If you don't know anything about rethreading, just keep quiet lah!

Posting so much and TS still got 'hole to be re-screwed or should it be 're-thread'! LOL

If you want to rethread the same M size, do you even know how much is the set of one box kit for the 'Helicoil' set or not? And the kit might not have the right length of recoil and those you have to buy as optional.

You think your $100 so BIG is it?

Even if you buy the kit, you got no proper tools and skill, you still can't do the rethread.

So still thinking your $100 is so BIG?:lol:

Sorry ah..i got no time for keyboard hero's..anything u want you pm me..we can gladly meet..

http://i792.photobucket.com/albums/yy210/nash823/Random%20Siggies/IMG_0225.jpg
  • Replies 39

Sorry ah..i got no time for keyboard hero's..anything u want you pm me..we can gladly meet..

Yeah Meet And Compare Whose $100 Note Bigger. :faint:

If Youre That Great, Then Help TS By Rethreading It For Him Or Offer Him A Shop That Can Do It. Not Come Here Act Hero And Disappear.

erm the hole haha like LAW said.

well is that pricy or cheap in your opinion?

its a wee bit ex. but it also depends on how complex the work is. if the hole is absolutely crucial, cannot afford any mistakes, hole is hard to reach with threading tools etc etc, then its worth it. all the best.

The mechanic charged me $5, tapped the 4 holes and installed 4 new bolts.

Saved my time and effort to DIY since a good quality set of tapping tools cost hundreds.

The mechanic charged me $5, tapped the 4 holes and installed 4 new bolts.

Saved my time and effort to DIY since a good quality set of tapping tools cost hundreds.

So which auto shop is that, my vehicle the ignition coil mount out of 4, got 1 hole thread broke a screw inside, now its half filled with that broken screw end, KNN, dunno what to do, wonder if these mechanic know how to remove that bit and rethread the thread anot?

Man this is fun to watch. Anyway, in my humblest opinion, i also can rethread hole or screw. But the thing is, i not sure perhaps the hole got screw stuck or i dunno the size and the best technique to rethread the hole.

TS ask for help, don't need to keep asking him to do this and that la. The first clue i see is that shops quoted him $100. This shows me that either ALL the shops are out there to ketok him or it will be a very daunting task to do.

NOT my 2 cents. My opinions don't come cheap. :cheeky:

hmm,but the hole is on a slanted surface so might make it complicated..hehe..thanks anyways..

Well, interesting.

Which bolt holes on the frame are you talking about actually?

Screw threads have a huge range of thread sizes, pitch, standards.

Interesting because it seems to indicate that the screw threads on the bike is the same for all bikes? Cannot be the case, right...

So which auto shop is that, my vehicle the ignition coil mount out of 4, got 1 hole thread broke a screw inside, now its half filled with that broken screw end, KNN, dunno what to do, wonder if these mechanic know how to remove that bit and rethread the thread anot?

What they do they drill out the damage thread. Then tap the hole to the desired depth. Then insert the helicoil.

I did at Ah fook at Ang Mo Kio Industrial park 2. One man show.

What they do they drill out the damage thread. Then tap the hole to the desired depth. Then insert the helicoil.

oic,how much did it cost you?.and where exactly is the shop bro..might drop by real soon. Thanks:D

Well, interesting.

Which bolt holes on the frame are you talking about actually?

Screw threads have a huge range of thread sizes, pitch, standards.

Interesting because it seems to indicate that the screw threads on the bike is the same for all bikes? Cannot be the case, right...

The one holding the tank(near the fork clamp)..may be thread would be same but def diff size and pitch.:)

thanks. The shop name Ah Fook?

Thanks Kano. Called ah fook just now. Went down and got it done at $15. Friendly and fast and very reasonably priced. Shop name also Ah fook.

His Address:

Blk 5032 , #01-295 Ang Mo Kio Ind park 2

Hp : 92978058

Tel & Fax :64834938

Working hours from 8 30am - 8pm ( Monday to Saturday )

Working hours from 10am - 4pm ( Sunday and Public Holiday )

Thanks Kano. Called ah fook just now. Went down and got it done at $15. Friendly and fast and very reasonably priced. Shop name also Ah fook.

His Address:

Blk 5032 , #01-295 Ang Mo Kio Ind park 2

Hp : 92978058

Tel & Fax :64834938

Working hours from 8 30am - 8pm ( Monday to Saturday )

Working hours from 10am - 4pm ( Sunday and Public Holiday )

No problem bro!!

I was there actually just now to install my 2nd hand top box at around 7pm.

he had to modify abit as the rack is not original on my ST11.

Can say his workmanship is there.

upzzz for him.

ohh..i left around 5+! hehe..can he do custom welding/brackets too?..i need to weld fabricate a simple bracket too:).