Thank you all for helping me make a decision NOT to get another bike...LOL

I've been riding around for about 15yrs.Two previous bike....KDX and KTM.

Spent bout 70k estimate on everything.You know...MODS,petrol,insurance,hospital fees,parking,blah blah blah...everything!

Oh ! Don't forget ,the late night get togethers,Girls.Malaysia trip,the drinking...it all adds up.

I was considering getting a nice four stroker for my amusement recently but I guess

all the great fun I've had with a bike just does not justify all the financial and emotional crap that i have to put up with nowadays. Getting another one is probably gonna set me back bout 30k in the next 2yrs alone.SHEESH. I guess I'm getting OLD...LOL...or is it WISE.

Anyway.this is just a thanks to all the patrons of this website.I am not trying to

influence anyone into not getting a bike....LOL!

Your imputs have been most enlightening.

My advise to the new riders is....hmmmm.....its fun but know your limits!This is Singapore,not a cheap place to learn from your mistakes.

PS: Of course if COE drops to a dollar,I'll reconsider my decision.HA!

Or if any one of you cares to change my mind and challenge yourselves,feel free to leave a comment.

And pls don't mention meeting girls as a positive thing...its not..LOL

• Replies 22

depends on the girls you meet

chio bu OR sai bu

depends on the girls you meet

chio bu OR sai bu

LOLs!!!

cai(gal) or cai(grass) nia

Riding is all abt passion...

:cheeky::cheeky:

I've been riding around for about 15yrs.Two previous bike....KDX and KTM.

Spent bout 70k estimate on everything.You know...MODS,petrol,insurance,hospital fees,parking,blah blah blah...everything!

Oh ! Don't forget ,the late night get togethers,Girls.Malaysia trip,the drinking...it all adds up.

I was considering getting a nice four stroker for my amusement recently but I guess

all the great fun I've had with a bike just does not justify all the financial and emotional crap that i have to put up with nowadays. Getting another one is probably gonna set me back bout 30k in the next 2yrs alone.SHEESH. I guess I'm getting OLD...LOL...or is it WISE.

Anyway.this is just a thanks to all the patrons of this website.I am not trying to

influence anyone into not getting a bike....LOL!

Your imputs have been most enlightening.

My advise to the new riders is....hmmmm.....its fun but know your limits!This is Singapore,not a cheap place to learn from your mistakes.

PS: Of course if COE drops to a dollar,I'll reconsider my decision.HA!

Or if any one of you cares to change my mind and challenge yourselves,feel free to leave a comment.

And pls don't mention meeting girls as a positive thing...its not..LOL

Sounds exactly like me. Been riding for 17 years. KDX200 first bike and the first LC4 in Singapore. BUT, you seem to have wised up. How about coming over to the dark side again? Dirt scene needs more old farts!

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Thanks for the comments so far.As for passion...riding 2 stroke dirt bikes for 15yrs should give you an idea of just

how much passion I have for bikes.Not to mention dedication and patience.

And as to ulysses_sc, ...Ahh a fellow KDX rider.I believe you'll agree with me that that bike probably gave you the best trail days of your life! LOL ....also ,the worst days of your life,with regards to maintenance.

The offer to "return to the dark side"is terribly tempting of course,but im afraid can't risk going berserk on trails again (me on dirt bike+trail equals accidents).Too old for broken bones already lah!

Still,I am human and its an everyday battle not to let my mind wonder off to the good old days. I'm presently too practical a person now to subject myself to all the growing cost of having and maintaining an overpriced piece of equipment for transportation on this dot of a country.

Keep your comments coming if your still interested in proving me wrong with my decision...LOL

agree with you

bikes eat money and risk factor is high

but for me there's no better way of traveling home from work

car = stuck in jam

bus = stuck in jam and need to keep stopping and crowd with people

mrt = crowd with people and pack like sardines. still need to transfer bus/walk in order to reach home

bike = get wet in the rain and dangerous but at least can get home faster

sigh

maybe these points wont be valid if you dont work regular hours

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

car = petrol exp aso

bus = sumtyms no seat,n sumtym lyk sardine

mrt = even if circle line operates,it wont b that accessable compare to bus.sum place quite ulu. or hdb building not that near from mrt station

if big rain,dun ride. scare scare(for me)

riding for me is a passion... even if it makes no sense haha

nice dp

I love riding.

Riding North that is.

Commuting sucks. Riding in Singapore is the donkey's bollocks.

But cars are just too expensive here. Unjustifiably so, when compared to other countries.

