Hi fellow S4 owners, http://www.fuchs.com.sg are having an online promotion. And i'm deciding which one to buy, but, there are so many varity to choose from. What does the '*W**' means? I only understanding that it refers to the viscocity of the oil, but which one is most suitable for use in climate here, which one protects our engine the most, which one lasts longer?

Make Safe Riding A Practise In Our Everyday Life.

• Replies 833

From my point of view,

3 months once should be good enough.

3K-4K mileage is also a good gauge for changing your E.Oil.

Every 2 oil change, change your oil filter as well.

Get to know some guys who do their oil change every 1K mileage. Its good for the bike lah, but not good for our wallet lor. :D

Semi-Syn should be good enough for S4. No need full syn lah, as we are not using the bike for racing purpose. Moreover, how fast can you play with this bike in our "FINE" island.

:shades:

Guys! Correct me if i'm wrong hor :D Cheers!

Steed_VSE

If using fully syn 3 months should be good enough

THe if semi syn i think 2 months will be a better bet and if u look hard enough there are many cheap semi syn around.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

usually ppl advice abt 5k mileage for semi syn and 10k mileage for fully syn. im using semi syn and change mine once every 4k

I use those $5 per litre semi syn so i usually change around 2 months which my monthly mileage is about 1000km :smile:

Every 2 oil change then change oil filter

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

usually ppl advice abt 5k mileage for semi syn and 10k mileage for fully syn. im using semi syn and change mine once every 4k

wah, 10k for full syn...

me use full syn also, but change every 5 k...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

any specific brand of synthetic to use?? i using castrol.... change one time can go broke... [blur:9fd64bca38]$85 or so.....[/blur:9fd64bca38]

NSR 150SP; Super 4 Spec I; CBR 929; GSX 750; R 1150 GS; Piaggio X8

Feels like moving a circle....

I change 2k semi syn

1 litres $5 so 4k-5k km is about $45 about 6 litres of semi syn and 1 oil filter

Cheap and i think is good to have fresh oil every 2 months :cheer:

how come 6 litres???? :confused:

thought engine only need 3.2 litres or so??? :giddy:

how come 6 litres???? :confused:

thought engine only need 3.2 litres or so??? :giddy:

2 oil change mah :smile:

hmm.. okkie....

so total you every 2 months change once... + oil filter. ... total $45?

the semi-syn you using only $5 for a litre??

every 4-5 month 2 oil change but 1 oil filter so mileage about 500km or so as i clock about 1000-1200 km per month

hmmm, think i also switch to semi syn oil... change every 2 months, good for my pocket and the bike can have fresh oil also...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

3 litres for $15 ma...plus $15 for oil filter +2nd oil change $15==

$45 total lor...

Saw cheap engine oil at carrefour.. which one is better? One is $3.80, another one is $4.30(synthetic based, tink the other one is non synthetic). thinking of buying leh.. If not good, tink i'll go fuch and buy liao.. $14/litre @ fuch..

Make Safe Riding A Practise In Our Everyday Life.

I using the $4.3 one. Quite good. Change every 5000km.

With great Power, comes great responsibility.

FJR1300

Using $4.30 chnage every 2000-3000km depending on whether I have free time a not :smile:

Saw cheap engine oil at carrefour.. which one is better? One is $3.80, another one is $4.30(synthetic based, tink the other one is non synthetic). thinking of buying leh.. If not good, tink i'll go fuch and buy liao.. $14/litre @ fuch..

Yah ... i've used the $4.30 engine oil... not bad... really... just that if u want it really cheap.. then must DIY... which can be messy...

Guest LandLord

what brand ???

must go try out then know gd or not?

what brand ???

must go try out then know gd or not?

Brand: Total

Hi guys i ride a TA200...how to DIY change engine oil ah? How to extract the dirty oil?

Dey, post in wrong forum lah!

But in a simple way, just look for a size-17 plug at the bottom left hand side of your engine, get a container, unscrew that and watch the black oil flow......

After that just screw back, and top up with fresh oil. Refer to your owner's manual for more info. ;)

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first