Scuba Diving

C70

• Replies 1k

For, FWS would be a good place if you hav a bit extra as they r a little more x. But it's worth e $$. The resort n food is good only thing is the climb up if you stay at e top. Buget wise would be dayang, nice beach there. Best time for Aur would be b4 or after monsion for those who dare, the currents would be quite unpredictable but thats when the fishes come in. MANTAS anybody????

Tioman more comercialised, so no need to carry too much.

Life is better under the sea.

Sorry, not sure how the current will affect the dive trip apart from having to swim harder against it. Cos I'm still very green in this thing, I wouldn't mind any kind of condition as I still have tons of things to learn about it. Sad thing is that i have a very tight budget constrain as well.

Any ideas if there's anybody who does diving in Sg waters itself? thinking of doing it in Sg to learn the skills better so as to be able to enjoy the leisure trips better. :cheeky:

Originally posted by shepherd@Aug 8 2005, 10:57 AM

Any ideas if there's anybody who does diving in Sg waters itself? thinking of doing it in Sg to learn the skills better so as to be able to enjoy the leisure trips better. :cheeky:

as the saying goes... if u can dive in sg, u can dive anywhere in the world.

murky waters, terrible vis, lots of sediments, missing colours, minimal difference between day and night dive... the list goes on :cheeky:

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by enHANZed@Jul 19 2005, 06:05 PM

kindda sick and tired of diving aur/dayang/tioman areas....

then why not go for the rest of the places? plenty of options around:

similan - highly recommended

hin deang/muang - highly recommended

manado - highly recommended

sipadan - highly recommended

perhentian - recommended

lang tenggoh/ lang tenggah - only if u want somewhere far from the maddening crowd

and those are only some from my and th. still got ph to consider...

keeping my fingers cross, but i aiming for palau next year :cheeky:

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by floppy@Aug 8 2005, 11:04 AM

as the saying goes... if u can dive in sg, u can dive anywhere in the world.

murky waters, terrible vis, lots of sediments, missing colours, minimal difference between day and night dive... the list goes on :cheeky:

:giddy: That bad.... :faint:

anyone here knows any lobang where i can buy diving mask? heard there's one shop near beach rd tats sellin diving gear at a cheaper rate.

by the way, im goin for advanced open water. is it really necessary for me to buy the writin slate and dive sausage? anyone here sellin these items 2nd hand? :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Originally posted by Nightstalker@Aug 24 2005, 03:28 PM

anyone here knows any lobang where i can buy diving mask? heard there's one shop near beach rd tats sellin diving gear at a cheaper rate.

by the way, im goin for advanced open water. is it really necessary for me to buy the writin slate and dive sausage? anyone here sellin these items 2nd hand? :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

diving mask. beach rd, u mean concourse? price differs based on the brand u buying. if buying mares, tusa or cressi, may cost more than taiwan produce mask.

for advanced, never heard it's a must to buy writing slate and sausage. best to check with ur instructors to confirm (they may have different requirements :cheeky: ). however, there might be a need to buy a torch for your night dives.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Guest enHANZed

advanced no need to buy slate la ....but i bought a slate anyway ...its a pretty good tool to have ....sausage the DM will have no point having it ... when u are doing night dives remember to switch off ur torch once in a while to really enjoy a NIGHT dive ...eheh

Originally posted by Nightstalker@Aug 26 2005, 12:46 AM

wat shd i look out for when buyin a torch and mask? my fren's bringin me to the shop in beach rd. think the owner's name is sim sth. he says he always calls him 'uncle sim' if i didnt rem wrongly....

buying torch quite straightforward - depending buying primary or secondary torch. primary torch, comfortable to hold, easy to turn on/off should be ok.

