believe it or not 2 days ago at 90cts, i told people who ask me for my opinion that they should sell. but they didnt. today they come back and praise me for my foresight.

actually it wasnt any foresight, just look at the bloody chart, stupid genting stock, from zero to hero, still dont sell? wait until when? haha

Yeah. I saw.

I picked some up today at 71.5

Historically speaking it never went above $1 since 03, but it seems to be in a general climb for the moment.

Will see if it spikes, and I might drop it? Or wait till end of year when their IR opens and see whether it can reach new heights?

edit: After observing again, I think should it suddenly plunge to the low 50s or 40s, I prob might wanna hedge by jumping in again. What do you think?

Edited by DeusExMachina
  • Replies 3.3k

I'm more of a value stock picker and dont really mess with punting type of stocks.

to me genting is a punter stock and i personally wont touch it becos it may be overly sentiment driven.

Just bot 10 lots of M1 at $1.53.....I'm looking at high 1.60s to sell.

good luck fellas

It's a volatile period now. Punter's paradise.

In and out within a week or two.

But in this case, just betting to see if their upcoming projects will bear fruit for investors.

Well it's a punter's homeland now. Been slowly reducing my positions but still holding to two of my favourite counters. The theory of sell in May and go away in June may sound true after all. Market has been irrational. No fundamentals and technical charting any more. Dun want to be the last one holding the fort. :)

Check this thread out. I am creating a club of bikers for bikers. This is for intercultural intergration. Come on in, fellow bikers.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90550

I'm more of a value stock picker and dont really mess with punting type of stocks.

to me genting is a punter stock and i personally wont touch it becos it may be overly sentiment driven.

Just bot 10 lots of M1 at $1.53.....I'm looking at high 1.60s to sell.

good luck fellas

now down at 1.50... what a friday... :sian:

Well it's a punter's homeland now. Been slowly reducing my positions but still holding to two of my favourite counters. The theory of sell in May and go away in June may sound true after all. Market has been irrational. No fundamentals and technical charting any more. Dun want to be the last one holding the fort. :)

Heh.

Problem is that the taxi uncles and housewives are also punting.

Just hope that their sentiments, but high volume, do not cause any waves or upset with the penny stocks here. :lol:

I'm only good for penny stocks ATM.

now down at 1.50... what a friday... :sian:

$1.50, it's ok.....

cant be after i buy, it go up straight right?

heh heh.

it's is a good friday. enjoy your weekend

MSCI india goes up so fast.... ahhhhhh shoulda hold longer..

aiyah, no such thing as should have lah

got make can already....:thumb:

You gotta understand why genting came down. 9% of family stake was sold at 0.72. there'll definately be some overhang there. I wun touch it unless after a week it's still at this level or it breaks up strongly above 0.75. I still believe They play up from 70+ to 90cents juz to off load their 9% stake... I took abit of Frasers comm at 0.235 though.. Betting on them getting their financings.. hehe

Sell in May go away... That's describing May only.. Never heard of it with an additional june.. Market is not irrational, I would think of it more of normalisation.. Trend's my friend, never believed in fighting it.. Bought some Kepland too.. Sell C-Land Buy K-land haha.. Big gap to cover at 2.80

unfortunately, i cannot do short term trades due to"ÿou know what" reasons......so day trades are out. minimum 1 week.

Took more profits, this time on SATS.

27% profit in about 2 months. not too shabby lah...

Market still on the run.

People buying, I selling.

People selling, I buy...

That reminds me of one forumer....CONTRARIAN....where are you man?

You gotta understand why genting came down. 9% of family stake was sold at 0.72. there'll definately be some overhang there. I wun touch it unless after a week it's still at this level or it breaks up strongly above 0.75. I still believe They play up from 70+ to 90cents juz to off load their 9% stake... I took abit of Frasers comm at 0.235 though.. Betting on them getting their financings.. hehe

Yup. From what was reported, it was Genting SG stakes.

http://www.financeasia.com/article.aspx?CIaNID=104178

According to some sources... "Sale aimed at boosting liquidity in shares"

ie. to say, they're cashing in on their steep rise.

Anyway, it touched 0.745 earlier today. Hope it slowly zigzags North.

Took more profits, this time on SATS.

27% profit in about 2 months. not too shabby lah...

Market still on the run.

People buying, I selling.

People selling, I buy...

That reminds me of one forumer....CONTRARIAN....where are you man?

Speaking of SATS... What do you think of SIA?

They got pretty burned when the price of fuel plunged, and they were left holding those overpriced positions. They did declare some savings from low fuel prices Q109, but I wonder when the impact of the full loss from the purchase of jet fuel last year will be felt?

Actually I'm waiting .... no, hoping ... for some impact.

Anything with Temasek Holdings as main investor is worth looking at when it trips over itself...

I think SIA is overpriced right now. if $11, it's OK.

Hedging their oil requirements is nothing wrong, it is a must for consistency.

They were just plain unlucky.

however the impact on business is clearly there but ignored.

good thing is SIA has got superb Brand Equity and is the world leader, no matter what.

I dont hold any SIA but my father got quite a bit.

I think SIA is overpriced right now. if $11, it's OK.

Hedging their oil requirements is nothing wrong, it is a must for consistency.

