Daelim Roadwin

patrick15

now u r using 15/42 rite? really smoother when cruising at 100km/h ar? less vibrations ar? what is the difference from original setup? pick up n top speed leh?

anywae i not into top speed one.. juz save petrol n comfortable to ride..

(2002 - 2003) Yamaha RX-Z (Blue)

(2003 - 2004) Honda Super Four Version R (Red)

(2004 - 2005) Honda Wave (Blue)

(2005 - 2006) Honda Super Four Spec 1 (Black)

(2006 - 2007) Hyundai Getz (Blue)

(2007 - 2008) Honda Super Four Spec 3 (Silver)

(2008 - 2009) Suzuki DRZ 400 SM (Yellow)

(2009 - 2019) Kia Picanto (Blue)

http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u87/wongyuanshun/Delta.jpg

• Replies 158

Originally posted by Kinetic@Aug 30 2004, 04:17 PM

u change the sprokets to wat size? original n after changed wat are the sizes? how much? really smoother ar?

it's on the top of this page, u can read this post;

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....dpost&p=1044753

change original 14/42 to 15/40 (front/rear) sprockets, pickup is down but travelling speed is up, max speed down slope can top 120kph@9000rpm otherwise max out at 115kph@8500rpm on level road.

can't find sprocket 41t for the rear, my advise is just change the front to 15 teeth sprocket is good enough.

cost for front 15t sprocket is S$20 and rear 40t sprocket is S$30.

anywae i not into top speed one.. juz save petrol n comfortable to ride..

ride is smooth as long as engine rpm is between 5~8k, there r vib @ 4~5k n >8k rpm.

i did mention wrist tired after long ride, now i'm trying to find foam grip. any lobang?

so if dun change when cruising is more stress la? dun mind can explain the following?

1) bigger/smaller front sprokets = wat diff?

2) bigger/smaller rear sprokets = wat diff?

bigger front sprocket: lesser pulling power = better top end speed.

smaller front sprocket: more pulling power = better pickup.

it's the oppsite for the rear,

bigger rear sprocket: more pulling power = better pickup.

smaller rear sprocket: lesser pulling power = better top end speed.

u see the table that i posted at the top of this page, u can check the sprocket size selections but if the engine has got not enough power, it is useless to change beyond wat the engine is capable of.

okie.. thanx for explaining..

u think i should change from wave to this bike?

going to travel 60km daily to work.. 30km to n 30km fro.. basically will be going long distances often.. monthly 2000km of travelling..

it largely depends on yourself whether u should change or not.

first, let me ask u whether do u like riding S4 cos this bike is similar except for the engine power, if u doesn't than this is not your kind of bike n u better change to phantom (it has better performance n much more cost saving).

personally, i like riding it very much with some minor changes like the sprockets for better cruising speed but has to bear with slow pickup.

surely the thrill of fast pickup r fun cos i really missed it, basically if i'm riding class2 bike my licence will be revoked but this kept me within legal limits n still breaking it sometime.

i alway look forward riding to work n back home then again nowaday always rode out for lunch.

y u say phantom more cost saving?

S4 is my dream bike.. couldn't carry on with it cuz too xiong in terms of petrol n maintenance..

cuz i tompang my gf alot.. then wave wobble alot.. always sway left n right.. thinking this bike maybe more stable..

wat draws me to it is the 36km/l FC n the HUGE tank n the small CC (cheap insu).. think maintenance should be 1 plug n 1 engine oil rite? tyres will be more exp.. but since its light.. think can tahan longer then S4 rtie?

if u ask me.. as long u can afford to open throttle, all bikes can go fast.. (top speed will depend la) imagine u can from class 2 bike drop to this bike.. oso can tahan n enjoy riding it.. tts y i'm very interested.. :)

i ride S4 go 180km++ b4 in malaysia liaoz, so speed to me is secondary now.. main concern is save $$ on petrol n maintenance.

true, each of us have our own preference of riding.

my preference has alway been with roadster n sportbikes, now that my riding passion has got the better of my senses or am i getting older, i can't tell which.

good luck to your decision...... :goodluck:

y u say phantom more cost saving? in wat sense? dun count cost price la.

