• Replies 18.1k

hi guys....im tinking of getting a version S.... i understand its an old bike....can i noe wat to look for wen viewing the bike before buying? thank u .....

Hi everybody!

Recently my bike started showing weird symptoms. when I want to start my bike, I need to hold the starter switch for about 1 sec before the starter motor actually start working, which is different compared to the past when I get immediate response.

Why is this happening?

Hi Guys, I need to replace the carbon brush for my Ver.S, roughly how much would it cost and anywhere around the east tt does a better job? Thanks

The carbon brush is cheap..cost around $12-$15. The labor is intensive as in removing the carbs..all in should be around $85-$120..most mototiam can do it.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

hi guys....im tinking of getting a version S.... i understand its an old bike....can i noe wat to look for wen viewing the bike before buying? thank u .....

Listen to the engine..make sure no rattling or loud ticking sound in engine block after 2 mintues or so..rev the engine. Make sure the small holes on both side of the engine block does not have water leaking out but u need at LEAST 15 MINUTES TO GET THE COOLANT RUNNING HOT. Check for excessive chain movement and sharpening of the sprocket tooth..this is bad. Open right side cover of the panel below the seat and open up the reserve tank to see colouration of the coolant..SHOULD NOT BE Milo Brown and above the second level indicated on the reserve plastic tank..make sure the coolant is not clear like tap water oso..this would give u an indication of previous owner maintenance. Seat on the bike..move forward and brake..the handle must not rock forward or have a knocking sound. The list goes on but the MOST IMPORTANT is that you have to have a warranty period of 2 weeks at least..preferably a month or more by the seller.

Hi everybody!

Recently my bike started showing weird symptoms. when I want to start my bike, I need to hold the starter switch for about 1 sec before the starter motor actually start working, which is different compared to the past when I get immediate response.

Why is this happening?

It can be spark plugs or battery..try spraying some WD40 into the start up assembly (right hand side).

Listen to the engine..make sure no rattling or loud ticking sound in engine block after 2 mintues or so..rev the engine. Make sure the small holes on both side of the engine block does not have water leaking out but u need at LEAST 15 MINUTES TO GET THE COOLANT RUNNING HOT. Check for excessive chain movement and sharpening of the sprocket tooth..this is bad. Open right side cover of the panel below the seat and open up the reserve tank to see colouration of the coolant..SHOULD NOT BE Milo Brown and above the second level indicated on the reserve plastic tank..make sure the coolant is not clear

like tap water oso..this would give u an indication of previous owner maintenance. Seat on the bike..move forward and brake..the handle must not rock forward or have a knocking sound. The list goes on but the MOST IMPORTANT is that you have to have a warranty period of 2 weeks at least..preferably a month or more by the seller.

thank u so much for ur info mr ah pek....will take note....:) hopefully can get a good condition verS....

Friend, ur radiator fan running or not? Mine was not running previously and coolant reservoir always empty, bcos I always travel to malaysia, and Always overheat. The heat sensor was not sensitive tats why my fan not running.

Yah, it was working before although recently I did not hear the fan turning on. How do I test it? I got to leave the bike on for very long time to know

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Yamaha TZR > Kawasaki KIPS >> Suzuki GSX-K >>> Honda NSR >>>> Yamaha RX-Z >>>>> Honda CB400 Ver S >>>>>> Kymco X400i

Yah, it was working before although recently I did not hear the fan turning on. How do I test it? I got to leave the bike on for very long time to know

Ground the fan radiator switch and it should turn if it's working..this is for testing fan service status only. If it does work..in this case, ur radiator thermal switch may be bad..have to replace it.

Can the meter be repair (rebuild)?

As in I have a semi-broken meter cluster, can I procure the spare parts and rebuild the broken portions?:pity:

I was using the original PB1 meter with white needles and green backlight.:cool:

Ah Pek, what do you think?:pray:

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

Can the meter be repair (rebuild)?

As in I have a semi-broken meter cluster, can I procure the spare parts and rebuild the broken portions?:pity:

I was using the original PB1 meter with white needles and green backlight.:cool:

Ah Pek, what do you think?:pray:

Yes..the whole meter assembly is made up of 10 parts or so. Example, the two plastic 'chrome' like covers (cowling), the outer back black rubberise base cowling, the inner plastic white housing, the surface frontal meter ring chassis, needle and black scale plates...etc..are all individual parts and can be purchase separately. Can get from FJT and may be Chion Aik but LAB chiong one oso can use but I don't recommend chiong parts for the internal two assembly like for the RMP or speedometer.

Ground the fan radiator switch and it should turn if it's working..this is for testing fan service status only. If it does work..in this case, ur radiator thermal switch may be bad..have to replace it.