They were just plain unlucky.

however the impact on business is clearly there but ignored.

good thing is SIA has got superb Brand Equity and is the world leader, no matter what.

I dont hold any SIA but my father got quite a bit.

I agree w/ the unlucky part. In fact most airlines got burned. They're not bunkering or trading fuel. They forecasted their requirements... bought it at those prices... then lan lan suck thumb when prices plunged.

$11 eh... OK, I'll take that under advisement. Will be watching SIA, SIAEC and SATS. Good dividends, from what I heard. They really take care of their investors.... especially since T Holdings is their major. *sniggers*

Good dividend, no doubt, I think SIA EC's pretty ok.. Bought some today, Contrarians are usually very good traders.. I'm not at that level yet.. Read somewhere, if u piss agaisnt the direction of the wind and the piss got spilled all over yourself, you've only yourself to blame.. Thus so far the trend is still my friend : )

there is a certain technique to go against the flow.

in actual fact it is not going against the flow but being in front of it.

it's not following the trend but leading it.

both techniques got pros and cons and may be employed at one time or another depending on situation.

Ahhh that's true... That's why i always try as much as possible to go for the fundamentally strong companies... I had $5+ SPC for a good 1 year lucky for me there's a take over bid.. still sell for a profit. I bought some uobKH today 1.4 level think 1.5 should be able to get out.

just sold more to take profits.

GM just bought the farm.

If the Feds take over according to plan, I wonder if they might be a good buy when they reemerge on the NYSE. Last trading price 74 cents! I wonder how much it will reopen again once the issues are ironed out.

What do you guys think?

General Motors files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in New York

NEW YORK (AP) — General Motors filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection Monday as part of the Obama administration’s plan to shrink the automaker to a sustainable size and give a majority ownership stake to the federal government.

GM’s bankruptcy filing is the fourth-largest in U.S. history and the largest for an industrial company. The company said it has $172.81 billion in debt and $82.29 billion in assets.

The fallen icon of American industrial might will rely on $30 billion of additional financial assistance from the Treasury Department as it reorganizes. That’s on top of about $20 billion in taxpayer money GM already has received in the form of low-interest loans.

GM will follow a similar course taken by Chrysler LLC, which filed for Chapter 11 protection in April and hopes to emerge from its government-sponsored bankruptcy this week.

The plan is for the federal government to take a 60 percent ownership stake in the new GM. The Canadian government would take a 12.5 percent stake, with the United Auto Workers getting a 17.5 percent stake and unsecured bondholders receiving 10 percent. Existing GM shareholders are expected to be wiped out.

President Barack Obama is scheduled to address the nation about GM’s future at midday from Washington, and GM CEO Fritz Henderson is to follow him with a news conference in New York.

Beyond the bankruptcy announcement Monday, GM is expected to reveal 14 plants it intends to close. One of those plants, however, will be retooled to build a small car.

GM’s filing comes 32 days after a Chapter 11 filing by Chrysler, which also was hobbled by plunging sales of cars and trucks as the worst recession since the Great Depression intensified.

The third of the one-time Big Three, Ford Motor Co., has also been stung hard by the sales slump, but it avoided bankruptcy by mortgaging all of its assets in 2006 to borrow roughly $25 billion, giving it a financial cushion GM and Chrysler lacked.

The downsized GM’s brands will be limited to Chevrolet, Cadillac, GMC and Buick. Its Pontiac, Saturn, Hummer and Saab operations will be either sold or closed. GM said it was finalizing a deal to sell Hummer, and plans for Saturn are expected to be announced within weeks.

GM, whose headquarters tower over downtown Detroit, said it believed the filing was not an acknowledgment of failure, but a necessary way to cleanse itself in an orderly fashion of problems and costs that have dogged it for decades.

Trading of GM shares was halted early Monday after they plunged Friday as low as 74 cents, the lowest price in the company’s 100-year history. GM will be kicked out of the Dow Jones industrial average because rules established by the News Corp. unit that oversees the index prohibit it from including companies that have filed for bankruptcy.

AP Auto Writer Kimberly S. Johnson reported from Detroit.

deus...GM is gone lah.

the old shares are worthless and trading on the OTC market / pinksheet.

last price 61cts. It will not reopen as the new GM if that is your understanding

the new GM is a totally different thing.

debts will be restructured and capital injected.

it is a new company altogether and a new listing.

the old GM bonds may be worth a look due to the restructuring

at least creditors may still get back some money. shareholders get essentially nothing....

sold more to take profits.

for this week, profit $5k ++

slowly crawling back but last year losses still far from covered yet.

deus...GM is gone lah.

the old shares are worthless and trading on the OTC market / pinksheet.

last price 61cts. It will not reopen as the new GM if that is your understanding

the new GM is a totally different thing.

debts will be restructured and capital injected.

it is a new company altogether and a new listing.

the old GM bonds may be worth a look due to the restructuring

at least creditors may still get back some money. shareholders get essentially nothing....

Yes, that's what I'm talking about!! The new GM...

(Dunno what to call it... so let's just refer to it as GM)

Obama and friends are looking at a 60% stake, but at the same time letting a private board run things. According to reports, 60 to 90 days before they settle the things and back on again.

Not holding any GM (and thank god for that...) But I will be interested in buying into the new GM if the opening prices are good.