure wan to go or not...sigh...i wanna checkout cherating...bcoz my XRs kaki wanna ride there somewhere late this year...

Hi guys ..just bought a new TDM.

Any idea where I can have it serviced? Cos.. i would like to use mineral oil until it is properly run-in and not sure if Yamaha will allow me to bring my oil along.

Any help would be appreciated.

Where did u buy your bike from? If its from Hong Leong, then they will provide the first 3 engine oil change for free. Oil filter u have to pay. They use mineral base oil for the running in period. Hope this helps. Enjoy your new ride!