I just replaced the radiator cap but the cap seems to b in good condition. Will monitor on the radiator fan situation

Yamaha TZR > Kawasaki KIPS >> Suzuki GSX-K >>> Honda NSR >>>> Yamaha RX-Z >>>>> Honda CB400 Ver S >>>>>> Kymco X400i

... Ground the fan radiator switch and it should turn if it's working..this is for testing fan service status only...

Bro Ghost, this particular suggestion by Ah Pek's is only to test whether your FAN is working or not...

... ur radiator thermal switch may be bad..have to replace it...

... Will monitor on the radiator fan situation...

radiator thermal switch will ACTIVATE the fan at a certain predetermined setting (a temp sensor in layman's terms)

Usually it activates your fan when your riding pattern includes a lot of accelerating (from a slow speed and/or stationary position) and stopping. Traffic jams etc.

If you lazy to stop, dismount and look... You can hear the fan when activated (if its not to much noise around you) or you can "wave" your hand near the carburetor, just behind the engine block. If its activated you can feel the breeze on your naked hands. Its a shiok feeling!

just my $0.02 :angel:

Btw, your Temp led indicator ever light up? If yes... better send your horse for a medical check-up :cry:

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

anyone know shop that sell sintered or double hh brakepads for version s brembo mdel?.. nowadays rainy day, my normal brakepad seems very unreaponsive.. just want to be safe.

blurrrr.....................:thumb::gun:

Hi everyone,

I'm super new to the super four family. Just got a 1994 Project Big 1 and have a few questions to ask if I may.

- front end wobbles when I let go of handle bars while on the move

- slight leak of engine oil from left block outlet

- leaking of oil from front sprocket area. Don't know the source yet

- noisy front brakes

Any pointers on what are the causes and fixes?

And any spec sheets or info available online for this model..? Can't seem to find any..

Thanks heaps everyone!

Hi everyone,

I'm super new to the super four family. Just got a 1994 Project Big 1 and have a few questions to ask if I may.

- front end wobbles when I let go of handle bars while on the move

- slight leak of engine oil from left block outlet

- leaking of oil from front sprocket area. Don't know the source yet

- noisy front brakes

Any pointers on what are the causes and fixes?

And any spec sheets or info available online for this model..? Can't seem to find any..

Thanks heaps everyone!

Hi badak.

- may be due to worn cone bearings or tyre bearings

- may be block gasket

- may be due to worn shifter seal

- define noisy, is it screeching sound?

Hi badak.

- may be due to worn cone bearings or tyre bearings

- may be block gasket

- may be due to worn shifter seal

- define noisy, is it screeching sound?

Hey Izammo,

Thanks for the reply good sir,

Noted on the above shall have those checked out accordingly.

As for the noise, it is almost a screech but slightly more whining but it goes off when i apply more pressure or pull the brake lever further in. Oh the brake pads are new though...

Any ideas why?

Hey Izammo,

As for the noise, it is almost a screech but slightly more whining but it goes off when i apply more pressure or pull the brake lever further in. Oh the brake pads are new though...

Any ideas why?

Maybe alot of brake dust on the caliper..

Try asking Motorshop use air pressure to blow the dust away.

Maybe BrakePad gone..

Just my guess. Maybe wrong

Hey Izammo,

Any ideas why?

Maybe alot of brake dust on the caliper..

Try asking Motorshop use air pressure to blow the dust away.

Maybe BrakePad gone..

Just my guess. Maybe wrong

Agree with the brake dust issue. You may also want to scrub your brake rotors with scotchbrite and some soapy water when washing your bike.

Since you said its new, may be the pads not yet break in.

Bro Ghost, this particular suggestion by Ah Pek's is only to test whether your FAN is working or not...

radiator thermal switch will ACTIVATE the fan at a certain predetermined setting (a temp sensor in layman's terms)

Usually it activates your fan when your riding pattern includes a lot of accelerating (from a slow speed and/or stationary position) and stopping. Traffic jams etc.

If you lazy to stop, dismount and look... You can hear the fan when activated (if its not to much noise around you) or you can "wave" your hand near the carburetor, just behind the engine block. If its activated you can feel the breeze on your naked hands. Its a shiok feeling!

just my $0.02 :angel:

Btw, your Temp led indicator ever light up? If yes... better send your horse for a medical check-up :cry:

My sensor and fan works fine. Only once when the temp light came up. Another observation, I always find lots of hot air coming out from under the seat. Normal?

Check if your rad cap is of the correct pressure. And maybe your rad is clogged also.

How to check if correct pressure? Radiator cannot b clogged with the coolant is being used up fast, right?