as for mask, a little trickier. don't go for brand (although i personally prefer cressi or tusa :cheeky: ). make sure the mask fit and is comfortable! mask are very individual items, some people's face shape suitable for certain mask, others don't. u wun want an uncomfortable mask underwater. also, consider whether u want high/low volume mask and wide angle/lots of glass/what-have-u-not kind of mask. they allow u to see more and generally, enjoy more.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by Nightstalker@Aug 26 2005, 12:46 AM

yeah...was thinkin of juz gettin the mask and torch. the rest can rent la...

wat shd i look out for when buyin a torch and mask? my fren's bringin me to the shop in beach rd. think the owner's name is sim sth. he says he always calls him 'uncle sim' if i didnt rem wrongly....

yah... dat boss nice wan.. can bargain..... got my basic stuff from there excluding wet suit for $150-200+ onli....

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by floppy@Aug 30 2005, 03:58 PM

buying torch quite straightforward - depending buying primary or secondary torch. primary torch, comfortable to hold, easy to turn on/off should be ok.

as for mask, a little trickier. don't go for brand (although i personally prefer cressi or tusa :cheeky: ). make sure the mask fit and is comfortable! mask are very individual items, some people's face shape suitable for certain mask, others don't. u wun want an uncomfortable mask underwater. also, consider whether u want high/low volume mask and wide angle/lots of glass/what-have-u-not kind of mask. they allow u to see more and generally, enjoy more.

yeah... bought a mask and torch from there. the mask feels pretty comfy on my face. tried puttin it on, seems to fit pretty well. must test out in the pool. haha...

Hi all

Just completed my OWC yesterday.

It was a bit scarry at 1st but okay, however, i have problems

equalising my ears at the beginning.

i need a longer time to get down to 18 meters.

But once at a certain depth.... it gets better.

my air consumption very heavy though. :cheeky:

ps. don't forget to go see my movie ;)

Originally posted by ez_s_abc@Sep 19 2005, 01:24 PM

Hi all

Just completed my OWC yesterday.

It was a bit scarry at 1st but okay, however, i have problems

equalising my ears at the beginning.

i need a longer time to get down to 18 meters.

But once at a certain depth.... it gets better.

my air consumption very heavy though. :cheeky:

in the beginning, always like that. problems equalising, consuming too much air, "floating" up and down, stirring up too much sediment, blah blah blah :cheeky:

it will get better as u dive more/gain more experience :thumb:

welcome to a whole new world :bounce:

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Hey, tks for the heads up!!!

I was worried before the 1st dive, but after that it was quite okay.

However, during the 3rd dive down to 18meters, i just could not

equalise my left year. Hopefully it will improve with more dives :thumb:

Any advice how should i go about from here? Like going for leisure

dives and at the same time becoming more and more familiar with

the diving equipments.

Is it better to have a 'buddy' before going on a trip?

For my OWC i was lucky because when i went alone to sign up,

the dive center already had 3 people. So together with me it was just

nice, but don't think everytime will be so 'swee swee'.

Is there a divers' forum where can source for trips, 'buddy' and stuff?

One more thing, i cannot 'tahan' the long journey though. Going thru 2nd link to

Mersing not so bad. But returning via the causeway... :faint: cannot lah...damm

troublesome with the traffic jams and long queues.

it will definitely improve (unless its a physiological problem).

from here, u can start diving leisurely with tons of centres out there. u can visit a nearby resort in malaysia, thailand or indonesia for ur dives. ideally, u should have a buddy. but its alrite if u dun have one. the dm will usually pair (or triple team) u up with other resort guests.

on the other hand, u can follow one of the local dive companies on one of their trips (almost weekly) and make friends (we always start off as strangers until we meet). the better companies have regular trips (which are often fully booked) to nearby dive sites in tioman, dayang, aur, etc. again, dm will pair the lone rangers up or triple team. u may want to check out some of the local dive companies website (orpheus dive, fishermen, vincent dive, friendly waters) among many others (i'm not affliated to any of them :cheeky: )

must learn to tahan the journey lah :faint: mersing (tioman, dayang, aur) isn't too bad. wait till u travel to trengganu for redang, tenggol, perhentian :sweat: alternatively, u can always fly :p then u can go to phuket, bali, monado. however, some dive trips/sites r not recommended for newbies (eg. anambas, seven skies). u may want to research a little before u take the plunge and sign up for some of the trips.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

actually how much for scuba driving??cos last time work at community centre..they charge $450??dun know how many lesson..

