Hi Bros! Currently my RS125 is under run in. The max I could whack is 72km/h wit 4700 to 5000rpm. Is tis normal? My frenz told me after I reach certain milage will increase. Is it true? Please enlighten me:)

• Replies 33

very normal ...like you said .. still running in , so everything takes time ? like a baby cant run without starting to walk right ? wait till everything season .. hohoho , you will be a happy rider.. but SAFETY 1st.. :cheeky:

Phantom 200 - FU86XG - April2009 to Oct2009

RoadwinR 125 -FBE109XC-Nov2009 to Still Going On

if u truly want to break in the engine properly.. twist the throttle n whack ur bike HARD.. dun restrict urself to wat rpm n speed.. all tat is nonsense

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

wads run in ah ?

y n when does bike nid to run in ?

noob here

if u truly want to break in the engine properly.. twist the throttle n whack ur bike HARD.. dun restrict urself to wat rpm n speed.. all tat is nonsense

This is in simple terms race-style break in, based on the concept that the piston rings' need to be honed to the cylinder walls before they lose their flexibility (or something like that).

Thus, varying the load on the engine (go Neo Tiew!), running through all the gears will break-in the engine much more effectively than a manual-recommended, gradual break in. You will not do the engine any favours by cruising at 70kph on the highway. Go do some backroad time attacks.

Make sure you warm up the engine before you start exercising, it's just like going to the gym. You won't have good results if you straight away sit down on the bench press and do 200kg weights immediately (you'll start destroying muscle mass.. or in this case, your engine).

There will be a lot of wear and tear so change your EO often during break in. Some say "change after the first twenty miles" and then every 500km but suit your budget.

Do not run in using synthetic oil, use mineral EO and change it often.

After 2000km, the result is a bike that is significantly more powerful feeling than your friend with the gentle break in.

Remember no pain no gain, go whip your horse :p

--

Bibliography: Mototune USA break in secrets

Practical use: Phantom can ride like sportsbike? Can!

Then can recommand me a gd performance fast throttle for my RS125.

No need performance fast throttle, just train your right forearm muscles lol.

Anyways here's a tip for Italian bikes:

Before they ship it to you they sit it on a dyno like machine in the factory and the engineers will RUN FULL THROTTLE CONTINUOUSLY - they've already done pre-break in for you. Up to you to start racing and complete their work.

but a 2t bike does the same apply?

and about the eo.. 2t bike depend on 2t oil for the eo.. so does it apply to use mineral..

and cannot change the oil la.. haha

the gearbox/clutch oil can lah.. but its got nothing to do with cylider/piston/ring..

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg

I rode 2 strokes before, just treat it like normal engine bah. I took the advice of bike shops to take it easy for the first thousand miles, but due to traffic I had to vary the speed, gear and throttle a lot, which did good.

I didn't change the EO as frequently as I do now but on hindsight it is a good idea. The reed valve system isn't designed to shed debris created by wearing in the piston rings and we are using shared sump so if want engine/gearbox to last, change the oil lor. After all the lower spec EOs are dirt cheap. No need to change 2T because it's an expendable commodity stored in a remote reservoir. It doesn't suffer degration from temperature, pressure, moisture and shearing like your EO.

My 125Z is unbelievably fast and uses little fuel because of not riding at 60kph for breaking in (it's totally stock). Had to overhaul a couple times during its long life and didn't really care about people asking me to go slow on the break in. Just started riding slow, got used to the feel of the engine, ride normally at first.... then abnormally... then...

Bt bro my milage is 650km already. Bt my RPM still at 5000 n I can't whack more then 73km/h. My frenz r telling smthing is wrong wit the bike. Can enlighten me...

bring back to where you bought it lah.. haha

waste how many $$K on a sport bike only to ride at 73km/h?

Bro I brought my bike to mah motors as they r the agent for aprilia. They did the setting n everything. Nw is normal. Can really feel the power. I was told tat I shld go at 90km/h until 3000milage.

the stock one are there for a lot of reason, like to meet euro emission, budget, ect.

Weight n power not being the top priority of stock pipe.

Heard jollymoto pipe are good.

Arrow have street legal ones.

change your exhaust system. to Arrow.

Yes Jolly Moto is gd, but since you are in SIngapore, Street Legal ones are only Arrow and Gianelli.

Anyway, when running in is running in. just be patient, and after run in, u wan to whack all you want also can, but control man. Anyway, piece of advice, change your 2t to Agip or motul as your 'agent' is supplying you with SPC 2t if im nt wrong. BUT PLEASE DO YOUR RESEARCH FIRST, as different people want different things for their bikes.

Anyway, there is an Aprilia thread btw, you can ask aprilia stuff der. But my best advice is try to search on your own first before you ask, cos i think the seniors mentioned alot of things on previous threads.

I ride rs125 with gianelli exhaust FYI :)

ALPHA MIKE FOXTROT

~ decode the message

Weight n power not being the top priority of stock pipe.

That is true. Still I'm a strong advocate of actually mastering the stock bike first. Sure, an aftermarket system can increase peak HP and torque but relocate that optimal range out of reach of normal street riding RPMs = beaten by stock Y125Z at traffic lights :p

i think the thing is to appreciate what aftermarket stuff do for your bike.

best to put in one thing at a time, feel the difference. This way, best way to learn.

ALPHA MIKE FOXTROT

~ decode the message

Just exercise progressively lor. Bike won't explode wan.

u r so funny! i was running in my bike for less than 10 days then buang. now after 2 mths then recover fr injury but dono how i shld to continue to run in.... pls advise?:dot:

Rain rain go away...

how i wish i can download the art of riding by a click of the mouse... into my mind...:cheeky:

check out my nudie jeans and others sale in the Garage sale! Or simply PM me!

It's okay bike will wait for you - just continue the run in process, but change the oil out first. This will remove the bits and pieces of metal dumped into the sump during that 10 days of breaking in, and refresh the additives of the oil.

Oil does degrate on the shelf (5 years) but once poured into your engine it has to deal with acids from combustion and now, from sitting still, absorb condensation every morning. So it will degrade faster. My SOP is to change oil if I didn't ride for a very long time (more than a month).

u mean no matter how u wack, top speed is 72km/hr?

not normal.

That is true. Still I'm a strong advocate of actually mastering the stock bike first. Sure, an aftermarket system can increase peak HP and torque but relocate that optimal range out of reach of normal street riding RPMs = beaten by stock Y125Z at traffic lights :p

yah.. i remember my sp so hard to ride at one point of time due to bad pipe choice...