For now, I'd rather put the money spent there per month on more bottles of wine/liquor, a few more upmarket restaurant treats, or even another couple more vacations a year. May change my mind one day, but for now it's that.

yeah,idk y but..cars r really exp man..

e petrol alone..

riding north ?

wdlans,amk that area ? lol

Nice to see some new imput but I'm afraid I'll not be getting another one.It's too painful to even talk about the good old days...LOL. Getting a bike here now just has no good practical usage...not one.Thats my opinion.

Back in the day,you could at least have tons of fun riding with little cost.Now,with lots of rude and stressed up people on the roads,its becoming a huge danger for anyone,especially new riders.I have a huge passion for riding ...

not passion for pain,...LOL...which is most definitely what riders now have to look forward to.

I'm presently looking towards getting a whole new gaming console to enjoy with my wife and son...LOL!

Singapore...9th most expensive to live in....2nd rudest people in the world....LOL..I could be wrong...I hope!

Plus all those "Wonderful" stories bout thefts,accidents,carrot chopping cheats,etc....sigh...do the math!

If this was a bigger country,it may still be justifiable to get one but ...well...its not.

Nice to see some new imput but I'm afraid I'll not be getting another one.It's too painful to even talk about the good old days...LOL. Getting a bike here now just has no good practical usage...not one.Thats my opinion.

Back in the day,you could at least have tons of fun riding with little cost.Now,with lots of rude and stressed up people on the roads,its becoming a huge danger for anyone,especially new riders.I have a huge passion for riding ...

not passion for pain,...LOL...which is most definitely what riders now have to look forward to.

I'm presently looking towards getting a whole new gaming console to enjoy with my wife and son...LOL!

Singapore...9th most expensive to live in....2nd rudest people in the world....LOL..I could be wrong...I hope!

Plus all those "Wonderful" stories bout thefts,accidents,carrot chopping cheats,etc....sigh...do the math!

If this was a bigger country,it may still be justifiable to get one but ...well...its not.

I think u are wrong abt the rudest... we are no.1... and we are number 1 in complaining... not to mention lining up for hello kitty... :)

However there are also plenty of nice ppl ard... just the diluting of cultures from soo many immigrants in sg...

v little nice ppl,i can sae

haha,i think no1 will ever forget e 'q-ing up for hello kitty'

hm... i dunno... i have 2 bikes...

actually hor... u think about it, a 2nd hand 2b bike is like prob 1k+

if it gets stolen/damaged beyond repair/etc, just write it off...

i like it in tt way cause its relatively stress free.. if she goes, just let her go no biggie

but lets say if its a car or one of my dream cl2 bikes

i think i wont feel so relaxed anymore

the only times when i felt that i wanted to give up riding were after accidents... but in the end went back to riding cause there is no other transport tt i can take to work for the reasons mentioned above. even though sometimes i think of what if i really f***ed myself up bad in an accident n the impact it would have on my family... n then i try not to think about it

what happened, TS? seems like something major happened made u quit riding

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

..even though sometimes i think of what if i really f***ed myself up bad in an accident n the impact it would have on my family... n then i try not to think about it

Totally agreed. Whenever I think of it, I'll wanna give up riding. And sometimes, I see some riders on the road riding so recklessly...really dun understand why...

Well, be it a passion, or a convenience or even your livelihood, just do it safely. I like the message displayed on our expressways these days - "Make your way home safely for your loved ones" =]

"the best gift for your loved ones is you"

sumthing litat

hm... i dunno... i have 2 bikes...

actually hor... u think about it, a 2nd hand 2b bike is like prob 1k+

if it gets stolen/damaged beyond repair/etc, just write it off...

i like it in tt way cause its relatively stress free.. if she goes, just let her go no biggie

but lets say if its a car or one of my dream cl2 bikes

i think i wont feel so relaxed anymore

the only times when i felt that i wanted to give up riding were after accidents... but in the end went back to riding cause there is no other transport tt i can take to work for the reasons mentioned above. even though sometimes i think of what if i really f***ed myself up bad in an accident n the impact it would have on my family... n then i try not to think about it

what happened, TS? seems like something major happened made u quit riding

LOL..nothing major happened.As for accidents...only off road during trails but never on local roads.I've been extremely lucky I guess.Oh...and I have not given up on riding.It's just that I can't justified the spenditure of ANY amount of money on this at present.Owning a vehicle now is really alot of work.Unless your work calls for it,I can see no practical reason for getting one.Not even for recreational purposes...LOL.Still, I'm looking forward to the day I can throw away all my prohibitions and get one again.. maybe when I'm 50...LOL

LOL....ERP up again!!!!! Another nail in the coffin.Definitely not getting another bike.. EVER!!!

Cost of living keeps going up.It will NEVER go down.

For all you presently riding around .Best of luck!!!Enjoy it while you can.Soon bikes will cost the same as cars...LOL