Originally posted by Kinetic@Aug 30 2004, 09:32 PM

y u say phantom more cost saving? in wat sense? dun count cost price la.

not very sure y i say phantom, seem popular everywhere u can see them.

so it seems like cheap n good but this is roadwin forum n i'm riding it.

so forget wat i say about phantom, ok. :sorry:

haha... okok.. :)

Originally posted by Kinetic@Aug 30 2004, 01:52 PM

if possible someone post more detailed pics of this bike?

eg: the dashboard n stuff?

thanx

http://www.dmc.co.kr/cyber/img/roadwin/roadwin_01.gif

http://www.dmc.co.kr/cyber/img/roadwin/roadwin_02.gif

http://www.dmc.co.kr/cyber/img/roadwin/roadwin_03.gif

http://www.dmc.co.kr/cyber/img/roadwin/roadwin_04.gif

http://www.dmc.co.kr/cyber/img/roadwin/roadwin_05.gif

Originally posted by gn1251@Aug 31 2004, 08:07 PM

Hi, may I know if the broquet fuel catalyst worked?

initially it does feel better engine response but after awhile it vanishes. if u follow up my previous fuel consumption (fc) log in this forum, it doesn't save fuel for roadwin maybe just 3% approx. increase in engine power, i think maybe it's due to the 4-valve engine design.

now i'm trying out with low octane like shell92, just about to finish a full tank, next will try out shell95.

first 100km run shell92 fuel without broquet very poor engine response, put in broquet has improved slightly.

if u r using better grade fuel like shell98(octane98) or v-power it doesn't show any improvements but it does with low octane fuel.

will top up shell95 fuel tomorrow n let u know how shell95 with broquet runs in about two weeks.

update fc (fuel consumption).

one tank trial;

shell98 with broquet = 36.77 km/l

shell98 without broquet = 37.36 km/l

shell92 with broquet = 36.35 km/l

shell95 with broquet = 35.18 km/l

find that shell95 is the worst fc, now filled up with shell v-power, it is rather expensive at S$1.61/l compare to shell92 at $1.40/l.

power wise shell95 is the worst, i think shell92 is better than shell95 (both grades with broquet).

shell92 without broquet power is not good but economical sense is worth it.

i thought fc will be more efficient after the sprockets ratio changed but not. still fc averaged about the same, it could be the kilometers that have been increased for the sprockets ratio differential.

next update two weeks from now after consumed v-power, will highlight which is the best shell grades for roadwin. it will probably be shell 98 without using broquet, we will know by then.

update.

now on my second tank of shell v-power, first tank runs 35.6km/l but i've been travelling at top speed of 110+kph (using 15/40 sprocket) n engine not enough power to pull beyond 8500 rpm unless going down slope or hill then speed can reach 120kph but pickup is slow, now change back the front sprocket to original 14 teeth.

i like using v-power n 14/40 sprockets it improved on pickup when overtaking. so now have spare set of 15/42, will keep for replacement when it's time to change sprockets n chain.

attached file on these sets of sprockets, shows the actual speed data on 14/40, 15/42 n 15/40 sprockets.

14/40 = increase 5% speed from original, pickup is still good.

15/42 = increase 7% speed from original, best setup.

15/40 = increase 12% speed, travelling speed is best but pickup is not so good.

no more update from now onwards unless i pluck the EGR (exhaust gas recirculation) device off my roadwin, the new batch of roadwin does not have this device (it's only for europe model). :thirsty: :slurp:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=1195956/sprocketratio.jpg

sorry guys, switch back to 15/40 sprockets setup cos can't stand the engine vibrate so much at 100kph@9000rpm.

prefer better travelling speed on the expressway.

also change handle grip to foam type, getting use to it now cos it's a bit large for my grip but anyway now my hand r not so numb n wrist not tired on long trips.

hey .. interested to get a daelim roadwin.. quite tempted as it looks like a 2a bike..

any 1 bought it under installment? which shop u go to? mthly how much? i just pass my TP.. need to do some calculations.. thx:help:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

Originally posted by d3an_cain@Nov 14 2004, 10:03 AM

hey .. interested to get a daelim roadwin.. quite tempted as it looks like a 2a bike..

any 1 bought it under installment? which shop u go to? mthly how much? i just pass my TP.. need to do some calculations.. thx:help:

u should go down n visit chong kok, they r the agent for daelim n ask them about it.

They control the price of the daelim bikes n u can compare with others credits company for a better deal.

share some experience buyin ur bike leh... 1st time buyin a bike..wanna noe the procedure also..:cheeky:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

it very straight forward if buy a new bike n pay cash for it.

the bike shop will settle everything for you like coe, registration, insurance(price depends on type of parties n age/years riding experience), licence plate, road tax(only for half year but u can pay the extra half for a full year tax).

n u can collect your brand new bike within 3 working days.

but if u r paying by installment that is another story, either u can get credits from the bike shop or a finanicial company like hitachi credits or others, u need a bike price quote from bike shop to furnish your loan(does not include registration, coe, insurance, road tax).

u first need someone to be your guarantor so that in the event u can't pay up they will pursue your guarantor for payment.

after u settle with all this payment terms, you have to buy first party insurance a condition that is require by any finance institutes, so that when u trashed/crashed your bike u/finance still can claim back your/their losses from the insurance.

u can collect your new bike 3 working days after loan approved (probably plus a week or so).

second hand bikes is more or less similar except u don't need coe n licence plate but still need to transfer ownership, insurance, road tax if it is not expired.

for second hand bike maintanence r more frequent repairs compare to just regular maintanence for new bike, largely depends on conditions of the bike.

there r more that i might have missed out, so u might want to bring along someone else that gone through these experiences n also be your guarantor.

anyway if u decide to buy roadwin, these r wat my recommendations:

1) buy a windshield, i got givi (model: A750) for S$220 but u can find a cheaper windshield like piug for S$140.

2) change the front/rear sprocket to 15t/40t (it costs S$20/S$30, orig 14t/42t), it's a better ride on the expressway (u loose pickup a little bit).

3) change the handle grip to foam grip, i brought it for S$8 a pair at kelantan road a few shops b4 LAB.

4) forget about any fuel catalyst, i've tried it didn't work.

5) use semi-syn engine oil for engine break-in after first 500km, first service change oil n oil filter (S$7).

after 2000 km service, i recommend u use 20w/50 oil (currently i'm using royal purple max-cycle 20w-50 motorcycle oil, S$16).

change oil filter every alternative oil change means change one filter replacement for every two oil changes if u change engine oil every 2000km but if u change engine oil at 5000km recommend u change oil filter at the same time too.

manual recommend engine revolutions(rpm) not exceeding 5000rpm during engine break-in, so not to worry if u exceed to 6000 rpm for a short burst (overtaking).

6) buy a tank pad(

7) buy a can of PJ1 chain lub blue label (S$9), lubricate your chain every 300~500km or when chain roller looks shinning. spray the chain n rotates your rear wheel for about 15 seconds, if u over do it your rear rim will be splashed sticky sludges (u can use wd40 to clean it).

8) change ignitor plug(S$3) every 10,000 km or when it is difficult to start your engine.

lastly buy yourself a glove, i know full glove r difficult to take thing out from your pockets. i brought myself those cheap leather half glove (without finger tips) for S$5 (bell) from chong aik warehouse sale (some protection r better than none, have been many accidents/fell down/crashed n still up riding).