Originally posted by furbykong@Nov 7 2004, 01:44 AM

haha no la my " school " is nus at buona vista / clementi.

footing shld not be a prob, my main prob is reversing when sitting, cos upslope is a chore for me ( i believe most pple ) wif my current seat height of ard 790mm

The TDM 825mm and ur current 790mm seat height has got significant differences. If you are have problems reversing or forwarding while sitting on ur current bike, then u'll have a bigger problem doing the same thing on the TDM. Realistically, its quite a chore paddling up a slope on any bike. If i see a slope, I'll just come off and push. No big issue lah, no need to malu oso. Those riding big trallies like GS/Vara/AT will dismount and push too. Flat surface like at customs can still paddle forward and backward and up the hump, I'm happy already.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

so i see, furby, yr school is a real 'school' :) then my tdm remains 'innocent' :)

regarding the pushing action, i agree with wat edward said. if the situation get tough, just have to get off the bike and give it a push, just be careful when balancing the bike when u get off :)

Originally posted by tdmrider@Nov 7 2004, 08:58 PM

just have to get off the bike and give it a push, just be careful when balancing the bike when u get off :)

Haha.. how true it is...esp with side panniers mounted. So the no.1 step is side stand down 1st, let the bike rest on the side stand, for double protection, keep front brake lever depressed as u dismount.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

my idle rpm is at near 1k. initial start is near 1.5k.

even when it dropped to 1 after the auto choke thingy, my engine still manages to die off when i clutch in and glide to the red lights...

I am wondering, is it my

1) idle too low?

2) spark plug dirty or damaged?

3) weird riding technique?

4) engine not warm up properly yet?

5) ??!!?!? :confused:

Originally posted by barracuda@Nov 2 2004, 07:09 PM

5)Turning or U turning is also about countersteering. I can U-turn within 2 lane widths. Is this good enough?

if you can drift and turn in a single lane then i say u GOOD!!

Go on try it.... u can do it... I can be your witness when u r going to try.

Originally posted by yappiez@Nov 8 2004, 06:38 PM

my idle rpm is at near 1k. initial start is near 1.5k.

even when it dropped to 1 after the auto choke thingy, my engine still manages to die off when i clutch in and glide to the red lights...

I am wondering, is it my

1) idle too low?

2) spark plug dirty or damaged?

3) weird riding technique?

4) engine not warm up properly yet?

5) ??!!?!? :confused:

You got to state more details on the condition of this event occuring so we can give u more accurate inputs. Like early morning start and move off immediately or after 5mins warmup or after normal riding and stop etc...

I had similar issues as yours. But rectified already after my last servicing. HL adjusted my idling higher (Now its 1.1k rpm after stabilising - within 10mins after starting). My clutch freeplay was too near the biting point when its fully depressed (release abit bite already), so when the bike is hot (when fan is on), even when I clutch in, the bike will inch forward, hence engine die off. When bike cool (at optimum temp at 1/2 way mark), its ok. Adjusted the clutch freeplay to be further (release the clutch lever further to get biting point) and now its ok.

Hope this helps

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

its the morning starts and evening going home time when I get this...

I didnt wait for 10mins tho.. Once the rpm lowers to 1, I will move off.

Maybe I'll adjust my clutch as well.

Originally posted by hmsa2112@Nov 12 2004, 12:58 AM

anybody went to the motorshow and found out the cost for a 2005 TDM900 yet? :smile:

wonder how much more the ABS version would cost over the normal one...

17.5k 2nd party ins, 14k!!!! very misleading hoh!they trying to pull pple down.

mine selling at 11.8k only:smile: :help: :help: :help: .

(see my post at garage sale):offtopic: :sorry:

Dictionary

Yappiez, can try upping the idle yourself to prevent engine die. I had the same issue myself. Just a turn on the idle screw on the right (consult manual) of the bike, min 1100. do while engine is warm and on.

The idle went down after the ~5000km mark... so gotta push it up a bit..

Originally posted by yappiez@Nov 25 2004, 10:25 PM

This one for sale also.

But in Japan, Ueno Motorcycle Town. :p

oooohh its a spanking new TDM850.... How much is it over there?

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Dont think its new.. Notice states abt 500,000 yen which is about 8-9k SG.

But its as rare as it gets... I saw plenty of S4s, sports bikes, BMWs, scrams, Harleys on the road but zero Stroms, Varas and 1 TDM (on sale)

long time no c u ppl already! when is the next gathering? btw nick sold his bike liao to other of my collegue.

was busy prep for the dragon boat race n standard chart marathon thus i hardly come on net. the dragon boat race is over 2 sundays back n now final prep for this sundays marathon. after which i will be of to ex. lancer until 22 dec'04. thus wouldn't dare plan for any trips until i back fro lancer. meanwhile u TDMers carry on to enjoy your bikes n ride safely :goodluck:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Join us for a day ride this Sat 4th Dec. Check ur email or our group for details. :thumb:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Thinking about my next front tires....

Metzeler Z6 120/70/18 for 195 including balancing.

Is this worth the money?

How much are the Bridgestone ones that many ppl are using?

And also the Touratech or something brand that I saw on a Strom. Is that available for us?

Currently using Z4s for front and back.

Originally posted by yappiez@Dec 1 2004, 03:02 PM

And also the Touratech or something brand that I saw on a Strom. Is that available for us?

where got touratech tyres???? Panniers have lah... U refering to tourance isit? tourance no size for the TDM. Or trailwings isit?

here are some you can consider. The 18" front limits our choices.

Z4

Z6

ME33

Z6 had very good reviews though for our TDMs

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Ahh its Tourance... i think..

Sweeper Vstrom had these and they were the stickiest among all the riders that day. Probably wear faster too??

I paid Z4 rear is 215... front i haven change yet.. maybe abt 180?

So a pair makes abt 400???? wow... quite a lot of difference..... hmmm...

Originally posted by comics00@Dec 1 2004, 12:12 AM

long time no c u ppl already! when is the next gathering? btw nick sold his bike liao to other of my collegue.

was busy prep for the dragon boat race n standard chart marathon thus i hardly come on net. the dragon boat race is over 2 sundays back n now final prep for this sundays marathon. after which i will be of to ex. lancer until 22 dec'04. thus wouldn't dare plan for any trips until i back fro lancer. meanwhile u TDMers carry on to enjoy your bikes n ride safely :goodluck:

u are also involved in the run this sunday? where will u be ?

some of guys are involved in the background...

Z4s are going cheap now, most shops are clearing stock for the Z6s. $400 is too expensive. U shd be able to get them for about $300+. Perelli dragons are another option which cost $400+. ME33(f) with ME55 ® will be the cheapest at $200+ close to $300.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821