Year 2000 : SP 150 , Kawa, Cagiva Planet 125

Year 2001 : Ducati Monster 400

Year 2003 : Gsxrr 400

Year 2005 : bus n mrt or drive suzuki jimmy

Year 2006 : CBR600--- FZ 52** L

Year 2007 : no more bike liao.. :p

Year 2008 : Suzuki Swift SJB 441Z

Year 2009: Getz SGK 9370G

Year 2010: Planning to get a bike again!

Originally posted by lady_rider@Sep 20 2005, 09:12 AM

actually how much for scuba driving??cos last time work at community centre..they charge $450??dun know how many lesson..

Yeah, more or less is around that amount.

I paid $460 for my OWC, for lessons (theory and pool lesson in singapore, and

open sea dives in Tioman waters).

My package was a 'live-on-board' type, meaning when we are not diving, we will

spent the rest of our time relaxing, sleeping and eating on the boat.

We don't go on land at all, except when going and returning via mersing.

On charges by other operators, they may quote the package say at $300+++.

However, you have to hire their scuba equipment(eg. wetsuit, mask, snorkel, etc...). So when you add it all up, it will reach to $450 (plus, minus).

Mine at $460 was all inclusive, transport to and fro, all meals and rental of scuba equipments all included. You only pay for incidentals, like tidbits, cigarettes or some snacks when the van takes a 10-15mins pitstop.

Hope this info. helps.

Sorry i couldn't shorten the length of this text :lol:

As for which operators to choose from, 'floopy' gave a few operators to choose from. I took mine from a different operator, located in the west at west coast area.

You may want to do your on 'research' as to which will be more suitable for you.

Eg location, convenience, etc...

One last thing, you can take the OWC (Open Water Course) cheaper by diving in singapore waters. But i suggest that you pay a bit more and choose to dive around one of the malaysian islands like Pulau Dayang, Tioman or Pulau Aur. There will be more things to see.

Cheers :thumb:

oh cos i feel $450 is ex cos by CC mah..then my CC supervisor said get cheaper ard $400 ba..but i find still ex...lol..no $$ liao..sian...haiz....oh i know the theory lesson abt...cos i was in the IT club n the instructor using the IT club lah for lesson..FOC..haha..instructor handsome sia..

Year 2000 : SP 150 , Kawa, Cagiva Planet 125

Year 2001 : Ducati Monster 400

Year 2003 : Gsxrr 400

Year 2005 : bus n mrt or drive suzuki jimmy

Year 2006 : CBR600--- FZ 52** L

Year 2007 : no more bike liao.. :p

Year 2008 : Suzuki Swift SJB 441Z

Year 2009: Getz SGK 9370G

Year 2010: Planning to get a bike again!

Originally posted by lady_rider@Sep 21 2005, 02:46 PM

oh cos i feel $450 is ex cos by CC mah..then my CC supervisor said get cheaper ard $400 ba..but i find still ex...lol..no $$ liao..sian...haiz....oh i know the theory lesson abt...cos i was in the IT club n the instructor using the IT club lah for lesson..FOC..haha..instructor handsome sia..

it is kinda difficult to say $450 ex or $400 ex. no doubt there's cheaper ones out there. however, need to consider a few points:

rental of equipment inclusive?

local or overseas dive?

total number of dives?

all these add up to the cost. so cheap may not necessary mean you will enjoy the experience.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by lady_rider@Sep 21 2005, 02:46 PM

aiyo sister, ~$400 not ex lah very normal some more the instructor handsome boy keekee mai tou liao :cheeky:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone